HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Books Hostel Rio de Janeiro Hostel

Rua Francisco Muratori, 10, Santa Teresa, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Atmosphere 88%

Cleanliness 74%

Facilities 74%

Location 86%

Safety 82%

Staff 85%

Value 85%

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Card Phones
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Postal Service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire

Important Information

For New Years Eve and Carnaval Bookings (30 Dec - 3 Jan)
To confirm the reservation you must answer the hostel in 48 hours with all the information required.?If you do not contact us in 48 hours we will cancelling your reservation.
We will charge the full balance due from your credit card. Just in the case of the hostel not be able to charge the credit cards, the hostel will contact you with other options of payment (PayPal, Money Transfer, Western Union,

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rio de Janeiro?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 88%

Cleanliness 74%

Facilities 74%

Location 86%

Safety 82%

Staff 85%

Value 85%

Showing 1-10 of 56 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Apr 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Books hostel is the most amazing hostel. Felipe, the owner, is always so keen to make sure everyone is involved and having a fun time, and makes effort for there to be good activities for everyone to do. We went on a beach picnic together, to a favella party, to the Lapa steps and had beers and acai in the street. He always comes out to party and will help out whatever way he can. All of the bar staff are fun and friendly. And the location is amazing about five minutes from the lapa steps!

Disliked: Nothing!

Customer would recommend this property

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Liked: I was invited on hike as I first arrived and there seemed to be good crowd. The caparinas are great and a good deal during happy hour. Free filtered water. Big tv and common area for watching games although Apple tv was broke had to gimmy rig it to watch movies. If your a dude looking to be in Lapa and get really drunk and pass out this is the place for you! Bar does close at 11PM but party ensues.

Disliked: The A/C was broke and twice I was told it was fixed but it wasnt which made it almost impossible to sleep as the heat and humidity were stifling. My first night 3 English bloked high on some good stuff danced and sang watch me twerk watch me neehneeh til 6 in the morning while grabing inapropriately one of the girl in her bunk in my room and security did nothing. The kitchen and common areas are dirty and run down. The inmated were running the prison as most the help were free guests who were of little help with info.

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Boa localização é ótima e os funcionários atendem bem.Mas é tudo muito sujo e quebrado.Muito barulhento. Hospedes chegam bebados de badrugada, acordam os outros e dormem até no chão. Roupas e mochilas pra todos os lados.Café da manhã é simples, mas bom.

Disliked: Muito barulho, não é possível dormir antes da meia noite.Falta de ordem, hospedes chegando bebados de madrugada.Muito sujo.Banheiros quebrados.Ar-condicinado não funcionava.

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Work / volunteering

Liked: The staff. Especially Felipe is amazing.

Disliked: Not that clean + the whole interior could use some lifting

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: A friend stayed years ago as I visited her.

Disliked: Should be a sign to let people know where the Hostel is.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 May 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good atmosphere, helpful staff

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: I have stayed in many hostels over the last few years and have never been botherd to leave a comment. But filepe and his books hostel is the best hostel experience i have ever had, i felt the need to leave a review. i can not reccomend this hostel enough. It has an excellent atmosphere 7 days a week with filepe the owner organising parties and events. So easy to meet other travellers in this well organized hostel so is great for solo travellers and also groups. He knows everything there is to know about rio and will help you out booking and organising everything. The place is also quiet enough late at night if you want to have an early night. Clean, good lockers, and the rest of the staff are also great. I will be back to this hostel again 100%

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Really nice hostel, great vibe, kind and helpful staff, would definitely return!

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, City break, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The vibe. This is a party hostel and you can meet plenty of people, inside the outsid the building.The breakfast is amazing (fruits, cereals, make-your-own ham and cheese toasts).Also, Netflix and drink specials,and sigh uo dinner 3 times a week.

Disliked: Hot and stuffy everywhere. Rooms are not air conditioned during the day (even with the air conditioning and fan, its quite warm and humid), and common area are not air conditioned at all, EVER. The stairs are quite a climb and very annoying if you need to constantly go up and down.Also, most of the staffs were quite new and young, and not very helpful with information and what to do..., as much as they try.I suggest staying in ipanema or leblon, as pretty much any tour or activities depart from there.

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Firendly staff. Good breakfast.

Disliked: Noisy. No way you can have an early night there since the bar seems to be more important than the guests.Late breakfast. If you don't party or have early appointments, forget about breakfast.

Check Availability