We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Ocean inn Rio Leblon

Hostel | Av. niemeyer 187., Leblon, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil 22450220

61.6% Overall Rating

45 out of 68 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (25/07/2013)

luke graczyk thinks…

"No complaints! Good location, bus stop right out front and you need to take a bus to get to most places in and around Rio, the staff were great and friendly and make you feel wlecome and comfortable.…"

Read all Ocean inn Rio Leblon reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

In order to ensure your booking please send us your credit card security code CCV, within 48 hours from your booking date otherwise your booking will be automatically cancelled. You will be charged 50% of your remaining balance, please note that this amount is non-refundable.** New Years (28/12 - 02/2015) and Carnaval (12/02-18/02) Rock in Rio (18/09 - 30/09) bookings After the reservation the host has 48 hours to send an email to the hostel with the booking number and the security code of the card that you used for the reservation and we will charge 50% of the total amount of your reservation, this is non-reimbursed. In case of cancelation you must contact the hostel, within at least 30 days before the date of check in, otherwise we will charge you the total amount of your reservation. Failure to send the security code or not payment at any stage of the booking implies the cancellation of the booking without any cost to the hostel and without refund. If there is any problem with charging the card, the host has 48 hours to present another means of payment.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rio de Janeiro?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rio de Janeiro

Solar Chacara Hostel
20.39 USD

Hostel 89.0% 15 reviews
Favela Vidigal Guesthouse
20.39 USD

Guesthouse 93.8% 38 reviews
Fatima Macintyre Guesthouse
40.78 USD

Guesthouse 91.5% 83 reviews
Varandas do Vidigal
9.99 USD

Hostel 100.0% 3 reviews
Casa Alto Vidigal
10.20 USD

Hostel 91.4% 4 reviews
Lemon Spirit Hostel
106.85 USD

Hostel 90.9% 53 reviews
Vidigalbergue Rio Hostel
8.16 USD

Hostel 89.3% 46 reviews
Che Lagarto Hostel Ipanema
13.13 USD

Hostel 78.6% 124 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
61.6%

Overall Rating

45 out of 68 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Ocean inn Rio Leblon'

Atmosphere
60.8%
Location
61.6%
Facilities
52.8%
Cleanliness
60.0%
Staff
72.8%
Value
61.6%
Safety
61.6%
Refine your results Showing 51 of 64 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

02 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: COOL PLACE

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

luke graczyk

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

25 July 2013 luke would recommend this property

Liked: No complaints! Good location, bus stop right out front and you need to take a bus to get to most places in and around Rio, the staff were great and friendly and make you feel wlecome and comfortable. Clean and safe. Comfy beds and a good all round atmosphere make this one of the best hostels I've stayed in. And its really reasonably priced which is a bonus. Nice one to All at ocean inn! See you again!!

Disliked: Nothing.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: leblon beach very near

Disliked: nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Franco Martellini

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 January 2013 Franco would recommend this property

Liked: the cleanliness and freedom, very clean, if u wanna go, dont hesitate.

Disliked: mmm, i cant tell really, maybe location but still easy to move to everywere.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Ignacio Bittar

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing

24 January 2013 Ignacio would recommend this property

Liked: lisa y su novio, en la recepcion, fueron muy simpaticos y nos ayudaron en todo

Disliked: habitaciones muy chicas

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Vanessa Silva

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break

12 September 2012 Vanessa would recommend this property

Liked: The woman running the hostel (Denise) was simply lovely! She was very helpful and willing to make ourselves comfortable. Our room was clean, there was an air conditioning, a TV and a DVD, the bed was really comfortable and breakfast was great. It's about 10 minute-walk from Leblon and there are many buses/taxis near it.

Disliked: As the hostel's been through rennovation, our sink was not working at the time but there were shared bathrooms near our room and the shower was working properly. It is near a favela but we had no problems at all as you go opposite to get to Leblon. We even had lunch and went to the market in Vidigal, the police was there all the time.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The woman who was running this hostel at the time we stayed there simply could not do enough for us, she was lovely. We had a clean room with a breathtaking view of the ocean as the property is located on a cliffs edge. Our bed was comfortable, the room had a tv and DVD with a selection of DVDs to choose from and a clean shower. Breakfast was great... wide selection on offer.

Disliked: The place was being rennovated at the time and as a result there was a lot of rubble around however, once it is finished it will be simply glorious. Location is not ideal, it IS next to a favela which is the only close supermarket however we went there and it was NOT dangerous at all. It is a little bit of a walk down to Leblon beach but the walk is lovely.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

23 April 2012

Liked: The outdoor area with views out to the ocean. We were there just before carneval so the party vibe was pretty cool too. Good place to meet new people.

Disliked: Staff were sometimes unfriendly and more interested in partying then actually doing their jobs. Shared bathrooms were not cleaned regularly and only 3 bathrooms to be shared for both males and females, so they got really disgusting pretty quickly. Room doors didn't lock properly and could be accessed from outside (!) lockers were easy to break into. Outdoor kitchen was a nice touch but utensils were in bad condition and not always clean. Location was a bit of a trek to Leblon beach but for the price not much can be expected. We met some really nice and friendly people at the hostel so this made up for the poor facilites and service during Carneval.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 March 2012

Liked: Actually, nothing.

Disliked: The dirtyness, the - few - bathrooms were so dirty that we were not capable of using them. And menwhile, the staff was chilling in the living room, whatching television, around a very filty room. The bed sheets were stainned, the towels were stainned too. They have a really cute labrador, but the dog poos all over and it took a day for the staff to clean it from the garden. The shared kitchen was always dirty and during breakfast, the guests themselves had to wash the dishes to get coffee and such.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals

01 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, cozy, nice kitchen on the terrace.

Disliked: Tricky to find in the night. Has air-conditioning but some careless travellers turned it way too low so it was freezing in the dorm room (in a warm summer night). Says it got parking but it has only one spot which is sometimes taken by the owner's car.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

23 February 2012

Liked: The girls at the recpetion were helpful, especially Carla (the blonde one) was really nice. Free internet. Big lockers, you can put in a huge and a small backpack, but...

Disliked: ... the lockers are not safe, so no real lockers!! The bolt was very tiny, the doors don't close completey so that you can look inside and can pull the doors easily. I am sure if you pull just with your small finger, the bolt will fall off. Additionally not all boards of the lockers were fixed. Because of this you could lift up the board of a locker, even if it is closed! You just need to have acces to the locker on top of it. Although the girls from the reception were helpful, there were extremely rare smiles and the general atmosphere was bad. There is one guy working there who was messing up the work of the others in front of guests. He was very often in a very bad mood and got rude from time to time to ladies, colleagues and other guests. Atmosphere is bad as well because it is kind of a cramped place, because no music is playing. Stuff does not try to create good atmosphere, just put on tv. There is very very few privacy because the three showers with toilets are very small and the sinks are in the recpetion area. Although it was clean inside the building, the outside stairs to the street entrance were dirty and it always smelled over there. The terrace could be really nice, but the best part is not part of the hostel ("access just for stuff") and very dirty too. They used this part for the dog to shit while gusts tried to enjoy the view to the Sea.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

14 February 2012

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: As mentioned above.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

john Grant

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 January 2012

Liked: Not alot. The owner was quite friendly, breakfast was good.

Disliked: When we arrived we were greated by a receptionist who must have just sat laughing infront of us for 1-2 minutes before she spoke. The check in took a while as she just kept laughing, didnt give us a key (had to ask again for it) but took a deposit (turned out she;d been out all night) couldnt get any sense out of her. The place absolutely stinks of drains, my girlfriend would shower because the smell was so bad. The dorms are so cramped that you have nowhere to put anything. They were a little pushy for us to take the BBQ. The music was so load outside that the police came round, he turned it back up and was still playing it when everyone else had gone to bed. The worst hostel I have stayed in.

The property's response is...

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

andrea pacini

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

21 January 2012

Liked: ....

Disliked: an hostel with a very bad atmosphere, wi fi does not work very well, poor breakfast, far from leblon (abt 15 min walking distance). the staff does not care abt the guests, dirty bathrooms. better to find an hostel which is really in Leblon...

The property's response is...

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

16 January 2012

Liked: view

Disliked: dirty. huge male dorm with only me and one other woman. strange people there. noise

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

davidson rezende

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

17 December 2011 davidson would recommend this property

Liked: Good price, everything nice and clean. Friendly staff. Nice view and Close to the beach and to the party.

Disliked: Nothing.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were very friendly and personal. They were up for organising going out everynight and would take you with them if you wanted, however there was also no pressure to go out if you were feeling knackered from the beach which was nice. In the three nights we stayed people went out everynight and not once did we get woken up when everyone came back. Computer and big screen TV for everyone to use, nice toasted sandwiches for breakfast. Favela nearby felt enitrely safe with plenty of police prescence and the pizza from there was great!

Disliked: It is a bit far away from the beach and all the action - although you can walk to Ipaneima beach in 5-10mins so its not awful (although you are at the far end of a very long beach!). Having said this - Rio is pretty huge and you basically have to get a bus to get around to anywhere if you want to go to more than one place in a day, so wasn´t too bad as plenty of buses go past. The living space indoors is a bit cramped if the hostel is full, but theres a nice patio at the back over looking the sea. Also, could do with some more bathrooms really as pretty cramped together.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 December 2011

Liked: Good internet, receptionist (Clara) will do her best to help you.

Disliked: It's a party hostel. Rooms rules read "silence between 10PM and 8AM". WHile there are great places to party in Rio, the guests may decided that the hostel is the best place to party, so if you plan to sleep before 2-3AM, go somewhere else. Located at the end of Leblon beach, meaning you get all the traffic at the end of day and will be stuck in a bus if you try to get there between 4PM and 9PM.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Edward Le Gallant

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

06 December 2011 Edward would recommend this property

Liked: This is an AWESOME hostel, probably the best hostel we have stayed at in South America. The staff are super friendly and Eduado the owner goes out of his way to show you around. On our first day he took us down to the beach and showed us the hot spots and then that night he took us out on the town. Awesome place and people, what a way for us to finish off our six months in South America. Special thanks to Jennifer too xoxo, love Liz & Ed

Disliked: none

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

saeed abdul sayed

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

27 November 2011 saeed abdul would recommend this property

Liked: ABSOLUTELY EVERYTHING!! If you are staying in Rio de jeneiro THIS is the place to stay. Super fun, friendly, diverse, and very helpful staff. Nice private room with bathroom/shower. GOOD breakfast, Clean environment, very very safe. By far the BEST hostel I have ever stayed at!

Disliked: nothing at all

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Liana McDonald

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 November 2011 Liana would recommend this property

Liked: Great view. Helpful staff. 10 minute walk to the beach in Leblon. The free Internet and pay tv cool. I wish I'd stayed longer to be able to party with the staff and other travellers. Dont worry about it being next to a favela, it's a peaceful one (we actually went into the favela to watch some samba.) and as there is a big Sheraton hotel next to ocean inn no robberies occur. Just be sensible obviously and try not to arrive at the hostel with all your bags after dark. Cool place.

Disliked: Nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Emma Brindley

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 November 2011

Liked: The staff were very friendley and helpful, when our room was double booked we were offered a lesser room (we had paid for an ensuite) for a cheaper price immediately and were offered a free favela tour which we took on the back of motorbikes which was excellent. My boyfriend was also imnpressed with how efficient they were in relation to us booking football tickets in advance of our arrival and recommending good public transport routes for us. Being next to the Sheraton was useful for getting taxis in the evening. The view is also excellent.

Disliked: There is no swimming pool and no real sign that there ever was one. The mix up with our room meant we stayed in a private room without an ensuite which was a rather prison cell-esque. The breakfast was OK but not great and the location is a little further out of Leblon than described on the website.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sara Jones

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

18 October 2011 Sara would recommend this property

Liked: The view was beautiful over looking waves crashing on the rocks. The rooms were clean with new beds and mattresses. I really liked the staff, Eduardo and Clay were great fun, we all went to a disco and danced the night away. Cheers :)))

Disliked: None.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jared Fisher

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 October 2011 Jared would recommend this property

Liked: Great ocean view, just 10 minutes walking to a lot of bars and restaurants in Leblon. The owner Edwardo is a party guy and took us out to two clubs in his personal car, very cool guy. I booked for one night and stayed for four nights. One of the best hostel in south America for sure. Highly recommended.

Disliked: Nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mark Wilson

Alone

Partying / nightlife

09 October 2011 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is cozy and clean. really good to make friends. The staff was amazing, and they did all they could to make the hostel better and better. Amazing tours and parties too. Amazing location, close to the beach and everytinh you need. Totally recomend

Disliked: More showers would me nice