HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Cafe Rio Hostel Rio de Janeiro Hostel

Rua Alice, 293, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Atmosphere 88%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 86%

Location 78%

Safety 97%

Staff 94%

Value 90%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Reading Light
  • Steam room

Important Information

New Year (27/12-02/01) - Carnival (14/02-18/02) - Easter (2/04-7/04) property requires to pay 50% of the total amount in advance in order to confirm the booking. If the booking is cancelled there will be no refund. The deposit already paid will be converted into credits for use within one year according to the availability.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rio de Janeiro?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 88%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 86%

Location 78%

Safety 97%

Staff 94%

Value 90%

Showing 1-8 of 8 reviews

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It's a really charming hostel. It's quiet and calm. Very clean which I loved!! The rooms are cozy and not too crammed, the wifi works in the rooms and the beds are comfortable. Lots of common space outside of the rooms, and spacious nice bathrooms which are, once again, clean! The hostel felt super safe and the staff is very helpful and nice!

Disliked: Can't think of anything.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: the staff were really helpful and was able to help out with info about the city.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Really nice hostel, free breakfast, wifi in the rooms, helpful staff who all spoke English, supermarket a 2 minute walk away. Also a 2 minute walk down to the main street where you can fairly easily get on a local bus to the main attractions in Rio. Ask the staff which buses to catch where. Free lockers in the rooms. Good security, nice area.

Disliked: Not much nightlife nearby, but it's less than a 20 Real (approx USD $10) cab ride to Lapa or Santa Teresa

Customer would recommend this property

40% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
40% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Comfy beds

Disliked: All staff are poor apart from owner, location is 40 min walk to metro (not 15)

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Friendly Staff

Disliked:

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Cafe Rio Hostel was one of the better hostels that I have stayed in (I have stayed in many hostels throughout Europe, Aus/NZ and SE Asia). It was immaculate with nice furnishings, the bed was comfortable (a little squeaky though). The free wifi worked great! The staff were really, really helpful and friendly (especially Marcia, muito obrigado!!). They looked up information on various things for me. It is located pretty close to Centro and Lapa. I am going to stay here again when I return to Rio later in my trip. Thanks!

Disliked: It was a little hard to find, I could´t see a sign out the front. But just look for the number. It takes a while on the bus to get to Copacabana, Ipanema and Leblon.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS PLACE. I had such a pleasant time at Cafe Rio that I am leaving my first ever review on this site after a lot of backpacking to various countries.It has a nice atmosphere and COZY. The communal area is really comfortable with two computers with internet. Their Wifi worked just fine with my laptop the whole time. The incredibly nice people who work there, like Marcia, make the place extra cozy and special.The staffs were FRIENDLY and KIND. Not even once I felt like I was an intruder. They answered my questions about how to get to place in Rio really patiently. Perhaps they were slightly extra nice because I am learning Portuguese and always talked with them in Portuguese (Yes locals sometimes treat travelers who make effort to learn their customs/languages a bit nicer). But they are great with anyone, I guarantee.It was CLEAN. Oh my god. I loved it. The staffs clean it daily, I mean every day, and for this reason they ask you to be out of your room for a few hours during the day. But if you want to sleep in I'm fairly confident they would accommodate it as well. But hey, don't sleep in past noon when you are traveling - you have so much to see! Anyways, I didn't see any of those gross mess that I often see at other hostels. It helped that you don't need to share your bathroom with 20 other people. If it's full, you share it with I think 5-6 others (women's dormitory). Way better than other bigger hostels. They even made my bed - not sure if they still do it when it's absolutely full and busy. But says something about how clean and organized they are. That being said, be polite and clean up after yourself still.I felt SAFE. They have a camera that can show whoever is standing in front of the front steel door. A staff checks who is standing and then lets you in. And 24 hours check-in. Went out for this amazing samba place in Lapa one night, returned around 2 am, and this staff who was still awake let me in and asked me how it was really nicely like a friend. The LOCATION WAS GOOD. It's not in THE center but it was easy to get around. Only one bus (20 min 2.75 reais) straight from the Rio Novo bus terminal. Walking distance (15 min) to where you get on the cable car for the famous Crist statue. The famous beaches, botanical garden area, and the city center all took 15 to 30 minutes by bus (of course this is longer when there is traffic). The closest major bus stop is just 3 minutes down the road. Supermarkets really close. Metro station was 25 min away on foot but you mostly take buses. If you want to go out to cool nightlife districts like Lapa and Santa Teresa and have enough common sense to take a taxi home when it's late and dark (past 11pm I say take a taxi I say, your security depends on you as well) it does not cost more than 25 reais from Lapa and most likely less from Santa Teresa. And it is still on a quiet street.SO. I RECOMMEND THIS PLACE.

Disliked: NONE. I mean sometimes when you say none people think you weren't paying close attention. OK, the stairs outside were a little slippery in rain (and Marcia kindly told me to be careful). One time it took a minute longer for shower water to warm up. But do these minor little trivial things affect the quality of my stay in any way? NO. If such things bug you you should not staying at a hostel anyway.This place was PERFECT.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Near to most restaurants, groceries and transportation. Approachable and friendly staff. From the hostel it is Easily reachable by bus or metro train going to Christ the redeemer Corcovado Mountain, Copacabana and Sugarloaf mountain. The area is safe. Comfortable bed and pillow. Breakfast is okey.

Disliked: Need to put signage on their front door.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: - Safe and not so many people- Good place for Sunday night nearby- Clean and nice bathrooms- Close to the Jesus Staue

Disliked: - Not so fun since not so many other guest- Unreliable internet connection- Pretty loud outside during weekends - Not all the staff could speak English

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Nice location in a friendly neighbourhood. Jacques, the owner and his team made our stay extremely enjoyable with plenty of interaction on where to visit and how to get there.

Disliked: Nothing at all!!!

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability