HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Cafe Rio Hostel

Hostel | Rua Alice, 293, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil 22241-020

89.4% Overall Rating

62 out of 63 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/06/2014)

Claire Sturley thinks…

"Really nice hostel, free breakfast, wifi in the rooms, helpful staff who all spoke English, supermarket a 2 minute walk away. Also a 2 minute walk down to the main street where you can fairly easily…"

Read all Cafe Rio Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

World cup bookings: from 10 of June to 17 of July: property may require you to pay the full balance in advance in order to confirm the booking The property will charge 50% of the total amount at the moment of your booking. Deposits paid are non refundable.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rio de Janeiro?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rio de Janeiro

Samba Palace
10.20 USD

Hostel 86.1% 79 reviews
Urukum Guesthouse
10.20 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Casa 579
16.31 USD

Hostel 90.3% 82 reviews
Cafofo Hostel
8.16 USD

Hostel 88.3% 23 reviews
Hostel in Rio
20.39 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Corcovado Rio Hostel
20.39 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Sarréufa Club Hostel
20.39 USD

Hostel 55.1% 45 reviews
Rio Soul Hostel
8.12 USD

Hostel 86.4% 62 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.4%

Overall Rating

62 out of 63 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Cafe Rio Hostel'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
77.6%
Facilities
87.2%
Cleanliness
93.6%
Staff
93.6%
Value
88.8%
Safety
96.8%
Refine your results Showing 54 of 61 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the staff were really helpful and was able to help out with info about the city.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Claire Sturley

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2014 Claire would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice hostel, free breakfast, wifi in the rooms, helpful staff who all spoke English, supermarket a 2 minute walk away. Also a 2 minute walk down to the main street where you can fairly easily get on a local bus to the main attractions in Rio. Ask the staff which buses to catch where. Free lockers in the rooms. Good security, nice area.

Disliked: Not much nightlife nearby, but it's less than a 20 Real (approx USD $10) cab ride to Lapa or Santa Teresa

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Comfy beds

Disliked: All staff are poor apart from owner, location is 40 min walk to metro (not 15)

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly Staff

Disliked:

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

James Taylor

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2013 James would recommend this property

Liked: Cafe Rio Hostel was one of the better hostels that I have stayed in (I have stayed in many hostels throughout Europe, Aus/NZ and SE Asia). It was immaculate with nice furnishings, the bed was comfortable (a little squeaky though). The free wifi worked great! The staff were really, really helpful and friendly (especially Marcia, muito obrigado!!). They looked up information on various things for me. It is located pretty close to Centro and Lapa. I am going to stay here again when I return to Rio later in my trip. Thanks!

Disliked: It was a little hard to find, I could´t see a sign out the front. But just look for the number. It takes a while on the bus to get to Copacabana, Ipanema and Leblon.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS PLACE. I had such a pleasant time at Cafe Rio that I am leaving my first ever review on this site after a lot of backpacking to various countries. It has a nice atmosphere and COZY. The communal area is really comfortable with two computers with internet. Their Wifi worked just fine with my laptop the whole time. The incredibly nice people who work there, like Marcia, make the place extra cozy and special. The staffs were FRIENDLY and KIND. Not even once I felt like I was an intruder. They answered my questions about how to get to place in Rio really patiently. Perhaps they were slightly extra nice because I am learning Portuguese and always talked with them in Portuguese (Yes locals sometimes treat travelers who make effort to learn their customs/languages a bit nicer). But they are great with anyone, I guarantee. It was CLEAN. Oh my god. I loved it. The staffs clean it daily, I mean every day, and for this reason they ask you to be out of your room for a few hours during the day. But if you want to sleep in I'm fairly confident they would accommodate it as well. But hey, don't sleep in past noon when you are traveling - you have so much to see! Anyways, I didn't see any of those gross mess that I often see at other hostels. It helped that you don't need to share your bathroom with 20 other people. If it's full, you share it with I think 5-6 others (women's dormitory). Way better than other bigger hostels. They even made my bed - not sure if they still do it when it's absolutely full and busy. But says something about how clean and organized they are. That being said, be polite and clean up after yourself still. I felt SAFE. They have a camera that can show whoever is standing in front of the front steel door. A staff checks who is standing and then lets you in. And 24 hours check-in. Went out for this amazing samba place in Lapa one night, returned around 2 am, and this staff who was still awake let me in and asked me how it was really nicely like a friend. The LOCATION WAS GOOD. It's not in THE center but it was easy to get around. Only one bus (20 min 2.75 reais) straight from the Rio Novo bus terminal. Walking distance (15 min) to where you get on the cable car for the famous Crist statue. The famous beaches, botanical garden area, and the city center all took 15 to 30 minutes by bus (of course this is longer when there is traffic). The closest major bus stop is just 3 minutes down the road. Supermarkets really close. Metro station was 25 min away on foot but you mostly take buses. If you want to go out to cool nightlife districts like Lapa and Santa Teresa and have enough common sense to take a taxi home when it's late and dark (past 11pm I say take a taxi I say, your security depends on you as well) it does not cost more than 25 reais from Lapa and most likely less from Santa Teresa. And it is still on a quiet street. SO. I RECOMMEND THIS PLACE.

Disliked: NONE. I mean sometimes when you say none people think you weren't paying close attention. OK, the stairs outside were a little slippery in rain (and Marcia kindly told me to be careful). One time it took a minute longer for shower water to warm up. But do these minor little trivial things affect the quality of my stay in any way? NO. If such things bug you you should not staying at a hostel anyway. This place was PERFECT.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Near to most restaurants, groceries and transportation. Approachable and friendly staff. From the hostel it is Easily reachable by bus or metro train going to Christ the redeemer Corcovado Mountain, Copacabana and Sugarloaf mountain. The area is safe. Comfortable bed and pillow. Breakfast is okey.

Disliked: Need to put signage on their front door.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ian Grooby

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2013 Ian would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful hostel, with great views, very friendly helpful staff, cool atmosphere, clean, air con, everything you need.

Disliked: Located in a beautiful place, reachable by bus (regular service), but tiring to walk to from Lapa or the metro station in the hot weather months, if you're not used to hot weather like myself.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Daniel Andersson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 April 2013 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: - Safe and not so many people - Good place for Sunday night nearby - Clean and nice bathrooms - Close to the Jesus Staue

Disliked: - Not so fun since not so many other guest - Unreliable internet connection - Pretty loud outside during weekends - Not all the staff could speak English

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sebastian Bates

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

07 February 2013 Sebastian would recommend this property

Liked: I have travelled for 4 years and stayed in 100+ hostels in 5 continents. This hostel comes in the TOP 5 at least. I loved the atmosphere, how helpful the staff were, how clean and well organised it all is. Jaques and is lovely wife are without doubt fantastic hosts and ensured my stay was incredible. I came as a guest and left as a friend. Thank you to Jaques and your wife! From 007 ;).

Disliked: NOTHING.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Francis Daly

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

31 January 2013 Francis would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location in a friendly neighbourhood. Jacques, the owner and his team made our stay extremely enjoyable with plenty of interaction on where to visit and how to get there.

Disliked: Nothing at all!!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mario Grill

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday

02 January 2013 Mario would recommend this property

Liked: we enjoyed our stay at the cafe rio hostel. the owner jacks and his wife are very friendly and helpful. the breakfast is delicious and the location is very clean. all in all a really good place to stay in rio!

Disliked: nothing!

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

07 December 2012

Liked: Safe

Disliked: unhelpful staff and not central. Bus is convenient but takes time. Metro is quite far.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ade Hutagaol

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 December 2012 Ade would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for money, beautiful dorm especially female dorm, helpful and friendly owners (Jacques & wife), not in the touristy area so eating out is cheaper around.

Disliked: A bit far from main tourist sights (Ipanema takes 1 hour), but it's OK since many buses pass the main road of hostel.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very friendly and helpful in this hostel, all of them speak English very well and will provide you with all help and information you need. They recommended us exhibitions and museums to visit, called around and organized our transport to Ilha Grande (ferry goes early on weekends, alternatives are better). Breakfast is nice, internet works well. The hostel is located in a rather residential area, a safe location, but at the same time is a (bit of a) downside, because except for the Christ, no notable sights are within walking distance.

Disliked: Nothing much, all was good!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Susan Garrett

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

03 November 2012 Susan would recommend this property

Liked: What isn't there to love about this property? The fact that you walk in as a stranger and leave as friends of Jacques and Marcie for life can only begin to explain how their hostel makes your visit to Rio an unforgetable experience. The hostel provides great options with private rooms with ensuite or dorm rooms with share facilities. I stayed in both styles of accommodation and loved the atmosphere! Short walk to Cristo (Corcovado) and easy transport options to Lapa, the Beaches and Sugarloaf. The selling point for this hostel is the amazingly friendly and helpful staff, nothing is too much trouble. I even left my camera charger in the hostel and they took it to the courier agency and sent it to me in North Brasil...

Disliked: There is nothing to dislike apart from leaving!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ricardo Mello

Alone

Work / volunteering

28 October 2012 Ricardo would recommend this property

Liked: Thumbs up for cleanliness, price and staff.

Disliked: Location is fine, but the street itself is a bit too dark.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice people! Basic but clean and safe. Good value for money. Everything is good to reach.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

22 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's close to the statue, the rooms are clean, the staff is SO helpful and friendly. They also all speak English.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shawna Finnegan

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

09 July 2012 Shawna would recommend this property

Liked: staff were very friendly.

Disliked: Shawna left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

21 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff!!

Disliked: quite noisy!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Partying / nightlife

20 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Owners are super friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Noise from surrounding venues goes on late into the night.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Antony Lindley

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 April 2012 Antony would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location, all the buses are just at the end of the road. The owners are great too, so friendly and full of excellent advice. The hostel is very clean too and the AC in the rooms is great at night. Nice breakfast too.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Super clean and a beautiful place in a great quiet neighbourhood not too far from anything. Jacques is a cool man and his advices are unbeatable. Coffee was the greatest we had in Brazil!

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and good value for money. The owner is really helpful, and the beautiful girls in reception are really friendly. Wifi was fast and reliable, and the breakfast was good.

Disliked: The club next door (Casa Rosa) can be a bit loud on some nights.