HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Favela Vidigal Guesthouse

Guesthouse | Av. Pres. João Goulart, Largo do Santinho, Vidigal Rio de Janeiro, Brazil 22452-160

93.7% Overall Rating

36 out of 37 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/01/2014)

elizabeth Laird thinks…

"Great location, just 3 minutes walk from Largo do Santino, in Vidigal. Very friendly neighbours. After a few days, I felt very much at home in the location. I always felt safe when walking about and…"

Read all Favela Vidigal Guesthouse reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Communal kitchen

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rio de Janeiro?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rio de Janeiro

Casa Alto Vidigal
15.61 USD

Hostel 95.2% 3 reviews
Solar Chacara Hostel
29.00 USD

Hostel 92.9% 12 reviews
Vidigalbergue Rio Hostel
11.15 USD

Hostel 89.3% 43 reviews
Rocinha Guest House
8.92 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Fatima Macintyre Guesthouse
55.76 USD

Guesthouse 92.6% 81 reviews
Lemon Spirit Hostel
24.54 USD

Hostel 90.9% 53 reviews
Che Lagarto Hostel Ipanema
20.12 USD

Hostel 78.5% 121 reviews
Ipanema Beach House
31.23 USD

Hostel 85.7% 124 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.7%

Overall Rating

36 out of 37 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Favela Vidigal Guesthouse'

Atmosphere
96.0%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
87.2%
Cleanliness
93.6%
Staff
96.8%
Value
98.4%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 30 of 35 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

elizabeth Laird

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 January 2014 elizabeth would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, just 3 minutes walk from Largo do Santino, in Vidigal. Very friendly neighbours. After a few days, I felt very much at home in the location. I always felt safe when walking about and shopping in Vidigal. The property was secured by a surrounding wall with locked door onto the street. Vanessa provided excellent and sensitive support in helping me to settle in to the house and is location. Vanessa had lots of useful knowledge and advice to help me to make the most of my first trip to Rio.

Disliked: There was no lockable storage area within the house for documents, passports and money, other than to lock the bedroom door, but as the bedroom window was not lockable, this did not feel secure. For greater peace of mind, the addition of a small locker or metal safe within the bedroom would be extremely helpful.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mitchell Stone

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013 Mitchell would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay in Rio. Venessa and Tito are very helpfull. Excellent value for money and a more 'Brazilian' experience than staying in Leblon, Ipanema or Copacabana. Highly recommendable.

Disliked: Mitchell left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Dave Verlinden

Alone

Partying / nightlife

01 May 2013 Dave would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmoshere ! The real Favela feeling. Very special and basic.

Disliked: Nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anthony Stroyd

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 April 2013 Anthony would recommend this property

Liked: A great location in the favela. The area really wasn't what I was expecting, the favela is basically a neighbourhood of the city with great community spirit. Everyone we passed was very friendly and welcoming. Tito and Vanessa are great, they are really friendly and great to have a chat with. Vanessa knows Rio inside out. Local buses pass the entrance of the favela and go to Ipanema, Copacabana and Centro. Highly recommended!

Disliked: Great owners and the chance to experience what the favela is really like, not what the media would have you think.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Darren Cohen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 December 2012

Liked: Vanessa and Tito are really lovely people, very helpful and happy to chill out with you. Also, living in a favela is a great experience as the people are so welcoming and friendly. It is great value for money.

Disliked: It is extremely difficult to find, especially if you have just got to Rio and haven't really got a feel for the place yet. You have to take a bus to the bottom of the favela where it is clear you are in Vidigal but the locals don't know the guesthouse. I had to take two mototaxis which was a bit annoying just to find it. In fairness, they did offer to meet me at the bottom if I let them know in advance but it was impossible to predict my time of arrival given flights etc. Also, there is only one room so it is really hard to meet other people if that is the purpose of your trip.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Daniel Ward

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 December 2012 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent hosts and so cheap for Rio. Our room was large and clean with good ensuite.

Disliked: The location was far away from Rio's main attractions and the centre. Our room was in the basement and felt like we stayed with the next door neighbours who had a number of dogs and outside our room stank of dog piss.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

allan lim

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 December 2012 allan would recommend this property

Liked: Tis a shame there is no "excellent" option.. only bad/average/good DESERVING OF 2 Positive ratings ^_^ Vanessa & Tito are an amazing young couple, who have opened their homes and have welcomed tourists and travellers alike to the small home in Favela Vidigal, they have made our stay the most enjoyable and adventurous!... ... All those warnings about DANGER in a Favela is over-rated and useless... Tito & Vanessa are extremely friend

Disliked: nothing.. dislike all the TV show, Guidebooks, Forums, Webpages, government sites that announce huge ass Warnings scaring off travellers from these peaceful and friendly neighborhoods!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

allan lim

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 December 2012 allan would recommend this property

Liked: Tis a shame there is no "excellent" option.. only bad/average/good Vanessa & Tito are an amazing young couple, who have opened their homes and have welcomed tourists and travellers alike to the small home in Favela Vidigal, they have made our stay the most enjoyable and adventurous!... ... All those warnings about DANGER in a Favela is over-rated and useless... Tito & Vanessa are extremely friendly and helpful.. took a bit of time to find the place, but we were welcomed with open arms... Look forward to seeing you guys again soon ***** 5 Stars!

Disliked: nothing.. dislike all the TV show, Guidebooks, Forums, Webpages, government sites that announce huge ass Warnings scaring off travellers from these peaceful and friendly neighborhoods!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

03 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A stay in a favela is very interessting. there is a cool energy. when we arrived the first thing we heard and saw was a samba group practicing. :) it can be a bit loud here, but I like that energy. Also, the owners are really great and the place was lovely. Simple but clean.

Disliked: nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Debra Fincham

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 November 2012 Debra would recommend this property

Liked: Everything - the atmosphere, the hosts, the room and faclities, the location. Vanessa and Tito were so friendly and accomodating that it felt more like staying with old friends. I felt very safe, after initial reservations of being an over 50 year old female tourist walking alone through such a busy area. I enjoyed getting lost and found in the narrow winding streets, talking in Portuguese/English with the local children, eating icecream while watching a soap opera with an elderly woman at the local icecream shop, sharing an evening with Vanessa and Tito on the rooftop under the full moon, walking along the beach and swimming at Leblon and Ipanema, and riding up the hill on the moto-taxis at the end of each day. Comfy bed, kitchen facilities, hot showers, a washing line in the sun, on site action - what more could you want. An amazing experience, obrigada.

Disliked: Absolutely nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hosts. Vanessa & Tito were very helpful with practical & transport information, & tips on language & what to see & do. they made sure we felt safe & comfortable within the favela. Vanessa took me to the local dentist & translated for me. Greatly appreciated, as I couldn't have done it myself. They also took us to a local restaurant which we visited again on our own. We felt like we were staying with friends & enjoyed many great chats together. We enjoyed it so much, we stayed another night when passing through Rio.

Disliked: Nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lydia Sawyer

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 April 2012 Lydia would recommend this property

Liked: I thought it was a wonderful experience to stay in a favela in rio. It felt really safe and really opens your mind. As you are staying in a couples home rather than a hostel you do get a true experience of living in a favela! I love it an Vanessa and Tito are fantastic hosts

Disliked: I didn't dislike anything!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is one of the best places we've stayed in our 5 months in South America. Not only is it cheap and in a great location (close to beaches), it also gave us a real authentic experience of how locals live in the favela. We never once felt unsafe, even at night, and everyone was friendly and willing to help. Vanessa and Tito are fantastic - they help with transport advice, where to eat and what to see and do. We can't recommend this place highly enough - it's a chance not to be missed.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Vanessa and Tito, the owners are lovely, helpful and welcoming people. The favela felt safe, much safer than places like Copacabana. It´s really easy to get to Ipanema, Copacabana, Leblon etc by bus or walking. The views from the rooftop terrace are amazing.

Disliked: Nothing... it´s perfect!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

31 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: If you want to stay in a fevela in Rio, this is the place to be. The atmosphere in Vidigal is very nice, relaxed and safe. The fevela is quite compact and during the night bustling with activity. The staff, Vanessa and Tito, are an amazingly nice couple. One of the best places where we stayed in our trip through South America. Huge thanks for a great experience!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katie Shrimpton

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 January 2012 Katie would recommend this property

Liked: Quite simply one of our best experiences in our 6 months in South America. Vanessa and Tito could not have done more in welcoming us to both their guesthouse and Favela Vidigal generally. We stayed 6 nights here after spending 2 nights at another hostel in Copacabana and we can honestly say the experience we had here was infinitely better than the other place. We did a fair amount of research prior to staying at the guesthouse for obvious reasons and we found a good degree negatively, especially on one particular thread on Thorntree. However, having now been here it's clear these contributors had never been to this favela (or any other one most likely) as our experiences there were so far removed from the concerns raised. Travelling into and out of the favela after dark was safe, cheap and easy with the moto-taxis and the services nearby within the favela (restaurants, bars, supermarkets (one with an ATM that accepts foreign cards)) meant we could just as happily hang out in the favela both during the day and later on into the evening. Ironically the only unwanted attention we received was from the police (who had pacified Vidigal one month before our stay) but this was done politely and once we were identified as tourists they left us alone. The local people themselves were lovely and kind - never did we feel our presence was intrusive or unwanted. This is by far the longest review we've ever left on HB but we feel so strongly about the positive experience we had in Vidigal. It was simply a fantastic 6 days and as a result we cannot recommend this place highly enough.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

24 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: i liked the fact that it was right in the middle of a favela which was nothing like i have heard in the past the people were great and was very safe

Disliked: n/a

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Adriana Ranalli

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 November 2011 Adriana would recommend this property

Liked: What a fantastic and inexpensive way to experience life in the favelas of Rio. Very safe, and very friendly people around. Is a little tricky to find so follow the directions on the page. We loved our stay with Matas, he is a great guy and super friendly. The facilities are fantastic, endless hot water and very clean. Very simple to move around from and get to Ipanema beach and beyond. We ended up extending our stay here because we loved it so much! Cheers Matas and Tito!

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Defintely a great place to stay if you want to sample the hustle and bustle of Brazillian life in a favella. Believe it or not but it is safer than Copacacaban! Delicious and cheap street food and a friendly environment. The 2 brothers who run the guesthouse will go out of their way to help you and make you feel at home. They even let me borrow their surfboard.

Disliked: It is quite hard to find as they mentios so don´t be a hero and try and find it yourself! Get them to meet you as they say.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lewis Youngson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 March 2011 Lewis would recommend this property

Liked: This place is everything and more than i could have imagined. It is like staying at a friends house. The property is clean, there is an amazing rooftop with views along Ipanema, and Favela Vidigal is the friendliest place in Rio. I could live here and will definitely come back to Favela Vidigal. I feel like family here now.

Disliked: There is nothing not to like.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah Milsom

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 March 2011 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! Great experience staying in Vidigal, lovely community, guesthouse is very comfortable and relaxed, and the owner is very hospitable and informative.

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Huang Hong Ming

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 March 2011 Huang would recommend this property

Liked: everything is awesome~~~at first, I was suspicious with those perfect reviews. but when I arrived here and have my time here, I know those reviews are right. safe, comfort, convienent, and awesome. I don't need to pay a lot to visit here, I just lived here. Viva Vidigal!!!

Disliked: nothing.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jim ross

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 January 2011 jim would recommend this property

Liked: A great place to stay to experience what life in brazil is really like. Totally safe and secure, friendly locals, lovely quiet beach at the bottom of the hill. The place is run by a local tour guide who can tell you everything to do in rio. A great experience if your looking for something different.

Disliked: -

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

08 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a very real experience of Rio, I felt like I was living with the locals. Loved IT!!

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Work / volunteering
City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa

17 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place is nothing short but brilliant! You ge the oppertunity to stay in a very special community of Rio. Best view in town, enjoyed with the best BBQ. It s the door to the playround for grownups, that Rio is to me!

Disliked: Im nothing but positive bout this place, did I mention they have the best shower out of all the hostelsI I stayed in in Rio?