HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Botanic Hostel Rio de Janeiro

Hostel

Rua Jardim Botanico, 448, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Atmosphere 49%

Cleanliness 49%

Facilities 41%

Location 78%

Safety 65%

Staff 44%

Value 57%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Board Games
  • Cable TV
  • Free City Maps
  • Hot Showers

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 10:30

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • Pet Friendly"
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rio de Janeiro?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 49%

Cleanliness 49%

Facilities 41%

Location 78%

Safety 65%

Staff 44%

Value 57%

Showing 1-7 of 7 reviews

31% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
31% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: location.

Disliked: first of all, the eastern european girl working was TERRIBLE, her attitude just stinks the whole time, very poor, unhelpful and unfriendly.stayed for 3 days during transit and asked to keep my luggage stored while i attended a meeting "sigh" (its not my job)" but eventually did it after initially saying NO, could not use my card even tho there is a sign on the wall saying cards accepted, but fair enough i went to get money £20, come back, sorry we never keep change, you must go to shop to change, EH??? its a hotel on 4 floors only dealing in cash WTF, no WIFI ever, in the 2 weeks on and off i have visited previous, there has been no wifi, even though the girl gave me a code knowingly for the router which was not even turned on, she said it is working, i can see it on my phone, i asked her to show me, low and behold oh its must have gone off!!! luckily i have a uk unlimited data plan so it was not a big deal but just the whole situation, how that supposed 3* hotel is run is almost shambolic.noisy drunk scots banging around on the second floor at 2am, although the girl did deal with this eventually.I have worked and stayed in MANY hostels around the world which were better then this and this claims to be a hotel, SERIOUSLY, GUYS do NOT BOOK HERE avoid like the plague, i stayed at the heritage hotel in the end a few doors down, and that was simply amazing for less then £10 extra and all amenities worked and even got breakfast

40% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
40% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Events / festivals

Liked: Location is quite OK.

Disliked: Bad, worse, BOTANIC Hotel.Have never stayed in such an awful place (keeping the price, I paid in mind).Extremely worn-out and dirty property. The Wi-Fi did not work, even though it was advertised to be available.(This does not seem that bad, but if you want to book the following hotel on your trip only one day in advance, it becomes an issue)Two mails with different requests, send more than 4weeks prior to our arrival, have not been answered.All in all, I cannot recommend this place at all.

31% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
31% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: city centre location

Disliked: cost of stay,did not feel secure in room,mirror broken,tiolet seat broken,dreadfull smell(cooking fat??)no help from staff

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Nothing really. The location was good for where we wanted it

Disliked: Very run down. Our booking we made with hostel bookers had not been recorded at the hotel. The price we were given on the website did not match the price in arrival.

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: Location. Near to Botanic gardens. Cheap.

Disliked: My room was very shabby. Kettle didn't work. Dusty tea-bags.

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: the location the price

Disliked: the tv was not connected properly,no kettle,i wasn't told that,unlike January when I stayed before,breakfast had to be prebooked and cost an extra £5 and was effectively told to get out by the manager at 10.15 ,check out time being 10.30,which I didn't feel was very hospitable.im not complaining about the prebooked breakfast etc,im complaining about not being told the night before.

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Location is excellent

Disliked: Tv not working or replaced when requested, bins not emptied for 5 days, towels not provided until requested, staff only present when bill to be paid. Did not try breakfast. No wi fi anywhere?

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: Friendly staff and nice rooms

Disliked: Quite hard to find

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Quiet and peaceful. Great location, close to tube, and on the bus line. Attraction of interest nearby. Price quite reasonable.

Disliked: Property has no lift. Could use a really good cleaning. Bed linen at bit tatty. Television and hot water should be replaced. Electrical socket in room, by bed, was unusable. Property needs a good maintenance person.

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: It was quiet and the location was ideal. It was also clean and comfortable

Disliked: Only small inconveniences eg had to ask for a towel, no wifi in bedrooms.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability