We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of HOSTEL ECO ARCO VERDE

Hostel | Ladeira do Leme, 250, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil 22290-130

60.8% Overall Rating

16 out of 27 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (25/02/2013)

"Close to Copacabana beach and metro in a secured area with a lot of service around (shopping center, small shop, restaurants, etc.)."

Read all HOSTEL ECO ARCO VERDE reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Café

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 33.54
  • Luggage Room USD 4.19
  • Towel USD 1.26

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rio de Janeiro?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rio de Janeiro

Copinha Hostel
18.45 USD

Hostel 70.4% 44 reviews
CabanaCopa Hostel
10.06 USD

Hostel 76.0% 283 reviews
Che Lagarto Hostel Copacabana
17.78 USD

Hostel 80.7% 66 reviews
Rio Nature Adventure
7.97 USD

Hostel 69.8% 12 reviews
Samba Green Hostel
12.58 USD

Hostel 83.9% 16 reviews
Rio Rockers Hostel
25.16 USD

Hostel 83.6% 4 reviews
Lisetonga Hostel
10.90 USD

Hostel 91.1% 110 reviews
El Misti Hostel Leme
8.34 USD

Hostel 65.0% 4 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
60.8%

Overall Rating

16 out of 27 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'HOSTEL ECO ARCO VERDE'

Atmosphere
64.0%
Location
64.0%
Facilities
47.2%
Cleanliness
49.6%
Staff
72.0%
Value
56.0%
Safety
72.8%
Refine your results Showing 14 of 25 reviews
Reset filter
25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

aitor ruiz navarro

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa

22 March 2014

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Everything

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gabriel Castro

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 September 2013 Gabriel would recommend this property

Liked: The place is really good and clean

Disliked: Almost nothing, eveything was cool here

34.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Willian Praniski

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 May 2013

Liked: the view from the top is not too bad.

Disliked: night/morning noise, rooster singing all night long, dogs barking, teared bed linens stapled together, really weak breakfast, two or three options of beverages to buy only.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

25 February 2013

Liked: Close to Copacabana beach and metro in a secured area with a lot of service around (shopping center, small shop, restaurants, etc.).

Disliked: Not very clean at all! Except the bed sheets, the rest of the hostel is out of the minimum you can expect from this kind of place.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Francisco Javier Rosado García

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 June 2012

Liked: Era tranquila

Disliked: horrible accesso

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals

20 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The people were really lovely and helpful, and the place definitely has character!

Disliked: Its up a big hill, but its not unwalkable, and its close to Copacobana, so the location isnt too bad. Cleanliness could improve and the place needs doing up though.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 June 2011

Liked: We stayed here over Easter and the only thing that made staying here tolerable was others in the same situation. One of the staff, Thomas, was very friendly and helpful in recommending places to go. We had very average mattress but a few new ones arrived the same day. New lockers in the door were a welcome addition.

Disliked: Property was a complete dive but they are slowly making an effort to do the place up. Kitchen was very dirty and no way we would have cooked there. Eco seemed to more relate to economical rather than ecological. Location is on top of a very steep hill from Copa.

The property's response is...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

14 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Super friendly staff, free wifi and people hang out on the terrace which is nice.

Disliked: In all honesty, I would not have chosen to stay here but everything else was booked up. It's run down. Sheets and matresses are budget. We moved after 2 days. We stayed in 4 different hostels and Rio and this I felt was below standard. However, if you are on a long trip and don't mind too much then this is cheap. This place has so much potential and they just need to refurbish it. Taxi drivers did not always know where it was..so make sure you print off the map (say near RIO SUL which is the big shopping centre)

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: was charming

Disliked: just one bathromm for 12 people

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

James Valentine

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals

07 March 2011 James would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the friendliness of the hostess, the lovely Haimunda. The staff were very helpful in general, and very flexible about extending my stay, which I did no fewer than twice. You should note that Haimunda speaks no English but is always willing to take time to explain and help with your Portuguese! Google Translate comes in handy when you get past the basics of arranging your stay, which is obviously fine. The breakfast was pretty good and there tended to be extra. They were accommodating when I wanted a late breakfast some days, and brought me fresh things. There's an attractive view towards Urca and of the bay. The place is pretty peaceful even at the height of Carnaval when I was there. The photos on the site don't really do the place justice. I've asked them to put some new ones up! About 5 minutes walk down the hill to Metro Arcoverde, about 10 minutes back up! By the time you're at Arcoverde, you're only two minutes walk from Copacabana beach. When they say Eco, they mean that. It is pretty quiet, and you can hear birdsong all the time. I don't think this is ever going to be a party hostel... But if you wanted to bring in a load of beer and enjoy the terrace in the evening, they would encourage that - you really can use the place as your own.

Disliked: Cleanliness could be improved somewhat, and the general condition of fittings was poor. The mattresses are rather thin, but I slept well nonetheless. You should note that the hostel is between Botafogo and Cardeal Arcoverde Metro stations, up a steep hill.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 January 2011

Liked: The lady who owns it is nice, also the Brazilian and American guy who helps here.

Disliked: The pictures dousn´t give a good idea about it. The beds are crap and dirty. The dorms are to small. The bathroom is dirty, they don´t clean it. The citchen is crap.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

18 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The lady who owns it is super nice, but if you don't speak portuguese or spanish you are pretty much screwed. Its a great place, just be ready to walk up that hill.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jacqueline Lawless

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 October 2010 Jacqueline would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast and the wi-fi are great! Lady doesn't really speak English but she tries!

Disliked: There is an old smell around but it's cheap (for Rio!) and just up the hill from Copa!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Robin Maclean

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Shopping

13 October 2010 Robin would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed here as my first hostel was full but I found it had real character and the family that run it arre really nice. Its not party central but for a good snug location between Copacabana and Sugar Loaf Mountian with the huge Rio Sul Shopping Centre 5 minutes away. A decent breakfast is provided to start the day and computers/internet/wifi faciliities were excellent. They also cleaned my room every other day and the best touch was after a long hike out in the sun their was a cold jug of water waiting for me. They don~t speak English but what better opportunity to learn Portugeese! Or just use translator on Google which I did. I had a single room but I saw in the dorm room and it was fine. Overall for something with a bit of old colonial charm, with a welcome at the gate without being bothered, I was very happy.

Disliked: If you want everything just like home, then you~re better sticking to bed-factories.