HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Rio Backpackers

Hostel | Travessa Santa Leocadia St. 38, End of Barao de ipanema, st., Copacabana Rio de Janeiro, Brazil 22061050

80.5% Overall Rating

37 out of 48 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/01/2014)

"The staff was very nice and helpful. The breakfast was also very nice. The hostel is nearby copacobana beach."

Read all Rio Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 26.51

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rio de Janeiro?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rio de Janeiro

El Misti Rooms
8.93 USD

Hostel 92.2% 53 reviews
El Misti Hostel Copacabana
8.56 USD

Hostel 74.3% 177 reviews
Rio Ritz Hostel
14.27 USD

Hostel 65.4% 55 reviews
Walk On The Beach Hostel
12.23 USD

Hostel 88.8% 173 reviews
Che Lagarto Suites Copacabana Anita
37.05 USD

Hostel 80.6% 129 reviews
Che Lagarto Suites Copacabana Santa Clara
32.12 USD

Apartment 79.0% 33 reviews
Copa Hostel
21.82 USD

Hostel 76.9% 75 reviews
El Misti House Copacabana
9.34 USD

Hostel 88.5% 141 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.5%

Overall Rating

37 out of 48 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Rio Backpackers'

Atmosphere
80.8%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
72.8%
Cleanliness
66.4%
Staff
89.6%
Value
76.8%
Safety
85.6%
Refine your results Showing 28 of 44 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really helpful and friendly staff

Disliked: Room was very basic and sheets not very clean.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great common room to meet people

Disliked: Sometimes Internet didn't work, washing machine didn't work, electricity cut out

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

13 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very nice and helpful. The breakfast was also very nice. The hostel is nearby copacobana beach.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

ELENA RODRIGUEZ DESPLOBAINS

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2014 ELENA would recommend this property

Liked: The location, breakfast, nice terrace on the top and good shower.

Disliked: the room was a box in a corner of the bulding, you could not move or put your staff anywhere.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Katie Holdsworth

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 August 2013 Katie would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff, good breakfast, close to beach, good transport links, tours available (although I didn't use them), rooms are clean.

Disliked: Nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Rebecca Atkins

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 February 2013 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: Location Cheap and cheerful facebook.com/Spamtraveller

Disliked: afternoon staff weren't particularly friendly Room was quite small for 6 people

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location! Easy walk to copacabana beach and shopping area. A staff were really helpful too

Disliked: Our room smelt really bad! Cost...but I suppose you pay for the location

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly staff and brilliant location- we felt safe and there were different tours on offer. Hostel was clean, breakfast good and it had a nice social area on the roof.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

EMMA ADAMSON

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 January 2013 EMMA would recommend this property

Liked: The place has a really friendly and relaxed vibe- felt like a home away from home! Staff were so friendly and helpful and helped us to organise our transport to the samba school.

Disliked: If you want a quiet location this is not the place to be! Our room looked over the main bar which could be quite noisy.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Stefan Hoevel

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 November 2012 Stefan would recommend this property

Liked: - location, helpful staff

Disliked: - very hard bed, smelly room, thin walls

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was very good, nearby beach and metro station. Excursions organized within hostel, that offers you the change to get to know other residents.

Disliked: Rooms are very basic. Price level in Rio the Janeiro is high, regarding this high price, the room did not meet our expectations. E.g. no bedlights, no closet.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Emma Uys

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 September 2012 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: We requested the airport transfer from the airport to the hostel at $R70, and this made entry into Brazil for the first time so easy! Breakfast is also really good (fresh rolls, eggs one day, a traditional Brazilian stew another) with amazing coffee.

Disliked: It was very quiet, too quiet in terms of travellers (there were only 3-5 other guests that we saw there during our time). Would have loved some more people around for interaction...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

16 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Delivered what the advestise, nice builfing, great common area and breakfast. Recomended!

Disliked: We booked for two nights but they had availability only for 1 night claiming they have 48hrs in advace booking policy. What's the point then of letting people book the property? Still recomended

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly and helpful staff

Disliked: very unclean, no sheets on the bed and no towels given

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

26 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Gostei de tudo. fiquei satisfeito

Disliked: nada

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stuart Hendry

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 June 2012 Stuart would recommend this property

Liked: The staff here were incredibly friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble for them.. The welcome drink was the best I ve tasted in brazil. The breakfast was great and was different each day which was a great relief.. The hostel was clean,safe and very near the beach,shops,bars etc.. Many events are organized for guests here

Disliked: I couldn't stay longer

40.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 June 2012

Liked: Really good atmosphere.

Disliked: The breakfast is below average. Beds are extremely uncomfortable. You must pay for internet use. Bathrooms were not cleaned often

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, good breakfast and helpful, friendly staff

Disliked: Rooms were a bit cramped and it wasn't the cleanest. The cleaners seemed to clean every day, it just that certain areas seemed to be somewhat overlooked! Not hugely dirty but probably the least clean place we stayed in SA. Also, WIFI only available in the rooms beside reception.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nena Logan

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 October 2011 Nena would recommend this property

Liked: The location is amazing, so central. We got such a friendly welcome from Mike, and the staff were really helpful in recommending restaurants and activities. Also the hostel was super clean and well kept, drinks at the bar were reasonably priced.

Disliked: The hostel is set around a central courtyard which makes it really noisy all night long...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for Rio. Staff were super nice and helpful. Rooms were fine and air-conned.

Disliked: Very little

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were all super helpful and nice. Gave great recommendations for a birthday lunch and night out. The owner also saw us having trouble booking flights with foreign credit cards and paid for it on her own card and then took the money from our card on her machine. Beyond the call of duty! Hostel itself was clean and air-conned and good value for Rio. Nice bar upstairs though it is not a party hostel.

Disliked: Very little.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Christopher Charlier

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 May 2011

Liked: There was free wifi which worked if you're in a room near the lobby; there are 2 computers you can use for a fee. You can use their tiny fridge downstairs on the 1st floor.

Disliked: Too small of a common area downstairs, though a reasonable common area on the 3rd floor, though during the week. No drinking water available, even to buy. The staff was very lazy; did not offer to help but would try to help if you asked. The breakfast was from 9-11 and included one fruit, often half split open/turned sour, stale bread roll, and butter (2 days out of 5 they offered a hot dog in sauce for the bun). There was good coffee. The rooms were not cleaned once during our 5 nights there, and the bathrooms were not cleaned though the trash in there was emptied. The hostel had only a couple other people there all week, there was no music ever, the bar was not open once, and we did not get our welcome caipirinha because "we are understaffed today." We didn't make any friends, which is unusual in a hostel. Not social at all.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the location, staff and party atmosphere. Loved heading out on the town.

Disliked: Very basic rooms, but you aren't paying for things you don't need!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rio Backpackers is so much fun. We met a lot of cool people there and the staff are so friendly ~ they took us out quite a few nights and are always ready to help. Def recommend it!

Disliked: The kitchen could have been cleaner

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful common area with pool table and couches and terrace.

Disliked: Bathrooms need to be cleaned more often and better.