HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of El misti botafogo hostel e pousada

Guesthouse | R. Praia de Botafogo 462, House 9, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil 22250-040

79.3% Overall Rating

92 out of 113 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/08/2014)

"Very friendly staff. 12 bed dorm is sometimes too exhausting and during the nights it is not that calm and silent."

Read all El misti botafogo hostel e pousada reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Room service (limited hours)
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Sofa

What's Included

  • Airport Pickup
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Age Restrictions: No persons under 18 years old can book shared rooms Cancellation Policy We require a 50% deposit to confirm and guarantee any reservation. The remaining balance must be paid at the check-in time. Any cancellations with less than 72-hours notice prior to the check-in time will not receive deposit refunds. Any request for a cancellation or modification must be submitted in writing. The same rules apply for both cancellations and modifications. Any no-shows will be charged 100% of the reservation total after 24-hours from the check-in time if no notification is received by El Misti Hostels. We recommend that all guests purchase traveler’s insurance to protect themselves from any unforeseen circumstances. In the case that you need to make an insurance claim, El Misti Hostels will help you in any way possible including providing documentation, etc. *Cancellations for groups of 6 or more people must be made with at least a full 2 (two) week’s notice. In this case, the group may collect 100% of their deposit paid to El Misti (not including deposits made through 3rd party sites). Any cancellations made with insufficient notice will not have any portion of the deposit refunded. *Cancellations for the New Years Package can only be made before Nov. 30 and are 100% refundable (not including deposits made through 3rd party sites). Any cancellations made after that date will not have deposits refunded. * Cancellations for the Summer Season 2015 can only be made 15 days before check in date, 100% refundable. Cancellations made after that date will not be refunded deposits. *Cancellations for the Carnaval 2015 Package can only be made up until Dec. 12, 100% reimbursable. Any cancellations made after that date will not have deposits refunded. *Cancellations for the Holy Week 2015 Package can only be made 15 days before check in date, 100% reimbursable. Any cancellations made after that date will not have deposits refunded.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rio de Janeiro?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rio de Janeiro

Alpha Hostel
13.37 USD

Hostel 77.0% 121 reviews
Ace Backpackers Youth Hostels Rio de Janeiro
35.65 USD

Hostel 70.4% 198 reviews
Albergue Eco Backpackers Hostel
22.28 USD

Hostel 77.1% 44 reviews
Rio Soul Hostel
12.93 USD

Hostel 86.5% 60 reviews
Sarréufa Club Hostel
22.29 USD

Hostel 55.1% 45 reviews
Beach Backpackers Hostel Rio de Janeiro
8.91 USD

Hostel 80.9% 458 reviews
Ocean Inn Rio Botafogo
11.14 USD

Hostel 79.4% 35 reviews
Tupiniquim Hostel Rio de Janeiro
15.60 USD

Hostel 79.1% 111 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.3%

Overall Rating

92 out of 113 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'El misti botafogo hostel e pousada'

Atmosphere
80.8%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
76.0%
Cleanliness
75.2%
Staff
77.6%
Value
74.4%
Safety
83.2%
Refine your results Showing 67 of 87 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff. 12 bed dorm is sometimes too exhausting and during the nights it is not that calm and silent.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Jorge Mateus

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 June 2014 Jorge would recommend this property

Liked: The staff

Disliked: There aré not toilets enough

The property's response is...

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 April 2014

Liked: Good location and kindly staffs.

Disliked: Room is too small.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a really good place to stay! Good atmosphere and really friendly staff (mostly argentinian). The breakfast is really good and they also offer quite cheap diners (they have a cooker who decides the day's menu). It's really well located, near the metro station and bus station to go whatever you want. It's 30 min walking to Copacabana. I really recommend the hostel!!

Disliked: Nothing! =)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

04 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location, easy access to beaches and parties. staff is great except the overnight security guard who is way too strict. staff know some great spot around town and will help u out. just gotta not be shy and ask.

Disliked: its located in a residential area so the hostel has to be quite early.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

15 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is a very good hostel with a friendly enviroment.

Disliked: The number of bathrooms. Sometimes, is not enough.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gunther Aguilera

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2013 Gunther would recommend this property

Liked: Excelente lugar con muy buena atención del personal. El desayuno excelente y a un precio muy conveniente. Muy contento de haberme alojado allí

Disliked: Todo bien

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

05 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great Breakfast, and room was okay. Nice part of town.

Disliked: The staff could have been friendlier, and smiled once in a while.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 March 2013

Liked: Location; food for diners

Disliked: some stuff not really helpfull

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

alex crump

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 March 2013 alex would recommend this property

Liked: it was well situated nwext to the tube, clean, use computers, good vibe, good breafast

Disliked: the guy who works there is so rude. all the women are lovely, but he was so rude, and would just ignore you standing there trying to pay him whilst he was on facebook! our fan in our room, only had one setting and was static, so was impossible to brush my hair, and was like sleeping next to a helicopter

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Jon Fisher

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 February 2013

Liked: The best things at our stay at El Misti was breakfast and the Caiprinhias. it was really social as well during our stay and we met some great people

Disliked: They advertised aircon in the rooms and lockers, we had neither of these. After paying quadruple the price of what you'd normally pay (due to carnival) to stay there it's the least you expect! After complaining to staff on reception we were given a key for a small deposit box in the hallway which you would normally have to pay for! Nothing was done about the air con even though it was mentioned various times to staff. So trying to sleep at night was sweaty and hellish! We weren't given sheets for our beds when we first arrived and the sheets from the person who had stayed in the bed before we're still left on. This meant another trip down to reception to get clean sheets. The last thing we wanted to be doing was making beds at half 12 in the morning after a 12 hour flight. The room was really small and was once probably a double room which is now turned into a 6 bed dorm. The beds were stacked 3 high on each side of the room, there was hardly any room for one person to get ready, let alone 6 and it was impossible to sit up on your bed. We were basically crammed in like sardines. The majority of staff weren't that helpful apart from the exception of Victoria and ? If you asked any questions to some of the staff or needed any help, directions or general information you we're a bit of an inconvenience. The wifi was really slow or didn't work at all.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

08 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff working in the front desk-computer-area-living room space-bar-area-library area (for lack of a one word descriptor) were phenomenally welcoming, kind, awesomely informative and either bilingual or trilingual (as should be the case at any hostel). Many thanks to the cool, laid back and refreshingly chill dude who helped ensure my air conditioner functioned and was set to the desired temperature. Very appreciated.

Disliked: It seems odd and quite perplexing that in a private room food and beverages (non-alcoholic, I understand) are prohibited.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing

17 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: relaxed ppl, location, breakfast

Disliked: cleanliness, number of bathrooms

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jemma Dicks

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 April 2012 Jemma would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing breakfast!!! Close to metro. Very near to Christ the Redeemer and Sugarloaf.

Disliked: Nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

04 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: das fruehstueck war genial !!!jeden tag ein wechselndes gericht fuer normales geld. um die ecke gabs eine strasse zum ausgehen.ab24.00 war es wirklich still,staffs haben drauf geachtet.

Disliked: staffs kamen selbst nicht aus rio und hatten keine ahnung.wirkten manchmal etwas lustlos.zimmer mueffelte ein wenig und war nur gefegt.alle tueren der zimmer liessen sich nicht schliessen.das schlimmste aber waren die wc's eigentlich aus mangel immer besetzt .selbst nachts manchmal.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 November 2011

Liked: The breakfast was good and is replenished frequently. The dinners that the argentine chef serves up are tasty and great if you have come in late and haven´t got food to cook. The dog is also really cute and friendly.

Disliked: Some of the staff were offhand and not forthcoming with information on local sights. There was a lack of security, our dorm had a door that led down to the road which was never locked despite the specific request of another guy in our dorm. We stayed for 3 days and I never once got a hot or even warm shower. Meals and drinks are offered but at a cost. What annoyed us most was that we couldn´t use the kitchen between 6 and 9pm. We appreciated that their chef needed to cook but as travellers on a budget we couldn´t afford the food they put on each night . On one night we were forced to sign up for the dinner they provided simply because there was no space for us to cook the food we had got from the supermarket.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

09 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, location was good with nice view of sugar loaf when leaving the hostel, quality of food that is served on a nightly basis was good and it was also cheap.

Disliked: the room that I stayed in was not clean, which is the biggest letdown, as I found out that there were insects in my bed when I woke up in the morning

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jane Christensen Kjaergaard

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

09 August 2011 Jane Christensen would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, Nice lounge area with a good bar, and a lot of other travellers. Excellent and cheap offers for dinner. The location is close to the metro, but pretty far from the beach.

Disliked: The 12 female room was really packed and very hot. For the luggage lockers you needed to buy your own lock at a shop.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa

15 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location. non touristic, so better.

Disliked: no much.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Work / volunteering

27 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good neighborhood. Convenient. Atmosphere in evening is great for meeting people. Staff are helpful.

Disliked: For some reason, I seemed to be the only one who wanted to go out!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

romain boureau

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 May 2011 romain would recommend this property

Liked: staff, fun, location

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The people were great! Loved the staff and they even offered to come out around the city with us and get to know us. Tons of wonderful guests and plenty of opportunities to meet other people. Very laid back atmosphere! Loved it!

Disliked: Cold showers on the first floor

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

lauren goodey

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 March 2011 lauren would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely staff, Reallllllly good breakfast and dinner, met lots of nice people which is great if your travelling alone.

Disliked: The room was a little cramped but the downstairs area was big enough to have space and relax.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Leonoor de Vries

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 March 2011

Liked: The caiperinhas and the staff that gave us a nice tip about a place to go.

Disliked: There were only 5 bathrooms for nearly a 100 people. And only 2 showers had hot water. There was only 1 seperate toilet and no seperate sink, so if you wanted to brush your teeth or really needed to go to the toilet, you had to wait for a shower to get free. Bathrooms were also dirty, there was vomit in there 2 times.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

09 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staffs is very friendly, good breakfast, good localization in Rio..

Disliked: The showers is not so good, but still work..