We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Beach Backpackers Hostel Rio de Janeiro

Hostel | Rua Guilhermina Guinle #95, Botafogo, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil 22270-060

81.4% Overall Rating

413 out of 475 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/08/2015)

Gabrielle Osen thinks…

"Reasonably clean. Towels provided as standard free of charge. Nice staff. Probably quite sociable if you speak Portuguese. I left my phone on charge in the kitchen all day by accident and it was…"

Read all Beach Backpackers Hostel Rio de Janeiro reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 27.89
  • Luggage Room USD 2.79

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Hostelbookers Sale Please note that all sales bookings are final and non-refundable. The property may charge your card in advance for the full amount of your stay. Payment protection is also not available in connection with these bookings. In the event that you cancel your booking the accommodation provider shall be entitled to retain the total outstanding costs of your booking. All rooms that are included in the sale are identified in their room type as [“!!! Sale !!! Non Refundable”]. CARNAVAL - MINIMUM STAY 7 NIGHTS FROM THE 16TH FEB. BOOKINGS WITH LESS THAN 7 NIGHTS FROM THE 16TH SHALL BE CANCELLED AND THE 10% PAID TO HB IS NOT REFUNDABLE. NEW YEARS - MINIMUM STAY 5 NIGHTS FROM THE 27TH DECEMBER. BOOKINGS WITH LESS THAN 5 NIGHTS FROM THE 27TH SHALL BE CANCELLED AND THE 10% PAID TO HB IS NOT REFUNDABLE. **AFTER YOUR BOOKING THE HOSTEL WILL GET IN TOUCH WITH YOU TO PROCEED WITH A 50% DEPOSIT OF THE TOTAL AMOUNT PAYABLE UPON ARRIVAL, IN ORDER TO CONFIRM YOUR RESERVATION**

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rio de Janeiro?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rio de Janeiro

Ocean Inn Rio Botafogo
6.97 USD

Hostel 78.7% 38 reviews
Tupiniquim Hostel Rio de Janeiro
6.97 USD

Hostel 78.7% 112 reviews
Sarréufa Club Hostel
13.94 USD

Hostel 55.3% 46 reviews
Rio Soul Hostel
6.14 USD

Hostel 84.5% 72 reviews
Albergue Eco Backpackers Hostel
20.92 USD

Hostel 77.1% 44 reviews
Ace Backpackers Youth Hostels Rio de Janeiro
13.94 USD

Hostel 70.4% 198 reviews
El misti botafogo hostel e pousada
5.27 USD

Hostel 75.1% 128 reviews
Alpha Hostel
6.97 USD

Hostel 76.3% 125 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.4%

Overall Rating

413 out of 475 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Beach Backpackers Hostel Rio de Janeiro'

Atmosphere
79.2%
Location
85.6%
Facilities
74.4%
Cleanliness
76.0%
Staff
88.0%
Value
84.0%
Safety
82.4%
Refine your results Showing 386 of 456 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 15 | 16   Next
Reset filter
65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Gabrielle Osen

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 August 2015

Liked: Reasonably clean. Towels provided as standard free of charge. Nice staff. Probably quite sociable if you speak Portuguese. I left my phone on charge in the kitchen all day by accident and it was still there when I got back. When I notified the manager that I had injured myself as a result of the thoughtless hostel design (see 'disliked'), he rearranged the beds in the room straight away (this also meant they were in a much more sensible arrangement, not blocking access to the cupboards).

Disliked: The 12-bed dorm was only just big enough for 4 (very high) triple bunk beds; my 6'1" boyfriend couldn't sit up in the top bunk (I, at 5'3", could just manage) and there wasn't a lot of space for bags (this improved when the room was rearranged). I also had a top bunk and the ladder was right next to the ceiling fan - the ends of which had been sawed off so they didn't actually overhang the bed. Nevertheless, one morning I wasn't quite careful enough as I was manoeuvring myself onto the ladder and the blade of the fan sliced into my bum. It was quite a deep cut which is still healing, but when I notified the manager he apologised and thanked me for notifying him but didn't offer compensation of any kind (although he did rearrange the beds in the room so no-one's ladder is next to the fan any more). The breakfast is only available from 8-9am, and when the cheese ran out at about 8:40 it was not replenished even though I asked. A member of staff explained that the breakfast used to be from 7-9 but no-one ever came down for the first hour so they're trying out 8-9 now - I don't see why they can't follow the example of every other hostel and serve it until 10 at least. There is no storage space in the kitchen apart from one cupboard for crockery, so people's food was all over the place in the kitchen making it difficult to find space to cook, especially if more than one person was cooking at the same time. Wobbly, creaky bunk beds - for some reason I've noticed that the hostel staff like to refute this when people mention it in reviews but it is true - in our room at least. Usually a wait for the bathroom. The downstairs toilet had hand soap and was cleaner but the upstairs one with a shower didn't have hand soap and was often dirty. The seating in the common area wasn't that comfy.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and price

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: arranged lots of good tours, location was ok.

Disliked: some staff spoke no english

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Alfred Joyner

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 April 2015

Liked: It wasn't as expensive as other hostels. The staff tried to be helpful.

Disliked: The location is in Botofogo, no where near either the beaches or the city centre. The room we stayed resembled a prison cell - no windows and not very clean. The hostel overall had a joyless vibe because people had clearly picked it because of price, not quality.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Keiron Evans

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa

13 March 2015 Keiron would recommend this property

Liked: Good place to relax after a crazy 4 weeks in south america. Nice staff, clean hostel no dramas

Disliked: Nothing it was all good

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals

23 February 2015

Liked: The staff is excellent. Very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: The area close to my room and the bathroom smelled like a gutter..smell was intolerable. Shower Was not cleaned well and much less on a daily basis.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Firas Daker

Alone

City break

03 February 2015 Firas would recommend this property

Liked: I quite like this place.. everything works fine.. the staff is friendly.. the location is great.. the only thing is if you get the top bed of 3 bunk beds, it's quite a climb but other than that, i highly recommend it

Disliked: Firas left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location, close to botafogo metro station. The breakfast is simple but good.

Disliked: Not enough bathrooms/showers. The airco was not functioning properly in the 12 bed dorm I was staying in which made it difficult to sleep some nights due to the heat. Not enough power sockets in the room.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - Cheap, does not increase it's prices on weekends - Good location, near the Metro, supermarkets, bars, restaurants, etc - Staff are very helpful - The common area is very modern, very clean - Charlie, the hostel dog

Disliked: - The dorms were way too crowded, they have tried to fit as many beds into the smalls rooms as possible. The topmost bunks are so close to the fans that people have been cut on the fan blades - The ensuite bathroom in my dorm looked what I imagine a prison bathroom would look like. Definitely needs an upgrade

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Carmel Pezzullo

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 June 2014 Carmel would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely helpful staff with great knowledge of the area.

Disliked: NA

The property's response is...

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Barbara Burkert

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 April 2014

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: The beds were very unsecure and stuffed into the room. The second night they even put more beds into the room. It was hot and smelly. The breakfast doesnt deserve that name. Staff was unfriendly and not helpful at all.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

lior hizik

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa

10 April 2014 lior would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and orgenized

Disliked: lior left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Betty Adesanya

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 March 2014 Betty would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome atmosphere! The 3 guys that run it are the nicest friendliest people url meet always laughing and smiling and happy to help you. I stayed over rio carnival so was lots of lively people staying. The bunk beds are a lil shakey and the tripple ones are acient looking so try avoid the top bunk but all in all a really lovely place. You must try one of federicos famous cocktails!

Disliked: Tripple bunkbeds.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Feels like home. Staff is great (Juan, Sandra, Rodrigo, Rosa)!! Kitchen is big and well equiped. Sofas on the TV are huge, confy, and good vibe. Neighborghood is pretty fancy and safe.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is close to the metro, and all important buses are runnig close by, the breakfast was good with cheese, ham, marmalade, fruit, coffee and cake, they have safe lockers, people at the front desk all night long and you have to bell the ring to go inside, so not everybody can enter.. between 7 and 8 they make happy hour for drinks.

Disliked: The beds are wrapped in plastic, was very very uncomfortable, all the people tried not to move at nights, cause it was so noisy with this plastic thing around the mattress.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 June 2013

Liked: The location was good as it is near the centre of Botafogo however that is the only good thing to be said unfortunately!

Disliked: They have a SERIOUS bed bug infestation at this hostel, do not stay here!!! All the mattresses are shrink-wrapped in plastic presumably to prevent the bed bugs getting out but this has failed miserably, the wooden bed frames are full of bugs and we saw a few crawling up the walls too. My boyfriend had an allergic reaction to the bed bug bites and as a result spent an afternoon in hospital in Rio, not fun! They also messed up our booking; we booked a double room and ended up in a double bed in a dorm surrounded by 4 other beds?!

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Luciano Leite da Silva

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 June 2013 Luciano would recommend this property

Liked: Really , really , really a nice place. I'll be back in august 2013!

Disliked: Luciano left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Eduardo Martins do Nascimento Júnior

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

08 June 2013

Liked: Good location and value for the money. The double room has air conditioned and also a ventilator and a comfortable bed.

Disliked: There's a shared shower under the stairs that is very very dirty and small. The place is a little bit dirty, very noisy and disorganized. The breakfast is poor. On a night, a few fellas slept on the couch...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are all really friendly and helpful. Awsome caiporenhas!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

scott almburg

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2013 scott would recommend this property

Liked: located near major bus stop and the metro - you can get anywhere in the city. safe neighboorhood. there are many side adventures the hostel can book for you, and they will arrange taxi service to airport.

Disliked: scott left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Adam Peardon

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

31 March 2013 Adam would recommend this property

Liked: Good value, only short walk or super cheap subway ride to the main beaches of copacabana and ipanema, but the hostal is half the price of those areas. The staff were very friendly.

Disliked: Our room and bathroom was a bit of a mess, although this could have been to do with the people sharing our room rather than the hostel staff. Seems to attract very young brazillian people coming to Rio for lots of partying as well as the usual backpacking crowd. We stayed in an 8 bed dorm, wouldn´t fancy the 15 bed dorms with 3 story bunks!

The property's response is...

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Simon Urch

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year

22 February 2013

Liked: Nice hostel in a great location in Botofogo, the staff are great and there's a good atmosphere around the hostel in general.

Disliked: in between making the booking 6 months before carnival and getting there, they changed the dorms from 8 bed to 12 which is not good, there are too many people in each room and it was feeling cramped, also it could sometimes be a bit of a wait for the bathroom. They also had a big problem with bed bugs while i was there, i got bitten quiet badly and several people left while i was there because of this problem. After looking back on the recent reviews i could see that they had been having issues for the previous few months but obviously hadn't sorted the problem, for this i cannot give them a good review or ever recommend anyone to stay there.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Troy Whitmarsh

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 February 2013 Troy would recommend this property

Liked: Lots of cool people staying here. Good info on how to get around and things to do.

Disliked: I was bitten by bedbugs on my first night and had an allergic reaction. The staff called in a doctor who gave me some medication and upgraded me to a private room all at no cost so it wasn't so bad.

The property's response is...

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 February 2013

Liked: nice chilling out area, livingroom etc

Disliked: BEDBUGS!!! Everywhere!! I Couldnt sleep because of it and the staff just ignores it! and the hostel and the service is pretty average, not so nice as it descirbes itself on the internet and not worth paying the price for it!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing

06 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was safe and the location is connected to every attraction by bus

Disliked: They tried to charge me for leaving the luggage the last day. They didnt have a luggage room