HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Beach Backpackers Hostel Rio de Janeiro

Hostel | Rua Guilhermina Guinle #95, Botafogo, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil 22270-060

80.9% Overall Rating

399 out of 458 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/08/2014)

"- Cheap, does not increase it's prices on weekends - Good location, near the Metro, supermarkets, bars, restaurants, etc - Staff are very helpful - The common area is very modern, very clean - Charlie, the hostel dog"

Read all Beach Backpackers Hostel Rio de Janeiro reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 44.43
  • Luggage Room USD 4.44

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

CARNAVAL - MINIMUM STAY 7 NIGHTS FROM THE 16TH FEB. BOOKINGS WITH LESS THAN 7 NIGHTS FROM THE 16TH SHALL BE CANCELLED AND THE 10% PAID TO HB IS NOT REFUNDABLE. NEW YEARS - MINIMUM STAY 5 NIGHTS FROM THE 27TH DECEMBER. BOOKINGS WITH LESS THAN 5 NIGHTS FROM THE 27TH SHALL BE CANCELLED AND THE 10% PAID TO HB IS NOT REFUNDABLE. **AFTER YOUR BOOKING THE HOSTEL WILL GET IN TOUCH WITH YOU TO PROCEED WITH A 50% DEPOSIT OF THE TOTAL AMOUNT PAYABLE UPON ARRIVAL, IN ORDER TO CONFIRM YOUR RESERVATION**

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rio de Janeiro?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rio de Janeiro

Ocean Inn Rio Botafogo
11.11 USD

Hostel 79.4% 35 reviews
Tupiniquim Hostel Rio de Janeiro
15.55 USD

Hostel 79.1% 111 reviews
Sarréufa Club Hostel
22.22 USD

Hostel 55.1% 45 reviews
Rio Soul Hostel
12.89 USD

Hostel 86.5% 60 reviews
Albergue Eco Backpackers Hostel
22.21 USD

Hostel 77.1% 44 reviews
Ace Backpackers Youth Hostels Rio de Janeiro
35.54 USD

Hostel 70.4% 198 reviews
El misti botafogo hostel e pousada
8.84 USD

Guesthouse 79.3% 113 reviews
Alpha Hostel
13.33 USD

Hostel 77.0% 121 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.9%

Overall Rating

399 out of 458 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Beach Backpackers Hostel Rio de Janeiro'

Atmosphere
79.2%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
71.2%
Cleanliness
75.2%
Staff
86.4%
Value
83.2%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 378 of 439 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 15 | 16   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - Cheap, does not increase it's prices on weekends - Good location, near the Metro, supermarkets, bars, restaurants, etc - Staff are very helpful - The common area is very modern, very clean - Charlie, the hostel dog

Disliked: - The dorms were way too crowded, they have tried to fit as many beds into the smalls rooms as possible. The topmost bunks are so close to the fans that people have been cut on the fan blades - The ensuite bathroom in my dorm looked what I imagine a prison bathroom would look like. Definitely needs an upgrade

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Carmel Pezzullo

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 June 2014 Carmel would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely helpful staff with great knowledge of the area.

Disliked: NA

The property's response is...

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Barbara Burkert

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 April 2014

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: The beds were very unsecure and stuffed into the room. The second night they even put more beds into the room. It was hot and smelly. The breakfast doesnt deserve that name. Staff was unfriendly and not helpful at all.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

lior hizik

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa

10 April 2014 lior would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and orgenized

Disliked: lior left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Betty Adesanya

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 March 2014 Betty would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome atmosphere! The 3 guys that run it are the nicest friendliest people url meet always laughing and smiling and happy to help you. I stayed over rio carnival so was lots of lively people staying. The bunk beds are a lil shakey and the tripple ones are acient looking so try avoid the top bunk but all in all a really lovely place. You must try one of federicos famous cocktails!

Disliked: Tripple bunkbeds.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Feels like home. Staff is great (Juan, Sandra, Rodrigo, Rosa)!! Kitchen is big and well equiped. Sofas on the TV are huge, confy, and good vibe. Neighborghood is pretty fancy and safe.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is close to the metro, and all important buses are runnig close by, the breakfast was good with cheese, ham, marmalade, fruit, coffee and cake, they have safe lockers, people at the front desk all night long and you have to bell the ring to go inside, so not everybody can enter.. between 7 and 8 they make happy hour for drinks.

Disliked: The beds are wrapped in plastic, was very very uncomfortable, all the people tried not to move at nights, cause it was so noisy with this plastic thing around the mattress.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 June 2013

Liked: The location was good as it is near the centre of Botafogo however that is the only good thing to be said unfortunately!

Disliked: They have a SERIOUS bed bug infestation at this hostel, do not stay here!!! All the mattresses are shrink-wrapped in plastic presumably to prevent the bed bugs getting out but this has failed miserably, the wooden bed frames are full of bugs and we saw a few crawling up the walls too. My boyfriend had an allergic reaction to the bed bug bites and as a result spent an afternoon in hospital in Rio, not fun! They also messed up our booking; we booked a double room and ended up in a double bed in a dorm surrounded by 4 other beds?!

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Luciano Leite da Silva

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 June 2013 Luciano would recommend this property

Liked: Really , really , really a nice place. I'll be back in august 2013!

Disliked: Luciano left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Eduardo Martins do Nascimento Júnior

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

08 June 2013

Liked: Good location and value for the money. The double room has air conditioned and also a ventilator and a comfortable bed.

Disliked: There's a shared shower under the stairs that is very very dirty and small. The place is a little bit dirty, very noisy and disorganized. The breakfast is poor. On a night, a few fellas slept on the couch...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are all really friendly and helpful. Awsome caiporenhas!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

scott almburg

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2013 scott would recommend this property

Liked: located near major bus stop and the metro - you can get anywhere in the city. safe neighboorhood. there are many side adventures the hostel can book for you, and they will arrange taxi service to airport.

Disliked: scott left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Adam Peardon

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

31 March 2013 Adam would recommend this property

Liked: Good value, only short walk or super cheap subway ride to the main beaches of copacabana and ipanema, but the hostal is half the price of those areas. The staff were very friendly.

Disliked: Our room and bathroom was a bit of a mess, although this could have been to do with the people sharing our room rather than the hostel staff. Seems to attract very young brazillian people coming to Rio for lots of partying as well as the usual backpacking crowd. We stayed in an 8 bed dorm, wouldn´t fancy the 15 bed dorms with 3 story bunks!

The property's response is...

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Simon Urch

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year

22 February 2013

Liked: Nice hostel in a great location in Botofogo, the staff are great and there's a good atmosphere around the hostel in general.

Disliked: in between making the booking 6 months before carnival and getting there, they changed the dorms from 8 bed to 12 which is not good, there are too many people in each room and it was feeling cramped, also it could sometimes be a bit of a wait for the bathroom. They also had a big problem with bed bugs while i was there, i got bitten quiet badly and several people left while i was there because of this problem. After looking back on the recent reviews i could see that they had been having issues for the previous few months but obviously hadn't sorted the problem, for this i cannot give them a good review or ever recommend anyone to stay there.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Troy Whitmarsh

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 February 2013 Troy would recommend this property

Liked: Lots of cool people staying here. Good info on how to get around and things to do.

Disliked: I was bitten by bedbugs on my first night and had an allergic reaction. The staff called in a doctor who gave me some medication and upgraded me to a private room all at no cost so it wasn't so bad.

The property's response is...

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 February 2013

Liked: nice chilling out area, livingroom etc

Disliked: BEDBUGS!!! Everywhere!! I Couldnt sleep because of it and the staff just ignores it! and the hostel and the service is pretty average, not so nice as it descirbes itself on the internet and not worth paying the price for it!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing

06 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was safe and the location is connected to every attraction by bus

Disliked: They tried to charge me for leaving the luggage the last day. They didnt have a luggage room

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

15 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Meeting people from all over the world.

Disliked: The staff wasn't very nice.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

John Milton

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

12 January 2013 John would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is nicely located near the metro, and the common spaces are nice (including the small bar.) They also have two computers with free internet to use.

Disliked: They messed our reservation up and we had to stay in a 12 bed door instead of the double private that we booked (and paid the deposit on) for the first night. Kindly, the girl gave us that first night for free. However, the dorm is really cramped and only has one toilet--so I can recommend it. Also, they only accepted cash, which is annoying.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely everything! My girlfriend and I stayed here, in total, for about 4 weeks! If it was possible to give a hostel more than 100%, then this would double that. The people who might have given this place a bad review, simply were probably "those" types of people. This is the true review (excuse the rhyme)... 2 computers with fast internet, a wonderfully clean lounge/chill out area with a great TV. On top that, the hostel provides you with information on everything you may need during your stay in Rio.. from seeing Cristo Redentor to getting your hair cut. A fully equipped kitchen with 2 fridges for guest use, a blender, every kitchen utensil you could ever need. Great little bar area for drinking and eating. Perfect outdoor area for socialising, listening to music and enjoying the great happy hour 2-4-1 cocktails. The rooms are spotless, and cleaned reguarly. Not just hoovered though, washed out properly. Bathrooms are clean. Great location as well. Botafogo is a lovely area of Rio, but even if you need to get elsewhere, there is bus stop at the end of road and Botafogo metro station is a 5 minute walk away. BUT most importantly, the STAFF were so unbelievably helpful, fun, welcoming and charming. This was the only hostel that we stayed in in 5 months where we genuinely felt very sad when leaving. Can not thank you guys enough, you were simply amazing!!! Hopefully Bernardo, Davi and co know who this is from.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location atmosphere

Disliked: bedbugs

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Nick Hudson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 December 2012 Nick would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff. Good TV and lounge area with cable. Happy hour drinks and nice patio. Good size kitchen. Also has lovable dogs.

Disliked: Doesn't let you bring in outside soft drinks.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Blanca Shawn

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

15 November 2012 Blanca would recommend this property

Liked: I decided to try other places in Rio and luckyly I found this hostel. Staff was really friendly, my room was pretty spacious and cleanliness was good. Great service on offer. Easy to get to the main attractions and the welcome drink was super nice!

Disliked: Blanca left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

09 November 2012

Liked: Good location in a nice neighborhood centralized.

Disliked: -Beware: This place was crawling with Bedbugs when I was there. Numerous people left early because of this. I get it...it's a really tough situation because its actually all backpackers that bring the bedbugs in all the time in there clothing and suitcases so its really not the hostels fault. It's a huge problem worldwide and in Brazil. They fumigate the place every week and have a cleaning crew that cleans for 3-4 hours daily but the place still always felt really run down and dirty to me. Employees: 50% were friendly and 50% left much to be desired actually. Only one guy was very helpful in finding great places to eat and sights to see. Cleanliness: I couldn't help but feel pretty dirty the entire time at the hostel and excited to move on. The bathrooms were rough (one even had bedbugs in it too) and the shower areas were really gross with fruit flies everywhere. I slept on top of my sheets every night. Location: a great neighborhood close to all the sights! Atmosphere: you see the potential with the living room, outside area, and bar but it felt really "amature" if that makes sense. At least during my five nights the people were very secluded (nothing the hostel can do about that obviously) and kept to themselves. The only cute girls got scared away by the bedbugs and four lame guys took there place--- awesome! Honestly I was very disappointed with the atmosphere, cleanliness, bedbugs, and customer service for this hostel. I've been to about 25 different hostels around the world and I just didn't understand how it was rated so highly going into it. You're going to want to skip this one folks...

The property's response is...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 October 2012

Liked: This hostel met basic needs - a bed, some breakfast, a locker for valuables, friendly Engiish-speaking staff

Disliked: There wasn't a locker for your entire bag. The triple bunks were make-shift and therefore swayed when someone had to clamber to the top. Location was easy enough to get to everywhere, but if you want to go to the beach everyday then this isn't for you. I found the atmosphere here a bit clique-y and not many young, solo, adventure seeking travellers, but it may not be like that all the time...

The property's response is...