HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Beach Backpackers Hostel Rio de Janeiro Rio de Janeiro Hostel

Rua Guilhermina Guinle 95, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 74%

Facilities 74%

Location 86%

Safety 83%

Staff 94%

Value 84%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Card Phones
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly
  • WiFi

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 29.94USD
  • Luggage Room 2.99USD

Important Information

Hostelbookers Sale
Please note that all sales bookings are final and non-refundable. The property may charge your card in advance for the full amount of your stay. Payment protection is also not available in connection with these bookings. In the event that you cancel your booking the accommodation provider shall be entitled to retain the total outstanding costs of your booking. All rooms that are included in the sale are identified in their room type as [“!!! Sale !!! Non Refundable”].


CARNAVAL - MINIMUM STAY 7 NIGHTS FROM THE 16TH FEB. BOOKINGS WITH LESS THAN 7 NIGHTS FROM THE 16TH SHALL BE CANCELLED AND THE 10% PAID TO HB IS NOT REFUNDABLE.
NEW YEARS - MINIMUM STAY 5 NIGHTS FROM THE 27TH DECEMBER. BOOKINGS WITH LESS THAN 5 NIGHTS FROM THE 27TH SHALL BE CANCELLED AND THE 10% PAID TO HB IS NOT REFUNDABLE.
**AFTER YOUR BOOKING THE HOSTEL WILL GET IN TOUCH WITH YOU TO PROCEED WITH A 50% DEPOSIT OF THE TOTAL AMOUNT PAYABLE UPON ARRIVAL, IN ORDER TO CONFIRM YOUR RESERVATION**

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Pet Friendly"

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rio de Janeiro?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 74%

Facilities 74%

Location 86%

Safety 83%

Staff 94%

Value 84%

Showing 1-10 of 19 reviews

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It's a good deal,good quality price relation

Disliked: Could be a bit cleaner, the kitchen could be improved

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Reasonably clean. Towels provided as standard free of charge. Nice staff. Probably quite sociable if you speak Portuguese. I left my phone on charge in the kitchen all day by accident and it was still there when I got back. When I notified the manager that I had injured myself as a result of the thoughtless hostel design (see 'disliked'), he rearranged the beds in the room straight away (this also meant they were in a much more sensible arrangement, not blocking access to the cupboards).

Disliked: The 12-bed dorm was only just big enough for 4 (very high) triple bunk beds; my 6'1" boyfriend couldn't sit up in the top bunk (I, at 5'3", could just manage) and there wasn't a lot of space for bags (this improved when the room was rearranged). I also had a top bunk and the ladder was right next to the ceiling fan - the ends of which had been sawed off so they didn't actually overhang the bed. Nevertheless, one morning I wasn't quite careful enough as I was manoeuvring myself onto the ladder and the blade of the fan sliced into my bum. It was quite a deep cut which is still healing, but when I notified the manager he apologised and thanked me for notifying him but didn't offer compensation of any kind (although he did rearrange the beds in the room so no-one's ladder is next to the fan any more). The breakfast is only available from 8-9am, and when the cheese ran out at about 8:40 it was not replenished even though I asked. A member of staff explained that the breakfast used to be from 7-9 but no-one ever came down for the first hour so they're trying out 8-9 now - I don't see why they can't follow the example of every other hostel and serve it until 10 at least. There is no storage space in the kitchen apart from one cupboard for crockery, so people's food was all over the place in the kitchen making it difficult to find space to cook, especially if more than one person was cooking at the same time. Wobbly, creaky bunk beds - for some reason I've noticed that the hostel staff like to refute this when people mention it in reviews but it is true - in our room at least. Usually a wait for the bathroom. The downstairs toilet had hand soap and was cleaner but the upstairs one with a shower didn't have hand soap and was often dirty. The seating in the common area wasn't that comfy.


The property's response is

Dear Gabrielle,

We offered you a great service and as you said we did our best to apologize for something that was completely your fault.

Every single morning you woke up after 9 looking for breakfast. We are sorry but you could wake up early if you want to have it.

Also you have booked a 15bed dorm for R$15 (cheapest rate in Rio) and even getting an upgrade to a 12 bed dorm we can see you were not happy enough.

Maybe a hotel would meet your standards.

Regards

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good location and price

Customer would recommend this property

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It wasn't as expensive as other hostels. The staff tried to be helpful.

Disliked: The location is in Botofogo, no where near either the beaches or the city centre. The room we stayed resembled a prison cell - no windows and not very clean.The hostel overall had a joyless vibe because people had clearly picked it because of price, not quality.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Relaxation / spa

Liked: Good place to relax after a crazy 4 weeks in south america. Nice staff, clean hostel no dramas

Disliked: Nothing it was all good

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Events / festivals

Liked: The staff is excellent. Very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: The area close to my room and the bathroom smelled like a gutter..smell was intolerable. Shower Was not cleaned well and much less on a daily basis.

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: I quite like this place.. everything works fine.. the staff is friendly.. the location is great.. the only thing is if you get the top bed of 3 bunk beds, it's quite a climb but other than that, i highly recommend it

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Very good location, close to botafogo metro station. The breakfast is simple but good.

Disliked: Not enough bathrooms/showers. The airco was not functioning properly in the 12 bed dorm I was staying in which made it difficult to sleep some nights due to the heat. Not enough power sockets in the room.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: - Cheap, does not increase it's prices on weekends- Good location, near the Metro, supermarkets, bars, restaurants, etc- Staff are very helpful- The common area is very modern, very clean- Charlie, the hostel dog

Disliked: - The dorms were way too crowded, they have tried to fit as many beds into the smalls rooms as possible. The topmost bunks are so close to the fans that people have been cut on the fan blades- The ensuite bathroom in my dorm looked what I imagine a prison bathroom would look like. Definitely needs an upgrade

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Denver,

The biggest dorms are the cheapest.

If you want to stay in a room with less people its very easy. Pay for rooms with less people. Its more expensive but it will please you!

The fans are well located and do not offer any problems to guests security.

The bathroom is under renovations.

Regards,

Beach Backpackers Hostel

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Extremely helpful staff with great knowledge of the area.

Disliked: NA

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Carmel,

Thanks a lot!

Regards,

Beach Backpackers Hostel Team

Check Availability