HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Che Lagarto Suites Copacabana Anita Rio de Janeiro Hostel

Rua Anita Garibaldi #87 / Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Atmosphere 76%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 68%

Location 93%

Safety 90%

Staff 83%

Value 71%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Airport Transfers
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Reading Light
  • Steam room
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included

Important Information

PLEASE NOTE:
Any bookings with dates within New Years 2010 (mandatory 4 nights package - 28/12-01/01) & Carnaval 2010 (mandatory 6 nights package 11/02/-17/02).
Full prepayment is needed in order to warranty the booking, after booking the Hostel will contact you for the prepayment details. Failure to prepay the booking will result
In the booking being cancelled.Not allowed under 18

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rio de Janeiro?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 76%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 68%

Location 93%

Safety 90%

Staff 83%

Value 71%

Showing 1-1 of 1 reviews

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: big room, good suggestions for party

Disliked: quite a walk from the beach

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: comfy, and clean rooms. The breakfast extremely average for the price you pay to stay thereThe staff are helpful and friendlythe hostel itself itself is just a place to stay no real common / hangout area so there is no way to meet any other people staying there and you kinda feel restricted to your room!

Disliked: for the price paid i would have expected a better breakfast,and a tv in the room. you can find a lot more for less in Rio! I also did have a mirror in my room and realized the next day that work still needed to be carried out on my room

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The double bedroom was lovely and large and had aircon (very necessary on a humid Rio night). The staff were really helpful. And the location is excellent. I suspect that once the renovations are complete the prices will rise significantly!

Disliked: The hostel is still affected by the ongoing building work. Therefore there was only one working bathroom on our floor.

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: It was very clean and secureOrganizing of the taxi pickup was perfect

Disliked: There are several things..We got a room that was probably not finished.. The shower water was not hot (just about bearable). The shower had no curtain , the bathroom and room had no mirror and there was no toilet paper roll (only serviettes). Also the window in the bathroom was a piece of wood with holes (very unprofessional). There was nowhere in the room to leave anything.. no hangers or furniture..Also there was a window that you could see anything from the outside and there were workers coming up and down. The room (number 5) was directly connected to the kitchen..so it was noisy..The staff a reception during the evening and night were very nice and friendly.. but.... the girl in the morning was kind of nice but not very competent.... we had to insist asking the same questions over and over again to get a proper answerIn general the price is VERY high for what you get... with a lower price it would have been much better (eventhough we got an offer... thank god !!!)

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The location was ok, not too far from the main streets and Copacabana beach. Tours could also be organised from the front desk.

Disliked: The property is under extensive renovations when we arrived. Upon check in to the private room, we were told the door on our room has a window in it, and that it would be replaced the following morning. There was no curtains over the window, and the light from the hallway shone in all night. We packed our packs so the door could be changed the following morning, but they never changed it in the 4 nights we stayed there. Another evening, a builder knocked into our room to put up a mirror. Building work started at about 8 each morning, and went on all day, with many builders walking around and with dust and plaster from walls all around. The kitchen did not appear to be communal, and was also under renovation.

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 May 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very helpful staff with organising day trips and future accommodation. Good location. staff also organised a couple of nights for travellers to get to know each other which was good

Disliked: Was building work on during day which was noisy but not much of an issue

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing

Liked: La ubicacion es buena, uen desayuno, y muy tranquilo el hostel por lo menos en marzo

Disliked: Te cobran 5 reales por persona (sin opcion) para usar las computadoras, de las cuales funcionaba solo una. Y el aire acondicionado de la 104 no funciona (hace tanto ruido que es inutilizable)

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, City break, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The location, it was 5 minutes away from Copacobana beach, and a 40 minute walk to Ipanema beach. Sugar Loaf was also in walking distance.

Disliked: The air conditioning was only on a timer from 8pm until 8am, on my last full day there I was ill and had to spend the day in the room, in the end I had to force myself outside because it was cooler than the bedroom

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Even though we only stayed for one night at the end of our trip, the staff we were really helpful and welcomming, providing us with lots of useful local information and a map. They always made it clear they were happy to help whenever possible. The dorm had a key so it felt safe and secure. There was a large space to socialise and even a small dancefloor/club with DJ downstairs next to the bar.

Disliked: Long wait to check in but this was possibly as it was 2nd Jan so a very busy period.

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: location. next to the beach.

Disliked: They charge 5 euros for internet even if you don´t want to use it.The staff want to sell tours and more tours, so they are not very kind if you want just information.

Check Availability