We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Che Lagarto Suites Copacabana Anita

Hostel | Anita Garibaldi 87, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil CEP: 22.041-080

80.6% Overall Rating

106 out of 129 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/12/2012)

Bianca Simon thinks…

"comfy, and clean rooms. The breakfast extremely average for the price you pay to stay there The staff are helpful and friendly the hostel itself itself is just a place to stay no real…"

Read all Che Lagarto Suites Copacabana Anita reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

PLEASE NOTE: Any bookings with dates within New Years 2010 (mandatory 4 nights package - 28/12-01/01) & Carnaval 2010 (mandatory 6 nights package 11/02/-17/02). Full prepayment is needed in order to warranty the booking, after booking the Hostel will contact you for the prepayment details. Failure to prepay the booking will result In the booking being cancelled.Not allowed under 18

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rio de Janeiro?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rio de Janeiro

El Misti Hostel Rio
9.28 USD

Hostel 76.7% 88 reviews
Best Rio Hostel
18.98 USD

Hostel 70.5% 39 reviews
El Misti House Copacabana
10.08 USD

Hostel 88.5% 141 reviews
Copa Fun Hostel
13.92 USD

Hostel 89.7% 33 reviews
Che Lagarto Suites Copacabana Santa Clara
42.43 USD

Apartment 79.0% 33 reviews
Boulevard Bed & Breakfast
37.96 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Hercus Hostel
11.39 USD

Hostel 56.2% 6 reviews
Copa Hostel
22.56 USD

Hostel 76.9% 75 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.6%

Overall Rating

106 out of 129 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Che Lagarto Suites Copacabana Anita'

Atmosphere
76.0%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
68.0%
Cleanliness
82.4%
Staff
83.2%
Value
71.2%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 82 of 101 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

25 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: big room, good suggestions for party

Disliked: quite a walk from the beach

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Bianca Simon

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

28 December 2012 Bianca would recommend this property

Liked: comfy, and clean rooms. The breakfast extremely average for the price you pay to stay there The staff are helpful and friendly the hostel itself itself is just a place to stay no real common / hangout area so there is no way to meet any other people staying there and you kinda feel restricted to your room!

Disliked: for the price paid i would have expected a better breakfast,and a tv in the room. you can find a lot more for less in Rio! I also did have a mirror in my room and realized the next day that work still needed to be carried out on my room

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The double bedroom was lovely and large and had aircon (very necessary on a humid Rio night). The staff were really helpful. And the location is excellent. I suspect that once the renovations are complete the prices will rise significantly!

Disliked: The hostel is still affected by the ongoing building work. Therefore there was only one working bathroom on our floor.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

12 September 2012

Liked: It was very clean and secure Organizing of the taxi pickup was perfect

Disliked: There are several things.. We got a room that was probably not finished.. The shower water was not hot (just about bearable). The shower had no curtain , the bathroom and room had no mirror and there was no toilet paper roll (only serviettes). Also the window in the bathroom was a piece of wood with holes (very unprofessional). There was nowhere in the room to leave anything.. no hangers or furniture.. Also there was a window that you could see anything from the outside and there were workers coming up and down. The room (number 5) was directly connected to the kitchen..so it was noisy.. The staff a reception during the evening and night were very nice and friendly.. but.... the girl in the morning was kind of nice but not very competent.... we had to insist asking the same questions over and over again to get a proper answer In general the price is VERY high for what you get... with a lower price it would have been much better (eventhough we got an offer... thank god !!!)

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 July 2012

Liked: The location was ok, not too far from the main streets and Copacabana beach. Tours could also be organised from the front desk.

Disliked: The property is under extensive renovations when we arrived. Upon check in to the private room, we were told the door on our room has a window in it, and that it would be replaced the following morning. There was no curtains over the window, and the light from the hallway shone in all night. We packed our packs so the door could be changed the following morning, but they never changed it in the 4 nights we stayed there. Another evening, a builder knocked into our room to put up a mirror. Building work started at about 8 each morning, and went on all day, with many builders walking around and with dust and plaster from walls all around. The kitchen did not appear to be communal, and was also under renovation.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Liam Slyne

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2012 Liam would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff with organising day trips and future accommodation. Good location. staff also organised a couple of nights for travellers to get to know each other which was good

Disliked: Was building work on during day which was noisy but not much of an issue

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

19 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: La ubicacion es buena, uen desayuno, y muy tranquilo el hostel por lo menos en marzo

Disliked: Te cobran 5 reales por persona (sin opcion) para usar las computadoras, de las cuales funcionaba solo una. Y el aire acondicionado de la 104 no funciona (hace tanto ruido que es inutilizable)

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Kai Langrick

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 March 2012 Kai would recommend this property

Liked: The location, it was 5 minutes away from Copacobana beach, and a 40 minute walk to Ipanema beach. Sugar Loaf was also in walking distance.

Disliked: The air conditioning was only on a timer from 8pm until 8am, on my last full day there I was ill and had to spend the day in the room, in the end I had to force myself outside because it was cooler than the bedroom

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 February 2012

Liked: location. next to the beach.

Disliked: They charge 5 euros for internet even if you don´t want to use it. The staff want to sell tours and more tours, so they are not very kind if you want just information.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Heather Scowby

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 January 2012 Heather would recommend this property

Liked: Even though we only stayed for one night at the end of our trip, the staff we were really helpful and welcomming, providing us with lots of useful local information and a map. They always made it clear they were happy to help whenever possible. The dorm had a key so it felt safe and secure. There was a large space to socialise and even a small dancefloor/club with DJ downstairs next to the bar.

Disliked: Long wait to check in but this was possibly as it was 2nd Jan so a very busy period.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Romantic getaway

18 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Camila and the pool!

Disliked: lack of toilets, however i didnt have to wait too long

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was a great place to hang out with the staff and other backpackers. The breakfast was okey. It could be kind of dirty and noisy. I stayed at the room next to the computer. It wasnt really a door that we had to our room. But you learned to live with the noise..

Disliked: No toilet at the room

57.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Decent breakfast. Fast wifi.

Disliked: Staff constantly pushy to upsell tours and transfers. Only 2 toilets and 3 showers for all share beds - completely inadequate. Showers not great. Charged mandatory R5 per person for wifi not mentioned at time of booking. Noisy but music finished at a fairly reasonable hour (between 11 and 12).

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice and friendly staff. Most of them speak good english and try to take you in

Disliked: the mixed room with 4 snoring guys... ;-)

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location near the beach.

Disliked: Was dirty in the bathrooms. And a bit of a party hostel, with people coming in at all times and waking you up.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Morgan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 June 2011 James would recommend this property

Liked: great place to meet people, really friendly staff, good tours/night time activities that they organised and came out on, great value for money

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

bianca cameron

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 June 2011 bianca would recommend this property

Liked: travelling alone so a really good place to meet people. social area is good and the pool table is a plus. nights out with the barman were very good. breakfast was also good and filing

Disliked: nada

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: breakfest is good and the location is good

Disliked: its not very clean and the check-in wasnt in time we had to wait antil 1530 and even then the room wasnt clean at all only the beds were organize

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: localisation and cost

Disliked: cleanliness of the room and bathrooms quality of the lockers....destoyed

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere and Staff! Great place to stay!

Disliked: Fantastoc atmosphere and great people! Would stay here again forsure!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

06 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location was good, 2 blocks away from Copacabana beach. it was easy to meet people from everywhere at the hostel and locals. They have a lot of trips for you to go at the hostel and they organaise dinners every night with an activity included.

Disliked: there were not enough toilets/bathrooms for so many people and it was difficult to keep them clean.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Tudor Davies

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 September 2010 Tudor would recommend this property

Liked: The location and the staff.

Disliked: The bad exchange rate of US dollars to BRL $ 1:2.1. They also messed up our booking by putting us in a 10 bed dorm on our first night when we ordered a 4-6 bed dorm. We were put in a private dorm to make up for their stay for the rest of the time, but their bad exchanging rate offset some of the bonus.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

dawid kocieda

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Work / volunteering

02 September 2010 dawid would recommend this property

Liked: everythin!!!!! didt expect will by that cool 4 that price! most i like stuff they r nice and helpfullll people!!!enjoy soo much time in that ''pousada'' ciao

Disliked: the time when have to say ''goodby'' and go back home...its nothin to dislike there!!

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2010

Liked: Staff were excellent, our shower didn't really work but within hours they'd got someone in to fix it. Comfy bed and room and all facilities in a generally good state of repair.

Disliked: Lock not very secure on the rooms. Quite pricey for what you get. Breakfast isn't great and it's a good 10-12 minute walk to the beach.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

04 July 2010

Liked: The manager was the only nice thing about this place.

Disliked: Lost reservations, bounced to 3 beds in two days, bitten to shreds by bedbugs, broken internet, hordes of drunk English poms.