We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Albergue Eco Backpackers Hostel

Hostel | R. São Clemente 39 1st floor, Botafogo, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil 22260-001

77.1% Overall Rating

30 out of 44 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/06/2013)

Alejandro Sanchez thinks…

"Very friendly staff ready to give you a hand when needed. A great location with a nearby metro station and a safe neighborhood. Shops, restaurants, ATMs and bars are available."

Read all Albergue Eco Backpackers Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 37.74
  • Towel USD 2.10

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

General conditions for all bookings: Mandatory: seven (7) nights for Carnival, (4) nights for New Years Eve and (3) nights per weekend for Rock in Rio. Whenever you make a booking, it's mandatory that you send to the hostel your card details. The hostel requests full payment 7 days after making the online booking to secure your booking. Booking for New Years, Carnival or Rock in Rio you should transfer the amount via western union and send to the hostel the 10 digit track number in order to find your deposit and confirm your booking. After 5 days of your booking you already agree in charge your credit card in 100% of your balance. There are no refunds in case of cancellation of this money paid in advance. For regular bookings (except NYE, Christmas, Carnival and Rock in Rio) if you do not cancel your reservation prior to 72 hours your first night will be charged to your credit card. Whenever you make a booking, it's mandatory that you send to the hostel your security code in 24 hrs. If we don´t receive the required information in 24 hrs your booking will be cancelled and you will lose your beds and your deposit to Hostelbookers.com For regular bookings your credit card will be charged 50% of the total, non-refundable. If you book a special package like NYE, Carnival, Rock in Rio, Confederation Cup, World Cup, Youth Day and Olympics, the hostel requires full payment in advance, non-refundable. There are no refunds in case of cancellation of this money paid in advance

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rio de Janeiro?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rio de Janeiro

Ace Backpackers Youth Hostels Rio de Janeiro
33.68 USD

Hostel 70.4% 198 reviews
El misti botafogo hostel e pousada
8.38 USD

Guesthouse 79.3% 113 reviews
Alpha Hostel
12.63 USD

Hostel 77.3% 122 reviews
Rio Soul Hostel
5.89 USD

Hostel 86.4% 62 reviews
Sarréufa Club Hostel
21.05 USD

Hostel 55.1% 45 reviews
Beach Backpackers Hostel Rio de Janeiro
9.68 USD

Hostel 80.9% 458 reviews
Ocean Inn Rio Botafogo
10.53 USD

Hostel 79.4% 35 reviews
Tupiniquim Hostel Rio de Janeiro
14.74 USD

Hostel 79.1% 111 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
77.1%

Overall Rating

30 out of 44 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Albergue Eco Backpackers Hostel'

Atmosphere
68.8%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
64.8%
Cleanliness
76.8%
Staff
84.8%
Value
76.8%
Safety
80.0%
Refine your results Showing 21 of 39 reviews
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Alejandro Sanchez

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 June 2013 Alejandro would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff ready to give you a hand when needed. A great location with a nearby metro station and a safe neighborhood. Shops, restaurants, ATMs and bars are available.

Disliked: The rooms were not very big and they lack of additional natural illumination.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 April 2013

Liked: Friendly staff who are keen to help, even though some don't speak much English. Fantastic location

Disliked: There is a skylight in my room which doesn't help after a late night. The toilet was flooded my entire stay. My room was right next to the common area and the staff watched tv quite loudly 24/7. The common area is pretty lousy and doesn't have much in the way of seating so nobody hangs out leading to a fairly boring atmosphere if you like to take a night in or meet other travellers.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Mads Ohsten

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 March 2012 Mads would recommend this property

Liked: Located near the Subway. Security good.

Disliked: Boring atmosphere.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Rafael Farias

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 February 2012

Liked: In this case, you get what you pay for. Advantages are its proximity to the Metro and cheap food nearby.

Disliked: I didn't get the sense that they cleaned the rooms much. Not enough bathrooms since there are no common bathrooms, only the privates.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

23 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice balcony and lounge, great location right by the metro.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

13 February 2012

Liked: The hostel has all the basic facilities a hostel should have. Rooms, bathrooms, a social "living room" and lockers. But it has no personality at all. The rooms have no windows and are displayed along a long corridor. The living room has no attractives and no charm whatsoever. The bathroom and toilets are inside each room and are very small, so they make your bathing quite unpleaseant. The location is great. 2 blocks from the Botafogo beach and with a view from Pão de Açucar and from Cristo. A few steps from the tube station and with a lot of buses coming and going from the whole city. Great for sightseeing. The staff is also great, really friendly and helpful. It's OK for those who don't stay long in the hostel and use it just for sleaping. For those who look for a place to hangout that's not the hostel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

27 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Near a metro in the middle of all the sights. Very basic - clean but no frills!

Disliked: Very dark, no real communal areas, not much atmosphere

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice staff, easy to meet other travellers, had a nice time there =)

Disliked: breakfast didnt include fruits, but was okay.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

31 August 2011

Liked: safe, location close to metro and buses, fridges in the bedrooms

Disliked: first two nights, our shower was only cold; then they moved us to another room (for whatever reason b/c both were pretty empty), there, the shower was ok but the toilet didnt flush

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Laura Woodhouse

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 August 2011 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: Free wifi, clean bathroom in dorm, right next to metro and any amenities you may need, comfortable beds, good kitchen (clean when we were there).

Disliked: There was no atmosphere when we stayed - the only other people there seemed to be staff.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really great location, with plenty of buses to reach any place in the city. Supermarkets, banks, post office within walking distance. Amiable, friendly and helpful staff. beds are comfortable, cool common area. I made lots of friends here!

Disliked: nothing really

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 July 2011

Liked: -

Disliked: Unreliable info from some staff,no ceiling+so you can hear the ppl in the other rooms..Smelly/dirty place.Plastic! cover on the mattress(not kidding),steps missing from the ladder,safety bar almost falling...Tiny locker on the corridor.This place IS a joke. Totally unmarked on the street-guess is not an official Hostel.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 July 2011

Liked: Location was good, close to the beach, and easy to get to bars and bus stops. The people we met in the hostel who were raelly nice

Disliked: Not cleaned daily, toilets smelt very bad. Staff not very helpfull, they were more intertested in being on the internet. Kitchen had flies in it and bugs running accross the work surfaces. A guest in out dorn had their laptop stolen. Laundry service was very expensive and you had to pay to use the computer.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

20 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice atmosphere, and staff very helpful, thanks Eric ! :)

Disliked: nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mariana smith miloswski

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

20 May 2011 Mariana smith would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! From location to price! The price was the best bargain of my life for the quality it offers!

Disliked: too party hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

19 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Convenient location,very clean and simple.

Disliked: nothing.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals

10 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The day staff were amazing! Location is great - right near the metro. The airconditioning works in the rooms (though pack a jumper!!). Were able to use the kitchen.

Disliked: Laundry service is expensive and our clothes went missing. We found other peoples clothes in our bags.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly, there was a good communal area and it was cheap.

Disliked: Only 1 toilet & shower per 10 people in a dorm.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everyone was really friendly and did their best to help

Disliked: the rooms were stifulingly hot if you wanted to spend time in there during the day

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 February 2011

Liked: Good location, close to the Botafogo metro station and bus stop. Big supermarket close by. Comfortable beds.

Disliked: The place is extremely hot, there are no fans anywhere and you are only allowed to use the AC in the rooms from 10pm-10am. The rooms have no fans or windows which makes it impossible to stay there during the day. You have to pay for AC if you want it any other time. There is only 1 bathroom per room (10ppl) and ours even broke and had to go through other rooms. A common bathroom would help. Breakfast is not as good as many other hostels. Wifi is free but you have to pay to use the computer there. You are not allowed to bring in any soft drinks or beers as they want you to buy them there (obviously not as cheap as buying from a supermarket).

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Brian Beetso

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 September 2010 Brian would recommend this property

Liked: The location is decent for the price.

Disliked: First thing was not having the correct address online. I was lucky to have my iphone. If I didnt, I would have been lost and wondering around. The REAL bus doesnt drop you off in a specific location. I then went to the address given and was directed by a piece of paper to head to ACE hostel. Upon arrival after sightseeing, I noticed everyone in my room was gone. I asked what was going on and they told me I was moved. So I had to move all my stuff. There were a couple other people who were displaced due to overbooking. Then the next morning I here saws and hammers. It sounded like they were working on the hostel.