We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of CabanaCopa Hostel

Hostel | Travessa Guimarães Natal, 12, Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil 22011-090

76.0% Overall Rating

248 out of 283 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (06/09/2014)

"Good breakfast. Big lockers. Just down the road from metro and bus stops. 10min walk to beach. Lots of shops close by."

Read all CabanaCopa Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 31.63
  • Towel USD 2.11

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

*** Important: Please note that due to new regulations with Visa & Mastercard we kindly ask you to e-mail us the 3 digit security code from the back of your card. - Please reconfirm your booking with your 3 digit security code, and arrival time (within 24hs of your booking). *** NEW YEARS PACKAGES (28/12/2014 - 02/01/2015) CARNIVAL (12/02/2015 - 19/02/2015) AND After paying your 10% we require guests to contact us and pay the remaining balance in full, non refundable as well***** World Cup 2014 (10/06/2014 - 17/07/2014) 100% prepayment in advance is required. The remaining 90% balance will be due directly after the on-line booking is made. The guest must contact the property to arrange payment. Failure to pay the remaining balance will result in cancellation. If the booking is cancelled three months before arrival - 50% of the prepayment will be refundable, after that booking is non-refundable. Tax not included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rio de Janeiro?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rio de Janeiro

HOSTEL ECO ARCO VERDE
10.97 USD

Hostel 60.8% 27 reviews
Che Lagarto Hostel Copacabana
17.78 USD

Hostel 80.7% 66 reviews
Copinha Hostel
18.56 USD

Hostel 70.4% 44 reviews
Rio Nature Adventure
8.01 USD

Hostel 69.8% 12 reviews
Samba Green Hostel
12.65 USD

Hostel 83.9% 16 reviews
Rio Rockers Hostel
25.30 USD

Hostel 83.6% 4 reviews
Boulevard Bed & Breakfast
37.96 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
El Misti Hostel Rio
9.28 USD

Hostel 76.7% 88 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
76.0%

Overall Rating

248 out of 283 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'CabanaCopa Hostel'

Atmosphere
79.2%
Location
83.2%
Facilities
69.6%
Cleanliness
69.6%
Staff
81.6%
Value
70.4%
Safety
78.4%
Refine your results Showing 229 of 272 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good breakfast. Big lockers. Just down the road from metro and bus stops. 10min walk to beach. Lots of shops close by.

Disliked: Tours overpriced -110 Reals for football at Marecana which turned out to be a ticket with face value of 20 Reals. Transfer could have been done by taxi for about 30 Reals each way. Bathroom flooded when showering. One bathroom door did not shut so only 1 useable bathroom on the floor we stayed on.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jessica Hutton

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 May 2014 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, close to the metro and walking distance to the beaches.

Disliked: Jessica left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Janina Klein

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 May 2014 Janina would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast and good location. Staff was very helpful as well.

Disliked: I had booked a single room and it was so small that it wasn"t even possible to fully open the door as the room basically was as big as the bed. It was very very loud since the insulation is not existent. A good place for travelers who want to make friends, a bad place for people who want a good night of sleep.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff and location

Disliked: Everything closes at 11pm in the hostel

The property's response is...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's near the subway station and the beach. The staff is very friendly and helpful

Disliked: The atmosphere is non-existing, the bar closes too early and everybody is gone after 23.00.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Chinchilla

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

11 April 2014 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere at the bar is great, very good to make friends there.. hostel is also clean and breakfast is great...

Disliked: nada!

The property's response is...

40.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 March 2014

Liked: It was central to Cococobana Beach and it was easy to organise onward journey with reception

Disliked: I dont know where to start. Firstly, it cost 75 Euro per night for a 4 bed `dorm`( box, with no walking space ). It was Carnaval so we were left with few options, but there is a certain standard you expect when paying that for 8 nights. The price only dropped about 10% after carnaval. Secondly, I have been overcharged by 77 Euro on my credit card and when I asked for it back I was told to email the boss after I left Rio as he doesnt speak to people in person. Carlos on reception was exceptionally rude and just walked away from us and then totally blanked us as we called his name as he sat behind the desk Thirdly, we arrived home late one evening and there was someone in my bed. I had no option but to share a bed with my friends in this so called dorm as the hostel was full. There was ZERO apology and when we asked to be reimbursed Carlos just laughed and said it was our fault and they took no responsibility. Then, we were told we had to shift out of the room we had stayed in for 7 nights. Again, no apology, absolutely nothing courteous about the man. It was a awful experience and DO NOT STAY THERE.

The property's response is...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals

08 March 2014

Liked: It was clean and my room had air conditioning

Disliked: The female staff were quite rude and did not want to help me. As a solo traveller I didnt feel very welcome and felt it was more of an inconvenience for the staff to talk to me.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Jasmijn van den Heuvel

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 February 2014 Jasmijn would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff, good breakfast and a great place to meet other backpackers!

Disliked: The room I had was without aircon and really small, not much space, but it was ok. Shower was cold, but the showers in the aircon rooms seemed to be fine.

The property's response is...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Matt Wilson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 February 2014 Matt would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to metro station. Very secure, huge lockers in rooms for big backpacks. Helpful staff when not run off their feet. Good breakfast.

Disliked: Huge, sprawling complex run as a business with no charm or personality. Kitchen facilities were inadequate (And outdated)for the amount of people staying at the hostel.

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 February 2014

Liked: Breakfast was pretty good

Disliked: Toilets have not been too nice, it islocated uphill

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff and seems to attract a great crowd. Travelling alone but never felt like it as there were always people in the bar. Breakfast is decent and the half price caipirinha hour is great fun

Disliked: Due to neighbours complaining they can be quite strict about noise after 11pm

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Not far away from the Metro station. The dorm had two rooms, one for sleeping and one for sitting and talking, The dorm had also a private bathroom. The staff was realy nice.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kerry Goode

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

24 January 2014 Kerry would recommend this property

Liked: This is a great place to meet people as there is a very sociable vibe. however, this doesn't mean it's a noisy place where you can't get to sleep. The party people tended to congregate in the downstairs bar and be out on the town by 11 allowing the weary to sleep in peace. Dorms - they are spacious as are the available lockers. Excellent location - a couple of blocks walk from the beach, the metro and the stop for the airport bus (which I was sad to have to use). There are also shops, restaurants, etc nearby. Good facilities - the inclusive breakfast was decent, there are outdoor and indoor common areas, and there are computers as well as wifi. I was even able to get some much needed laundry done for a reasonable price.

Disliked: I disliked having to leave and go back home!

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Walking distance to the metro and the beach. Nice bar area and place to socialize with other travelers.I travelled alone and met lot of people during new year. The staff was helpful with tours and information

Disliked: There are two buildings. One of the buildings (new building) does not have AC and it's really hot in Rio. The newer building does not have power outlets at each bed, there were only two power outlets in 6 bed dorm but the other building has power outlets for each bed. The main building has 6 bed mixed dorm near the restrooms and kitchen, so it was stinking and people could see you if you open the windows. The price was expensive as other hostels for new years eve because of the location

The property's response is...

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

02 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I thought it was quite old but still a good place for a night or two.

Disliked: crowed place, the staff didn't know alot about the tours etc.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nadia Evans

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

20 November 2013 Nadia would recommend this property

Liked: It a loverley old house

Disliked: Nadia left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, helpful staff, nice breakfast. would probably stay there again if going back to Rio.

Disliked: nothing

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent Location and excellent staff to help all the time.

Disliked: Bar closing time 10.30 PM

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good breakfast

Disliked: The bathroom and toilet not so clean

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: close to subway station and main intersections, great breakfast, power outlet and bedside lamp in every bed.

Disliked: In the website they say you can pay your stay using your credit card however when we got there they only accepted cash or check. They had signs everywhere saying you need to be quiet after 10 pm, however in the first night there were people being loud around 11:30 pm. There were forgotten women's underwear and hygiene products in our room.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jamie bylett

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2013 jamie would recommend this property

Liked: There is easy access from the Metro, and it's a short walk to the beach - which comes in handy when you want to go to the beach. Night life is pretty good! But then again, not that I like to show off, but I'm the life and soul of every party, so it was always going to be decent. Everything at the hostel was as you would expect - good beds, kitchen, wifi, tv room, breakfast etc. But what really made our stay extra enjoyable was the staff! They couldn't do enough to help us out, whether it be organising day trips for us, recommending places for us to go/visit, or lightening the mood with their humour. So an extra thank you Especially to Gustavo, Bex, Emily and Tina :) The hostel owners are very lucky to have you as staff!

Disliked: Mirrors in the bathrooms could have been positioned a bit higher, as being a fairly tall guy, I had to crouch a little bit to do my hair each morning and evening. Other than that, the hostel has it pretty much spot on!

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 August 2013

Liked: Location, monkeys

Disliked: Kitchen not great - only one oven for a huge hostel and not much to prep food with. Some of the staff weren't helpful, some were, so same as most places! Our room had more people in than beds, staff didn't know which beds were taken so maybe they should keep track more?

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matusael Ramos

Alone

Visiting friends or family

17 July 2013 Matusael would recommend this property

Liked: Location is great. The hostel is well equiped and has a nice atmosphere. The also have a bar :)

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are very friendly and happy to help, breakfast is really nice, close to the beach and transport to everywhere else.

Disliked: Cleaners came in to the rooms to clean and were very noisy at 8 or 9 in the morning when people were still sleeping. Not exactly the party hostel that most people seemed to be expecting (not really a bar, just drinks over reception etc), but still pretty easy to meet people.

The property's response is...