HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of CabanaCopa Hostel Rio de Janeiro Hostel

Travessa Guimarães Natal, 12, Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 70%

Facilities 73%

Location 82%

Safety 86%

Staff 78%

Value 74%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Steam room
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine
  • Wii

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 24.71USD
  • Towel 1.65USD

Important Information

*** Important: Please note that due to new regulations with Visa & Mastercard we kindly ask you to e-mail us the 3 digit security code from the back of your card.

- Please reconfirm your booking with your 3 digit security code, and arrival time (within 24hs of your booking). ***

NEW YEARS PACKAGES (28/12/2014 - 02/01/2015)
CARNIVAL (12/02/2015 - 19/02/2015) AND
After paying your 10% we require guests to contact us and pay the remaining balance in full, non refundable as well*****

World Cup 2014 (10/06/2014 - 17/07/2014)
100% prepayment in advance is required.
The remaining 90% balance will be due directly after the on-line booking is made.
The guest must contact the property to arrange payment.
Failure to pay the remaining balance will result in cancellation.
If the booking is cancelled three months before arrival - 50% of the prepayment will be refundable, after that booking is non-refundable.

Tax not included

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rio de Janeiro?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 70%

Facilities 73%

Location 82%

Safety 86%

Staff 78%

Value 74%

Showing 1-10 of 24 reviews

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Jan 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Liked: Nothing. Maybe just the outdoor area where people drink, smoke and chill.

Disliked: 1. Staff are not friendly. Only 1 lady I talked to was barely friendly and helpful. All male receptionist suck. 2. The bar is always out of stock. Either ice or water. And the problem was not just one day. 3. My 4-bed dorm room is the most horrible room I ever stayed in. Super small and cramped. The lockers are directly in front of the end of this bunk. I could never just open the locker and take my stuff without performing ninja moves. With 4 person in there, we basically needed to walk on our luggages 4. They don't have a tap system. Everything has to pay cash.5. They won't let you borrow their phone for local call 6. Air conditioner in my room was dripping water the whole night and flooded the room. Told the receptionist three times until they got it fixed.7. Charger next to the bed not working most of the time.

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great location. Good atmosphere and point of reference for meeting others and for organising activities in an around Rio

Disliked: Private rooms are very small, outdated and need to be of a higher standard. Awful wifi means everyone uses communal area to use their phones rather than genuinely socialising.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you liked our location and atmosphere. We are improing the wifi as we speak, but we are still going to turn it off during the more sociable hours for people to socialize a bit more. Safe travels!

CabanaCopa staff

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Location, that's all. The staff is unhelpful, bathrooms always mess and way too few for so many people, if you don't come for breakfast at 8am you won't get much. There are better hostels in Copacabana then this one!

Disliked: everything


The property's response is

Thanks for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you liked our location. We clean the hostel top to bottom twice a day and make sure cleanliness is a priority. When things get busy it's harder to keep up but we do our best. If you find something not cleaned to your liking, please advise us during your stay so we can deal with it. Safe travels!

CabanaCopa staff

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Good breakfast. Big lockers. Just down the road from metro and bus stops. 10min walk to beach. Lots of shops close by.

Disliked: Tours overpriced -110 Reals for football at Marecana which turned out to be a ticket with face value of 20 Reals. Transfer could have been done by taxi for about 30 Reals each way. Bathroom flooded when showering. One bathroom door did not shut so only 1 useable bathroom on the floor we stayed on.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you like our breakfast, facilities and location. Safe travels! CabanaCopa staff

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 May 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Friendly staff, close to the metro and walking distance to the beaches.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you like our staff and location. We hope to see you again! Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Breakfast and good location. Staff was very helpful as well.

Disliked: I had booked a single room and it was so small that it wasn"t even possible to fully open the door as the room basically was as big as the bed. It was very very loud since the insulation is not existent. A good place for travelers who want to make friends, a bad place for people who want a good night of sleep.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you like our breakfast, location and staff. We are sorry you found the room small and didn't get some good sleep. We have one of the biggest hostels in Rio, so it does get a little noisy now and then. After 11 pm we close the bar/lounge area, after which it usually gets more quiet. Best regards! CabanaCopa staff

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Staff and location

Disliked: Everything closes at 11pm in the hostel

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you like our location and staff. Our cosy location tucked in next to a national park in the heart of Copacabana, 2 min from the metro & beach is in a silence area which means we have to close down the bar/lounge area at 11pm. We do have activities every night for our party guests go to after we close. Our living room, TV room & computer lounge stay open 24hrs.  Best regards! CabanaCopa staff

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It's near the subway station and the beach. The staff is very friendly and helpful

Disliked: The atmosphere is non-existing, the bar closes too early and everybody is gone after 23.00.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

We are glad to hear you like our location and staff. We usually have a great atmosphere, you just stayed with us during the more quiet periods. Unfortunately our cosy location tucked in next to a national park in the heart of Copacabana, 2 min from the metro & beach in a silence area also means we have to close down the bar/lounge area at 11pm. We do have activities every night for our party guests go to after we close. Our living room, TV room & computer lounge stay open 24hrs. Best regards!

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife

Liked: The atmosphere at the bar is great, very good to make friends there.. hostel is also clean and breakfast is great...

Disliked: nada!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you like our atmosphere, cleanliness and breakfast. We hope you will return! Best regards, CabanaCopa

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 80%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Events / festivals

Liked: It was clean and my room had air conditioning

Disliked: The female staff were quite rude and did not want to help me. As a solo traveller I didnt feel very welcome and felt it was more of an inconvenience for the staff to talk to me.


The property's response is

Hi, thanks for staying with us & taking time to review. We are sorry for our female staff, but during carnival things were a bit crazy. The house was full and we were short of staff, our staff was very busy with work and didn't have enough time to socialize with each guest. Now we have improved this and we have spoken to the old staff to have a better customer care specially with the female solo travellers. Safe travels! CabanaCopa staff

Check Availability