HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of CabanaCopa Hostel Rio de Janeiro Hostel

Travessa Guimarães Natal, 12, Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 70%

Facilities 73%

Location 82%

Safety 86%

Staff 78%

Value 74%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Steam room
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine
  • Wii

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 24.56USD
  • Towel 1.64USD

Important Information

*** Important: Please note that due to new regulations with Visa & Mastercard we kindly ask you to e-mail us the 3 digit security code from the back of your card.

- Please reconfirm your booking with your 3 digit security code, and arrival time (within 24hs of your booking). ***

NEW YEARS PACKAGES (28/12/2014 - 02/01/2015)
CARNIVAL (12/02/2015 - 19/02/2015) AND
After paying your 10% we require guests to contact us and pay the remaining balance in full, non refundable as well*****

World Cup 2014 (10/06/2014 - 17/07/2014)
100% prepayment in advance is required.
The remaining 90% balance will be due directly after the on-line booking is made.
The guest must contact the property to arrange payment.
Failure to pay the remaining balance will result in cancellation.
If the booking is cancelled three months before arrival - 50% of the prepayment will be refundable, after that booking is non-refundable.

Tax not included

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rio de Janeiro?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 70%

Facilities 73%

Location 82%

Safety 86%

Staff 78%

Value 74%

Showing 81-24 of 24 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Location is great. The hostel is well equiped and has a nice atmosphere. The also have a bar :)

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi! Thanks for staying with us! We are glad you liked our bar atmosphere, hostel facilities & equipments. Hope to see you again soon! Safe travels, CabanaCopa staff

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: This is a great place to meet people as there is a very sociable vibe. however, this doesn't mean it's a noisy place where you can't get to sleep. The party people tended to congregate in the downstairs bar and be out on the town by 11 allowing the weary to sleep in peace.Dorms - they are spacious as are the available lockers. Excellent location - a couple of blocks walk from the beach, the metro and the stop for the airport bus (which I was sad to have to use). There are also shops, restaurants, etc nearby.Good facilities - the inclusive breakfast was decent, there are outdoor and indoor common areas, and there are computers as well as wifi. I was even able to get some much needed laundry done for a reasonable price.

Disliked: I disliked having to leave and go back home!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi! Many thanks for staying with us and writing the review. We think your review is very honest, well written and expresses how we see our hostel. Looking forward to see you again! Safe travels & best regards, CabanaCopa staff

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Nov 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, City break, Partying / nightlife

Liked: Very nice hostel. The location is pretty good, near a metro station and not far from the beach. Finally a hostel where they've understood that you need electricity to charge things.

Disliked: .

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you like our hostel. We hope you had a nice stay! Safe travels and best regards, CabanaCopa staff

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Big tv area which was really good for chilling out in. Breakfast was very good including fried eggs and sausages. Tours offered. Very quiet so easy to get a lot of sleep.

Disliked: Rooms were quite small for the number of people and if everyone didn't have their bags in their lockers there was pretty much no space to move around. Only two computers for everyone there meant a lot of waiting around and there was pretty much minimum work surfaces in the kitchen.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

We are glad to hear you liked our common area and breakfast. Not sure in which room you stayed but our budget 6 beds dorm became a 4 beds dorm now so more spacious. It is important that guests keep their things and bags in order for everyones sake. We are improving our old kitchen and building a new one just for the guests.

Safe travels and best regards! CabanaCopa staff

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: the breakfast and that the staff was really helpful

Disliked: It´s a little bit noisy in the morning and after 10:30 you can´t get anything to drink anymore at the bar.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

We are glad to hear you like our breakfast and that the staff was helpful. We are sorry about noisiness in the mornings. Unfortunately our cosy location tucked in next to a national park in the heart of Copacabana, 2 min from the metro & beach in a silence area also means we have to close down the bar/lounge area at 11pm. We do have activities every night for our party guests go to after we close. Our living room, TV room & computer lounge stay open 24hrs. 

Best regards! CabanaCopa

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: the staff were extremely helpful

Disliked: there was only one computer with internet working, but it never seemed to cause a problem

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you found the staff helpful. We are sorry that at the time only one computer had internet, the issue is fixed and now it works on both of them.

Safe travels and best regards! CabanaCopa staff

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: the staff. the atmosphere and the tv room was great place to sleep! hahah

Disliked: the breakfast was ok. but never put all at the same time, so you have to wait a lot. 1 computer for all the hostel makes that you have to wait to.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

We are glad to hear you like our staff and our atmosphere. The breakfast staff usually does a good job at refilling, although some mornings after many guests have been out the night before, there is a lot of pressure, especially later during the breakfast hours which makes it harder to keep up. We now have 2 computers with internet, and we are gonna put up 2 more so hopefully waiting won't be an issue anymore. Safe travels and best regards! CabanaCopa staff

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Jul 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: It was in a safe, kind of tucked away area of Copacabana.I was pleasantly surprised about the cleanliness of an ensuite bathroom considering the room was an 8-bed dorm.I liked the vibe of the place.

Disliked: The fact that taxi drivers didn´t know where it was and that the road the hostel is on is not marked on ANY map I looked at. It just makes the arrival a bit difficult after a stressful flight etc. particularly when you speak no Portuguese.A very minor point but there was a sign in the room saying breakfast finished at 12, when it actually finishes at 11. I missed it (after a particularly heavy night) on my first morning there because of this.One of the computers kept closing the internet browser while I was in the middle of writing important emails.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Jun 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, City break, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Visiting friends or family, Work / volunteering

Liked: The Cabanacopa Hostel was a brilliant introduction to Rio. The staff all spoke English very well and were more than helpful in setting you off on your way to the many points of interest around the city.The rooms are cleaned everyday by the housekeepers who prepare a quality breakfast every morning but the kitchen facilities are clean, well stocked and well maintained if cooking is your thing. If not you're two minutes from Copacabana beach, a great local supermarket, loads of bars and clubs within a few blocks and restaurants galore! The thing about hostel living is you have to go in there and make an effort with people and at Cabanacopa if you're polite and friendly, the whole staff will really make an effort for you.

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for staying with us and for writing a review. We are glad to hear you liked our staff, cleanliness and facilities. We hope you will come back! Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

Check Availability