We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of CabanaCopa Hostel

Hostel | Travessa Guimarães Natal, 12, Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil 22011-090

76.0% Overall Rating

248 out of 283 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (06/09/2014)

"Good breakfast. Big lockers. Just down the road from metro and bus stops. 10min walk to beach. Lots of shops close by."

Read all CabanaCopa Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 31.99
  • Towel USD 2.13

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

*** Important: Please note that due to new regulations with Visa & Mastercard we kindly ask you to e-mail us the 3 digit security code from the back of your card. - Please reconfirm your booking with your 3 digit security code, and arrival time (within 24hs of your booking). *** NEW YEARS PACKAGES (28/12/2014 - 02/01/2015) CARNIVAL (12/02/2015 - 19/02/2015) AND After paying your 10% we require guests to contact us and pay the remaining balance in full, non refundable as well***** World Cup 2014 (10/06/2014 - 17/07/2014) 100% prepayment in advance is required. The remaining 90% balance will be due directly after the on-line booking is made. The guest must contact the property to arrange payment. Failure to pay the remaining balance will result in cancellation. If the booking is cancelled three months before arrival - 50% of the prepayment will be refundable, after that booking is non-refundable. Tax not included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rio de Janeiro?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rio de Janeiro

HOSTEL ECO ARCO VERDE
14.93 USD

Hostel 60.8% 27 reviews
Che Lagarto Hostel Copacabana
17.78 USD

Hostel 80.7% 66 reviews
Copinha Hostel
18.77 USD

Hostel 70.4% 44 reviews
Rio Nature Adventure
11.09 USD

Hostel 69.8% 12 reviews
Samba Green Hostel
14.93 USD

Hostel 83.9% 16 reviews
Rio Rockers Hostel
17.06 USD

Hostel 83.6% 4 reviews
Boulevard Bed & Breakfast
38.39 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
El Misti Hostel Rio
8.96 USD

Hostel 76.7% 88 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
76.0%

Overall Rating

248 out of 283 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'CabanaCopa Hostel'

Atmosphere
79.2%
Location
83.2%
Facilities
69.6%
Cleanliness
69.6%
Staff
81.6%
Value
70.4%
Safety
78.4%
Refine your results Showing 229 of 272 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

07 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: breakfast was good, they had ham and cheese sandwiches, fruits, cereal. only a few blocks from copacabana beach, rooms are pretty clean

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

05 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A cozy atmosphere with a very friendly staff . Every night, a community activity is organized (Favela parties, boat parties etc.). Rooms are clean but the room we had stayed was very noisy because of the kindergarten nearby. Definetely I will stay here for the next time...

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rakesh Pandey

01 September 2009 Rakesh would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location, excellent staff, reasonably good accommodation, economic, nice kitchen and superlative complimentary breakfast.I will always stay at this place if I go back to Rio.RakeshIndia

Disliked: Rakesh left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

31 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I have traveled around the world for the past four months staying entirely at hostels and cabana copa was the best hostel. It was clean, fun, safe, friendly, and the owner Ian was way cool and assists every guest if they have any question or problem. We were supposed to stay in the hostel for 2 days but we extended it to 10 because we like it so much. If you are traveling to RIO this is the only hostel to stay in!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gerardus Peelen

25 August 2009 Gerardus would recommend this property

Liked: I ve been eight times to Rio and this hostel is the best!!! Very clean, which is not that usual for hostels in Rio. It´s a new hostel with an colonial interior which is very beautiful. The staff Ian, Juliana, Peris, Mariana, LP are so friendly and helpful. Lot´s of activities as well! The location is near a metrostation in a very safe area, perfect! With the bus / metro you are at the beach of Ipanema in 10 minutes. The beach of Copa is just 2 blocks away. Just outside the hostel you can see lot´s of the daily life of the people of Rio. Because of the relax atmosphere, the hostel attracts nice people. And lot´s of people like me come back to the hostel after visiting other cities. Muito obg!!!

Disliked: Gerardus left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

19 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good breakfasts, nice showers, friendly staff, spacious rooms. TV and music sometimes a bit loud.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

George Ridley

17 August 2009 George would recommend this property

Liked: I would reccommend this hostel to anyone. The staff are great, the facilities clean and well laid out, the location is safe and convenient and (and I know this always makes or breaks a hostel) a cracking place to meet people. It has a good bar that is small enough to encourage people to socialise, rather than get cliquey, but generally well stocked and cheap. The tours arranged by the hostel are also very good value (Go to see the football, even if you couldnt care less about the game!)

Disliked: George left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

12 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is one of the best hostels that we have stayed in in South America. Ian and the rest of the staff (apart from a moody girl who works mornings!) are really helpful and friendly. Really laid back place, breakfast is best we´ve had yet in south america and is served until 12. Nice bar to have a few drinks. Also so so clean. Will be going back and would definitely recommend.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gemma Wiacek

11 August 2009 Gemma would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel, spent my first few nights in South America here so don´t have much to compare it with but I have been warned its setting a high standard. Big, clean rooms, free internet and a great brekfast. A bit of a walk from the beach (approx 10 mins) but close to the metro and bus stops. Highly recommended.

Disliked: Gemma left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John Meara

08 August 2009 John would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are extremely helpful and are genuinely curious about what youre up to so they can give their advice to make your trip better. They are a great source of knowledge for Rio. The hostel is clean and modern and there are plenty of travelers their to socialize and meet with. If I ever make it back to Rio I will definitely stay Cabana Copa. And the monkeys are a nice addition.

Disliked: John left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ben Stopford

08 August 2009 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: Wicked and very helpful staff. Ideal location near Copacabana beach and the tours through the hostel are awesome. Go to the funk party on Sundays....

Disliked: Ben left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Pritchard

07 August 2009 David would recommend this property

Liked: This is an amazing hostel. Really cool!!!!!!

Disliked: David left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elizabeth Vargas

05 August 2009 Elizabeth would recommend this property

Liked: During our two day stay me and my friend (females) at Cabanacopa we experience excellent and safe hospetality. All staff (Ian, Perez, Vencinte, Rodrigo, Rafael) were trust worthy, honest, helpful, respectful. they provided with good customer service and help with any information to make our vacation enjoyable and safe. The place is blocks away from the beach, one block from small grocery store, private area with security, peaceful environment, very sanitary (clean) good to relax(movies, table pool), good breakfast no extra charge, good internet, private locker in your room(just bring your own lock) access, good private tours with decent prize optionals.

Disliked: Elizabeth left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

04 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A great place to meet new people and the staff was very helpful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christopher Dickens

25 July 2009 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice hostel. Plenty of bathrooms and showers / everything very clean. A fun place to meet lots of travelers but not a total party hostel. The place is individually owned by the owner who works here everyday and he is very dedicated to making sure everyone has an enjoyable stay. He is very helpful and will answer questions about Rio all day.

Disliked: Christopher left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jamie Faulkner

14 July 2009 Jamie would recommend this property

Liked: Monkeys in the back garden. Caipi time. The party-hard staff. General welcoming nature of the hostel.

Disliked: Jamie left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Clive Hansen

10 July 2009 Clive would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great, easy to catch buses or the subway to major sites and only a few blocks from the beach. Ian, Rodrigo, and Vicente were all very friendly and helpful. The hostel itself was clean and comfortable with lockers for your pack/valuables and good sized common areas.

Disliked: Clive left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Colin McKenna

03 July 2009 Colin would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent staff...especially Vincent - one very cool cat! not the biggest party hostel you'll ever go to but really good value for money.

Disliked: Colin left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adam Springer

29 June 2009 Adam would recommend this property

Liked: The staff here were great, very helpful in planning a day around whatever you wanted to do. The rooms were clean and everything is brand new. Breakfast was really good. I would highly suggest you stay here.

Disliked: Adam left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael EAST

28 June 2009 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: It had everyting you needed to make your stay feel comfortableand they local monkeys who drop round where very cute

Disliked: Michael left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ELODIE MATHEVET

27 June 2009 ELODIE would recommend this property

Liked: The best guesthouse I ever stayed at. The stuff was wonderful. Will definitely stay there again.

Disliked: ELODIE left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marc Finlay

25 June 2009 Marc would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostels i have stayed in, not only in south america but also rest of the world. Fantastic hostel, great location everything needed is on doorstep, very clean, very friendly and helpfull staff, and felt very safe! I will be returning when back in rio!!

Disliked: Marc left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

22 June 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: we had been travelling for 10 months and this was our last stop and the best. great staff, great rooms and a few blocks from an amazing beach. prob one of the cheapest places to stay in rio too and if you dont stay here you are an idiot

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

09 June 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was really, really nice! The owner and the staff are very helpfull, it's clean and tidy and most important this is a place with a fantastic atmosphere. A good hostel for meeting other people and having a good time in Rio.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Martine Erkamp

03 June 2009 Martine would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very friendly and make you feel welcome! The hostel just opened and therefore, everything is brand new. You have a lot of space in your room and a very big locker where you can even put your bag in! The atmosphere in the hostel is great and the location as well! I would definitely go there again when I go to Rio! Thank you for everything!

Disliked: Martine left no negative feedback.