HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of CabanaCopa Hostel Rio de Janeiro Hostel

Travessa Guimarães Natal, 12, Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 71%

Facilities 72%

Location 85%

Safety 85%

Staff 77%

Value 74%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Steam room
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine
  • Wii

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 23.16USD
  • Towel 1.54USD

Important Information

*** Important: Please note that due to new regulations with Visa & Mastercard we kindly ask you to e-mail us the 3 digit security code from the back of your card.

- Please reconfirm your booking with your 3 digit security code, and arrival time (within 24hs of your booking). ***

NEW YEARS PACKAGES (28/12/2014 - 02/01/2015)
CARNIVAL (12/02/2015 - 19/02/2015) AND
After paying your 10% we require guests to contact us and pay the remaining balance in full, non refundable as well*****

World Cup 2014 (10/06/2014 - 17/07/2014)
100% prepayment in advance is required.
The remaining 90% balance will be due directly after the on-line booking is made.
The guest must contact the property to arrange payment.
Failure to pay the remaining balance will result in cancellation.
If the booking is cancelled three months before arrival - 50% of the prepayment will be refundable, after that booking is non-refundable.

Tax not included

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rio de Janeiro?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 71%

Facilities 72%

Location 85%

Safety 85%

Staff 77%

Value 74%

Showing 71-24 of 24 reviews

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Um bom atendimento. Perto da praia. Organizado.

Disliked: Pra quem possa ter dificuldade de locomoção jamais indicaria. Subida muito ingrime. Paguei por um quarto de 6 pessoas e dividi com 8. Não é nada arejado. Quarto pequeno. Café da manhã fraquissimo

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 May 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Staying at CabanaCopa is always a highlight when I go to Rio. There is a new staff there now, and they are as great as the others, and the internet seems much faster now! :) All the rest stayed the same, which is great! :)

Disliked: Nothing to dislike!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi! Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a reply. We are really happy that staying with us is a highlight during your trips to Rio and the new staff is as good as the old one.

We hope to see you back here soon!

CabanaCopa staff

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 May 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great socializing area downstairs and area to relax upstairs, fairly close to the beach.

Disliked: Some of the staff behind the front desk were less than helpful.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi! Thank you for leaving a reply. We are glad you like our different areas in the hostel, nice to get in a little bit of both socializing and relaxing during the trip :) We will forward that to the front desk staff and make sure they will be more helpful in the future.

Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: It was clean and well managed

Disliked: I found the beds so uncomfortable that I would never go back

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good managed hostel, good staff, near a Metrostation, although you have to walk a bit up the hill.

Disliked: Often full, party people. Not for people seeking solitude.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi! We are happy to hear you liked our management, staff and location. We are a pretty popular hostel and do get full very often. The hostel is next to a national park in a silence area so we close down the bar/lounge area at 11pm, after that most people partying will leave the hostel which usually make it a lot more quiet.

We hope you will be coming back!

CabanaCopa staff

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great staff, good breakfast, clean, kitchen, laundry

Disliked: No a/c in the 10 person dorm, god help you if your here when its 40+, wifi was terrible

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Excellent location just a few blocks from Copacabana beach. Breakfast was good and plentiful. The wifi in the room at the back downstairs was a bit weak, but much better upstairs in the tv room. Lockers in our rooms worked (if a little bruised and battered). The staff knew how to get everywhere and the bus stops were about a 5min walk away from the hostel.

Disliked: Air con was not always turned on (no remote in the rooms) so make sure you ask before they leave at the end of the day to turn it on. Rooms smelt a bit of b.o. all the time and the wifi did not work very well downstairs. A little cramped in our 7 bed dorm (despite booking a 6 bed).

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was good.

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi! Thank you for leaving a reply. We are happy you had a good stay here!

Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Nice facilities, nice rooms, pretty good location

Disliked: Some of the staff is really unfriendly. Odd rules that really don't make u feel at home. Bar closes early.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi & thanks for staying with us! We are sorry that asking to follow the hostel rules might have seemed rude for you. We have some rules to protect hostel & guest, as we have a 3 years experience in the market. Our hostel is located in a residential area, but we have plenty of options of bars, clubs and every night parties in town so that our guest who wants to keep partying has a good night! Also our big tv lounge & computers room is very confortable & sociable for the ones who want to stay home

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: The breakfast and check out time

Disliked: Unfortunately you must to check double every informations you get of people in the reception. Thay're very very helpful and kind but not well prepared all the time.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi! Thanks for staying with us. We are glad you liked the breakfast and check out time. We are sorry to hear you didn't find the staff well prepared, sometimes this is the case when we have new staff, we work harder to improve this.

Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

Check Availability