HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of CabanaCopa Hostel Rio de Janeiro

Hostel

Travessa Guimarães Natal, 12, Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 70%

Facilities 73%

Location 82%

Safety 86%

Staff 78%

Value 74%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine
  • WiFi
  • Wii

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 20.64USD
  • Towel 1.38USD

Important Information

*** Important: Please note that due to new regulations with Visa & Mastercard we kindly ask you to e-mail us the 3 digit security code from the back of your card.

- Please reconfirm your booking with your 3 digit security code, and arrival time (within 24hs of your booking). ***

NEW YEARS PACKAGES (28/12/2014 - 02/01/2015)
CARNIVAL (12/02/2015 - 19/02/2015) AND
After paying your 10% we require guests to contact us and pay the remaining balance in full, non refundable as well*****

World Cup 2014 (10/06/2014 - 17/07/2014)
100% prepayment in advance is required.
The remaining 90% balance will be due directly after the on-line booking is made.
The guest must contact the property to arrange payment.
Failure to pay the remaining balance will result in cancellation.
If the booking is cancelled three months before arrival - 50% of the prepayment will be refundable, after that booking is non-refundable.

Tax not included

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rio de Janeiro?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 70%

Facilities 73%

Location 82%

Safety 86%

Staff 78%

Value 74%

Showing 61-37 of 37 reviews

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location close to Arcoverde metro station and the beach was great. We met some really nice people there and the internet was fast.

Disliked: The staff was not friendly or helpful at all. The shower next to the 8-ppl dorm was cold and you had to go upstairs to get a hot one. The room was tiny so not more than one person could stand at one time. The cleaning ladies started to chat and sing loudly at 6am right next to our room, so sleeping later was impossible. Breakfast was the worst we had in Brazil, but not that bad if you start your trip here. It's a shame to be called Brazilian breakfast, as the country has such a big variety of fresh fruits and juices. But the biggest down side is the completely uninterested staff.


The property's response is

Hi! Sorry but our staff tries their best, some of them are just new. That shower is electric so you have to check if it is turned on (only in the building, all others are boiler heated and pressurised) and the loud cleaners were replaced for quieter ones (less latin :). Our breakfast is a buffet and it has juices (not fresh but it is a backpacker's hostel, not the Hilton!), coffee, tea, milk, cereal, honey, bread, butter, jam, cheese, ham, salami, fresh fruits, eggs, sausage, cake, toast etc.

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good location and good security

Disliked: We were only shown one side of the property of which the shower had no hot water and there was only one shower over the girl's toilet. It wasn't until we changed to a 4 bed dorm after 3 nights that we realised a private room is wasted money. The dorm rooms were much bigger and more comfortable and the bathroom was large with hot water. There are not enough bathrooms/showers to accommodate all guests. The staff sometimes seemed disinterested in helping guests.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Clean, cozy, everything is great

Disliked: Little bit hard to find

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi! Thank you for leaving a reply. We are glad to hear you find the hostel clean and cosy.

We hope you will be coming back!

CabanaCopa staff

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: the bathroom was cleaned twice a day! nice

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for staying with us and taking the time to leave a reply! We are happy that you are pleased with the cleanliness of our bathrooms. We hope you had a good stay!

CabanaCopa staff

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Staff, location, HOT showers (had to add cold water, no electric shower thing!!!)

Disliked: Well, I didn't like the girls that left the dorm and the showers so dirty every day. Get a mixed dorm instead.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for leaving a reply! We are happy you liked the location, staff and the showers.

We hope you will be coming back!

CabanaCopa staff

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: .

Disliked: .

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Had an amazing stay at CabanaCopa, the staff were really friendly and helpful and the 2 for 1 Caiprhina's at the bar during happy hour were delicious.. Good rooms, awesome breakfast and cool inhabitants...!

Disliked: Nothing...!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi! Thanks for staying with us and for leaving a reply. We are very happy that you had a great stay and that you found the staff friendly. We hope you will be coming back!

CabanaCopa staff

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: Everything

Disliked: None that I could find

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi! Thanks for staying with us and leaving a reply. We are glad to hear you liked everything about your stay here. We hope to see you again soon!

CabanaCopa staff

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Large common areas, friendly staff, close to the metro station, quiet location, rooms are cool

Disliked: Location is quite far from the beach, some rooms are damp (especially room 11 at the back), breakfast is constantly running low and is average

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi! We are glad you like our common areas, staff and location. We now have air conditioners in almost all rooms, so dampness should not be a problem anymore. The breakfast staff usually does a good job at refilling, although some mornings after many guests have been out the night before, there is a lot of pressure, especially later during the breakfast hours which makes it harder to keep up.

Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Um bom atendimento. Perto da praia. Organizado.

Disliked: Pra quem possa ter dificuldade de locomoção jamais indicaria. Subida muito ingrime. Paguei por um quarto de 6 pessoas e dividi com 8. Não é nada arejado. Quarto pequeno. Café da manhã fraquissimo

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability