HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of CabanaCopa Hostel

Hostel | Travessa Guimarães Natal, 12, Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil 22011-090

77.4% Overall Rating

247 out of 281 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/04/2014)

"It's near the subway station and the beach. The staff is very friendly and helpful"

Read all CabanaCopa Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 33.70
  • Towel USD 2.25

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

*** Important: Please note that due to new regulations with Visa & Mastercard we kindly ask you to e-mail us the 3 digit security code from the back of your card. - Please reconfirm your booking with your 3 digit security code, and arrival time (within 24hs of your booking). *** NEW YEARS PACKAGES (28/12/2014 - 02/01/2015) CARNIVAL (12/02/2015 - 19/02/2015) AND After paying your 10% we require guests to contact us and pay the remaining balance in full, non refundable as well***** World Cup 2014 (10/06/2014 - 17/07/2014) 100% prepayment in advance is required. The remaining 90% balance will be due directly after the on-line booking is made. The guest must contact the property to arrange payment. Failure to pay the remaining balance will result in cancellation. If the booking is cancelled three months before arrival - 50% of the prepayment will be refundable, after that booking is non-refundable. Tax not included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rio de Janeiro?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rio de Janeiro

HOSTEL ECO ARCO VERDE
13.03 USD

Hostel 60.8% 27 reviews
Che Lagarto Hostel Copacabana
22.22 USD

Hostel 80.7% 66 reviews
Copinha Hostel
19.77 USD

Hostel 69.4% 43 reviews
Rio Nature Adventure
11.68 USD

Hostel 73.3% 9 reviews
Samba Green Hostel
17.98 USD

Hostel 83.1% 14 reviews
Rio Rockers Hostel
26.96 USD

Hostel 83.6% 4 reviews
Boulevard Bed & Breakfast
40.45 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
El Misti Hostel Rio
12.54 USD

Hostel 76.7% 88 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
77.4%

Overall Rating

247 out of 281 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'CabanaCopa Hostel'

Atmosphere
80.0%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
71.2%
Cleanliness
71.2%
Staff
82.4%
Value
72.0%
Safety
80.0%
Refine your results Showing 228 of 270 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very easy to meet people and to go out and party.Very clean.Breakfast times are good for party people.Walking down the hill is easy.TV was huge and nice chillout bags there

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

01 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely everything, especially the staff... Sweet Silvia, Lovely Liz, Oh La La Mye, Nina the Nicest Dutch person that ever lived and not forgetting Reliable Ryan. They were the most helpful people I've ever met and their a credit to Cabanacopa Hostel, they were ever helpful to point us in the right direction, give recommendations, draw maps, and serve with a smile. They made our stay really and they should be given a raise for all their efforts. On top of this the cleaning was impecable, they even folded any clothes I'd dumped on my bed when in a dash to get out in the sun. The bathrooms were spotless, the bar was a blinding place to meet people with Mye serving some cracking caipirinhas. The hostel was secure with cameras and a buzz-to-get-in facility. The location was a quick 5 min march to the beach and on the metros doorstep so accessibilty was simple. This place beats most hotels I've stayed in at home and abroad, and when in Rio next I'll be staying only at Cabanacopa. So basically in a nutshelf if you go to Rio you have to stay at this hostel.

Disliked: Absolutely nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Geraldo Soares Neto

Alone

Business / conference

21 October 2010 Geraldo would recommend this property

Liked: Good Location

Disliked: Geraldo left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good communal areas, fun bar & very clean.

Disliked: Problem with booking system meant we had to change room every night

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

13 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is one of the cleanest i´ve stayed in. The staff are all really friendly and helpful. Big dorm rooms, large living/ lounge spaces that had everyone gathering at the end of the day to hang out and make new friends. It made it easy for a single traveller to make friends and party at night as a group. The location is up the hill though and can be quite a hike if you have big heavy backpacks. But highly recommend.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jeremy Mason

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 October 2010 Jeremy would recommend this property

Liked: Great common area with big TV

Disliked: Bed matresses had plastic on which is annoying but probably more hygienic

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Diego Cukierkorn

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
City break
Relaxation/spa

12 October 2010 Diego would recommend this property

Liked: Greate place to meet people, friendly staff, cleanliness and almost everything was great.

Disliked: Locaton at night (it gets kind of creepy). During the day is fine.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

29 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent hostel to meet people. Friendly staff and good facilities to cater for all kinds of travellers.

Disliked: Staff a bit too laid back / slow in dealing with customers. Internet connection was temperamental.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mark Fuller

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 September 2010 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: One of the cleanest hostels I've been in. Really friendly staff and great location.

Disliked: PCs were often out of order causing queues for the one working machine.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sally leake

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 September 2010 sally would recommend this property

Liked: It is simply one of the best hostels in South America- it's well located, super clean, extremely friendly and has a great breakfast!

Disliked: nothing!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

julia pell

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 September 2010

Liked: The hostel was clean with a good shower and we felt safe and secure , the breakfast was nice aswell!

Disliked: The kitchen had very few utensils ,seriously there was about two knives a fork and a spoon for the whole hostel ! Except for one member of staff the others were not interested in helping at all , we had a double room with our own bathroom , the toilet broke and would not flush it took 3 visits to reception to see if anyone would fix it , eventually with my multitool i fixed it myself as i gave up hope ! Constant noise throughout the night eg, 4am , 5am and 6am cabana copa do not enforce the 11pm curfew !!!! I would never ever stay here again !!

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Shopping

15 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great dorm rooms - individual lamps, lockers etc... Good communal areas too.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Work / volunteering

08 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The commons areas were open and set up so it is easy to be social. They were also very clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful and gave information about things to do. Also the bar is awesome.

Disliked: There are 3 major things that the hostel needs to change: 1. The beds aren't numbered. My boyfriend was told he could sleep in one bed, then a few hours later a girl walked in upset because it was her bed all along. Later in the trip, I walked into my room to find a guy's stuff on MY bed, and it's all because the staff is confused about if there is somebody in the bed or not. Numbering the beds could fix all of this. 2. Breakfast doesn't start til 9:00. By that time, everybody is lined up and hungry, and so it was a fight for food. It also means if you want to get an early start to your day, you have to skip breakfast. Starting breakfast earlier (7:30 or 8 at least) would solve this problem. If you eat later when there aren't any people, the food is plentiful and delicious. 3. Check-in is strictly at 2. Many people arrived from long plane or bus rides earlier than that, and the staff would not even let them in to brush their teeth or use the bathroom. I understand why, but it seems a little too strict. Be prepared for that.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: spacious dorm, we were in the female 8 bed. The staff were friendly but not particularly helpful at times. The location is great, near to supermarkets , shops and the beach. Cleanliness is top notch and the Tv room is very cosy. The kitchen is basic but we managed to cook nice meals, although there were planty of restaurants nearby when we wanted them, too.

Disliked: The internet sometimes work and the breakfast is hit and miss, some days being better then others.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

24 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely property with loads of communal areas including a bar, and lounge area with a massive flatscreen tv. Also lovely outside area where you could eat and smoke.

Disliked: Not enough gas rings in the kitchen and thought it was a bit weird that the bar closed at 10.30pm considering the fact that nothing gets going in Rio until midnight at the earliest.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway

23 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Secure location on a guarded street, great tv and movie area, free wifi and good breakfast considering its free.

Disliked: cramped 8 bed ensuite, more suited to 6 people. when we enquired about currency exchange we were told they did not do it even though the website states they do. also we had to buy matches from the hostel bar to light the gas rings to cook our dinner, a minor problem but annoying. you would expect to be provided with something to light the cooker. mattresses are covered in plastic for hygiene reasons i assume but are very very noisy in the middle of the night as people toss and turn, especially if like us you are in the 8 bed dorm, can be extremely disruptive.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Josepha Reynolds

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 August 2010 Josepha would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, clean dorms and bathrooms, fun way to meet people- had an awesome 9days

Disliked: Cleaners kept on moving or stuff, the bar closes early and the kitchen is too small.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Joanna Batty

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 August 2010 Joanna would recommend this property

Liked: We really liked this hostel. Extremely clean, nice big room, very good bathroom, nice lounge area with big tv, really good breakfast.

Disliked: We really liked the hostel but it is very disorganised. We booked a room well in advance but had problems checking in, as did the other people staying in our room. The hostel no longer runs the trip to the favela funk party on a sunday night, but we highly recommend going to the hostel a few doors down to book it.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everyone was friendly, the place was clean and the staff were nice.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Joshua Norris

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

24 July 2010

Liked: Awesome tv room, very clean and well kept and the location is quite good - close to metro and copa beach.

Disliked: The staff were quite dissorganised when it came to bookings. I asked to have my stay extended but it never happened so i was kicked out after 2 nights as they were full. The same thing happened to at least a handful of other people around the same time and i heard people rocking up having made a reservation but being told that it was non existent.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ilia Shkolyar

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

23 July 2010 Ilia would recommend this property

Liked: Great place, good staff

Disliked: Ilia left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephanie Weingartner

Backpacking / gap year
City break

17 July 2010 Stephanie would recommend this property

Liked: it's very clean. the breakfast buffet was amazing. the common area upstairs with flat screen tv and dvd collection is great. lockers in room. close to metro station. friendly staff.

Disliked: the toilets are clogged a lot...probably cause people throw their toilet paper in the toilet not in the waste bin. but...it was very annoying!!!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Such "a" nice staff! He was so kind, all the time. Well-organized useful information. Great location, near metro, beach, supermarket and bus stops. They cleaned rooms everyday.

Disliked: Humid room and smelly pillow. Out of good at breakfast

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Sarah Jane Stewart

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

04 July 2010 Sarah Jane would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the communal area upstairs, and the monkeys that came to visit! I also liked the cleanliness. I also liked the access to a kitchen with rice, sometimes pasta, and other cooking ingredients, and the water fountain.

Disliked: I didn't like the fact that all water containers always went missing when the cleaners cleaned the rooms! There's no point in having free drinking water if you have to buy a new water bottle every day!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Samone Palmer

With friends / other travellers

City break

28 June 2010 Samone would recommend this property

Liked: Great StaffGreat LocationGreat facilitiesGREAT HOSTEL!!!

Disliked: Samone left no negative feedback.