HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of CabanaCopa Hostel Rio de Janeiro Hostel

Travessa Guimarães Natal, 12, Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Atmosphere 79%

Cleanliness 75%

Facilities 71%

Location 84%

Safety 86%

Staff 77%

Value 74%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Steam room
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine
  • Wii

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 21.93USD
  • Towel 1.46USD

Important Information

*** Important: Please note that due to new regulations with Visa & Mastercard we kindly ask you to e-mail us the 3 digit security code from the back of your card.

- Please reconfirm your booking with your 3 digit security code, and arrival time (within 24hs of your booking). ***

NEW YEARS PACKAGES (28/12/2014 - 02/01/2015)
CARNIVAL (12/02/2015 - 19/02/2015) AND
After paying your 10% we require guests to contact us and pay the remaining balance in full, non refundable as well*****

World Cup 2014 (10/06/2014 - 17/07/2014)
100% prepayment in advance is required.
The remaining 90% balance will be due directly after the on-line booking is made.
The guest must contact the property to arrange payment.
Failure to pay the remaining balance will result in cancellation.
If the booking is cancelled three months before arrival - 50% of the prepayment will be refundable, after that booking is non-refundable.

Tax not included

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rio de Janeiro?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 79%

Cleanliness 75%

Facilities 71%

Location 84%

Safety 86%

Staff 77%

Value 74%

Showing 51-18 of 18 reviews

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I really like that it is near the Copa Cabana Beach!

Disliked: The staff was extremely unfriendly. They even sent me an email to give them my credit card details!!!"Hello,To ensure your reservation for the Holiday on November 2nd we need you to send us a credit card number to charge 50% of the reservation. Besides the number, we also need the CCV and expiration date. Or if you prefer the payment can be made by deposit into our bank. We await your response.Thank you for choosing the CabanaCopa,"


The property's response is

Hi! We are sorry but the 3 digit code from the back of the card is necessary to charge you in case of a no show. And during holidays the hostel is extra full so we need to confirm every reservation. If you arrive during frontdesk hours we can make exceptions and confirm your booking with just your arrival date. It was a beautiful sunny weekend when you were here, so we hope you enjoyed Rio & Copacabana beach! Safe travels! CabanaCopa Staff

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife

Liked: Nice location! The bargirl did a spontaneous portuguese lesson for me. I stayed at the girls area, which was really peaceful, quiet and clean. The area is really safe. Perfect stay!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for leaving a reply! We are happy to hear you like our location and area, and that your stay was also a bit educational!

Hope you will be coming back! Best regards, Cabanacopa staff

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Great location!

Disliked: Breakfast starts toooooo late

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for taking the time to leave a reply! We are happy to hear you like our location. Regarding the breakfast, we are happy to inform you that it now starts earlier, at 8.30.

Best regards, Cabanacopa staff

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: This is a great hostel, I really liked it. Felt very secure with lockers in the room big enough for all your stuff. Very nice common areas, good breakfast and lovely staff.

Disliked: Generally the hostel is kept very clean but they need bigger bins in the bathroom as they fill up quickly at night then stuff ends up all over the floor. But this is a very minor problem in an otherwise great place. It is close to the metro which is useful, and of course close to the fabulous beach!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi! We are glad you are pleased with your stay here. We clean our bathrooms twice daily but we are going to add one more night cleaning staff to improve even more the facilities. Hope to see you again! Safe travels, CabanaCopa staff

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Everything. Cleanliness= great! I's a hostel, so its bound to get dirty, but they have people cleaning the bathrooms twice a day and the dorms everyday. They have a great hang out common area with couches and bean bags, which actually gets cleaned! Its about a 5/10minute walk to the beach which isn't far. It's close to a service station and supermarket for easy snacks. Very safe place to stay. 24hour security man at the door. hostel offers activities. definitely worth doing! It has a bar, so you can drink with others at the hostel. I was jet lagged so I didn't go out much. Lapa is the party district, which you can get to by bus/metro/taxi for fairly cheap. You will find other backpackers wanting to go out, that you can go with, also the bar staff that work there are young and up for partying too. Lockers in dorms are big. Bunks have a curtain on the bottom. It has fans and aircon, but it was a bit cooler at night, so only needed the fan sometimes. Breakfast is fairly good- standard: bread, cheese, ham, delicious home made cake, fruit, tea's coffee juice ect. I am travelling alone and this was my first stop. I've met some great people at this hostel that i'm going to continue travelling with.

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a reply. We are very happy to hear you had such a good stay and met some nice people to continue your trip with. We hope you will be coming back!

Best regards, Cabanacopa staff

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Fantastic location, near to supermarkets and beach. Clean and good breakfast. Nice communal areas.Very helpful and nice staff.

Disliked: Dorm rooms are a bit of a squish .

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a reply! We are happy you liked our prime location, cleanliness, breakfast and our helpful staff. We hope you will be coming back!

Best regards, Cabanacopa staff

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The hostel looks nice and the room we stayed in (10 bed dorm) was spacious. We had an ensuite bathroom which was quite nice, but was almost all the time occupied as there were 10 people in the room.

Disliked: They DO NOT have power outlets in the dorm! Just 2 of them in the whole room next to two of the beds, so unless you stay in those beds no power for you. Also no individual lights or anything like that (though they promise this in the description). Not enough bathrooms! We had one ensuite (which was nice) always occupied, another one on the same floor, also almost impossible to find available, besides those only some larger shared ones on the upper floor but which were crowded and dirty. The breakfast is not too great, and after 10 difficult to find anything.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi! We have power outlets in most dorms and some of them individual for each bed with lights & bed curtains, but your room's description did not say yours had that. If you get an ensuite dorm for 10 people and it is full, of course it can be constantly occupied, but there were two more in your floor. Although we clean the house top to bottom twice a day, during party & beach times the big shared bathrooms get a little messy, so we need the guests cooperation. Maybe try our privates next time!Tks

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Super friendly staff, perfect location.

Disliked: Bar closes at 22:30.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for staying with us and writing the review. We are glad that you liked our staff and location. Unfortunately our cosy location tucked in next to a national park in the heart of Copacabana, 2 min from the metro and beach in a silent area also means we have to close down the bar/lounge area at 11pm. We do have activities every night for our party guests go to after we close. Our living room, TV room and computer lounge stay open 24hrs. Best regards! CabanaCopa staff

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, City break, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Everything Staff and Breakfast

Disliked: Internet not very good

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi! Thanks for taking the time to leave a reply. We are glad you liked our staff and the breakfast. Since your stay the internet has improved, we now have more than one internet provider to make sure we have internet at all times.

We hope you will be coming back! CabanaCopa staff

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Old gourgeous house. Atmosphere

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hello & thanks for staying with us and taking time to write the review! We are glad you liked our colonial house, we love it too! Hope to see you again! Safe travels, CabanaCopa staff

Check Availability