HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of CabanaCopa Hostel Rio de Janeiro Hostel

Travessa Guimarães Natal, 12, Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 70%

Facilities 73%

Location 82%

Safety 86%

Staff 78%

Value 74%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Steam room
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine
  • Wii

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 23.77USD
  • Towel 1.58USD

Important Information

*** Important: Please note that due to new regulations with Visa & Mastercard we kindly ask you to e-mail us the 3 digit security code from the back of your card.

- Please reconfirm your booking with your 3 digit security code, and arrival time (within 24hs of your booking). ***

NEW YEARS PACKAGES (28/12/2014 - 02/01/2015)
CARNIVAL (12/02/2015 - 19/02/2015) AND
After paying your 10% we require guests to contact us and pay the remaining balance in full, non refundable as well*****

World Cup 2014 (10/06/2014 - 17/07/2014)
100% prepayment in advance is required.
The remaining 90% balance will be due directly after the on-line booking is made.
The guest must contact the property to arrange payment.
Failure to pay the remaining balance will result in cancellation.
If the booking is cancelled three months before arrival - 50% of the prepayment will be refundable, after that booking is non-refundable.

Tax not included

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rio de Janeiro?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 70%

Facilities 73%

Location 82%

Safety 86%

Staff 78%

Value 74%

Showing 41-27 of 27 reviews

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Nice staff, good breakfast and a great place to meet other backpackers!

Disliked: The room I had was without aircon and really small, not much space, but it was ok. Shower was cold, but the showers in the aircon rooms seemed to be fine.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hello & thanks for staying with us and taking time to write the review. We are glad you liked ou staff, breakfast & social atmosphere (best part of our hostel :) We are glad to inform that now we have A/C in every dormitory and most privates. We had a hot water problem in one of the buildings, but our hostel has different hot water systems, so there is always hot water in most of our bathrooms, because if one system fails we have a backup. Best regards & safe travels, CabanaCopa staff

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Localização do hostel é muito boa, próximo à praia de Copabana, além de ser muito próximo do metro Arco Verde!

Disliked: Apesar de haver banheiros novos, dois banheiros estavam sujos e entupidos!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Ola! Obrigado por escrever um comentário. Ficamos felizes que tenha gostado do hostel e localização. Desculpe se em algum momento certos banheiros compartilhados não estavam impecáveis, mas apesar de limparmos os banheiros duas vezes ao dia, alguns hospedes são menos cuidadosos podem prejudicar o proximo a usar o banheiro. No entanto estamos avaliando a possibilidade de colocar um terceiro turno de limpeza de noite para melhorar ainda mais o serviço. Obrigado e boa viagem! CabanaCopa

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: i like the hostel's location. it was very close to copa cabana and also near the main road, where a lot of buses stopped. the hostel was very safe and guarded by security.

Disliked: one bathroom was constantly closed. no idea why, maybe because the didnt want to clean that much. and the other one on my floor was very very dirty. the bathroom on the upper floor was ok. the staff s organisation need to be improved. they didnt know where the people do sleep. so it happened once that somebody found someone else in his bed. in my case: i didnt book for my last night, which i didnt realize, so they told me in a quite rude way to leave the room. it was 11 pm, so they wanted to go home, i guess...after my intervention, i could stay for the last night.


The property's response is

We are happy to hear you liked the location and safety of our hostel. The bathroom was closed due to renovation, which is finished now. We are sorry to hear the other bathroom wasn't clean, we are going to add another cleaning shift during the night and hopefully improve this issue. We're sorry for what happened, now we tag the bed to the guest, but still on a party night it might happen that a drunk guest mistakes the bed.
Safe travels & best regards! CabanaCopa staff

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating


15 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It was a really fun hostel. They organised parties every night. The favela party is a must! Would definitely recommend and the womans area upstairs is great. Thanks for making my stay so great. plus its really close to the beach and metro.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi! Thanks for staying with us and writing the review. We are glad you had fun in our hostel. Our nightly activities are a great for the party crowd. We take care of our girls in their area right? :) Hope to see you again soon! Safe travels! CabanaCopa team

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: Near the beach, good atmosphere, helpful staff

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi! Thanks for staying with us and taking time to write the review. We are glad you liked our location, staff & social atmosphere. We hope you will be coming back!

Safe travels and best regards, Cabanacopa staff

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Locationwise it was good, close to the beach and metro, they offer good service with tours etc.

Disliked: Not very easy to find and the rooms are a bit messy and noisy...

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi! Thanks for staying with us and taking time to write the review. We are glad you liked our location and services. We have one of the biggest hostels in Rio, so it does get a little noisy now and then. After 11 pm we close the bar/lounge area, after which it usually gets more quiet.

Safe travels! Cabanacopa staff

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The location was good.

Disliked: Breakfast just ok. Not very clean and few restrooms and showers for many people to share. A little expensive and overprice for what they offer but as every other place in Rio, that city is insane expensive for the service they offer.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for taking the time to leave a reply. We are happy you like the location of our hostel. We clean our bathrooms twice daily but we are going to add one more night cleaning staff to improve even more the facilities. During high season it gets a bit crowded, as well as the prices go up a bit.

Best regards, Cabanacopa staff

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: O local é muito bom. Do lado do metro, fácil de ir pra qualquer lugar

Disliked: Os banheiros são um pouco pequenos e o café da manhã não é muito bom.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Awesome atmosphere, great staff, felt safe.

Disliked: Bar needs to stay open later

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi & thanks for staying with us and writing the review. We are glad that you liked our staff, the atmosphere and safety. Unfortunately our cosy location tucked in next to a national park in the heart of Copacabana, 2 min from the metro & beach in a silence area also means we have to close down the bar/lounge area at 11pm. We do have activities every night for our party guests go to after we close. Our living room, TV room & computer lounge stay open 24hrs. Best regards! CabanaCopa

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I really like that it is near the Copa Cabana Beach!

Disliked: The staff was extremely unfriendly. They even sent me an email to give them my credit card details!!!"Hello,To ensure your reservation for the Holiday on November 2nd we need you to send us a credit card number to charge 50% of the reservation. Besides the number, we also need the CCV and expiration date. Or if you prefer the payment can be made by deposit into our bank. We await your response.Thank you for choosing the CabanaCopa,"


The property's response is

Hi! We are sorry but the 3 digit code from the back of the card is necessary to charge you in case of a no show. And during holidays the hostel is extra full so we need to confirm every reservation. If you arrive during frontdesk hours we can make exceptions and confirm your booking with just your arrival date. It was a beautiful sunny weekend when you were here, so we hope you enjoyed Rio & Copacabana beach! Safe travels! CabanaCopa Staff

Check Availability