HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of CabanaCopa Hostel Rio de Janeiro Hostel

Travessa Guimarães Natal, 12, Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 70%

Facilities 73%

Location 82%

Safety 86%

Staff 78%

Value 74%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Steam room
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine
  • Wii

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 22.64USD
  • Towel 1.51USD

Important Information

*** Important: Please note that due to new regulations with Visa & Mastercard we kindly ask you to e-mail us the 3 digit security code from the back of your card.

- Please reconfirm your booking with your 3 digit security code, and arrival time (within 24hs of your booking). ***

NEW YEARS PACKAGES (28/12/2014 - 02/01/2015)
CARNIVAL (12/02/2015 - 19/02/2015) AND
After paying your 10% we require guests to contact us and pay the remaining balance in full, non refundable as well*****

World Cup 2014 (10/06/2014 - 17/07/2014)
100% prepayment in advance is required.
The remaining 90% balance will be due directly after the on-line booking is made.
The guest must contact the property to arrange payment.
Failure to pay the remaining balance will result in cancellation.
If the booking is cancelled three months before arrival - 50% of the prepayment will be refundable, after that booking is non-refundable.

Tax not included

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rio de Janeiro?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 70%

Facilities 73%

Location 82%

Safety 86%

Staff 78%

Value 74%

Showing 31-30 of 30 reviews

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 80%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The breakfast is good, for hostel standards.It is very close to a metro station.One new staff member, a new girl I think, was super friendly. The others not so much.

Disliked: Noise. My room was right next to the TV room. The door has an open window in it (no glass), which meant it was as if the TV was on in my room. This made it hard to sleep. In general, the hostel is rather noisy.The outside space is really small, it is not a nice area to sit in.


The property's response is

Hi! Thanks for your comments. We are glad you liked our free breakfast, location and staff. Some old staff were more busy as it was high season, others were already replaced to fresh super friendly ones! :) Sorry for the TV room noise, we have plans of moving it's location to an area that won't disturb any rooms. We do have a new outside terrace near the BBQ place that guests love it, very nice to get some sun. Best regards & safe travels! CabanaCopa staff.

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife

Liked: I´ve been there before and they change some things.One employee exchanged me some brazilian currency to be able to have a towell,because the do not accept credit card if you want to pay something that cost less than 200 Brazilian currency.

Disliked: I didn´t like the fact the have a minimum for paying in credit card.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi! Glad to hear we have a returning guest. We're sorry to hear that you're disappointed with the minimum for credit card payments. We only accept credit cards for paying the nights, all other expenses must be paid in cash. Although we have a minimum, we don't charge any extras for paying with card. We hope this won't keep you from coming back!

CabanaCopa staff

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Relaxation / spa

Liked: i like the location. very close to copacabana beach

Disliked: very small room. cleaner does not clean the room. toilet's floor on the first floor is dirty

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi! Thanks for staying with us! We are glad you liked our hostel location. Our budget 6 beds dorm became a 4 beds dorm now so more spacious. Our cleaners clean the room once daily, but if someone is sleeping they can't clean as well. Sorry if that was the case. Bathrooms are cleaned twice daily, but after beach times people come sandy and wet back. We will start another night cleaning shift to improve the service. Hope to see you again sometime! Best regards & safe travels! CabanaCopa staff

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The hostel is located three blocks from Copacabana beach which makes the location perfect.

Disliked: Unfortunately, having decided that their location is amazing and there will be enough people wanting to stay close to the beach in Rio, the service in this hostel is appalling.Soon after I made my reservation, I received an email from them asking me for my credit card CVV code. I was not happy to send these over an email but having read already in the reviews that this is the policy, I did it. On the day of my arrival, after having woken up at 5am to catch a plane and almost 11 hours of journey time, having trekked it up the steep hill where the hostel is located with all my luggage (sweaty and tired), I am ''greeted'' at reception with the announcement that I cannot use the credit card which details they already have unless I am paying over 150 Reis. I did not have enough cash on me and asked if I can drop my stuff, have a shower and pay a couple of hours later that evening. YOU ARE NOT ALLOWED IN THE ROOM BEFORE YOU PAY was the answer! So, having put my luggage in storage, I now had to trek to a cash machine which accepts my foreign card and up the hill again before I can see my room and take a shower. I have never in my life stayed in another hostel which will make you do that. After this very bad start, I was equally unimpressed with the average and always running low breakfast, with the slow wi-fi connection, the dirty bathroom (two cubicles only next to the female dorms with 18 (10+8) beds), the utterly unhelpful staff and the fact that although advertised the AIRCON is NEVER on, instead substituted in the 10 bed female dorm with a very noisy ceiling fan. Take your money elsewhere, where you will receive some sort of customer service, together with your bed!


The property's response is

Hi! We are sorry for what happened, but our policy is that guests pay at check in. But our new staff could have made an exception to you. The A/C in the room is free for use anytime of the day, but you are the ones who have to turn it on, and usually guests sleeping in the bed closer to the A/C do it. Our big girls bathroom has 2 showers (average of 1 to 9 girls) and 3 toilets (1 to 6 girls) and is a good balance, specially because in the dorms there are big mirrors, make up desks & hairdryer.

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location was good and breakfast was good

Disliked: Insects in the bed, bed bugs. Very unclean


The property's response is

Hi & thanks for staying with us! We do not have bedbugs in our hostel, as we clean & fumigate the rooms frequently. Rio de Janeiro though has mosquitoes as well as most of South American cities. Safe travels! CabanaCopa Staff

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Atmosphere, Cleanliness

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review! We are happy to hear you liked the atmosphere and cleanliness of our hostel. We hope you will be coming back!

Cabanacopa staff

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great location - one block to Metro; three blocks to beach. I booked for the wrrong dates, sent them an email to correct the dates, and they did so kindly, without any trouble.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for taking the time to leave a reply! We are glad you liked our prime location and that our staffed did a good job helping you with that issue.

Safe travels and best regards! CabanaCopa staff

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife

Liked: Really good hostel, activities they organised were so fun.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi! Thanks for staying with us and writing the review. We are glad you had a good time. Safe travels! CabanaCopa team

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was in a good location, close to bus stops and felt safe. Three blocks from the beach!! Really nice people

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi! Thanks for staying with us! We are glad you liked the hostel location, safety, staff & atmosphere. Hope to see you back sometime! Safe travels, CabanaCopa team

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Its a good hostel, in a safe area....good common area to meet ppl. Expensive, like everything else in the city..

Disliked: That they dont let u take ur bed b4 2pm even if they have the beds ready...

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi & thanks for staying with us! We make exceptions when possible and check in guests earlier specially if just changing rooms. Safe travels! CabanaCopa Staff

Check Availability