We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of CabanaCopa Hostel

Hostel | Travessa Guimarães Natal, 12, Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil 22011-090

77.0% Overall Rating

254 out of 290 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/03/2015)

Marcel Petersen Cordeiro thinks…

"quite area, near the green. had to go a bit up the Hill to get the hostel, but still in good location. breakfast was allright."

Read all CabanaCopa Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 23.89
  • Towel USD 1.59

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

*** Important: Please note that due to new regulations with Visa & Mastercard we kindly ask you to e-mail us the 3 digit security code from the back of your card. - Please reconfirm your booking with your 3 digit security code, and arrival time (within 24hs of your booking). *** NEW YEARS PACKAGES (28/12/2014 - 02/01/2015) CARNIVAL (12/02/2015 - 19/02/2015) AND After paying your 10% we require guests to contact us and pay the remaining balance in full, non refundable as well***** World Cup 2014 (10/06/2014 - 17/07/2014) 100% prepayment in advance is required. The remaining 90% balance will be due directly after the on-line booking is made. The guest must contact the property to arrange payment. Failure to pay the remaining balance will result in cancellation. If the booking is cancelled three months before arrival - 50% of the prepayment will be refundable, after that booking is non-refundable. Tax not included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rio de Janeiro?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rio de Janeiro

HOSTEL ECO ARCO VERDE
12.74 USD

Hostel 60.8% 27 reviews
Che Lagarto Hostel Copacabana
20.78 USD

Hostel 80.3% 70 reviews
Copinha Hostel
14.02 USD

Hostel 68.3% 48 reviews
Rio Nature Adventure
6.37 USD

Hostel 70.3% 13 reviews
Villa Budget Hostel
11.15 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Samba Green Hostel
10.51 USD

Hostel 82.9% 18 reviews
Rio Rockers Hostel
10.83 USD

Hostel 83.6% 4 reviews
El Misti Hostel Rio
8.47 USD

Hostel 74.1% 95 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
77.0%

Overall Rating

254 out of 290 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'CabanaCopa Hostel'

Atmosphere
81.6%
Location
84.0%
Facilities
72.8%
Cleanliness
69.6%
Staff
80.0%
Value
72.0%
Safety
79.2%
Refine your results Showing 232 of 279 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location just a few blocks from Copacabana beach. Breakfast was good and plentiful. The wifi in the room at the back downstairs was a bit weak, but much better upstairs in the tv room. Lockers in our rooms worked (if a little bruised and battered). The staff knew how to get everywhere and the bus stops were about a 5min walk away from the hostel.

Disliked: Air con was not always turned on (no remote in the rooms) so make sure you ask before they leave at the end of the day to turn it on. Rooms smelt a bit of b.o. all the time and the wifi did not work very well downstairs. A little cramped in our 7 bed dorm (despite booking a 6 bed).

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, good breakfast, clean, kitchen, laundry

Disliked: No a/c in the 10 person dorm, god help you if your here when its 40+, wifi was terrible

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was good.

Disliked: Nothing.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice facilities, nice rooms, pretty good location

Disliked: Some of the staff is really unfriendly. Odd rules that really don't make u feel at home. Bar closes early.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Mino Corsale

Alone

City break

27 January 2012 Mino would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast and check out time

Disliked: Unfortunately you must to check double every informations you get of people in the reception. Thay're very very helpful and kind but not well prepared all the time.

The property's response is...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 January 2012

Liked: Clean bathrooms. Breakfast was okay

Disliked: Small rooms and dirty, slow internet

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Haakon Krohn

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife

14 November 2011 Haakon would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice hostel. The location is pretty good, near a metro station and not far from the beach. Finally a hostel where they've understood that you need electricity to charge things.

Disliked: .

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Big tv area which was really good for chilling out in. Breakfast was very good including fried eggs and sausages. Tours offered. Very quiet so easy to get a lot of sleep.

Disliked: Rooms were quite small for the number of people and if everyone didn't have their bags in their lockers there was pretty much no space to move around. Only two computers for everyone there meant a lot of waiting around and there was pretty much minimum work surfaces in the kitchen.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Christian Schmidt

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 September 2011 Christian would recommend this property

Liked: the breakfast and that the staff was really helpful

Disliked: It´s a little bit noisy in the morning and after 10:30 you can´t get anything to drink anymore at the bar.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the staff were extremely helpful

Disliked: there was only one computer with internet working, but it never seemed to cause a problem

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the staff. the atmosphere and the tv room was great place to sleep! hahah

Disliked: the breakfast was ok. but never put all at the same time, so you have to wait a lot. 1 computer for all the hostel makes that you have to wait to.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Toby Gilles

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 August 2011 Toby would recommend this property

Liked: It was in a safe, kind of tucked away area of Copacabana. I was pleasantly surprised about the cleanliness of an ensuite bathroom considering the room was an 8-bed dorm. I liked the vibe of the place.

Disliked: The fact that taxi drivers didn´t know where it was and that the road the hostel is on is not marked on ANY map I looked at. It just makes the arrival a bit difficult after a stressful flight etc. particularly when you speak no Portuguese. A very minor point but there was a sign in the room saying breakfast finished at 12, when it actually finishes at 11. I missed it (after a particularly heavy night) on my first morning there because of this. One of the computers kept closing the internet browser while I was in the middle of writing important emails.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

27 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is very good hosrel with very good servise and thebest locatin. Thank you, Valentina

Disliked: All was excellently

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

18 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Cabanacopa Hostel was a brilliant introduction to Rio. The staff all spoke English very well and were more than helpful in setting you off on your way to the many points of interest around the city.The rooms are cleaned everyday by the housekeepers who prepare a quality breakfast every morning but the kitchen facilities are clean, well stocked and well maintained if cooking is your thing. If not you're two minutes from Copacabana beach, a great local supermarket, loads of bars and clubs within a few blocks and restaurants galore! The thing about hostel living is you have to go in there and make an effort with people and at Cabanacopa if you're polite and friendly, the whole staff will really make an effort for you.

Disliked: Nothing.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jose troncoso

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 June 2011 jose would recommend this property

Liked: Great Hostel!!! Clean, good location and the best is its staff!!!.....friendly people, nice bar!!!!! Congratulations to Erika in the bar and Paula at recepcion!!!! We had a really really great time there. I recomend to all my friends in Chile!!!!!!!

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Loris Molent

As a family with children

Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 May 2011 Loris would recommend this property

Liked: Myself and my two teenage children had very enjoyable stays at Cabana! (April & May 2011) The hostel was well located close to Copacabana beach, restaurants and services. The hostel was very clean and inviting and a great place to meet fellow travellers. The breakfast was also something to look forward to. The girls at the reception were very informative and helpful. In fact they should all appear in the next session of Brasilian Top Models! If I return to Rio I would certainly stay at CabanCopa!

Disliked: The twin bunk rooms are small.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

adam johnson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 March 2011 adam would recommend this property

Liked: The girls working the reception are lovely...they make this place really good

Disliked: nothing

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I thought this was one of the better hostels I have stayed at.

Disliked: Bar shuts at 10pm and you can't bring your own alcohol in. Toilets can get a bit dirty but that is mainly a result of the way the travellers treat it.

The property's response is...

40.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

20 March 2011

Liked: It was a great place to meet other travellers, very social. Lounge area was good.

Disliked: - My bed was INFESTED with bedbugs, so I ended up having to sleeping on the beach, and not at the hostel (it was fully booked). It was disgusting, with them crawling on me all night. The owner denied the bugs, and suggested that I brought them into the hostel (having flown direct from London, then having stayed at a hotel down the road, this was very unlikely...). There were a few girls that had bites all over them too. - The location was a bit out of the way and did not feel very safe to walk to alone - The internet was non-existant. Only one computer worked and the wifi was not operating

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's like a big house - feels very welcoming, lots of areas to meet people and chill out. The rooms are a good size and the bathrooms are nice. Breakfast is good too. You're given a big locker so have space to store your stuff.

Disliked: Occasionally shaky internet connection, its on top of a steep hill and I heard of thefts (not by the staff though, so its not their fault).

The property's response is...

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

13 March 2011

Liked: Good location and good for meeting people

Disliked: all bathrooms in the hostel went for over 12 hours with no toilet paper desire staff being informed. Night porter was so unhelpful and unfriendly.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice building with friendly staff, who gave us lots of help finding travel agents, ATMs, etc. The upstairs TV room is also a godsend, with loads of beanbags, 3 huge sofas and, of course, a giant TV. There are 3 PCs hooked up to the internet and wi-fi was as good as we've found it in Brazil (i.e. it works about 50% of the time).

Disliked: On our last day, we locked our bags up in the left luggage lockers with combination padlocks. This area is caged in, but the door is open to all other travellers. Someone managed to get into our bag and steal 500 Raeis and 150USD, which was locked in a locker in a purse within a money belt. We only realised on the bus out from Rio that evening. They didn't take passports or credit cards, which makes us wonder if it was another traveller? Leaves a bit of a nasty taste but not really the hostel's fault.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and price, pretty easy to walk to the beach. Busy place, nice social vibe. Breakfast interesting, scrambled eggs and hot dogs or something else. They make an effort.

Disliked: Rooms without air con pretty stifling. Also the disgusting plastic sheet things under the sheets! Makes you sleep in your own pool of sweat, extremely uncomfortable. Should just get rid of them. You can't even roll over at night. Also no air con in the common areas so you have no respite.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a great place to meet a lot of people. You decide whether or not you would like to party, or just to relax upstairs where the computers and television are located. We had a couple of great nights at this lovely hostel! Would definitely recommend it to everyone, who likes a nice place with good atmosphere and a great friendly staff! .. LAST CALL FOR LAPA!

Disliked: Nothing.

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Jennifer Lau

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 February 2011

Liked: Only a few blocks away from Copacabana beach and around the corner from the metro station.

Disliked: Don´t book the Private Twin Ensuite Garden View!!!!!!! It was more like a prison cell! Barely fit a twin bunk bed in there. And the private bathroom? Seriously like a prison cell bathroom. And dirty! There was only a ceiling fan and no AC so it was unbearable hot at night. We only stayed there one night and then requested to switch to a dorm. Compared to that private room, the dorm was a palace! AC and nice, clean tiled bathrooms!