We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of CabanaCopa Hostel

Hostel | Travessa Guimarães Natal, 12, Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil 22011-090

76.8% Overall Rating

255 out of 291 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/03/2015)

Marcel Petersen Cordeiro thinks…

"quite area, near the green. had to go a bit up the Hill to get the hostel, but still in good location. breakfast was allright."

Read all CabanaCopa Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 20.93
  • Towel USD 1.40

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

*** Important: Please note that due to new regulations with Visa & Mastercard we kindly ask you to e-mail us the 3 digit security code from the back of your card. - Please reconfirm your booking with your 3 digit security code, and arrival time (within 24hs of your booking). *** NEW YEARS PACKAGES (28/12/2014 - 02/01/2015) CARNIVAL (12/02/2015 - 19/02/2015) AND After paying your 10% we require guests to contact us and pay the remaining balance in full, non refundable as well***** World Cup 2014 (10/06/2014 - 17/07/2014) 100% prepayment in advance is required. The remaining 90% balance will be due directly after the on-line booking is made. The guest must contact the property to arrange payment. Failure to pay the remaining balance will result in cancellation. If the booking is cancelled three months before arrival - 50% of the prepayment will be refundable, after that booking is non-refundable. Tax not included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rio de Janeiro?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rio de Janeiro

HOSTEL ECO ARCO VERDE
11.16 USD

Hostel 60.8% 27 reviews
Che Lagarto Hostel Copacabana
9.52 USD

Hostel 80.3% 70 reviews
Copinha Hostel
12.28 USD

Hostel 68.3% 48 reviews
Rio Nature Adventure
5.58 USD

Hostel 70.3% 13 reviews
Villa Budget Hostel
9.77 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Samba Green Hostel
7.25 USD

Hostel 82.9% 19 reviews
Rio Rockers Hostel
16.74 USD

Hostel 83.6% 4 reviews
El Misti Hostel Rio
6.07 USD

Hostel 74.1% 95 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
76.8%

Overall Rating

255 out of 291 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'CabanaCopa Hostel'

Atmosphere
80.8%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
72.8%
Cleanliness
68.8%
Staff
79.2%
Value
72.0%
Safety
79.2%
Refine your results Showing 232 of 280 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniela Faus

Alone

Work / volunteering

05 November 2012 Daniela would recommend this property

Liked: O local é muito bom. Do lado do metro, fácil de ir pra qualquer lugar

Disliked: Os banheiros são um pouco pequenos e o café da manhã não é muito bom.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

30 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a great hostel, I really liked it. Felt very secure with lockers in the room big enough for all your stuff. Very nice common areas, good breakfast and lovely staff.

Disliked: Generally the hostel is kept very clean but they need bigger bins in the bathroom as they fill up quickly at night then stuff ends up all over the floor. But this is a very minor problem in an otherwise great place. It is close to the metro which is useful, and of course close to the fabulous beach!

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Anna Lemmer

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

30 October 2012 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location! The bargirl did a spontaneous portuguese lesson for me. I stayed at the girls area, which was really peaceful, quiet and clean. The area is really safe. Perfect stay!

Disliked: Anna left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location!

Disliked: Breakfast starts toooooo late

The property's response is...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel looks nice and the room we stayed in (10 bed dorm) was spacious. We had an ensuite bathroom which was quite nice, but was almost all the time occupied as there were 10 people in the room.

Disliked: They DO NOT have power outlets in the dorm! Just 2 of them in the whole room next to two of the beds, so unless you stay in those beds no power for you. Also no individual lights or anything like that (though they promise this in the description). Not enough bathrooms! We had one ensuite (which was nice) always occupied, another one on the same floor, also almost impossible to find available, besides those only some larger shared ones on the upper floor but which were crowded and dirty. The breakfast is not too great, and after 10 difficult to find anything.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laura Hallahan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 October 2012 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. Cleanliness= great! I's a hostel, so its bound to get dirty, but they have people cleaning the bathrooms twice a day and the dorms everyday. They have a great hang out common area with couches and bean bags, which actually gets cleaned! Its about a 5/10minute walk to the beach which isn't far. It's close to a service station and supermarket for easy snacks. Very safe place to stay. 24hour security man at the door. hostel offers activities. definitely worth doing! It has a bar, so you can drink with others at the hostel. I was jet lagged so I didn't go out much. Lapa is the party district, which you can get to by bus/metro/taxi for fairly cheap. You will find other backpackers wanting to go out, that you can go with, also the bar staff that work there are young and up for partying too. Lockers in dorms are big. Bunks have a curtain on the bottom. It has fans and aircon, but it was a bit cooler at night, so only needed the fan sometimes. Breakfast is fairly good- standard: bread, cheese, ham, delicious home made cake, fruit, tea's coffee juice ect. I am travelling alone and this was my first stop. I've met some great people at this hostel that i'm going to continue travelling with.

Disliked: Nothing.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Suzanne Wright

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 October 2012 Suzanne would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location, near to supermarkets and beach. Clean and good breakfast. Nice communal areas. Very helpful and nice staff.

Disliked: Dorm rooms are a bit of a squish .

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Super friendly staff, perfect location.

Disliked: Bar closes at 22:30.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Andrea Fattinnanzi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 September 2012 Andrea would recommend this property

Liked: Everything Staff and Breakfast

Disliked: Internet not very good

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

03 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Old gourgeous house. Atmosphere

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Adam Macphee

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife

31 August 2012 Adam would recommend this property

Liked: the monkeys were so cute! they scamper about the back of the hostel in the morning. The facilities were excellent - big, clean kitchen, huge flatsceen tv, three computers and lots of chill out space. The staff were also excellent. The two female receptionists spoke perfect english and were always very helpful, one of the male members wasn't as helpful however.

Disliked: we stayed a few times and so were in a total of 3 dorms. the 10 bed was really spacious, but the 6 bed was tiny and you couldnt access one of the lockers because it was behind the bed. The 8 bed was in the middle, a bit cramped but no more so than other hostels.

The property's response is...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 August 2012

Liked: The location close to Arcoverde metro station and the beach was great. We met some really nice people there and the internet was fast.

Disliked: The staff was not friendly or helpful at all. The shower next to the 8-ppl dorm was cold and you had to go upstairs to get a hot one. The room was tiny so not more than one person could stand at one time. The cleaning ladies started to chat and sing loudly at 6am right next to our room, so sleeping later was impossible. Breakfast was the worst we had in Brazil, but not that bad if you start your trip here. It's a shame to be called Brazilian breakfast, as the country has such a big variety of fresh fruits and juices. But the biggest down side is the completely uninterested staff.

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Tess Montgomery

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 August 2012 Tess would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and good security

Disliked: We were only shown one side of the property of which the shower had no hot water and there was only one shower over the girl's toilet. It wasn't until we changed to a 4 bed dorm after 3 nights that we realised a private room is wasted money. The dorm rooms were much bigger and more comfortable and the bathroom was large with hot water. There are not enough bathrooms/showers to accommodate all guests. The staff sometimes seemed disinterested in helping guests.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the bathroom was cleaned twice a day! nice

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

anna kowalik

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2012 anna would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, cozy, everything is great

Disliked: Little bit hard to find

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff, location, HOT showers (had to add cold water, no electric shower thing!!!)

Disliked: Well, I didn't like the girls that left the dorm and the showers so dirty every day. Get a mixed dorm instead.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Louis-Gregoire de Menorval

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2012 Louis-Gregoire would recommend this property

Liked: .

Disliked: .

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Holly Simpson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

30 June 2012 Holly would recommend this property

Liked: Had an amazing stay at CabanaCopa, the staff were really friendly and helpful and the 2 for 1 Caiprhina's at the bar during happy hour were delicious.. Good rooms, awesome breakfast and cool inhabitants...!

Disliked: Nothing...!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

KRISHNEIL NARAYAN

Alone

Events / festivals

28 June 2012 KRISHNEIL would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: None that I could find

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Alexander Currie

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 June 2012 Alexander would recommend this property

Liked: Large common areas, friendly staff, close to the metro station, quiet location, rooms are cool

Disliked: Location is quite far from the beach, some rooms are damp (especially room 11 at the back), breakfast is constantly running low and is average

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Fernando Cesar Nogueira

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2012 Fernando Cesar would recommend this property

Liked: Um bom atendimento. Perto da praia. Organizado.

Disliked: Pra quem possa ter dificuldade de locomoção jamais indicaria. Subida muito ingrime. Paguei por um quarto de 6 pessoas e dividi com 8. Não é nada arejado. Quarto pequeno. Café da manhã fraquissimo

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staying at CabanaCopa is always a highlight when I go to Rio. There is a new staff there now, and they are as great as the others, and the internet seems much faster now! :) All the rest stayed the same, which is great! :)

Disliked: Nothing to dislike!

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

13 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great socializing area downstairs and area to relax upstairs, fairly close to the beach.

Disliked: Some of the staff behind the front desk were less than helpful.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 April 2012

Liked: It was clean and well managed

Disliked: I found the beds so uncomfortable that I would never go back

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good managed hostel, good staff, near a Metrostation, although you have to walk a bit up the hill.

Disliked: Often full, party people. Not for people seeking solitude.

The property's response is...