HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of CabanaCopa Hostel Rio de Janeiro

Hostel

Travessa Guimarães Natal, 12, Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 70%

Facilities 73%

Location 82%

Safety 86%

Staff 78%

Value 74%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine
  • WiFi
  • Wii

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 20.64USD
  • Towel 1.38USD

Important Information

*** Important: Please note that due to new regulations with Visa & Mastercard we kindly ask you to e-mail us the 3 digit security code from the back of your card.

- Please reconfirm your booking with your 3 digit security code, and arrival time (within 24hs of your booking). ***

NEW YEARS PACKAGES (28/12/2014 - 02/01/2015)
CARNIVAL (12/02/2015 - 19/02/2015) AND
After paying your 10% we require guests to contact us and pay the remaining balance in full, non refundable as well*****

World Cup 2014 (10/06/2014 - 17/07/2014)
100% prepayment in advance is required.
The remaining 90% balance will be due directly after the on-line booking is made.
The guest must contact the property to arrange payment.
Failure to pay the remaining balance will result in cancellation.
If the booking is cancelled three months before arrival - 50% of the prepayment will be refundable, after that booking is non-refundable.

Tax not included

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rio de Janeiro?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 70%

Facilities 73%

Location 82%

Safety 86%

Staff 78%

Value 74%

Showing 21-30 of 37 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Excellent Location and excellent staff to help all the time.

Disliked: Bar closing time 10.30 PM

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi & thanks for staying with us and writing the review. We are glad that you liked our staff, location & social atmosphere. Unfortunately our cosy location tucked in next to a national park in the heart of Copacabana, 2 min from the metro & beach in a silence area also means we have to close down the bar/lounge area at 11pm. We do have activities every night for our party guests go to after we close. Our living room, TV room & computer lounge stay open 24hrs. Best regards! CabanaCopa staff

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good breakfast

Disliked: The bathroom and toilet not so clean

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi! Thanks for staying with us! :) We are glad you liked our breakfast. We clean our bathrooms twice daily, but some of the shared ones can get messy depending on guest's use. We are planing on adding one more night cleaning shift, to improve service quality. Best regards, CabanaCopa team

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: close to subway station and main intersections, great breakfast, power outlet and bedside lamp in every bed.

Disliked: In the website they say you can pay your stay using your credit card however when we got there they only accepted cash or check. They had signs everywhere saying you need to be quiet after 10 pm, however in the first night there were people being loud around 11:30 pm. There were forgotten women's underwear and hygiene products in our room.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi! Thanks for staying with us. We are glad you liked our location, breakfast & facilities. We are sorry but our credit card machine wasn't working for one day. Now we have two credit card machines so that one is always working. We ask guests to respect silence hours but some people don't respect it, sorry for them. Guests frequently forget their stuff in shared bathrooms, but we remove it after two days, and put it in the lost & found. We hope to see you again! Safe travels! CabanaCopa team.

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 100%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, City break, Relaxation / spa, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Location, monkeys

Disliked: Kitchen not great - only one oven for a huge hostel and not much to prep food with. Some of the staff weren't helpful, some were, so same as most places! Our room had more people in than beds, staff didn't know which beds were taken so maybe they should keep track more?


The property's response is

Hi! Thanks for staying with us. Glad you liked our location and the national park wildlife that comes to visit. :) We are constantly buying new equipment to the kitchen, but some of it disappears. Also we are building a new kitchen soon. Sometimes guests move to their friends room without talking to reception first, we did solve it quickly though. We try to have a good mix of international staff & different ages to create a traveller atmosphere. Hope to see you again! Safe travels, CabanaCopa.

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: There is easy access from the Metro, and it's a short walk to the beach - which comes in handy when you want to go to the beach. Night life is pretty good! But then again, not that I like to show off, but I'm the life and soul of every party, so it was always going to be decent. Everything at the hostel was as you would expect - good beds, kitchen, wifi, tv room, breakfast etc. But what really made our stay extra enjoyable was the staff! They couldn't do enough to help us out, whether it be organising day trips for us, recommending places for us to go/visit, or lightening the mood with their humour. So an extra thank you Especially to Gustavo, Bex, Emily and Tina :) The hostel owners are very lucky to have you as staff!

Disliked: Mirrors in the bathrooms could have been positioned a bit higher, as being a fairly tall guy, I had to crouch a little bit to do my hair each morning and evening.Other than that, the hostel has it pretty much spot on!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi! Thanks for staying with us! We are glad you liked your location, facilities, atmosphere & staff. We will take note about the mirrors, as we have to substitute some of them, we will buy bigger ones. Hope to see you back someday party animal! Cheers, safe travels! CabanaCopa team

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Staff are very friendly and happy to help, breakfast is really nice, close to the beach and transport to everywhere else.

Disliked: Cleaners came in to the rooms to clean and were very noisy at 8 or 9 in the morning when people were still sleeping. Not exactly the party hostel that most people seemed to be expecting (not really a bar, just drinks over reception etc), but still pretty easy to meet people.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi! Thanks for staying with us. We are glad you liked our staff, breakfast, location & facilities. We are sorry for our cleaning staff, we will talk to them about this. We create a pre-party atmosphere before taking guests out to one of our daily events/parties. The point is to induce people to socialize in the common areas, glad you had that experience. Safe travels! CabanaCopa staff

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference, Work / volunteering

Liked: It's very close to several usefull places, like metro station, supermarket, gas station with a 24h grocery store, etc.

Disliked: I guess the bar could close a little bit later. Also, they could have more precise information about taxi services and buses for the people who need to move in the city.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi! Thanks for staying with us. We are glad you liked our location. We are sorry for our bar hours, but because of the neighbours (and even some guests), bar/lounge closes at 10:30, and we ask people to be silent after that. We do have activities every night to send the guests to. Sorry if some of the staff, that was under training, couldn't help you. Next time please come to the more experienced staff in the desk. Best regards & safe travels! CabanaCopa

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Events / festivals

Liked: na

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Lovely hostel. Good fun, cheap, and located close to the beech

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi! Thanks for staying with us! We are glad you had fun in our property near the beach. Hope to see you soon! Best regards & safe travels! CabanaCopa staff

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The girls only showers and dorms as meant less queueing.

Disliked: The staff were so unfriendly. I felt like an inconvenience, when I asked where the kitchen was the girl on reception just pointed ahead and ustairs for computers. They have a rule about not bringing drinks in but there drinks are very expensive for a hostel and there is no happy hour. Also we snuck some in and the next day got shouted at and the girl said she was going to check the cameras to see who brought it in. We werent even drunk or anything. They turned the music off at 9.15pm even though the bar is nowhere near bedrooms and you cannot lay games. I felt like i was back in school not a PAYING guest. On my last morning at breakfast (which is not great) I went to grab a plastic cup for water as there were none in the kitchen and the cleaner physically slapped my hand away as it was 8.27 not 8.30...... need i say more.

Check Availability