HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of CabanaCopa Hostel Rio de Janeiro Hostel

Travessa Guimarães Natal, 12, Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 70%

Facilities 73%

Location 82%

Safety 86%

Staff 78%

Value 74%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Steam room
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine
  • Wii

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 24.50USD
  • Towel 1.63USD

Important Information

*** Important: Please note that due to new regulations with Visa & Mastercard we kindly ask you to e-mail us the 3 digit security code from the back of your card.

- Please reconfirm your booking with your 3 digit security code, and arrival time (within 24hs of your booking). ***

NEW YEARS PACKAGES (28/12/2014 - 02/01/2015)
CARNIVAL (12/02/2015 - 19/02/2015) AND
After paying your 10% we require guests to contact us and pay the remaining balance in full, non refundable as well*****

World Cup 2014 (10/06/2014 - 17/07/2014)
100% prepayment in advance is required.
The remaining 90% balance will be due directly after the on-line booking is made.
The guest must contact the property to arrange payment.
Failure to pay the remaining balance will result in cancellation.
If the booking is cancelled three months before arrival - 50% of the prepayment will be refundable, after that booking is non-refundable.

Tax not included

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rio de Janeiro?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 70%

Facilities 73%

Location 82%

Safety 86%

Staff 78%

Value 74%

Showing 11-20 of 27 reviews

40% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
40% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was central to Cococobana Beach and it was easy to organise onward journey with reception

Disliked: I dont know where to start. Firstly, it cost 75 Euro per night for a 4 bed `dorm`( box, with no walking space ). It was Carnaval so we were left with few options, but there is a certain standard you expect when paying that for 8 nights. The price only dropped about 10% after carnaval. Secondly, I have been overcharged by 77 Euro on my credit card and when I asked for it back I was told to email the boss after I left Rio as he doesnt speak to people in person. Carlos on reception was exceptionally rude and just walked away from us and then totally blanked us as we called his name as he sat behind the desk Thirdly, we arrived home late one evening and there was someone in my bed. I had no option but to share a bed with my friends in this so called dorm as the hostel was full. There was ZERO apology and when we asked to be reimbursed Carlos just laughed and said it was our fault and they took no responsibility. Then, we were told we had to shift out of the room we had stayed in for 7 nights. Again, no apology, absolutely nothing courteous about the man. It was a awful experience and DO NOT STAY THERE.


The property's response is

Thanks for staying with us. We have explained to you exhaustively that we had not overcharged you, the initial charge of 77 euros you mention was made by hostelbookers the moment you book. We only charged you the remaining balance, and the exchange rate used was chosen by your bank. During carnival times, prices in Rio are high & the hostel can get crazy, sometimes drunk people can end up in the wrong bed but that is not our fault and our night security wasn't even informed to act upon it. Best

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Breakfast was pretty good

Disliked: Toilets have not been too nice, it islocated uphill


The property's response is

Hi & thanks for staying with us and taking time to write the review. We are glad you liked our breakfast, we try to serve different fruits, eggs & sausage as much as we can. Our prime location is tucked in a small residential street, next to a national park, and 2 min away from Copacabana center, the metro & beach. We clean our bathrooms twice daily but we are going to add one more night cleaning staff to improve even more the facilities. Hope to see you again! Safe travels, CabanaCopa staff

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very close to metro station. Very secure, huge lockers in rooms for big backpacks. Helpful staff when not run off their feet. Good breakfast.

Disliked: Huge, sprawling complex run as a business with no charm or personality. Kitchen facilities were inadequate (And outdated)for the amount of people staying at the hostel.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hello & thanks for staying with us and taking time to write the review. We are one of the biggest & busiest hostel in Rio, in a prime location. We are glad you liked our quality accommodation, facilities & staff. We are improving our old kitchen and building a new one just for the guests. It is hard to keep it in a good shape when some guests take or throw away our utensils but we are doing the best we can. Safe travels! CabanaCopa staff

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Great staff and seems to attract a great crowd. Travelling alone but never felt like it as there were always people in the bar. Breakfast is decent and the half price caipirinha hour is great fun

Disliked: Due to neighbours complaining they can be quite strict about noise after 11pm

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi & thanks for staying with us and writing the review. We are glad that you liked our staff, facilities, breakfast & social atmosphere. Unfortunately our cosy location tucked in next to a national park in the heart of Copacabana, 2 min from the metro & beach in a silence area also means we have to close down the bar/lounge area at 11pm. We do have activities every night for our party guests go to after we close. Our living room, TV room & computer lounge stay open 24hrs. Best regards! CabanaC

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Not far away from the Metro station. The dorm had two rooms, one for sleeping and one for sitting and talking, The dorm had also a private bathroom. The staff was realy nice.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi! Thanks for staying with us & writing the review. We are glad you liked our prime location & room facilities. Our staff tries to socialize and help all the guest most of the times. Of course when the house is full it can be hard sometimes. Safe travels & best regards! CabanaCopa staff

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: quite area, near the green. had to go a bit up the Hill to get the hostel, but still in good location. breakfast was allright.

Disliked: we did the check in around lunch time, the girl from reception said we had to wait to the "check-in time" to go to the bedroom, I asked for the internet code she refused to give me because was before 2pm. ridiculous!showers were small and Awkward

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you liked our location and breakfast. We are sorry about that, of course she could have given you the password. Sometimes the hostel gets packed with people all trying to use the wifi at the same time which can slow it down, perhaps that was the reason. Safe travels!

CabanaCopa staff

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great location. Walking distance to the metro and the beach. Nice bar area and place to socialize with other travelers.I travelled alone and met lot of people during new year. The staff was helpful with tours and information

Disliked: There are two buildings. One of the buildings (new building) does not have AC and it's really hot in Rio. The newer building does not have power outlets at each bed, there were only two power outlets in 6 bed dorm but the other building has power outlets for each bed. The main building has 6 bed mixed dorm near the restrooms and kitchen, so it was stinking and people could see you if you open the windows. The price was expensive as other hostels for new years eve because of the location

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi! Thanks for staying with us & taking time to write the review. We are glad you liked our location, staff & social atmosphere. We are improving the rooms and now all dormitories have A/C. Next step is adding individual power plugs & lights to every bed. Safe travels & best regards! CabanaCopa staff

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: I thought it was quite old but still a good place for a night or two.

Disliked: crowed place, the staff didn't know alot about the tours etc.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi! Thanks for staying with us & taking time to write the review. Our hostel is 5 years old and while we are expanding, we are renovating the main building, which is a charming colonial house. Our hostel is very busy during hight season and most tours are self explanatory with the flyers & banners at reception but we are sorry if our staff wasn't knowledgeable enough to answer all your questions, we will try to give better information next time. Best regards & safe travels! CabanaCopa staff

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Family Holiday, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It a loverley old house

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hello & thanks for staying with us and taking time to write the review! We are glad you liked our colonial house, we love it too! Hope to see you again! Safe travels, CabanaCopa staff

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good location, helpful staff, nice breakfast. would probably stay there again if going back to Rio.

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hello & thanks for staying with us and taking time to write the review! We are glad you liked our location, breakfast & staff. Looking forward to see you again! Safe travels & best regards, CabanaCopa

Check Availability