HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of CabanaCopa Hostel

Hostel | Travessa Guimarães Natal, 12, Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil 22011-090

77.4% Overall Rating

247 out of 281 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/04/2014)

"It's near the subway station and the beach. The staff is very friendly and helpful"

Read all CabanaCopa Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 33.66
  • Towel USD 2.24

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

*** Important: Please note that due to new regulations with Visa & Mastercard we kindly ask you to e-mail us the 3 digit security code from the back of your card. - Please reconfirm your booking with your 3 digit security code, and arrival time (within 24hs of your booking). *** NEW YEARS PACKAGES (28/12/2014 - 02/01/2015) CARNIVAL (12/02/2015 - 19/02/2015) AND After paying your 10% we require guests to contact us and pay the remaining balance in full, non refundable as well***** World Cup 2014 (10/06/2014 - 17/07/2014) 100% prepayment in advance is required. The remaining 90% balance will be due directly after the on-line booking is made. The guest must contact the property to arrange payment. Failure to pay the remaining balance will result in cancellation. If the booking is cancelled three months before arrival - 50% of the prepayment will be refundable, after that booking is non-refundable. Tax not included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rio de Janeiro?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rio de Janeiro

HOSTEL ECO ARCO VERDE
13.02 USD

Hostel 60.8% 27 reviews
Che Lagarto Hostel Copacabana
17.78 USD

Hostel 80.7% 66 reviews
Copinha Hostel
19.75 USD

Hostel 69.4% 43 reviews
Rio Nature Adventure
11.67 USD

Hostel 73.3% 9 reviews
Samba Green Hostel
15.71 USD

Hostel 83.1% 14 reviews
Rio Rockers Hostel
22.44 USD

Hostel 83.6% 4 reviews
Boulevard Bed & Breakfast
40.40 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
El Misti Hostel Rio
13.42 USD

Hostel 76.7% 88 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
77.4%

Overall Rating

247 out of 281 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'CabanaCopa Hostel'

Atmosphere
80.0%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
71.2%
Cleanliness
71.2%
Staff
82.4%
Value
72.0%
Safety
80.0%
Refine your results Showing 228 of 270 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

PEDRO FERREIRA

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals

27 June 2013 PEDRO would recommend this property

Liked: na

Disliked: PEDRO left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

07 June 2013

Liked: The girls only showers and dorms as meant less queueing.

Disliked: The staff were so unfriendly. I felt like an inconvenience, when I asked where the kitchen was the girl on reception just pointed ahead and ustairs for computers. They have a rule about not bringing drinks in but there drinks are very expensive for a hostel and there is no happy hour. Also we snuck some in and the next day got shouted at and the girl said she was going to check the cameras to see who brought it in. We werent even drunk or anything. They turned the music off at 9.15pm even though the bar is nowhere near bedrooms and you cannot lay games. I felt like i was back in school not a PAYING guest. On my last morning at breakfast (which is not great) I went to grab a plastic cup for water as there were none in the kitchen and the cleaner physically slapped my hand away as it was 8.27 not 8.30...... need i say more.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely hostel. Good fun, cheap, and located close to the beech

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 May 2013

Liked: The breakfast is good, for hostel standards. It is very close to a metro station. One new staff member, a new girl I think, was super friendly. The others not so much.

Disliked: Noise. My room was right next to the TV room. The door has an open window in it (no glass), which meant it was as if the TV was on in my room. This made it hard to sleep. In general, the hostel is rather noisy. The outside space is really small, it is not a nice area to sit in.

The property's response is...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa

16 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: i like the location. very close to copacabana beach

Disliked: very small room. cleaner does not clean the room. toilet's floor on the first floor is dirty

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Maximiliano Nicolas Romero

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

05 May 2013 Maximiliano Nicolas would recommend this property

Liked: I´ve been there before and they change some things.One employee exchanged me some brazilian currency to be able to have a towell,because the do not accept credit card if you want to pay something that cost less than 200 Brazilian currency.

Disliked: I didn´t like the fact the have a minimum for paying in credit card.

The property's response is...

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Aneta Atanasova

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

27 April 2013

Liked: The hostel is located three blocks from Copacabana beach which makes the location perfect.

Disliked: Unfortunately, having decided that their location is amazing and there will be enough people wanting to stay close to the beach in Rio, the service in this hostel is appalling. Soon after I made my reservation, I received an email from them asking me for my credit card CVV code. I was not happy to send these over an email but having read already in the reviews that this is the policy, I did it. On the day of my arrival, after having woken up at 5am to catch a plane and almost 11 hours of journey time, having trekked it up the steep hill where the hostel is located with all my luggage (sweaty and tired), I am ''greeted'' at reception with the announcement that I cannot use the credit card which details they already have unless I am paying over 150 Reis. I did not have enough cash on me and asked if I can drop my stuff, have a shower and pay a couple of hours later that evening. YOU ARE NOT ALLOWED IN THE ROOM BEFORE YOU PAY was the answer! So, having put my luggage in storage, I now had to trek to a cash machine which accepts my foreign card and up the hill again before I can see my room and take a shower. I have never in my life stayed in another hostel which will make you do that. After this very bad start, I was equally unimpressed with the average and always running low breakfast, with the slow wi-fi connection, the dirty bathroom (two cubicles only next to the female dorms with 18 (10+8) beds), the utterly unhelpful staff and the fact that although advertised the AIRCON is NEVER on, instead substituted in the 10 bed female dorm with a very noisy ceiling fan. Take your money elsewhere, where you will receive some sort of customer service, together with your bed!

The property's response is...

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 March 2013

Liked: Location was good and breakfast was good

Disliked: Insects in the bed, bed bugs. Very unclean

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

29 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere, Cleanliness

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location - one block to Metro; three blocks to beach. I booked for the wrrong dates, sent them an email to correct the dates, and they did so kindly, without any trouble.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Matilda Ireland-Nikolich

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

06 February 2013 Matilda would recommend this property

Liked: Really good hostel, activities they organised were so fun.

Disliked: Matilda left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

andres porras

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 February 2013 andres would recommend this property

Liked: Its a good hostel, in a safe area....good common area to meet ppl. Expensive, like everything else in the city..

Disliked: That they dont let u take ur bed b4 2pm even if they have the beds ready...

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was in a good location, close to bus stops and felt safe. Three blocks from the beach!! Really nice people

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Localização do hostel é muito boa, próximo à praia de Copabana, além de ser muito próximo do metro Arco Verde!

Disliked: Apesar de haver banheiros novos, dois banheiros estavam sujos e entupidos!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a really fun hostel. They organised parties every night. The favela party is a must! Would definitely recommend and the womans area upstairs is great. Thanks for making my stay so great. plus its really close to the beach and metro.

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 January 2013

Liked: i like the hostel's location. it was very close to copa cabana and also near the main road, where a lot of buses stopped. the hostel was very safe and guarded by security.

Disliked: one bathroom was constantly closed. no idea why, maybe because the didnt want to clean that much. and the other one on my floor was very very dirty. the bathroom on the upper floor was ok. the staff s organisation need to be improved. they didnt know where the people do sleep. so it happened once that somebody found someone else in his bed. in my case: i didnt book for my last night, which i didnt realize, so they told me in a quite rude way to leave the room. it was 11 pm, so they wanted to go home, i guess...after my intervention, i could stay for the last night.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hester Bedwin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

05 December 2012 Hester would recommend this property

Liked: Near the beach, good atmosphere, helpful staff

Disliked: nothing

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Mattias Engström

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 November 2012 Mattias would recommend this property

Liked: Locationwise it was good, close to the beach and metro, they offer good service with tours etc.

Disliked: Not very easy to find and the rooms are a bit messy and noisy...

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Samuel Martin del Rio

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 November 2012 Samuel would recommend this property

Liked: The location was good.

Disliked: Breakfast just ok. Not very clean and few restrooms and showers for many people to share. A little expensive and overprice for what they offer but as every other place in Rio, that city is insane expensive for the service they offer.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

07 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome atmosphere, great staff, felt safe.

Disliked: Bar needs to stay open later

The property's response is...

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Jan Wiefel

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

05 November 2012

Liked: I really like that it is near the Copa Cabana Beach!

Disliked: The staff was extremely unfriendly. They even sent me an email to give them my credit card details!!! "Hello, To ensure your reservation for the Holiday on November 2nd we need you to send us a credit card number to charge 50% of the reservation. Besides the number, we also need the CCV and expiration date. Or if you prefer the payment can be made by deposit into our bank. We await your response. Thank you for choosing the CabanaCopa,"

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniela Faus

Alone

Work / volunteering

05 November 2012 Daniela would recommend this property

Liked: O local é muito bom. Do lado do metro, fácil de ir pra qualquer lugar

Disliked: Os banheiros são um pouco pequenos e o café da manhã não é muito bom.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

30 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a great hostel, I really liked it. Felt very secure with lockers in the room big enough for all your stuff. Very nice common areas, good breakfast and lovely staff.

Disliked: Generally the hostel is kept very clean but they need bigger bins in the bathroom as they fill up quickly at night then stuff ends up all over the floor. But this is a very minor problem in an otherwise great place. It is close to the metro which is useful, and of course close to the fabulous beach!

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Anna Lemmer

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

30 October 2012 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location! The bargirl did a spontaneous portuguese lesson for me. I stayed at the girls area, which was really peaceful, quiet and clean. The area is really safe. Perfect stay!

Disliked: Anna left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location!

Disliked: Breakfast starts toooooo late

The property's response is...