We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Villa Leonor

Hostel | Rua Costa Bastos 681, Santa Teresa, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil 20240-020

71.3% Overall Rating

103 out of 130 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/11/2013)

"Really nice location in Santa Teresa with super nice view from the terasse where breakfast is served! You can also lay in the hammock and watch the monkeys in the tree right next to you :) rooms are good, too!"

Read all Villa Leonor reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 36.70

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

1) Standard bookings: After you receive your confirmation email from Hostelbookers, you will be contacted by Villa Leonor to request your payment card CVC code (card verification code) in order to guarantee your stay at Villa Leonor. We request that you supply us with this within 24 hours otherwise your reservation will be cancelled and the 10% deposit paid will not be reimbursed. 2) Special Event Bookings, Villa Leonor requires a minimum stay at the special package rates to be booked and payment in advance in full (50% at time of booking, 50% 30 days before the event). Your dates can be flexible as long as the minimum night stay is booked at the special event prices. We will contact you after your booking to arrange this. Not respecting the conditions will result in a booking cancellation and the deposit paid to Hostelbookers will not be refundable. For Special Event cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date, the deposit is refundable, less any payments made to Hostelbookers. Cancellations 30 days or less than check-in date, no refunds will be given. Please see the Special Event Periods below for more details:

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rio de Janeiro?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rio de Janeiro

Pousada Santa trem
20.39 USD

Hostel 77.8% 33 reviews
Bossa in Rio Hostel
13.05 USD

Hostel 85.4% 101 reviews
Rio Forest Hostel
16.31 USD

Hostel 78.1% 3 reviews
Terra Brasilis Hostel
16.31 USD

Hostel 91.3% 181 reviews
Lapa Hostel
11.83 USD

Hostel 83.2% 49 reviews
Books Hostel
13.46 USD

Hostel 90.1% 54 reviews
Other Side Hostel
5.71 USD

Hostel 76.7% 7 reviews
CaipiHostel
12.23 USD

Hostel 90.6% 65 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
71.3%

Overall Rating

103 out of 130 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Villa Leonor'

Atmosphere
80.8%
Location
66.4%
Facilities
60.8%
Cleanliness
52.8%
Staff
88.0%
Value
76.0%
Safety
74.4%
Refine your results Showing 94 of 126 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice location in Santa Teresa with super nice view from the terasse where breakfast is served! You can also lay in the hammock and watch the monkeys in the tree right next to you :) rooms are good, too!

Disliked: To get to the center you have to walk quite long and better take a taxi to get home at night. we walked and for us it wasnt a big deal!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

17 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Terrace area had beautiful view Staff friendly Breakfast nice

Disliked: Beds not very comfy Not fantastically clean

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Michaela Gibbs

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 May 2013 Michaela would recommend this property

Liked: All staff here are helpful, particularly Chris, who helped us out a lot with how to get to Rio's attractions! Great view from the communal area over the city. Hostel had a lively atmosphere in the evening as there was always something going on! The choice for breakfast was excellent aswell!! Considering the location, this is a very well-priced hostel!

Disliked: Our room was a tad on the small side. Parts were still under renovation it seemed. The kitchen isn't very well equipped for cooking your own food, but was sufficient for a simple meal.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome atmosphere and really friendly staff!

Disliked: The tram did not work during the time of our stay - and its not really convenient to take the bus / walk up the hill...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

marie jervis

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

25 March 2013 marie would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere

Disliked: Uphill

68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: helpful and friendly stuff, close to Lapa (but 300 steps of 2 staircases),

Disliked: baisc breakfast, rooms could be cleaner,

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

25 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, some speak English. Nice breakfast area overlooking part of the city. Shower was perfectly adequate. We were given a map showing local bars/restaurants.

Disliked: There was a fan in the room but no aircon... The bedroom door was an external door near the front entrance to the property and didn't seem secure enough for my liking. Anyone carrying precious items might not be happy with this. Room was a double with en suite but couldn't have been much smaller... The bed was slightly tilted to one side! Okay for one night but not for a long stay

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ewa Jaroslawska

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 December 2012 Ewa would recommend this property

Liked: - nice view from the terrace (although it went through some reconstruction when we were there) - friendly staff taking guests for Samba parties : )

Disliked: - private room wasn't cosy (yet was clean) - steep way up and not many taxi drivers willing to take you up

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 December 2012

Liked: The staff was friendly.

Disliked: We booked two double rooms and paid deposit for it, but when arriving they said they only have one room, so we ended up staying 4 people in a room with beds for 3 people. Really dirty place! And terrible location, definitely not good value for money. They also had us believe the hostel was going to throw a party the night we stayd there, but instead there was a private party so we ended up not being able to use the kitchen or dining room facilities.

The property's response is...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice simple hostel with a fantastic view, a nice bar and very friendly staff. Don't worry about the area, it's safe and very cosy!

Disliked: The breakfast is very basic en the beds are small and uncomfortable. the rooms are not well mantained

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

29 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hervorzuheben ist das superfreundlich, hilfsbereite Person (selbst die Koffer wurden getragen ,-)), der Blick von der Terrasse auf Rio ist wunderschön, obwohl die Anlage mit vielen Stufen sehr verwinkelt ist, hat dies Charme und ist ein weiteres Plus für die Atmosphäre. Der Stadtteil ist historisch traumhaft, mit seinen Auf- und Abstiegen und Kopfsteinpflaster nicht behindertengerecht. Das Frühstück ist sehr gut. Wir kommen sehr gerne wieder...:-)

Disliked: Zur Zeit wird stellenweise renoviert, so dass Baulärm die Atmosphäre teilweise störte. Die neuen Zimmer werden gemütlich, die alten Zimmer haben nur noch wenig Glanz verganger Tage. Unser Apartment wurde in den 3 Tagen leider nicht gereinigt.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Indira Ritsche

With my spouse / partner

City break

24 October 2012 Indira would recommend this property

Liked: Kind of Hippie Home.... not really perfect but charming. Nice neighborhood and I think the right way to stay in Rio. Staff is very friendly and helpfully and the breakfast on the overview terrace is recommendable. Don't expect too much but enjoy what you get. I love this place.

Disliked: I think is important to get the right room.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Roger Peek

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference

24 October 2012 Roger would recommend this property

Liked: - Some of the friendliest staff you can imagine - very helpful with everything. - Location is a bit out of the way, Santa Teresa in general is a bit of a hassle to get in and out of, but the view over the city from the terrace is great. Even saw monkeys passing through the trees one morning. - Great value for money if you need a budget place to stay in Rio.

Disliked: - Breakfast was very basic, though with the aforementioned great view. - Bathroom also a bit too simple - no shower curtain meant that the floor and everything else got rather wet during the day.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Walter Loomans

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break

23 October 2012 Walter would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is nice, the owner (Paul) is friendly and helps with finding your way around. He is also renovating this hostel to something that will look great. What we really liked is David his employee, he is a very friendly guy, speaking five languages, who does everything to make your stay comfortable, nothing seems to much. The place is good value for your money, especially in Rio de Janeiro. And if you don't like your room ask for another, if possible they will help you.

Disliked: The cleanness of the bathrooms / rooms can be better, but I guess that is often a thing.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

04 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere and really friendly staff

Disliked: Cleanliness is not their strongest point

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Jaromir Pencik

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

16 September 2012 Jaromir would recommend this property

Liked: Nice stuff speaking many foreign languages. Great value for money. Terrace with bar.

Disliked: House and surrounding is still under construction.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Magnus Tobias Widen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 September 2012 Magnus Tobias would recommend this property

Liked: There was always one staff member working who spoke perfect english and was very helpful and nice. They helped me make phone calls in Portuguese and book activities and taxis.

Disliked: The description says that there is a train/tram from the hostel to Centro. That train does not run any more. It is about 20 minute walk to Centro and taking the bus takes about the same amount of time. I did not feel very safe walking through the neighborhoods from Centro to the hostel, but nothing bad happened to me. The streets leading up to the hostel were pretty deserted in the night.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Filipe Da Silva

Alone

Business / conference

14 August 2012 Filipe would recommend this property

Liked: The character and the view.

Disliked: The building is old and some parts are crapy.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Coen ten Duis

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 August 2012 Coen would recommend this property

Liked: The staff, the view and the neighbourhood

Disliked: Nothing

37.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 June 2012

Liked: Leaving

Disliked: We arrived at the hostel after midnight after a long haul flight. Nobody answered when we rang the bell. We were waiting for over 15 mins. Thankfully we had a nice taxi driver who stayed with us and rang the phone number we luckily had with us from the reservation receipt else we might have spent the night on the street. We booked a private double but were put in a 6 bed dorm which to be fair we had to ourselves, however the room had not been cleaned. There was still faeces down the toilet and the water was always cold in the shower. Our window wouldnt close and there were spider webs the size of hammocks on the ceilings above the beds. Do not stay here if you have a fear of massive spiders. The worst thing was the big red ants that not only crawled all over the floor but up the bunks and onto your pillow! It was the worst way to start our trip in South America.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This old villa has a nice charm. Helpful English-speaking staff. Got a bigger room with out extra cost, because they didn't have many guests. Beautiful view from the terrace.

Disliked: It's quite hard to get there by public transport. There is only one bus that goes up there so you always have to change the bus and pay another ticket when returning. Would have preferred a buffet breakfast instead of just getting one breadroll with a slice of cheese and ham and a small bowl of fruit delivered to the table.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 May 2012

Liked: The main good thing about this property was the price. We need a place for three people to spend time before flying out at 2am. Kitchen was a joke - about the worst I have ssen. Luckily we didn't need to use it very much. Was hard to get 3 mugs to make a cup of tea in. Bar was a good place to eat a simple meal at night with good views. Staff very helpful with everthing including calling taxi for 10.30pm. Cheap for Rio which has inflated prices for accommodation.

Disliked: as above

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ALBERT BAQUERO ROIG

With my spouse / partner

City break

06 May 2012 ALBERT would recommend this property

Liked: If you are searching for a luxurious-close to the beach-place to stay in Rio, and your only intentions are staying a few days in the swimmingpool of the hotel... forget about Villa Leonor... Nevertheless, if you want a charming place, with big comfortable cute rooms, excelent service with all kind of useful information (I mean useful, not touristic bullshit), excellent views of the city, nice guests and good talking to people, Villa leonor is your place. Ok the house is old, and it's close to the trees, but you are staying in Rio, in Santa Teresa, isn't it? Just stay and enjoy :)

Disliked: ALBERT left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

05 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: surrounding streets have sort of nice historical vibe, very cool vistas and feels quite safe. place for stairs lovers

Disliked: it is far from beaches and on top of pretty crazy hill. There used to be charming tram but closed after accident. Alternative is shaky minibus from Lapa which is drunk noisy and dirty place with dangerous wibe. over all good value for money if you dont mind steep stairs

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Julian Fordyce

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

17 April 2012 Julian would recommend this property

Liked: The character and location were great, very close to a tramline which although wasn't working at the time provided a great means of navigation through the winding hilly streets. Staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfast was great. The communal area looks out over the city and was a very relaxing environment decorated exentrically.

Disliked: The room was dirty and the mattress and sheets stained. There was no way to close a door to the en-suite toilet so what ever happened in there didn't stay in there for long.