HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Villa Leonor Guesthouse

Rua Costa Bastos 681, Santa Teresa, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Atmosphere 81%

Cleanliness 54%

Facilities 61%

Location 66%

Safety 76%

Staff 86%

Value 74%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Board Games
  • Café
  • Ceiling fan
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Towels Included

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 27.93USD

Important Information

Hostelbookers Sale
Please note that all sales bookings are final and non-refundable. Payment protection is also not available in connection with these bookings. In the event that you cancel your booking the accommodation provider shall be entitled to charge your card for the total outstanding costs of your booking. All rooms that are included in the sale are identified in their room type as [“Sale Non Refundable”].



1) Standard bookings: After you receive your confirmation email from Hostelbookers, you will be contacted by Villa Leonor to request your payment card CVC code (card verification code) in order to guarantee your stay at Villa Leonor. We request that you supply us with this within 24 hours otherwise your reservation will be cancelled and the 10% deposit paid will not be reimbursed.

2) Special Event Bookings, Villa Leonor requires a minimum stay at the special package rates to be booked and payment in advance in full (50% at time of booking, 50% 30 days before the event). Your dates can be flexible as long as the minimum night stay is booked at the special event prices. We will contact you after your booking to arrange this. Not respecting the conditions will result in a booking cancellation and the deposit paid to Hostelbookers will not be refundable. For Special Event cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date, the deposit is refundable, less any payments made to Hostelbookers. Cancellations 30 days or less than check-in date, no refunds will be given. Please see the Special Event Periods below for more details:

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 13:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rio de Janeiro?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 81%

Cleanliness 54%

Facilities 61%

Location 66%

Safety 76%

Staff 86%

Value 74%

Showing 1-1 of 1 reviews

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Really nice location in Santa Teresa with super nice view from the terasse where breakfast is served! You can also lay in the hammock and watch the monkeys in the tree right next to you :)rooms are good, too!

Disliked: To get to the center you have to walk quite long and better take a taxi to get home at night. we walked and for us it wasnt a big deal!

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 May 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Terrace area had beautiful viewStaff friendlyBreakfast nice

Disliked: Beds not very comfyNot fantastically clean

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: All staff here are helpful, particularly Chris, who helped us out a lot with how to get to Rio's attractions! Great view from the communal area over the city. Hostel had a lively atmosphere in the evening as there was always something going on! The choice for breakfast was excellent aswell!! Considering the location, this is a very well-priced hostel!

Disliked: Our room was a tad on the small side. Parts were still under renovation it seemed. The kitchen isn't very well equipped for cooking your own food, but was sufficient for a simple meal.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Atmosphere

Disliked: Uphill

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Awesome atmosphere and really friendly staff!

Disliked: The tram did not work during the time of our stay - and its not really convenient to take the bus / walk up the hill...

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: helpful and friendly stuff, close to Lapa (but 300 steps of 2 staircases),

Disliked: baisc breakfast, rooms could be cleaner,

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Friendly staff, some speak English. Nice breakfast area overlooking part of the city. Shower was perfectly adequate. We were given a map showing local bars/restaurants.

Disliked: There was a fan in the room but no aircon... The bedroom door was an external door near the front entrance to the property and didn't seem secure enough for my liking. Anyone carrying precious items might not be happy with this. Room was a double with en suite but couldn't have been much smaller... The bed was slightly tilted to one side! Okay for one night but not for a long stay

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: - nice view from the terrace (although it went through some reconstruction when we were there)- friendly staff taking guests for Samba parties : )

Disliked: - private room wasn't cosy (yet was clean)- steep way up and not many taxi drivers willing to take you up

Customer would recommend this property

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff was friendly.

Disliked: We booked two double rooms and paid deposit for it, but when arriving they said they only have one room, so we ended up staying 4 people in a room with beds for 3 people. Really dirty place! And terrible location, definitely not good value for money.They also had us believe the hostel was going to throw a party the night we stayd there, but instead there was a private party so we ended up not being able to use the kitchen or dining room facilities.


The property's response is

We offered to rebook in another hostel and return the deposit OR put them all up in a triple room (with a substantial discount). The latter was their choice. They then prepared their food in the kitchen (!) and ate it in the 'dining room facilities' (!) - I remember perfectly - before the party began. Please... Sorry about the overbooking (the same room was listed as both double and twin and they booked both).

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Nice simple hostel with a fantastic view, a nice bar and very friendly staff.Don't worry about the area, it's safe and very cosy!

Disliked: The breakfast is very basic en the beds are small and uncomfortable. the rooms are not well mantained

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability