We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Fatima Macintyre Guesthouse

Guesthouse | Rua General Venancio Flores, 555 Ap. 101, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil 22441-090

91.5% Overall Rating

80 out of 83 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/07/2013)

Catherine Carragher thinks…

"Fatima, daughter Julia and housekeeper were all very friendly and helpful. Room clean, beautifully decorated apartment, given own space to come and go as pleased. Very safe, fantastic location. Felt…"

Read all Fatima Macintyre Guesthouse reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rio de Janeiro?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rio de Janeiro

Lemon Spirit Hostel
106.85 USD

Hostel 90.9% 53 reviews
Ocean inn Rio Leblon
8.16 USD

Hostel 61.6% 68 reviews
Solar Chacara Hostel
20.39 USD

Hostel 89.0% 15 reviews
Che Lagarto Hostel Ipanema
13.13 USD

Hostel 78.6% 124 reviews
Ipanema Beach House
26.51 USD

Hostel 86.2% 126 reviews
Favela Vidigal Guesthouse
20.39 USD

Guesthouse 93.8% 38 reviews
Ipanema Hostel Club
28.55 USD

Hostel 65.6% 19 reviews
Casa Alto Vidigal
10.20 USD

Hostel 91.4% 4 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.5%

Overall Rating

80 out of 83 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Fatima Macintyre Guesthouse'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
97.6%
Facilities
81.6%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
93.6%
Value
87.2%
Safety
97.6%
Refine your results Showing 56 of 80 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

26 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely home, near restaurants/bars, short walk to leblon beach, friendly host

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Catherine Carragher

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 July 2013 Catherine would recommend this property

Liked: Fatima, daughter Julia and housekeeper were all very friendly and helpful. Room clean, beautifully decorated apartment, given own space to come and go as pleased. Very safe, fantastic location. Felt very at home here. Stayed with partner twice and alone here once. Will be returning again if ever in rio. Definitely recommend.

Disliked: Catherine left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

María Belén Llull

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 April 2013 María Belén would recommend this property

Liked: Fátima es lo más! Si van a Río deberían alojarse en lo de Fátima. Su casa está super bien ubicada, en el Barrio Leblon, uno de los más lindos. Las habitaciones son muy lindas y limpias, al igual que los lugares comunes de la casa. Fátima es muy agradable y te ayuda un montón con el viaje, dándote todos los detalles que necesitas para tu estadía. No sólo lo recomiendo, sino que si vuelvo a Río no dudaría en parar allí!

Disliked: Nada

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

28 February 2013

Liked: The location and house decoration only.

Disliked: Very small room. The bed was like a rock. We were almost alone, no information about Río was given by the owner. Nobody say us goodbye when we left.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

27 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location, supermarket 3 min. by walking, beach 10 min. by walking, perfect connection by bus to all city, Fatima is friendly and nice woman, we appreciate very safe neighbourhood. Thanks this amazing place we enjoyed our staying in Rio even more.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

24 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fatima is such a lovely person - her and her husband and daughter were truly wonderful.

Disliked: The outer hallway smells a bit like wet dog. Just outside the flat, not inside.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Leila Chapple

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

11 January 2013 Leila would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, very clean, although we had a shared bathroom we had a toilet and a little sink in our room. Fatima is a lovely lady. She is very sweet and helpfull. I would love to go back and stay with her again.

Disliked: None

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julia Kenyon

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

30 November 2012 Julia would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly family, beautiful home, friendly little dogs!, good location

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

03 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The accommodation was perfect for a lover of art.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Paul Holland

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

06 October 2012 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location in Leblon, the best area and beach in Rio! The room was great in a lovely appartment, full of character. There are places to eat all around for different budgets. There is also a supermarket 2 minutes walk. This was our favourite part of Rio and Fatima helped us to organise a trip to the football and to Sugarloaf mountain. A great stay!!

Disliked: Paul left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

14 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fatima and her partner made us feel most welcome - they were great at giving us some advice for dinner! They both speak perfect French which made communication much easier as our Portuguese is just appaling.

Disliked: It is just a shame that they don't serve breakfast. Also, the room we stayed in, which was lovely and very romantic there was not much space for luggage.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Martijn van der Heijden

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

29 August 2012 Martijn would recommend this property

Liked: close to the beach safe neighborhood

Disliked: no breakfast

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ELITA DA CRUZ

Alone

Business / conference

19 May 2012 ELITA would recommend this property

Liked: Excelente localização e acomodação. O quarto no qual fiquei tinha uma pequena pia e vaso sanitário, mas não são todos que tem. Local tranquilo a noite para se dormir. Tem wifi, leve seu equipamento.

Disliked: ELITA left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

11 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is probably the best perk of the property. It is very close to Leblon Beach and a very easy walk to Ipanema. Lots of bars/restaurants/supermarkets nearby. It is also a plus that you can use the kitchen.

Disliked: Based on most prior reviews, we believed that breakfast was included in the price. We were informed when we arrived that as of last October, breakfast is no longer included. That was not at all clear to us when we booked. Also, I sent an email confirming that we had a room with a toilet/sink inside, but when we arrived the room we were assigned did not. Fatima is very sweet, but her English is poor and her employees speak no English, so it was very hard to discuss the discrepancy in communication.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

19 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fatima is super kind. The place is well decorated and clean. The location is very good, in the middle of Leblon, very close to many restaurants and bar and a few blocks from the beach.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: qurky house with nice breakfast in lovely area

Disliked: sharing house with the family can make you feel like you are intruding - little kid watching tv in front room etc. not able to relax in living area. for price you would expect room to be cleaned daily and a towel which we did´t get any day despite spending 4 nights there

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

28 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely peaceful guesthouse. Located in a safe area. close to bus routes for all the major attractions. Great breakfast. Fatima is very helpful with tourist information. We really enjoyed our stay here.

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hospitality, Fatima makes you feel at home in Rio, giving helpful tips and advice. Good location, in a quiet and safe neighboorhood, great breakfast with fresh fruits, even though you're staying at Fatima's house, she gives you all the facilities and space needed. We loved our stay here and would definately be coming back if visiting Rio again!

Disliked: No dislikes!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

13 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a comfortable house and near to the beach.

Disliked: The room where we stayed in had mold which caused me an allergic crisis.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mark Jenkison

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway

22 August 2011 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed here for 4 nights and loved it. After a long flight it was a relief to arrive somewhere that felt like home...for that's exactly what this is, Fatima's home and you are immediately welcomed. Great stuff; rooms are beautiful, giant beds, lovely clean sheets- couldn't ask for anything more. Breakfast is included (continental; cheese, ham, bread, eggs, fresh fruits etc). Fatima is very friendly and keen to help and generally a lovely woman. I would recommend this guesthouse to any couples in need of a break from hostels/hotels who are in need of some rest and relaxing time. We returned to Rio before flying home and stayed in Copacabana which is a very different experience but equally enjoyable.

Disliked: Negatives are not really negatives but more personal choice - Leblon is where the guesthouse is located which is the most expensive area of Rio. We knew this before we booked however we were surprised just how expensive the area is. You won't find any rif raf in Leblon and as a girl that made me feel safe in a city that is known for its crime. You will however pay for this luxury quite heavily. Meal for two with a bottle of wine was about £50 (120 Real) and this was for one pizza between a pair on a budget. It must also be noted that Leblon is the furthest area from a lot of the 'touristy' spots so costs more in a taxi. However, public transport is great (but make sure you know the bus number before you leave. No use trying to work out the one you need at the bus stop as you will draw a blank! Trust me!).

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

09 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Is a confortable and kindness.

Disliked: Some loud noises....

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is undoubtedly the best accomodation we have stayed in after 7 months of travelling. Fatima is a lovely woman who is extremely helpful and makes you feel part of her family in her home. The property is clean, nice big rooms and comfortable beds. It is in a great location amongst great bars, restaurants and nice part of the beach. It felt very safe and homely and we would highly recommend this guesthouse to other travellers.

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Jon Lacey

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 June 2011 Jon would recommend this property

Liked: Fatima is very welcoming and the whole place was very clean. Breakfast was lovely. We were the only guests staying at the time until the last night when we met another couple who we ended up travelling with down the coast! Suited us fine as a couple as it was a bit quieter than a hostel and more of a guesthouse.

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lia Carolina Medeiros

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

31 May 2011 Lia Carolina would recommend this property

Liked: Fatima is wonderfull, really knows how to receive guests! PERFECT!

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fatima lived up to the other reviewers' comments - she's lovely and welcoming. Her house is beautifully clean, no complaints at all.

Disliked: Nothing.