HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Best Rio Hostel

Hostel | Rua Alfredo Ministro Valadão, 36 - Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil 22031-050

70.5% Overall Rating

23 out of 39 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/07/2012)

Paulina Patela thinks…

"When we first got there we were appalled by the state of the place. However it wasn't as bad as we first thought, the staff were very friendly and always helped us out. It was very basic but also…"

Read all Best Rio Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 28.55
  • Luggage Room USD 0.82
  • Towel USD 2.04

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note that we have packages with a minimum length of stay for New Years Eve (4 nights) and Carnival (6 nights). Please check the profile description for detailed dates. Bookings need to be confirmed sending us the CVV code so that we can charge the full amount of your stay in advance (only for packages of Carnival and New Years Eve), or the first night in case of "No show". Failure to do that will result in a cancellation.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rio de Janeiro?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rio de Janeiro

Copa Fun Hostel
13.46 USD

Hostel 89.7% 34 reviews
Hercus Hostel
11.01 USD

Hostel 56.2% 6 reviews
Che Lagarto Suites Copacabana Anita
32.23 USD

Hostel 80.6% 129 reviews
El Misti Hostel Rio
8.12 USD

Hostel 76.7% 88 reviews
Che Lagarto Suites Copacabana Santa Clara
32.12 USD

Apartment 79.0% 33 reviews
El Misti House Copacabana
9.34 USD

Hostel 88.5% 141 reviews
Rio Rockers Hostel
24.47 USD

Hostel 83.6% 4 reviews
Boulevard Bed & Breakfast
36.70 USD

Hotel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
70.5%

Overall Rating

23 out of 39 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Best Rio Hostel'

Atmosphere
68.0%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
60.8%
Cleanliness
61.6%
Staff
72.8%
Value
65.6%
Safety
78.4%
Refine your results Showing 22 of 34 reviews
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ludmilla de Francesco Russo

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

08 December 2013 Ludmilla would recommend this property

Liked: Confortable acommodation, good clean and nice enviroment.

Disliked: Some rooms don't have windows.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Pablo Mourente

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 December 2012

Liked: The price is not bad, and the staff is helpful.

Disliked: They only turn on the air conditioning in the rooms from 22:00h to 06:00h, and they dont write it on the description. The atmosphere is not good. The common area sucks.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Paulina Patela

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 July 2012

Liked: When we first got there we were appalled by the state of the place. However it wasn't as bad as we first thought, the staff were very friendly and always helped us out. It was very basic but also very cheap and in a convenient location for sightseeing.

Disliked: There were no actual dorm rooms, just rows of beds in an upstairs level divided by hanging sheets. There also wasn't enough lockers for everyone when the hostel was full.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Jonathan Lambeth

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 February 2012 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very helpful. We booked two tours through them which were both great.

Disliked: We stayed in a 4 bed private room which was quite small, especially with 4 large rucksacks in there. But I think that was to be expected.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Anna Lebedeva

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

04 June 2011

Liked: Location

Disliked: I do travel a lot around the world and always stay in hostels and guesthouses (so I’m not spoiled) and this is a first time when I so disappointed. I won’t make lots of comments about the price as in Brazil everything is overcharged and you just have to accept this, but still it is too expensive for such place. There was no space in double room to put our luggage in even on the floor!!!!!! Our room was like a cardboard box with no windows (only a tiny hole by the ceiling), air condition works only at night time and you have to ask the staff to turn it on/off …. During our stay (almost a week) nobody came to take at least the garbage out or bring a toilette paper in. The staff is not friendly and helpful at all. They have so stupid system that when you come with friends everybody in your group has to pay for internet even though only one person needs it…The only good thing in this hostel is location, I’m afraid. I will never recommend this place to anybody.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Pikotex

Alone

Visiting friends or family

17 March 2011 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: I really enjoyed satay in this hostel , it is very well locatted , nice and clean , people from staff are very helpfully

Disliked: -

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere - it has a lounge with pool table. Small enough to meet people and make friends. This hostel is walking distance to beach and Metro. Overall the place was great and I had a ball. The manager was really helpful and went the extra mile for us. Good email contact before arrived.

Disliked: Very small kitchen and only cleaned once a day. Night staff didn't really speak english. I stayed during Carnival and was a little bit more expensive for this time of year but well worth it. The rooms were smaller than I expected and it has triple bunks (3 on top of each other not 2). Overall it was let down by it's lack of cleanliness.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2011

Liked: The staff at the front desk were lovely & very helpful. The location was much closer than we expectedto the beach.

Disliked: We stayed in a private room over NYE for 5 nights & it was more expensive than the HOTEL we stayed at in New York! The room was very small & there was nospace to put our belongings. The room was not cleaned once during our stay so the bathroom became sandy, muddy & constantly wet. It left a not so pleasant smell as the room had no ventilation. The bed linen smelt & it was clearly very old as it was covered in stains. We were never given clean towels. The bed was horrific! For one, it just fit 2 adults & the mattress was old& rock hard! It was plastic with tears all over it. It was like sleeping on the floor for 5 nights,it wasthatuncomfortable. paper thin,rock hard & plastic.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

14 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very well located and great service

Disliked: everithing was great there is nothing to deslike

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Maurizio Gargiulo

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture

11 September 2010 Maurizio would recommend this property

Liked: Outstanding!

Disliked: Everything went fine! No problem at all!

40.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

17 February 2010

Liked: tiny room,dirty kitchen!!!stuffs are friendly but NOT HELPFUL.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aridea Marques

25 August 2009 Aridea would recommend this property

Liked: Very well located , near to the beach, clean and safe , stuff very helpfull , recommend to all travelers that goes to Rio !

Disliked: Aridea left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

tracey osborne

16 June 2009

Liked: breakfast was beautiful but very small, the chef was accomodatingclose to beach

Disliked: tracey left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

08 June 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: close to the beach

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

09 May 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: excellent location and service , friendly and helpfull stuff .so clean you can can do a heart surgery at the beds or bathroons as a women i felt very safe staying there loves the fact to have internet access whenever i wanted to keep hooked with my work and home .i felt at home

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

06 May 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel that i´ve ever been.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Teresa Mitchell

22 April 2009 Teresa would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is located in one of the most beautiful suburbs of the Copacabana in Rio de Janeiro. The staffs are courteous and the facilities are very clean. I will certainly recommend it to my friends.

Disliked: Teresa left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

22 April 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

16 April 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everithing pretty new , very clean , lovely staff all the time ready to help you , The organization is excellent, the breakfast was great , exelent location close to the beach,metro and all main turist points of Rio .Chilled atmosphere, nice easy-going people.. have been in others hostels in Rio , but this one is for sure the best one to stay !!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

05 March 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fairly new and still trying to find its feet but it´s pretty clean and the staff were nice. Not many of them spoke REnglish though.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

22 February 2009

Liked: They let people in that werent even staying there and another traveller had his locker broken into and everything stolen. The breakfast was rubbish, it was really dirty and exceptionally noisey!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

19 January 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are the loviliest people ever! We had to be moved several times since there was overbooking and the hostel is stil under construction. we were a little upset by the miscommunication etc, but the staff were doing their best.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.