HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of El Misti Hostel Copacabana

Hostel | Travessa Frederico Pamplona 20, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil 22061-080

74.3% Overall Rating

150 out of 177 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (09/07/2014)

Eliah Jorgensen-Lade thinks…

"Very nice staff, Sophia works at the desk and speaks very good English, she would always go out of her way to help us understand something or if we needed to book an activity she help call for us.…"

Read all El Misti Hostel Copacabana reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.63

What's Included

  • Airport Pickup
  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Age Restrictions: No persons under 18 years old can book shared rooms Cancellation Policy We require a 50% deposit to confirm and guarantee any reservation. The remaining balance must be paid at the check-in time. Any cancellations with less than 72-hours notice prior to the check-in time will not receive deposit refunds. Any request for a cancellation or modification must be submitted in writing. The same rules apply for both cancellations and modifications. Any no-shows will be charged 100% of the reservation total after 24-hours from the check-in time if no notification is received by El Misti Hostels. We recommend that all guests purchase traveler’s insurance to protect themselves from any unforeseen circumstances. In the case that you need to make an insurance claim, El Misti Hostels will help you in any way possible including providing documentation, etc. *Cancellations for groups of 6 or more people must be made with at least a full 2 (two) week’s notice. In this case, the group may collect 100% of their deposit paid to El Misti (not including deposits made through 3rd party sites). Any cancellations made with insufficient notice will not have any portion of the deposit refunded. *Cancellations for the New Years Package can only be made before Nov. 30 and are 100% refundable (not including deposits made through 3rd party sites). Any cancellations made after that date will not have deposits refunded. * Cancellations for the Summer Season 2015 can only be made 15 days before check in date, 100% refundable. Cancellations made after that date will not be refunded deposits. *Cancellations for the Carnaval 2015 Package can only be made up until Dec. 12, 100% reimbursable. Any cancellations made after that date will not have deposits refunded. *Cancellations for the Holy Week 2015 Package can only be made 15 days before check in date, 100% reimbursable. Any cancellations made after that date will not have deposits refunded.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rio de Janeiro?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rio de Janeiro

El Misti Rooms
8.93 USD

Hostel 92.2% 53 reviews
Walk On The Beach Hostel
12.23 USD

Hostel 88.8% 173 reviews
Rio Backpackers
18.35 USD

Hostel 80.5% 48 reviews
Rio Ritz Hostel
16.31 USD

Hostel 65.4% 55 reviews
Che Lagarto Suites Copacabana Anita
37.05 USD

Hostel 80.6% 129 reviews
Che Lagarto Suites Copacabana Santa Clara
32.12 USD

Apartment 79.0% 33 reviews
Copa Hostel
21.82 USD

Hostel 76.9% 75 reviews
El Misti House Copacabana
9.34 USD

Hostel 88.5% 141 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
74.3%

Overall Rating

150 out of 177 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'El Misti Hostel Copacabana'

Atmosphere
77.6%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
67.2%
Cleanliness
60.0%
Staff
78.4%
Value
68.8%
Safety
81.6%
Refine your results Showing 122 of 158 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly atmosphere, good breakfast, help and advices provided at anytime

Disliked: The bathrooms: always full, dirty...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Eliah Jorgensen-Lade

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 July 2014 Eliah would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice staff, Sophia works at the desk and speaks very good English, she would always go out of her way to help us understand something or if we needed to book an activity she help call for us. Also the helping staff are very friendly, they would always come and have a joke while passing by. Breakfast is at a suitable time, the spread is what you would expect from a hostel, so we enjoyed the breakfast every morning of our stay. The prices for water, soda, beers is fair to what you see in the supermarket. They play good music for people wanting to have a couple of cervejas in the lounge space. It's next to São Lucas Hospital which makes it very easy to direct a cab back to the hostel after a night out. Supermarket within a 100m walking distance. Kitchen is a bit old but good enough to cook up your own meals, which we did a few times. Good locations, just 3 blocks from copacobana beach. We felt safe the whole time spent in the hostel.

Disliked: Nothing major to dislike about this hostel. Just a few little things like, Wifi drop outs, cold showers sometimes, there are many bathrooms some of which a small but others are larger. The price was a little high for what you get, main reason for that is it was World Cup period so those prices would be the same everywhere els. The atmosphere was good but not a very good ratio of men to women, reason for that once again could be because of the World Cup, so don't be to bothered about that.

The property's response is...

28.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 June 2014

Liked: nothing

Disliked: the premises was more expensive than advertised on hostelbookers. despite signs up for a quiet curfew after10pm, the staff had music on until late. the tiny kitchen is off limits during regular dinner hours (7.30-9pm) so the the staff can cook dinner (whether u are having dinner with them or not). I was asked to move off one of the tables in the tiny common area because I wasn't having dinner with them. One of the showers was on a timer that required u to press the button every 10 seconds. But my real problem with the place was that I booked a taxi to the airport with them (early in the morning, more expensive than if I booked it myself). when I got up to leave, it was an unmarked car, apparently one of their friends, not an actual taxi. The dude was literally falling asleep driving (I had to keep waking him up), closing his eyes and swerving over the road. Ive never been so scared in my life. I made an official complaint that has been completely ignored. I believe that if u advertise a taxi service, it should be registered drivers, not just a guy with a car (especially one who is falling asleep)

The property's response is...

51.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 March 2014

Liked: It was easy to meet people and the location was good.

Disliked: There were not enough toilets/showers, the hostel was really dirty and it was impossible to sleep as music was playing 24/7.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

nicolas marambio

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

16 November 2013 nicolas would recommend this property

Liked: incredible, beautilful experience. SUPERHOSTEL!

Disliked: nicolas left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Luis Damian Montoya Montaño

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals

10 October 2013 Luis Damian would recommend this property

Liked: Location, friendliness of the staff, very close to the beach...

Disliked: some times bathrooms were unclean...

28.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 August 2013

Liked: nothing

Disliked: looks and feels like a refugee camp, very unfriendly staff, worst hostel experience in my life

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Matthew Lindsay

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2013 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Incredible location, couldn't ask for better breakfast and facilities on offer. Also tours were all reasonably priced and had a genuinely incredible time in Rio de Janeiro.

Disliked: Only thing was the insects either on the sheets or in the rooms at night.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Santiago Gutiez

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

01 July 2013 Santiago would recommend this property

Liked: El Misti Copa is a great place to stay in Rio. The location is in a calm neighborhood and it's near the beach, bars, restaurants and supermarkets. The staff is awsome! Really fun and happy people always willing to help! Will definitley stay at El Misti Copa next time I visit Rio! Thank you guys!!

Disliked: Santiago left no negative feedback.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 June 2013

Liked: The location was OK, and there were big lockers in the dorm. One member of staff, the shorter young guy was really helpful.

Disliked: It was filthy. They seem to have missed the point of putting a cleaning rota up in the bathrooms- we stayed from 20th-24th May, and the rota showed that the last time the bathroom had been cleaned was 11th May. I'd rather not know! The beds were an unusual mixture of crunchy AND soggy, and the bathrooms were heinous. Apart from the one helpful member of staff mentioned above, the staff were unfriendly and rude, particularly the women. Several times we walked into the lobby where the staff and their friends were, and they would all stop talking, roll their eyes at us and glare until we made it to the stairs. I wish we had stayed at the Mango Tree in Ipanema (or almost anywhere else).

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

08 May 2013

Liked: nothing

Disliked: very dirty, beds were disgusting and bathrooms were terrible. There was no atmosphere and it was impossible to sit in the communal areas as the couches were so dirty you didnt even want to sit on them

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location to both of the best beaches in Rio

Disliked: The water didn't work one of our days and the bathrooms were always busy.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I was there over Carnival and it was an excellent hostel to meet people.

Disliked: There were only 5 toilets and showers for the whole hostel which was not enough and they did not get cleaned enough.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

leigh furner

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

25 January 2013

Liked: Great location, all the staff were very helpful and friendly. Common area is nice.

Disliked: The tours on offer are very overpriced. All tours only cost 50 heis if you book directly with a guide. When the hostel organise it and charge you 80 or 100 heis and all they do is make a call to a guide. The rooms are overpriced, there is only 4 single bathrooms/toilets for many many people. Men were having to urinate on the street because the wait was over an hour on busy nights. The chef cooks good meals but you can eat cheaper at many nearby restaurants. There needs to be another fan on the part of the common area facing the road as it is very very hot and sweaty on busy nights. The hostel is generally very run down. They wouldnt have to spend much money and it would be perfect. The hostel would be worth the money if they made the above changes. There was hardly ever any soap in the bathrooms. I think its the most money hungry hostel ive been to.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 January 2013

Liked: To the hostel's credit some of the staff they hired were friendly and giving of their time. But that said Honestly use a different hostel - The elmisti hostel chain is more about money than anything else even the staff admit that.

Disliked: This place was expensive and not clean. The cost of a dorm or private room is quite steep considering what you get, this place uses the triple bunk beds in most rooms so you can't sit up properly in bed and there isn't much space to move around at all. Cleanliness is a major issue at this place too, there was ingrained dirt or black mould near the bottom of all the beds, ingrained dirt around places like light switches/ door handles. It was friggen gross to put in plainly. Honestly use a different hostel.. The elmisti hostel chain is more about money than anything else even the staff admit that.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John Bowditch

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 December 2012 John would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere and location! staff were really friendly especially VIVI! had a great time and met great people! was going to stay 2 nights, stayed 4 and and going back next week! :) breakfast was good aswell, definately reccomend!

Disliked: nothing!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Arthur Olivreira

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

05 December 2012 Arthur would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean, comfortable and charming, even though I had to go throught another bedroom to get to the one I was in. The staff was helpful and kind.

Disliked: I was awfully tired most of the time and didn't enjoy everything about the place.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

james kuyper

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 December 2012 james would recommend this property

Liked: i liked a lot, we met some great people, the bar was fun, the cockktails were great, the drinks were cheapish, the staff were lovely, esp Vivienne. they organised ok parties,

Disliked: the showers were feral

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

29 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked how close this hostel was to the beach and to a good food store. It had a large kitchen and a nice area to chill out in.

Disliked: The bedrooms were incredibly cramped. The rooms had three level bunks with no railing, which I normally wouldnt mind about too much but a guy in my friends room fell out of the top bunk in the middle of the night.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

14 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: el desayuno es increíble, la ubicacion es muy buena, el staff es muy simpatico, ofrecen una cena por día preparada por un chef que es altamente recomendable.

Disliked: si estas pensando quedarte varios dias en rio, tendrias que pensar en gastar unos dolares mas en hospedaje y evitar la habitacion con 18 camas. la ventilacion es escasa, el aire acondicionado util para enfriar la habitacion, pero no para renovar el aire.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff very helpful.

Disliked: All food items for breakfast were not covered, as a result somw flies sat on food items. Needs more Shaving adapter sockets in bath rooms.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

18 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The food served at breakfast and dinner was great! Also, there were lots of suggestions of what to do/see on each particular day/night, as well as lots of tours and trips on offer. The staff all spoke English and were very helpful with giving directions and booking taxis for us.

Disliked: We had to swap the pillow cases with ones on a spare bed as ours were not clean.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Ciaran cunningham

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 August 2012 Ciaran would recommend this property

Liked: The food, great breakfast and the chef cooks the best meals I have ever had in a hostel - seriously no need to eat out. The food an drink are really good value.

Disliked: We stayed here on two separate occasions. The first we had a bad room, it was only accessed through another dorm and was quite small for 9 people. The 2nd time were downstairs and the room was loud (it is next to the bar) and the curtains were useless- very bright. However the room was much bigger and cleaner. They need to do a bit of rethinking about the rooms, but overall the hostel is amazing - loved it.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Nothing