HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of El Misti Hostel Copacabana Rio de Janeiro Hostel

Travessa Frederico Pamplona n# 20, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Atmosphere 79%

Cleanliness 58%

Facilities 70%

Location 88%

Safety 83%

Staff 85%

Value 68%

What's Included

  • Airport Pickup
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Card Phones
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 1.28USD

Important Information

Age Restrictions: No persons under 18 years old can book shared rooms Cancellation Policy.
We require a 50% deposit to confirm and guarantee any reservation. The payment of this 50% must be done at least 3 weeks prior to check in date. If the booking is made with less than three weeks from arrival date, the payment of the 50% must be done within 24 hours after making the booking. The remaining balance must be paid at the check-in time. In the event of a no-show the hostel charges the full amount of balance on customer's credit card.

CANCELATIONS POLICIES BY DATES:

*For July-August 2016 (01-07-2016 to 01/08/2016 and 23/08/16 to 31/08/16) cancellations can only be made 15 days before check in date, 100% reimbursable. After that date deposits won't be refunded.

*For Olympic Games Packages (02-08-2016 to 22-08-2016) it is necessary to pay 50% of the value of the reservation, at the time booking is submitted. Cancellations will only be processed 90 days prior check-in date. After that date, no reimbursement will be made. In the event of a no-show the hostel charges the full amount of balance. For cancellation requests which fall within the stipulated time will be charged an administrative fee of 12.5% of the total amount.

*For New Year's Package (27-12-2016 to 04-01-2017) Cancellations will only be processed 30 days prior check-in date. After that date no deposits refunded will be made.

*For the Summer High Season Package 2017(05-01-2017 to 20/02/2017) cancellations can only be made 15 days before check in date, 100% reimbursable. After that date deposits won't be refunded.

*For the Carnival Package 2017(21-02-2017 to 04/03/2017) cancellations can only be made 30 days before check in date, 100% reimbursable. After that date deposits won't be refunded.

* For any other dates not included above have to be made 72hs before check-in, otherwise no reimbursement is performed.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 13:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rio de Janeiro?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 79%

Cleanliness 58%

Facilities 70%

Location 88%

Safety 83%

Staff 85%

Value 68%

Showing 1-10 of 10 reviews

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 20%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 May 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The tours they had to offer. Breakfast was good

Disliked: No hot water, dirty bathrooms, very cramped room in the 6 bed dorm, very noisy. Couldn't wait to find a different hostel

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Friendly atmosphere, good breakfast, help and advices provided at anytime

Disliked: The bathrooms: always full, dirty...

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear valued guest,
Thank you for your opinion about your recent stay at our hostel. It is the most important value to us to improve our facilities and quality of services.
We would like to apologize that we did not reach your expectations.Based on your comment and suggestions, we will make a great effort at any cost to make some improvements.We hope to see you again in the future and give you great experience at out hostel also to exceed your highest expectations.
Kind regards,
Management

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Very nice staff, Sophia works at the desk and speaks very good English, she would always go out of her way to help us understand something or if we needed to book an activity she help call for us. Also the helping staff are very friendly, they would always come and have a joke while passing by. Breakfast is at a suitable time, the spread is what you would expect from a hostel, so we enjoyed the breakfast every morning of our stay. The prices for water, soda, beers is fair to what you see in the supermarket. They play good music for people wanting to have a couple of cervejas in the lounge space. It's next to São Lucas Hospital which makes it very easy to direct a cab back to the hostel after a night out. Supermarket within a 100m walking distance. Kitchen is a bit old but good enough to cook up your own meals, which we did a few times. Good locations, just 3 blocks from copacobana beach. We felt safe the whole time spent in the hostel.

Disliked: Nothing major to dislike about this hostel. Just a few little things like, Wifi drop outs, cold showers sometimes, there are many bathrooms some of which a small but others are larger. The price was a little high for what you get, main reason for that is it was World Cup period so those prices would be the same everywhere els. The atmosphere was good but not a very good ratio of men to women, reason for that once again could be because of the World Cup, so don't be to bothered about that.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Eliah
We truly appreciate your review! Our top priority is to offer an exceptional service to each of our guest and it is very satisfying to read that this was your case.
Thank you for your comments, this motivate us to keep putting our best effort in daily job.
Kind regards,
Management

29% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
29% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: nothing

Disliked: the premises was more expensive than advertised on hostelbookers. despite signs up for a quiet curfew after10pm, the staff had music on until late. the tiny kitchen is off limits during regular dinner hours (7.30-9pm) so the the staff can cook dinner (whether u are having dinner with them or not). I was asked to move off one of the tables in the tiny common area because I wasn't having dinner with them. One of the showers was on a timer that required u to press the button every 10 seconds. But my real problem with the place was that I booked a taxi to the airport with them (early in the morning, more expensive than if I booked it myself). when I got up to leave, it was an unmarked car, apparently one of their friends, not an actual taxi. The dude was literally falling asleep driving (I had to keep waking him up), closing his eyes and swerving over the road. Ive never been so scared in my life. I made an official complaint that has been completely ignored. I believe that if u advertise a taxi service, it should be registered drivers, not just a guy with a car (especially one who is falling asleep)


The property's response is

"Dear Beth,
Thank you for your opinion about your recent stay at our hostel. It is the most important value to us to improve our facilities and quality of services.

We would like to apologize that we did not reach your expectations. Based on your comment and suggestions, we will make a great effort at any cost to make real improvements.
We hope to see you again in the future and give you great experience at out hostel also to exceed your highest expectations.
Kind regards,
Management

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 20%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It was easy to meet people and the location was good.

Disliked: There were not enough toilets/showers, the hostel was really dirty and it was impossible to sleep as music was playing 24/7.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing

Liked: incredible, beautilful experience. SUPERHOSTEL!

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Events / festivals

Liked: Location, friendliness of the staff, very close to the beach...

Disliked: some times bathrooms were unclean...

Customer would recommend this property

29% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
29% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: nothing

Disliked: looks and feels like a refugee camp, very unfriendly staff, worst hostel experience in my life

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Work / volunteering

Liked: El Misti Copa is a great place to stay in Rio.The location is in a calm neighborhood and it's near the beach, bars, restaurants and supermarkets.The staff is awsome!Really fun and happy people always willing to help! Will definitley stay at El Misti Copa next time I visit Rio!Thank you guys!!

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability