HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of El Misti Hostel Copacabana Rio de Janeiro

Hostel

Travessa Frederico Pamplona n# 20, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Atmosphere 76%

Cleanliness 56%

Facilities 66%

Location 88%

Safety 82%

Staff 82%

Value 66%

What's Included

  • Airport Pickup
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Card Phones
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 1.10USD

Important Information

Age Restrictions: No persons under 18 years old can book shared rooms Cancellation Policy We require a 50% deposit to confirm and guarantee any reservation. The remaining balance must be paid at the check-in time. Any cancellations with less than 72-hours notice prior to the check-in time will not receive deposit refunds. Any request for a cancellation or modification must be submitted in writing. The same rules apply for both cancellations and modifications. Any no-shows will be charged 100% of the reservation total after 24-hours from the check-in time if no notification is received by El Misti Hostels. We recommend that all guests purchase traveler’s insurance to protect themselves from any unforeseen circumstances. In the case that you need to make an insurance claim, El Misti Hostels will help you in any way possible including providing documentation, etc. *Cancellations for groups of 6 or more people must be made with at least a full 2 (two) week’s notice. In this case, the group may collect 100% of their deposit paid to El Misti (not including deposits made through 3rd party sites). Any cancellations made with insufficient notice will not have any portion of the deposit refunded. * Cancellations for the Rock in Rio 2015 ( 15/09/15 - 30/09/15) can only be made 15 days before check in date, 100% refundable. Cancellations made after that date will not be refunded deposits.*Cancellations for the New Years Package ( 27/12/15 - 04/01/16) can only be made before Nov. 30 and are 100% refundable (not including deposits made through 3rd party sites). Any cancellations made after that date will not have deposits refunded.* Cancellations for the Summer Season 2016 ( 05/01/16 - 02/02/16 and 14/02/16 - 31/03/16 ) can only be made 15 days before check in date, 100% refundable. Cancellations made after that date will not be refunded deposits. *Cancellations for the Carnaval 2016 ( 02/02/16 - 13/02/16) Package can only be made up until Dec. 1, 100% reimbursable. Any cancellations made after that date will not have deposits refunded. *Cancellations for the Holy Week 2016 ( 23/03/16 - 28/03/16) Package can only be made 15 days before check in date, 100% reimbursable. Any cancellations made after that date will not have deposits refunded. *Cancellations for the Holy Week 2016 ( 23/03/16 - 28/03/16) Package can only be made 15 days before check in date, 100% reimbursable. Any cancellations made after that date will not have deposits refunded. *For Olympic Games (27/07/2016 - 28/09/2016) packages it is necessary to pay 50% of the value of the reservation, which is non-refundable, at the time booking is submitted. In order to confirm your booking, the remaining 50% should be paid 90 days prior check-in date.Cancellations will only be processed 90 days prior check-in date. After that date, no reimbursement will be made.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 13:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rio de Janeiro?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 76%

Cleanliness 56%

Facilities 66%

Location 88%

Safety 82%

Staff 82%

Value 66%

Showing 1-10 of 14 reviews

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 20%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 May 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The tours they had to offer. Breakfast was good

Disliked: No hot water, dirty bathrooms, very cramped room in the 6 bed dorm, very noisy. Couldn't wait to find a different hostel

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Friendly atmosphere, good breakfast, help and advices provided at anytime

Disliked: The bathrooms: always full, dirty...

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear valued guest,
Thank you for your opinion about your recent stay at our hostel. It is the most important value to us to improve our facilities and quality of services.
We would like to apologize that we did not reach your expectations.Based on your comment and suggestions, we will make a great effort at any cost to make some improvements.We hope to see you again in the future and give you great experience at out hostel also to exceed your highest expectations.
Kind regards,
Management

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Very nice staff, Sophia works at the desk and speaks very good English, she would always go out of her way to help us understand something or if we needed to book an activity she help call for us. Also the helping staff are very friendly, they would always come and have a joke while passing by. Breakfast is at a suitable time, the spread is what you would expect from a hostel, so we enjoyed the breakfast every morning of our stay. The prices for water, soda, beers is fair to what you see in the supermarket. They play good music for people wanting to have a couple of cervejas in the lounge space. It's next to São Lucas Hospital which makes it very easy to direct a cab back to the hostel after a night out. Supermarket within a 100m walking distance. Kitchen is a bit old but good enough to cook up your own meals, which we did a few times. Good locations, just 3 blocks from copacobana beach. We felt safe the whole time spent in the hostel.

Disliked: Nothing major to dislike about this hostel. Just a few little things like, Wifi drop outs, cold showers sometimes, there are many bathrooms some of which a small but others are larger. The price was a little high for what you get, main reason for that is it was World Cup period so those prices would be the same everywhere els. The atmosphere was good but not a very good ratio of men to women, reason for that once again could be because of the World Cup, so don't be to bothered about that.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Eliah
We truly appreciate your review! Our top priority is to offer an exceptional service to each of our guest and it is very satisfying to read that this was your case.
Thank you for your comments, this motivate us to keep putting our best effort in daily job.
Kind regards,
Management

29% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
29% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: nothing

Disliked: the premises was more expensive than advertised on hostelbookers. despite signs up for a quiet curfew after10pm, the staff had music on until late. the tiny kitchen is off limits during regular dinner hours (7.30-9pm) so the the staff can cook dinner (whether u are having dinner with them or not). I was asked to move off one of the tables in the tiny common area because I wasn't having dinner with them. One of the showers was on a timer that required u to press the button every 10 seconds. But my real problem with the place was that I booked a taxi to the airport with them (early in the morning, more expensive than if I booked it myself). when I got up to leave, it was an unmarked car, apparently one of their friends, not an actual taxi. The dude was literally falling asleep driving (I had to keep waking him up), closing his eyes and swerving over the road. Ive never been so scared in my life. I made an official complaint that has been completely ignored. I believe that if u advertise a taxi service, it should be registered drivers, not just a guy with a car (especially one who is falling asleep)


The property's response is

"Dear Beth,
Thank you for your opinion about your recent stay at our hostel. It is the most important value to us to improve our facilities and quality of services.

We would like to apologize that we did not reach your expectations. Based on your comment and suggestions, we will make a great effort at any cost to make real improvements.
We hope to see you again in the future and give you great experience at out hostel also to exceed your highest expectations.
Kind regards,
Management

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 20%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It was easy to meet people and the location was good.

Disliked: There were not enough toilets/showers, the hostel was really dirty and it was impossible to sleep as music was playing 24/7.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing

Liked: incredible, beautilful experience. SUPERHOSTEL!

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Events / festivals

Liked: Location, friendliness of the staff, very close to the beach...

Disliked: some times bathrooms were unclean...

Customer would recommend this property

29% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
29% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: nothing

Disliked: looks and feels like a refugee camp, very unfriendly staff, worst hostel experience in my life

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Work / volunteering

Liked: El Misti Copa is a great place to stay in Rio.The location is in a calm neighborhood and it's near the beach, bars, restaurants and supermarkets.The staff is awsome!Really fun and happy people always willing to help! Will definitley stay at El Misti Copa next time I visit Rio!Thank you guys!!

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability