HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Rio Surf n' Stay- Backpackers

Hostel | R. Dr. Raimundo Veras 1140, Recrieo do Banderanties, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil 22795-115

85.5% Overall Rating

82 out of 90 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/10/2012)

marcelo valdes thinks…

"The atmosphere was very nice, the guys that I met was very funny and the last night we make a barbecue all the guest."

Read all Rio Surf n' Stay- Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 57.51

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

NOTE IMPORTANT- For Carnival and New Years packages we will require a 50% deposit in advance to confirm your booking. Please contact us for further details on how to complete your booking.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rio de Janeiro?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rio de Janeiro

Vanazul Hostel
35.39 USD

Hostel 82.9% 19 reviews
Vidigalbergue Rio Hostel
11.06 USD

Hostel 89.3% 46 reviews
Casa Alto Vidigal
15.48 USD

Hostel 91.4% 4 reviews
Varandas do Vidigal
10.84 USD

Hostel 100.0% 3 reviews
Favela Vidigal Guesthouse
22.12 USD

Guesthouse 93.7% 37 reviews
Brazil Full Connection
61.93 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Solar Chacara Hostel
19.91 USD

Hostel 89.0% 15 reviews
Fatima Macintyre Guesthouse
44.24 USD

Guesthouse 92.0% 82 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.5%

Overall Rating

82 out of 90 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Rio Surf n' Stay- Backpackers'

Atmosphere
92.0%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
82.4%
Cleanliness
81.6%
Staff
86.4%
Value
82.4%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 60 of 75 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

anna Kwiecinska

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

11 April 2013 anna would recommend this property

Liked: perfect location - close to the beach

Disliked: you have to pay for air con :( short breakfast serving period 8-9.30 only:(

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

marcelo valdes

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference

26 October 2012 marcelo would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere was very nice, the guys that I met was very funny and the last night we make a barbecue all the guest.

Disliked: marcelo left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Joanne Thompson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 October 2012 Joanne would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. The staff were friendly and unbelievably helpful. So close to the beach and bus stop. Basically a great place to stay.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Larry Hastings

Alone

Relaxation/spa

29 June 2012 Larry would recommend this property

Liked: My second time here. It's great and I'll be back again.

Disliked: Larry left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fun, friendly and helpfull staff, great location beutifull beach, staff spoke good english, all in all a great time. Thankyou!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the atmosphere, the garden to relax, the common living room

Disliked: the showers are not very safe, i got an electrical shock two times touching the shower head our room was very small for the 6 persons that could have been in

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

30 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the location right on the beach. Also, it's an extremely cheap ride ride into the Rio city, so for me (having come from Lima, São Paulo, and then Rio Central - I was a little tired of the big city thing) it was phenomenal. Also, the staff is extremely friendly.

Disliked: Oh god. Don't sleep in the hammock. The hammock option is wonderful for people who don't have a ton of money to spend and CAN sleep in a hammock, but the actual sleeping bit takes some getting used to.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Olivier Lord

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

26 February 2011 Olivier would recommend this property

Liked: Very laid back atmosphere and staff very friendly. The hostel itself was very clean bar one or two cockroaches.

Disliked: a few cockroaches here and there

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Jessica Moure

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 February 2011 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to the beach, you can rent a board

Disliked: rooms were very old fashion, not very clean and too hot

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A really nice hostel in a nice off-centre, on-beach neighbourhood and really nice people and atmosphere. Perfect location for surfing, enjoying the beach, or simply being in some rather beautiful natural surroundings...

Disliked: Having to leave too soon...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: fun place to meet people, nice staff, great location- 5 min walk to awesome beaches.

Disliked: THE ROOMS ARE LIKE SAUNAS! a slow little ceiling fan which does nothing. no bar or restaurant and definately not 24 hour hot showers! more of a cold dribble. at night it seemed that the staff had either gone out or gone home??

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: super close to the best surf spots. friendly staff.

Disliked: The only thing i didnt like is that the nearest grocery store was a 15 minute walk through a favela...not so nice.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Living room, kitchen. Yard is nice. Can suntan and hang out by the bar when it's sunny. There's a nice deck you can have dinner on.

Disliked: I hate to say anything bad about the place because I had a lot of good times and memories - but i have to warn people going there. Be very careful when touching anything that is in contact with water... like the washing machine or the shower heads. I electrocuted myself quite a few times. Other than that, It's a decent hostile.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lisa Brown

29 May 2010 Lisa would recommend this property

Liked: we fell in love with this place straight away. could have easily stayed for a couple of months if we didnt already have other plans!

Disliked: Lisa left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kathrin Kattiger

01 May 2010 Kathrin would recommend this property

Liked: I love this place! Even I only stood for two days, this place feels like home! Surfing was a great experience and we had a lot of fun! I defenetly will come back!

Disliked: Kathrin left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sally Monaghan

02 March 2010 Sally would recommend this property

Liked: Brilliant staff, really friendly and helpful!We went for the carnival and had an amazing time, great atmosphere, 2 minutes from the beacha bit of a trek to get to the centre, this was perfect tho! The centre if rio isn't pretty, and the location of this hostel is close to the beach, and has a homely feel! Quite a small hostel, and this means you get to know the people your staying withthe staff will organise tours, taxis etc.....Thank you katrina and maurobrilliant hostel!By far the best hostel I've stayed in during my travels

Disliked: Sally left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

22 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed here with the carnival package and it was brilliant! Very good value for money because it was one of the cheapest options we could find over carnival... however do not be fooled that it is anywhere near the centre of Copacabana or Ipanema beaches... The hostel is a place called Recreio just over an hour away on the local buses. Recreio is wonderful though and has some beautiful beaches right by the hostel, also surfing there is amazing! It is also MUCH SAFER than Copacabana-Ipanema and a bit more chilled out. It depends what you´re looking for really but I would definately recommend this place, very homely and there are 2 shopping centres nearby too.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Nick McLeod

29 December 2009 Nick would recommend this property

Liked: Very relaxed place with some good people. If the swell was up, would be great for some surfing.

Disliked: Nick left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

18 December 2009

Liked: It was a good location for surfing. But was difficult to find using the buses. as is one of the only hostels in the area it was very exspensive for what u got. So were all the extras like board hire. The othe backpackers were fun n friendly.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

29 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of my favorite places in Rio for its fantastic location, great atmosphere, and super friendly staff. Looking forward to returning.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

james surgeon

02 September 2009 james would recommend this property

Liked: This is a great place in the suburbs of Rio, the staff are friendly and provide good surf lessons and the surrounding beaches are fantastic.

Disliked: james left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Donny Dunstone

22 April 2009 Donny would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome place to stay next to an absolutely beautiful and laid back beach! Great food located just a 10 minute walk from hostel (along with movie theater). Nature reserves, walking trails, beautiful waves and daily surf lessons (if you choose). The staff is always there to help, offer advice, AND go out with you to experience the area! Fellow travelers staying at surf and stay are great fun to hang with...pool table, foozball, outside bar, and less than 2 minute walk to a beautiful, relaxed feeling beach - what more can you ask?? Also, if you feel like joining in the nightlife or more chaotic beach atmosphere of Ipanema/Coppocabana...there is a direct public bus (S-20 or 175) that gets you there in about 45 minutes ($1.25 U.S.) - just a 5 minute walk from the hostel Surf n Stay! I will most definitely be returning!!

Disliked: Donny left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

02 April 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were great and the garden was a lovely place to relax

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

03 March 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: this hostel was wikid fun. the area of recreio is lovely, the little towns around are what i expected brazil to be like.. very cultural.. the beaches are much nicer than copacabana, ipanema ect.. just a little far out if you want to spend alot of time in rio central.. but definetly worth staying. the staff were heaps cool..

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Choon Yeng (Selina) Lai

25 February 2009 Choon Yeng (Selina) would recommend this property

Liked: close to the beach

Disliked: Choon Yeng (Selina) left no negative feedback.