HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Recife hostels

Reviews of Albergue Piratas da Praia Hostel

Hostel | Av. Cons. Aguiar 2034-3ª andar, Edf. Barão de Camaçari, Praia de Boa Viagem Recife, Brazil 51111-010

86.7% Overall Rating

39 out of 47 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/07/2014)

Oliver Moraes thinks…

"Its really chilled and friendly vibes, the kitchen (breakfast), the chillout areas"

Read all Albergue Piratas da Praia Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.22

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Recife?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.7%

Overall Rating

39 out of 47 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Albergue Piratas da Praia Hostel'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
82.4%
Cleanliness
92.8%
Staff
88.0%
Value
80.8%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 33 of 47 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Oliver Moraes

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

22 July 2014 Oliver would recommend this property

Liked: Its really chilled and friendly vibes, the kitchen (breakfast), the chillout areas

Disliked: Lack of a proper bar

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

03 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very cool looking place, nice chilled tv rooms

Disliked: Being told 3 different things from 3 different staff members when answering the same question

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location next to Boa Viagem and on major bus routes to Olinda and Centro. Good value, and kept clean. Have some nice areas to relax in and chill with others.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice atmosphere

Disliked: a lot of stairs

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice, clean beds, good breakfast, music in the bathroom. Also a great place to meet Brazillian travelers.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa

26 March 2013

Liked: Price, Social capacity, decor

Disliked: prostitutes RIGHT on the block at night, who I saw give money to the building's door-man... Charge for towels... AC necessary and difficult to convince staff to allow it... 3-floor walk-up w/o elevator... No universal plugs

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

OLIVIA JACKSON

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

05 February 2013 OLIVIA would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff, great breakfast, very close to the beach

Disliked: paid for air conditioned room, but staff controlled the on/off so we'd wake up boiling every morn because it would be turned off early. Faulty locker resulted in stolen R$.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

LUCAS BEZERRA

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

12 June 2012 LUCAS would recommend this property

Liked: Em geral o albergue é recomendável. gostei da decoração, da sala de tv. da cozinha razoavelmente equipada. O atendimento é satisfatório.

Disliked: Não existem ou nao estavam disponiveis habitações com banheiro privativo. A pressão da agua dos chuveiros é baixa e somente 1 dos 3 banheiros tem chuveiro eletrico. A sala de música fica ao lado da habitação privada dupla. Se não fosse o meu alto grau de tolerância com as diferenças poderia ficar muito irritado com alguns hóspedes que resolvem "aprender" a tocar teclado, pandeiro e violão durante a sua estadia.e na verdade ficam fazendo um barulho infernal. Gosto de música e animação, mas aguentar "crianças" brincando de tocar piano das 08:00 da manha às 22:00 da noite é demais. Muitas pessoas que não são hóspedes frequentam o albergue, creio que são amigos dos atendentes... exceto os que resolvem descobrir o mozart que há dentro de si, o demais são legais.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice communal area

Disliked: Sometimes there was ques for the bathroom

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

23 February 2012

Liked: Clean. Well equiped.

Disliked: Disappointing location. Boa Viagem is very ugly. Only big blocks of hotels. No atmosphere on the street. Restaurants and bars around are not so nice and expensive. It is a place for families and people on holiday with money. Really bad location for backpackers!! The beach looks nice but you should not swim because of high danger of shark attacks. Prostitutes early at night at Av. Cons. Aguiar even on corner of the hostel. The atmosphere in the hostel is not good. Common rooms are very cramped. Just 1 table for breakfast. TV destroys good atmosphere, music just playing on the toilet. Too much decoration, looks pedantic. No cool place, no rock'n'roll, no party. So the name "piratas" is a joke.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Joseph McCorvey

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Visiting friends or family

22 February 2012

Liked: I stayed here on several of my visits to Recife. 99% of the people are excellent but the head guyTa Ta not the owner Paul should get back into the business of making this hostel a home away from home, which in the past is was. The kitchen was locked at11pm, therefore you could get anything to drink until morning unless you asked one of the employees to unlock the door,which they did but it was such a hassel.

Disliked: See above info.....

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Marcus Giese

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Work / volunteering

31 December 2011 Marcus would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location. Good Breakfest, very clean

Disliked: ???

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Fredy Alt

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife

22 November 2011 Fredy would recommend this property

Liked: The Hostel is good situated. Just 2min. walk to the Boa Viagem Bech. It feels very familiar, because its just like a falt

Disliked: I missed a BBQ place, where travellers could come together, and have a chat, grill something, or have a beer together. (The hostel is in the 3rd floor). It seemed like people stay just with themselves....

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

12 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I have stayed in many hostels all around the world. Albergue Piratas da Praia Hostel was the best experience. The staff was great, from morning to night they did everything to make you feel comfortable and safe! Plus you cannot go wrong with the location 1 block from Boa Viagem beach!!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fiona Davidson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 May 2011 Fiona would recommend this property

Liked: absolutely loved the owner and staff who are all willing and able to help /answer questions of simply have a chat or play guitar. The facilities also are very clean and the vibe is one of enjoy and relax. In reply to a previous review of this location I would like to advise all travellers that staff do speak english, you can leave luggage after check out, and after travelling for 5 months so far this hostel has gone into my top 3 for that homely fun feel. cheers pirates for the superb experience!!!!!

Disliked: nothing

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 April 2011

Liked: the only good thing about this hostel is the breakfast and the bathrooms are quite clean.

Disliked: Almost everything. Quite expensive and not worth the price. Staff is rude and do little to give you any help/advice. There isn´t a good common area so it makes it difficult to socialize with other travelers. Check out is at 10 and you cannot check in until 2 ... or even stay in the hostel! After we paid all of money up front they very rudely told us we couldn`t even spend time in the hostel until it was 2 - very strange have never had that in the hostel. I would never stay at this hostel again, the time spent there was terrible and the staff are some of the worst I have seen.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 March 2011

Liked: it was satisfactory. not good value for moneythough

Disliked: we booked thru the website, requesting a room with air con, paying 40 per person. when we got there the gave us the room. the air con was only turned on from 11pm - 7am but, when i went to bed there was no air con. so I asked them to turn it on and was told i was in a non aircon room, then i found out you paid 35 for a fan room and 40 for a air con room. but they were still expecting me to pay 40 - I found them a little rude and sneeky trying to charge me aircon room price for non aircon. and my friend was in a different room and had to ask for her air con to be put on - just felt theywere trying ot get as much money out of us for not much quality. we had to hire towels and there were only 3 bathrooms for 4 dorms - no seperate toilet. I wouldnt stay there again.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

tarruck wheeler

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 March 2011 tarruck would recommend this property

Liked: Owner is Great, very nice Hostel. Layed out well . Might be a little hard to find. as there is no sign But a Few pirates flags will fix that!! =D Best Hostel in Recife

Disliked: .

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

William Maddicott

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 February 2011 William would recommend this property

Liked: a great place in a really nice location! staff were so friendly, nothing was to much trouble, organising nights out and help with anything! they were all really knowledgable about the area. the hostel is small enough that after 2-3 days you know everyone else who is staying here! really sociable place. I was travelling alone but met some fantastic people in this hostel!

Disliked: The building dosnt look much from the outside (not that this particularly matters) and my only hoer spout gripe was it was a little pricey meaning I couldn't stay as long as I originally wanted! over all fantastic place though!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Siobhan Greenall

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

20 February 2011 Siobhan would recommend this property

Liked: everything. It was a nice clean place with nice staff and a good breakfast.

Disliked: 1 bathroom between 12 people.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent breakfast included.. Very clean and secure with great kitchen and facilities.. Very friendly with good atmosphere

Disliked: A bit expensive but that is the norm in Recife-Boa Viagem.. Relatively little English spoken by staff or other guests, but that too seems the norm for NE Brazil (good motivation to learn Portuguese!)

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Nicolai Hovgaard

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 September 2010 Nicolai would recommend this property

Liked: The environment

Disliked: Missing cleaning at the top beds

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Nico van Os

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 September 2010 Nico would recommend this property

Liked: Maybe the best hostel I had so far. Nice rooms, good beds, big TV with DVD player, very well decorated.

Disliked: I missed a warm shower. But that fits their ecological caracter. There were many locals that don't speak English.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Luiza Campos

08 April 2010 Luiza would recommend this property

Liked: Very charming and friendly. Big breakfast. Good location close to the beach. Very, very clean and organized. The staff is amazing.( A+++++)

Disliked: Luiza left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Marques

07 April 2010 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the music speakers at the bathroom. They play good Brazilian Jazz and local music. The bathroom are well kept all the time. Breakfast is good. I loved the decoration also. It looks like a art gallery. It is quiet charming and elegant. The owner Paulo is very helpfull. He speaks several languages and had visit many different countries. Next month he will do the Santiago de Compostela walking (Spain). He knows everything about Recife. He is a writer, photographer and art painter. Amazing guy. The employees are amazing people too. Ze Manoel does music college, Tata does Tourism, Magico does Marketing, Cafe "I forgot". ..but they are all very friendly and nice. The location is great. Bus stop at the hostel corner (stop number 8). It is very easy to go anywhere in Recife/Olinda, as well as Ponto de Galinhas and Itamaraca Island. To be honest you do not need to go very far from the hostel to enjoy Recife. Boa Viagem is a lovelly beach with many coconut trees and beautiful people around. It is a very safe neighborhood . Magico told us to have a lunch at Parraxaxa Restaurant and a dinner at Guaiamum Gigante at Segundo Jardim. Me and my friend Barbara loved both. At night we enjoyed a caipirinha at Boa viagem shore (only few steps from the hostel). I heard from other guest that Dona Carolina Night Club was great place to dancing. My stay in Recife and at Piratas da Praia Hostel was very good. I am planning to come back for Xmas and I will bring my brother with me.

Disliked: Daniel left no negative feedback.


See all Recife hostels