HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel Porto Tchê

Hostel | Rua Miguel Teixeira, 206, Porto Alegre, Brazil 90050-250

90.2% Overall Rating

17 out of 18 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/01/2014)

"Wonderful family run hostel. Virginia really cares about the guests and for new years eve she prepared a really great dinner. Furthermore the best breakfast I had so far in south America"

Read all Hostel Porto Tchê reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Café
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 11.61
  • Luggage Room USD 2.23
  • Towel USD 2.23

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Porto Alegre?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Porto Alegre

Porto Alegre Eco Hostel
20.09 USD

Hostel 90.6% 11 reviews
Hostel e Republica Lotus Azul
9.94 USD

Hotel 75.6% 22 reviews
Rock'n'Hostel
13.40 USD

Hostel 90.1% 20 reviews
Bom Fim Hostel
17.86 USD

Hostel 80.7% 8 reviews
Hostel Porto do Sol
14.74 USD

Hostel 87.2% 32 reviews
Porto Alegre Hostel Boutique
24.56 USD

Hostel 86.7% 12 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.2%

Overall Rating

17 out of 18 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Porto Tchê'

Atmosphere
86.7%
Location
85.6%
Facilities
90.0%
Cleanliness
92.2%
Staff
93.3%
Value
91.1%
Safety
92.2%
Refine your results Showing 12 of 18 reviews
Reset filter
51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Emily Dellit

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 February 2014 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: Close to a big supermarket & on a funky photogenic street

Disliked: This is not a typical travellers hostel. It might be ok in high season but was very quiet.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful family run hostel. Virginia really cares about the guests and for new years eve she prepared a really great dinner. Furthermore the best breakfast I had so far in south America

Disliked: Then the hostel is getting full it really becomes crowded because I think they have a bit to much beds than good for the facilities... Luckily for us the hostel was the most of the time quite empty

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ANA CAROLINA FRANCO

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 January 2014 ANA CAROLINA would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff ready to helo you, they are lovely people. The hostel is very clean, I definitely recomend.

Disliked: .

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ben Pettitt

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 May 2013 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly atmosphere - the hostel is run by a family and they made us feel at home. Breakfast was excellent (especially the coffee) and Elvis the dog kept us entertained!

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Albert Farkas

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 November 2012 Albert would recommend this property

Liked: Simply, the Porto Tchê was the best out of the 30-odd hostels I stayed in during my 3 month-long trip through South America. Few other establishments come close to being as charmingly decorated, clean, homey and welcoming, and the breakfast, and the coffee on offer (even though apparently it is only coffee-machine coffee, but that certain machine must have some magic dust, or magic ground coffee beans, in it) in particular is simply stunning.

Disliked: Albert left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ayhan Bayram

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 August 2012 Ayhan would recommend this property

Liked: perfect and crazy people. i love them

Disliked: Ayhan left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephanie Lehnen

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 July 2012 Stephanie would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast was great, it had all you need: cheese, ham, nice cake, breadrolls, Toast, cereals and Good coffee. Excellence staff, safe Location, as soon as you know which bus to take (e.g. 179) you are at the mercado publico or the busstation in a couple of minutes.

Disliked: Stephanie left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mark Patch

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 April 2012 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and welcoming.The owners were very helpful with suggestions as to what to do and when I left kindly gave me a lift to get the bus to the airport. I was only there for a short time but it was one of the better hostels I have stayed in.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Benjamin Yang

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

24 December 2011 Benjamin would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the clean property, updated facilities, family feel, good/easy wifi access, and the universal wall jacks. The owners of the property especially Virgina were just incredibly nice/charismatic/funny. The dog in the hostel was just absolutely adorable too. Porto Alegre is a very nice town, and this hostel is in the middle of everything. All the good restaurants, cool locals, and nightlife were in this area too!

Disliked: Other than the fact that the hostel was low on city maps during my stay (received one late) & that I forgot to add these owners on facebook, there really is nothing negative to say. Love this place and the people most importantly!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 December 2011

Liked: Property is clean.

Disliked: Towels are R$5. Breakfast selection poor. Taxi drivers can't find the place. Makes it expensive to get to.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pedro Lobão

Alone

Business / conference

28 October 2011 Pedro would recommend this property

Liked: Location, friendliness and helpfulness staff and cleanliness.

Disliked: Curfew at 02:00h. Maybe at 03:00h or 03:30h will be good!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Suzanne Weeda

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 October 2011 Suzanne would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was really nice, but English is not too great.. The hostel is very clean!

Disliked: The location is not too great.. But in the end I would stay here again.