We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Paraty hostels

Reviews of Paraty Beach Hostel

Hostel | Avenida Orlando Carpinelli Nº1, Avenida Rua da Praia Nº 1 a, Paraty, Brazil n/a

84.3% Overall Rating

20 out of 25 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/04/2014)

ALBERTO NICOLAS HERRERO thinks…

"Good attention from the staff. A lot of information about different activities that you can do during you stay there (surf, boat tour...)"

Read all Paraty Beach Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Paraty?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Paraty

Favela Chic Hostel
16.31 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Chill Inn Paraty Hostel & Pousada
13.05 USD

Hostel 86.4% 85 reviews
Geko Hostel & Pousada Paraty
12.64 USD

Hostel 86.9% 90 reviews
Paraty Central Hostel
12.23 USD

Hostel 79.3% 23 reviews
Refron du Mar B&B Paraty
20.39 USD

Hostel 88.9% 60 reviews
HC Hostel - Historic Centre
14.27 USD

Hostel 78.5% 102 reviews
Hostel Sereia do Mar
14.27 USD

Hostel 80.9% 65 reviews
Pousada do Careca
17.54 USD

Guesthouse 88.4% 23 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.3%

Overall Rating

20 out of 25 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Paraty Beach Hostel'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
97.6%
Facilities
76.0%
Cleanliness
73.6%
Staff
89.6%
Value
82.4%
Safety
80.0%
Refine your results Showing 16 of 23 reviews
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

ALBERTO NICOLAS HERRERO

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 April 2014 ALBERTO would recommend this property

Liked: Good attention from the staff. A lot of information about different activities that you can do during you stay there (surf, boat tour...)

Disliked: The rooms are a little bit small

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emiliano Galasso

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing

21 April 2014 Emiliano would recommend this property

Liked: People who work there. They were very friendly.

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

17 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Gus the owner is an absolute legend. Great for making sure your trip is fun and has an excellent taste in music which is played in the communal area all day!

Disliked: No bad comments really apart from my mosquito net was a little ripped so I'd recommend you bring your own if you get bitten a lot!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Matt Wilson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 February 2014 Matt would recommend this property

Liked: Gus, the owner, and all the other staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The location is fantastic, right on the beautiful beach front and a very pleasant walk into thje old town. Activities around the area and bus destinations and times displayed at reception. Good atmosphere and communal area. Great breakfast.

Disliked: Although Paraty is very safe I would feel happier if there were lockers available, especially as my room had no closeable door and was straight out into the communal area. The toilet in my room leaked. Very muggy, fan in room not very effective but not uncomfortable.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

31 December 2013

Liked: the location

Disliked: it was not clean they charge 5% extra to pay with cards and they don't tell in advance

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice atomsohere, location, great communal area, breakfast on the beach, helpful staff who speak english and use of kitchen.

Disliked: lack of showers, only one for whole hostel but they are building more...next week and also a outside terrace. so visit this place its great

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

rodrigo daud skeff

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals

08 October 2013 rodrigo would recommend this property

Liked: This tiny hostel is superb. Located right in from of the beach in a very calm area and a few steps from the old town. The hostel mood is all designed following laid back feeling of Paraty, the atmosphere is amazing and on sundays they organize boat trips around the islands. Trust me, u wont feel regret of this place.

Disliked: rodrigo left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was right by the beach (we could hear the waves from our room) and it was easy to get chatting to other travellers. The breakfast is really good and the owner is also very friendly. Our dorm room was fine - new mattresses and pillows, but could have done with some more space to put our things! There were enough lockers for everyone though.

Disliked: We found we often had to wait a long time to use the shower and bathroom, especially in the morning, as there is only one female shower shared between all those in the dorms. The bathroom could also get quite flooded and dirty.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the staff was very friendly and helpful. Although there were many people there the bathroom was clean. they offered us water and internet for free.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Mariana Cristina Galhardo Cepil

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals

10 July 2013 Mariana Cristina would recommend this property

Liked: Albergue super bem localizado, de frente pro mar, numa área super segura e tranquila. O lugar é charmoso e tem redes pra ficar tomando sol, café da manhã de frente pro mar (ótimo!) e staff gente boa e amigável. Fiquei no quarto grande e foi tranquilo, o quarto é limpo e o banheiro impecável! Só para quem for no inverno, talvez seja uma boa ideia levar uma manta ou cobertor para dormir, uma das noites que passamos lá tivemos que usar só lençóis, que estavam super limpos e cheirosos.

Disliked: Mariana Cristina left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really great English speaking guy at reception , unbelievably helpful and had great suggestions for what to do. Great food.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 January 2013

Liked: Right on the beach so good view.

Disliked: It is filthy. Honestly the dirtiest hostel I have ever stayed in. Our bathroom was not cleaned for 3 days. No air-conditioning. Rude and unhelpful staff. They increase the price per night halfway through your stay and then tell you that if you don't like it you can leave.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very laid back atmosphere, directly at the beach! The morning starts perfect with a rich breakfast with view over the sea! Small hostel with family character. Extra plus for the mosquito coverage on the beds!

Disliked: Not perfect when its raining as there is no common room, only a common garden - the guys did everything possible to cover it, but the rain changed the soil into a muddy, wet mass.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adina Rabinowicz

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

07 January 2013 Adina would recommend this property

Liked: the hostel was really cute right on the beach front. It had a really community feel with every chilling together in the evenings. Gus the hostel owner made me feel really welcome. He is great and all the other staff too. I would highly recommend a stay here.

Disliked: Adina left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved this hostel! Ended up staying here much longer than planned and extended my one night stay to nine nights. Perfect location right next to the beach and close to town, very friendly atmosphere due to the super helpful staff and really nice communal area with a barbeque and well-stocked kitchen. I particularly appreciated how helpful Gus is - for example, one girl complained about mosquitoes and the next night all the dorms had mosquito nets. Gus also books kayaking and boat trips for you as well as recommending lots of other neary places to explore. Can´t recommend this place enough.

Disliked: Nothing! I ended up staying too long...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel has a lot going for it, Gus is brilliant and incredibly helpful. The location is perfect, on the beachfront.

Disliked: The smaller dormrooms are lovely but the 17 bed dormroom is not clean and there is only 1 female and male bathroom for the guests who stay in this dormroom and it is not kept clean, The kitchen is not clean for guests to use. There are no computers for guests to use.


See all Paraty hostels