HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Pousada do Careca Guesthouse

Praca do Chafariz, s/nº, Paraty, Brazil

Atmosphere 85%

Cleanliness 92%

Facilities 81%

Location 95%

Safety 93%

Staff 79%

Value 91%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Book Exchange
  • Ceiling fan
  • Free City Maps
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Not Accepted
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Paraty?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 85%

Cleanliness 92%

Facilities 81%

Location 95%

Safety 93%

Staff 79%

Value 91%

Showing 1-3 of 3 reviews

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great little place in a perfect location. Breakfast was lovely. Room was nice.

Disliked: Not a great place to stay if you're looking to meet other travellers, we didn't really see anyone else during our whole stay, including staff!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

I would just remind that you left the Pousada without paying.

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: A simple yet very pretty little pousada perfectly located on the edge of Paraty's historic centre, and a 5 minute walk from the bus station. Friendly staff although they did not speak English. Exceptionally clean, hot water and fluffy towels. Highly recommended and great value for money.

Disliked: Cash only payments, staff do not speak any English (not a big problem). The pousada is in a square that is very noisy with loud music until 5am on weekends - not an issue for me but other travelers should be aware of this incase of any issues.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Events / festivals, Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Great location just on edge of old town area, close to tour agencies, shops, supermarkets, restaurants. Great views over the streeet. Quiet at night; Excellent breakfast

Disliked: No real common area that people hang out in, staff have little English, no area to hang wet clothes after day at beach.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: This Pousada is located in the central square of the old town. It has comfortable ensuite rooms and a great home made breakfast. It is amazing value for money

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your comments Tony.

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The roustic atmosphere and energy of the house is very good. It's very sincere and the value for money is also very good.

Disliked: I didn't dislike because was not my situation (my room was inside the house, away the street), but it can occur that all noise from the streets bother your dreams. =)

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Excellent location right in the historic center of Paraty, really easy to walk around this area from here. Were given info on day trips etc in English which was helpful. Leo was really great in helping us get bus tickets sorted (note that foreigners cannot book bus tickets to Sao Paulo in advance online and Leo advised us to book at the bus station as soon as we arrived, which I would recommend too!). Guests can use the kitchen and Leo also arranged for our laundry to be done. Amazing freshly squeezed orange juice at breakfast, all in all we were very happy considering the low cost.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your comments, we always try to do the best for our guests.
Regards
Leo

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The pousada is right on the edge of the historic centre and couldn't be in a bit better position. The room was large and had a good view of the street below. Unfortunately, it was very hot during my stay and I would've paid extra for an air conditioner - it would be worth having one fitted which was optional for an extra cost!

Disliked: Despite enjoying the freshly squeezed orange juice every morning, there could have been ham and cheese as this is quite a breakfast staple in Brasil. The location is very central and therefore very noisy and so it would be good if the window shutters fully closed to block out as much noise as possible.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Firstly thanks for the compliments.
I just want to clarify that the guests cannot pay extra for air conditioning because we don't have air conditioning.
Cheese and ham is not traditional for breakfast in Brazil instead of ham and cheese we serve 4 different types of fresh fruit.
Every business establishment centrally located is subject to noise, for that there is nothing we can do.

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great location, friendly and helpful staff, Leo went out if his way to make our stay enjoyable. Breakfasts great, homemade cakes and freshly squeezed juice.

Disliked: the lack of air con made some nights hot, however they did give us an extra fan.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: This isn't a great place if you want to meet people, but it's a really nice hostel. We had a double room ensuite and were very happy here. It's right in the old town, so you're never too far away from anything. Breakfast is basic but good.

Disliked: It can be a bit noisy outside sometimes, but nothing too serious.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing

Liked: location was fantastic, good breakfast and a good place to stay

Disliked: one girl at "reception" wasn't helpful, but another was. Mixed..

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability