HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Paraty hostels

Reviews of Pousada do Careca

Guesthouse | Praça do Chafariz, s/nº, Paraty, Brazil 23970000

88.5% Overall Rating

22 out of 23 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/07/2014)

"A simple yet very pretty little pousada perfectly located on the edge of Paraty's historic centre, and a 5 minute walk from the bus station. Friendly staff although they did not speak English. Exceptionally clean, hot…"

Read all Pousada do Careca reviews

Facilities

  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Paraty?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Paraty

Hostel Recanto Azul
22.32 USD

Hostel 84.6% 53 reviews
Adventure Hostel Paraty
8.93 USD

Hostel 81.0% 3 reviews
HC Hostel - Historic Centre
15.62 USD

Hostel 77.0% 101 reviews
Backpacker´s House
18.75 USD

Hostel 89.0% 55 reviews
Che Lagarto Hostel Paraty
14.22 USD

Hostel 81.5% 128 reviews
Pousada Acquarela
25.89 USD

Guesthouse 93.0% 43 reviews
Paraty Hostel - Casa do Rio
13.39 USD

Hostel 77.9% 38 reviews
Paraty Central Hostel
15.62 USD

Hostel 79.3% 23 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.5%

Overall Rating

22 out of 23 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Pousada do Careca'

Atmosphere
85.2%
Location
95.7%
Facilities
81.7%
Cleanliness
92.2%
Staff
80.0%
Value
91.3%
Safety
93.0%
Refine your results Showing 18 of 23 reviews
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

roisin vere

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2014 roisin would recommend this property

Liked: Great little place in a perfect location. Breakfast was lovely. Room was nice.

Disliked: Not a great place to stay if you're looking to meet other travellers, we didn't really see anyone else during our whole stay, including staff!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A simple yet very pretty little pousada perfectly located on the edge of Paraty's historic centre, and a 5 minute walk from the bus station. Friendly staff although they did not speak English. Exceptionally clean, hot water and fluffy towels. Highly recommended and great value for money.

Disliked: Cash only payments, staff do not speak any English (not a big problem). The pousada is in a square that is very noisy with loud music until 5am on weekends - not an issue for me but other travelers should be aware of this incase of any issues.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

05 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location just on edge of old town area, close to tour agencies, shops, supermarkets, restaurants. Great views over the streeet. Quiet at night; Excellent breakfast

Disliked: No real common area that people hang out in, staff have little English, no area to hang wet clothes after day at beach.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This Pousada is located in the central square of the old town. It has comfortable ensuite rooms and a great home made breakfast. It is amazing value for money

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Domingos Neto

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2013 Domingos would recommend this property

Liked: The roustic atmosphere and energy of the house is very good. It's very sincere and the value for money is also very good.

Disliked: I didn't dislike because was not my situation (my room was inside the house, away the street), but it can occur that all noise from the streets bother your dreams. =)

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sally-Ann Bell

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 December 2012 Sally-Ann would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location right in the historic center of Paraty, really easy to walk around this area from here. Were given info on day trips etc in English which was helpful. Leo was really great in helping us get bus tickets sorted (note that foreigners cannot book bus tickets to Sao Paulo in advance online and Leo advised us to book at the bus station as soon as we arrived, which I would recommend too!). Guests can use the kitchen and Leo also arranged for our laundry to be done. Amazing freshly squeezed orange juice at breakfast, all in all we were very happy considering the low cost.

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sarah Sharp

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

10 December 2012 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: The pousada is right on the edge of the historic centre and couldn't be in a bit better position. The room was large and had a good view of the street below. Unfortunately, it was very hot during my stay and I would've paid extra for an air conditioner - it would be worth having one fitted which was optional for an extra cost!

Disliked: Despite enjoying the freshly squeezed orange juice every morning, there could have been ham and cheese as this is quite a breakfast staple in Brasil. The location is very central and therefore very noisy and so it would be good if the window shutters fully closed to block out as much noise as possible.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, friendly and helpful staff, Leo went out if his way to make our stay enjoyable. Breakfasts great, homemade cakes and freshly squeezed juice.

Disliked: the lack of air con made some nights hot, however they did give us an extra fan.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sam Thompson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

06 December 2012 Sam would recommend this property

Liked: This isn't a great place if you want to meet people, but it's a really nice hostel. We had a double room ensuite and were very happy here. It's right in the old town, so you're never too far away from anything. Breakfast is basic but good.

Disliked: It can be a bit noisy outside sometimes, but nothing too serious.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

05 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location was fantastic, good breakfast and a good place to stay

Disliked: one girl at "reception" wasn't helpful, but another was. Mixed..

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

01 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central location, good bed and shower, good breakfast, friendly staff.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jenny Dell

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 September 2012 Jenny would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely pousada with a great location right on the edge of the old town, but also easy to reach from the bus station as well. Leo gave us a great recommendation for a night out at Paraty 33 which also happened to be right around the corner. Nice to have the use of a kitchen as well. We booked a four bed room but they gave us a more spacious seven bed since it was available at no extra cost. Lovely freshly squeezed orange juice at breakfast.

Disliked: It would be useful to have some clearer guidelines about the use of the common areas and kitchen, as the sign in our room said it was available until midnight, but both nights we were there at 11 the night guy came in and seemed unhappy we were using it. He also didnt speak any English which made the situation a bit more difficult. It was a shame as we really like staying here, but felt that we were causing a disturbance when using the kitchen and dining area later in the evening.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Brilliant location, friendly and helpful staff, good aircon and shower, good breakfast, surprisingly good value given all this.

Disliked: Nothing.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nancy Givens

As a family with children

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

18 June 2012 Nancy would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, nice breakfast, nice downstairs lobby. Staff was friendly and helpful although they didn't speak English. The parking garage was helpful.

Disliked: It would be helpful if someone on staff spoke English. Otherwise, no complaints.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Francisco Jr. Marcelo

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 April 2012 Francisco Jr. would recommend this property

Liked: Pousada de Careca is located at the entrance of the main street to the old town. It therefore has a great location. The owner Gabrielle was very helpful and friendly.

Disliked: Francisco Jr. left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This pousada is located at the edge of the historical center and on a shopping street. There are a lot of shops, restaurants and tour offices within a few minutes walking. The owner and host is really friendly and helpful and speaks several languages (Portuguese, english, spanish, french)

Disliked: The pousada is not new and you can see that outside and inside the pousada. Allthough it looks old it is all clean.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Robertus Langedijk

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 August 2011 Robertus would recommend this property

Liked: On the edge of the historic centre of Paraty, so you can walk everything. The hostel is inside one of teh historic buildings, so has a lot of character

Disliked: The receptionist on-duty smoking close to one of our rooms. The smoke filled the room, which we did not appreciate. Because the hostel is inside the historic center there is a lot of noise at night (music, dogs barking, party-goers shouting, street cleaners starting at 5.30AM), all through the night. If you want a quiet hostel, do not go here.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

05 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were kind and had a lot of information. The place is in a great location. Clean and quiet and close to the beach.

Disliked: I liked the place.


See all Paraty hostels