HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Paraty hostels

Reviews of Hostel Recanto Azul

Hostel | Presidente Pedreira 35, Paraty, Brazil 23970000

84.6% Overall Rating

50 out of 53 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (02/02/2014)

"Good location, between bus station and old part of town. Good kitchen facilities. Rooms had AC."

Read all Hostel Recanto Azul reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.04

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Paraty?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Paraty

Pousada do Careca
17.54 USD

Guesthouse 88.4% 23 reviews
Adventure Hostel Paraty
6.93 USD

Hostel 80.8% 7 reviews
Che Lagarto Hostel Paraty
9.06 USD

Hostel 81.1% 129 reviews
Backpacker´s House
17.13 USD

Hostel 87.1% 57 reviews
HC Hostel - Historic Centre
14.27 USD

Hostel 78.5% 102 reviews
Pousada Acquarela
40.78 USD

Guesthouse 93.0% 43 reviews
Paraty Hostel - Casa do Rio
13.05 USD

Hostel 77.9% 38 reviews
Paraty Central Hostel
11.83 USD

Hostel 79.3% 23 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.6%

Overall Rating

50 out of 53 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Recanto Azul'

Atmosphere
78.4%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
80.0%
Cleanliness
81.6%
Staff
79.2%
Value
87.2%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 42 of 51 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

LOUISE GALLAGHER

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 April 2014 LOUISE would recommend this property

Liked: It's location is great!

Disliked: No English is spoken, though the owner is lovely...just hard to communicate.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Small, private bathrooms, wifi, friendly owner.

Disliked: Small social area.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, between bus station and old part of town. Good kitchen facilities. Rooms had AC.

Disliked: The hostel staff only spoke Portuguese. The wi-fi was slow and only available in the common areas. Our bathroom had a funky smell.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

daniella paes

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2013 daniella would recommend this property

Liked: It's a HOSTEL. And, as such accomodation, it was very good. In the kitchen you can find everything you need (appliances) to prepare your meals. Location was perfect in my opinion: between bus station and historic center what makes you find cheap options of restaurant and markets (in the historic center things are expensive). You can go everywhere on foot. Try Emirados restaurant on the corner. For a reasonable price, you can eat Arabian sfihas in a fancy atmosphere (I went there every night). Towel and linen were clean, like everything else. I have been to other hostels but my friends had never. They liked it too. For breakfast we had bread, cheese, ham, coffee, milk, and a glass of natural orange juice. Lokers were ok. I could park my car across from the hostel entrance and it stayed there till I started it to get back home, which means I saved gas. Carmen, the owner, was very friendly and gentle.

Disliked: daniella left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals

27 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really good location; Really good price; Good bathrooms; Good bedrooms; Air conditioner in the rooms; Greate breakfast; One of the best places to stay in Paraty without paying that much. I recommend.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its like living with a brasilian family not really a hostel, but it was nice and they tried to help us as good as possible, very good breakfast and very clean rooms with own bathroom and lockers

Disliked: The staff dont speak English

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is more like a guesthouse or bed and breakfast, where the family is also living. On one morning the TV was on cartoons for their son, who was playing video games on the only computer. That being said, the location is excellent, and the staff friendly. But no one speaks English so it is hard to get travel help. We were there during daylight savings and no one was told of the time change... made for an interesting morning. There are two 8-bed dorms with only one bathroom upstairs. The 6-person on-suite is nice to have a bathroom, but the bathroom is connected to outside, and thus the room is very hot, even with AC. The AC is the 8-person rooms is amazing, but no AC in common areas.

Disliked: When we arrived the place was overbooked. Luckily, there was another traveler to translate for us. We were given the options of the owner trying to find us a place to stay else where for one night, or staying in one bed for the two of us for one night. We didn't want to move so stayed in one bed. Other travelers told us that they had 10 people in the 8 person room the night before.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Serlina Chu

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

15 February 2013 Serlina would recommend this property

Liked: It is a 5 minute walk from the main bus station (Rodovario) and located within 3 minutes walking distance from Old Town. The place is really homey and cozy and the breakfast which consists of orange juice, coffee, ham and cheese toasties is fantastic. Mama Hostel doesn~t speak much English but is extremely friendly and kind. The place is really clean. We definitely recommend it and would stay here again!

Disliked: There is only one bathroom upstairs for 12 people and there is another one downstairs that is not as nice.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Laura Norskov Juul

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 February 2013 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: Location is good. It's rather cosy. The kitchen is very fine.

Disliked: The bathrooms wasn't well-cleaned - there was sand and dried mud on the floor. And the floors in general could have used some cleaning. None of the staff we met spoke any english, but was in fact really trying to help. You can only pay in cash

48.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good group of people at the same time in as we were. Breakfast is not too bad.

Disliked: Not too clean, the staff is helpfull at times, but sometimes they aren~t around. If you can get i n for a reasonable price and meet a good bunch of people I reckon this is not a bad place to stay. The owner knows many people on the island and can give you lots of information. But to be fair you can find better places that give you better value for money.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Garsia

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 December 2012 David would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was extremely clean. The freshly squeezed orange juice and bread rolls for breakfast along with the coffee was a nice change to the usual stale breakfast you would recieve in a hostel. More like a home stay the air conditioning was also a massive plus.

Disliked: No power points in rooms. But very good other than that!!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Haibiao Gao

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 December 2012 Haibiao would recommend this property

Liked: The owner is a every nice lady.even she can not speak other languages.it is a clean and quite hostel

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, super friendly staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

31 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: In a great location,safe,good facilities,nice kitchen,a/c,tv with a lot of channels and nice couches,staff were very friendly but didnt speak much english.

Disliked: It was too quiet when I stayed there,not desireable when youre a solo traveller.Staff didnt speak much english,although 1 staff member did but wasnt there that often.Breakfast is the usual stuff,nothing fancy.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

victor cheynier

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 October 2012 victor would recommend this property

Liked: Good breackfash with fresh orange juice, ham and cheese, good coffee, good location between bus station and old town, very good kitchen you can use.

Disliked: Staff dont speak any english or spanish.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Laura Wilson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 September 2012 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean and comfortable and the lady working there was friendly. The location is really good, 2 minutes from the bus station and a block or so from the historic centre of Paraty.

Disliked: Laura left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location, free breakfast, and you could use the kitchen if you wanted to

Disliked: Nothing

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location

Disliked: dirty bathroom

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice hostel run by a nice family. Good breakfast. Great location. Fantastic kitchen. Great place.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paul Eustice

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 March 2012 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: Small house, clean, well located. Cold water cooler, good shower and air con was cold. Internet worked well.

Disliked: The owner was friendly but didn't speak any English

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Although the owner doesn't speak English, she's extremely helpful and friendly. Internet is fast. Beds are comfortable. Air-con in the dorms was well appreciated.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

04 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were really nice and helpful, good breakfast, near the bus station, air conditioning, clean.

Disliked: Booked 8 people into an 8 bed dorm but were put into a 6 so group had to split up.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

LIS GAGO

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

29 February 2012

Liked: Recomendable!

Disliked: LIS left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

christopher read

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 January 2012 christopher would recommend this property

Liked: very homely very clean. owners very friendly but no English

Disliked: one ensuite dorm but two 8 bed dorms sharing one combined toilet/shower/mirror

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Orla Gannon

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 October 2011 Orla would recommend this property

Liked: Real family home, very comfortable. Kitchen is well stocked and the breakfast is perfect. Even let us check in early (at 6 in the morn on day of arrival). Super nice people.

Disliked: Very quiet and because of low season not many people around. Not a place to party but perfect for what we wanted


See all Paraty hostels