HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Hostel Recanto Azul Paraty

Hostel

Rua Presidente Pedreira, 35, Paraty, Brazil

Atmosphere 79%

Cleanliness 81%

Facilities 78%

Location 96%

Safety 90%

Staff 80%

Value 86%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Cable TV
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 1.38USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:30

Policies

  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Paraty?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 79%

Cleanliness 81%

Facilities 78%

Location 96%

Safety 90%

Staff 80%

Value 86%

Showing 1-8 of 8 reviews

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It's location is great!

Disliked: No English is spoken, though the owner is lovely...just hard to communicate.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Small, private bathrooms, wifi, friendly owner.

Disliked: Small social area.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good location, between bus station and old part of town. Good kitchen facilities. Rooms had AC.

Disliked: The hostel staff only spoke Portuguese. The wi-fi was slow and only available in the common areas. Our bathroom had a funky smell.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 May 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It's a HOSTEL. And, as such accomodation, it was very good.In the kitchen you can find everything you need (appliances) to prepare your meals.Location was perfect in my opinion: between bus station and historic center what makes you find cheap options of restaurant and markets (in the historic center things are expensive). You can go everywhere on foot. Try Emirados restaurant on the corner. For a reasonable price, you can eat Arabian sfihas in a fancy atmosphere (I went there every night).Towel and linen were clean, like everything else.I have been to other hostels but my friends had never. They liked it too.For breakfast we had bread, cheese, ham, coffee, milk, and a glass of natural orange juice.Lokers were ok.I could park my car across from the hostel entrance and it stayed there till I started it to get back home, which means I saved gas.Carmen, the owner, was very friendly and gentle.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 May 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Events / festivals

Liked: Really good location;Really good price;Good bathrooms;Good bedrooms;Air conditioner in the rooms;Greate breakfast;One of the best places to stay in Paraty without paying that much.I recommend.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Its like living with a brasilian family not really a hostel, but it was nice and they tried to help us as good as possible, very good breakfast and very clean rooms with own bathroom and lockers

Disliked: The staff dont speak English

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: This hostel is more like a guesthouse or bed and breakfast, where the family is also living. On one morning the TV was on cartoons for their son, who was playing video games on the only computer. That being said, the location is excellent, and the staff friendly. But no one speaks English so it is hard to get travel help. We were there during daylight savings and no one was told of the time change... made for an interesting morning. There are two 8-bed dorms with only one bathroom upstairs. The 6-person on-suite is nice to have a bathroom, but the bathroom is connected to outside, and thus the room is very hot, even with AC. The AC is the 8-person rooms is amazing, but no AC in common areas.

Disliked: When we arrived the place was overbooked. Luckily, there was another traveler to translate for us. We were given the options of the owner trying to find us a place to stay else where for one night, or staying in one bed for the two of us for one night. We didn't want to move so stayed in one bed. Other travelers told us that they had 10 people in the 8 person room the night before.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It is a 5 minute walk from the main bus station (Rodovario) and located within 3 minutes walking distance from Old Town. The place is really homey and cozy and the breakfast which consists of orange juice, coffee, ham and cheese toasties is fantastic. Mama Hostel doesn~t speak much English but is extremely friendly and kind. The place is really clean. We definitely recommend it and would stay here again!

Disliked: There is only one bathroom upstairs for 12 people and there is another one downstairs that is not as nice.

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, City break, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Location is good. It's rather cosy. The kitchen is very fine.

Disliked: The bathrooms wasn't well-cleaned - there was sand and dried mud on the floor. And the floors in general could have used some cleaning.None of the staff we met spoke any english, but was in fact really trying to help.You can only pay in cash

Customer would recommend this property

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good group of people at the same time in as we were. Breakfast is not too bad.

Disliked: Not too clean, the staff is helpfull at times, but sometimes they aren~t around. If you can get i n for a reasonable price and meet a good bunch of people I reckon this is not a bad place to stay. The owner knows many people on the island and can give you lots of information. But to be fair you can find better places that give you better value for money.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability