HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Paraty hostels

Reviews of Hostel Recanto Azul

Hostel | Presidente Pedreira 35, Paraty, Brazil 23970000

84.6% Overall Rating

50 out of 53 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (02/02/2014)

"Good location, between bus station and old part of town. Good kitchen facilities. Rooms had AC."

Read all Hostel Recanto Azul reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.24

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Paraty?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Paraty

Pousada do Careca
14.59 USD

Guesthouse 88.4% 23 reviews
Adventure Hostel Paraty
8.98 USD

Hostel 81.0% 3 reviews
Che Lagarto Hostel Paraty
14.22 USD

Hostel 81.5% 128 reviews
Backpacker´s House
18.85 USD

Hostel 89.0% 55 reviews
HC Hostel - Historic Centre
15.71 USD

Hostel 77.0% 101 reviews
Pousada Acquarela
26.03 USD

Guesthouse 93.0% 43 reviews
Paraty Hostel - Casa do Rio
13.47 USD

Hostel 77.9% 38 reviews
Paraty Central Hostel
15.71 USD

Hostel 79.3% 23 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.6%

Overall Rating

50 out of 53 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Recanto Azul'

Atmosphere
78.4%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
80.0%
Cleanliness
81.6%
Staff
79.2%
Value
87.2%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 42 of 51 reviews Previous   1 | 2
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Freshly squeezed orange juice at the breakfast. Good location. Great kitchen facilities.

Disliked: One computer for guests to use internet and it was out of order at the time of my stay. Lovely lady owned the place but didn't spoke a word of english.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: If you like to stay alone or spending time with the owners in the livingroom- its recommendable!

Disliked: -

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Megan Jelley

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

27 June 2011 Megan would recommend this property

Liked: It's so close to everything you need in Paraty and it feels like a home, not just like a hostel.

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly lady and amazing kitchen facilities!!!!

Disliked: there weren't many other travellers there, but it is low season.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mark Rizzo

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 June 2011 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel had an excellent kitchen and the owners were very helpful. I also like the feel at the hostel (quiet, but quite friendly).

Disliked: Nothing.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

CORINNE WINCH

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

17 March 2011 CORINNE would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly lady and very clean. Computers available, bed sheets included, comfortable.

Disliked: Needs more showers! A bit difficult to find.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice hostel, feels like home. DEFINITELY not a party hostel but more of a house. Felt nice to be in a smaller place. Really nice kitchen, never seen one so well equiped. The lady owner is one of the nicest ladies I have ever met, she speaks not english but is very helpful and makes nice fresh orange juice in the morning!

Disliked: only one bathroom for two dorms (i|d try to get the indorm one)...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Super friendly, great value for money!

Disliked: -

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Savannah Zwickl

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 February 2011

Liked: very clean and decent location, about 5 mins walk to old town. the fresh orange juice at breakfast was great1

Disliked: for the first three days of my four day stay i didnt see any other guests. very quiet and not good when you are travelling to alone and wanting to meet people.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 February 2011

Liked: Quiet little place, nice dorms and bathrooms, good location and good cooking facilities.

Disliked: Breakfast is very plain just bread, cheese and ham. There is no air con in the rooms which get very hot. We expected it to be quiet which we wanted but not that we were the only guests there!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marc Boyer

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 January 2011 Marc would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic place to stay. Clean, nice, centrally located.

Disliked: None.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Though she doesn´t speak any English, the owner is lovely. Feels like living in someone´s lovely, clean holiday home, a big change from most of the hostels in South America. Great value for money.

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anne Kirby

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

17 November 2010 Anne would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and very clean, owner was very friendly

Disliked: Anne left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ivana Snircova

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa

06 November 2010 Ivana would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, the owner is very fkind even if she does not speak english. It has nice patio and you feel like at home. It is not a party hostel. It is calm and nice place to relax. I was the only guest there and I prolonged my stay for another 2 nights.

Disliked: The keyboards are little bit too old.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Charli Beeton

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

18 October 2010 Charli would recommend this property

Liked: It was somebodys house, so very personal, we were the only people staying there.Nice and quiet so great for a good nights sleep.

Disliked: Not a party hostel if that's what you're looking for. Says on Hostelbookers house number is 20, it's 35... and very hard to find!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

eleanor brooke

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

24 August 2010 eleanor would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed here after having travelled around for weeks and it was a great place to chill out and just relax for a week. It was like staying with an aunt it was lovely. The breakfast was amazing, it included fresh orange juice squeezed my the owner, fresh bread, cheese, ham and fresh black. The hostel was lovely and clean and very well set out.

Disliked: Not the place to go if you want to socialise but definately the perfect place if you just want to chill out for a week.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

sheena colquhoun

13 October 2009 sheena would recommend this property

Liked: It is important to note that this is number 35 and NOT number 20, if you rock up at number 20 a surley man will shut the door in your face.Had a few troubles, they didn´t have our booking, there is not 24hr staff, we were just lucky that guests were up at 2am when our bus arrived to let us in or we would have had to go somewhere else.That said, the breakfast is nice, clean and homely atmosphere in a good position.

Disliked: sheena left no negative feedback.


See all Paraty hostels