HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Refron du Mar Bed & Breakfast Paraty

Guesthouse

Av. Orlando Carpinelli 7, Paraty, Brazil

Atmosphere 83%

Cleanliness 92%

Facilities 84%

Location 93%

Safety 94%

Staff 84%

Value 88%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • Bar
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Ceiling fan
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Paraty?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 83%

Cleanliness 92%

Facilities 84%

Location 93%

Safety 94%

Staff 84%

Value 88%

Showing 1-6 of 6 reviews

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 20%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Staff are very friendly and helpful, rooms can be cleaned whenever you like just have to drop the key at front desk, nice big bathroom and shower was excellent, location is also perfect.

Disliked: Pillows are very hard and cause sore neck/ back issues. Breakfast is really minimal, doesn't even include cereal. Internet connection is one of the worst I have EVER come across. It drops out repeatedly if u can manage to establish a connection. Same issue with both laptop and phone. A communal kitchen is advertised on the web, a sign to pay per use is still on the wall but you can't use it anymore because it has been turned into a restaurant. People on any sort of budget - BEWARE. Eating out is NOT cheap.

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The location is excellent - a stone's throw from the beach! Really lovely to be that close. We loved the smart TV but only because we had our hard-drive with us that had films on it that we could watch. Room had a fridge which was great. Really good shower and bathroom. One receptionist (girl with short hair & braces) was very friendly and helpful - always greeted us and even phoned our taxi/ transfer when it didn't arrive on time.

Disliked: Bed wasn't that comfortable, sheets didn't actually fit the bed so always woke up in the morning on half a bare mattress. Other staff (especially those on breakfast duty) were sullen and generally unhelpful. We were there in Christmas Day and the lady doing breakfast that day kept looking at her watch and banging the dishes she was clearing away. When we asked her for a cup she dismissed us with a huff. We get that she would rather be elsewhere in Christmas Day but we are paying customers so make the best of it! Breakfast selection could have included cereal and maybe scrambled egg. Wifi was TERRIBLE - constantly cutting out, could not connect in the room so either had to stand out in the hallway outside our room (no chairs/benches) or sit in the small reception area (not very private if you want to Skype). When we first arrived we had dinner reservations at nearby restaurant that evening and so asked Victor (receptionist) to order us a taxi. When we came back to reception ready to go for dinner he had forgotten to book it. Also another member of staff was a very gruff older man with white hair who wasn't friendly or helpful at all and generally gave off a annoyed vibe most of the time.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Romantic getaway

Liked: Localização

Disliked: Instalação

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: A really nice and quiet place, which is also really clean and is owned by lovely people..

Disliked: I didn't liked the coffee at the breakfast.. To sweet! Haha that was the only bad thing at this place!

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 100%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great location, on the beach but still only 15 min walk to bus station.Nice big room, clean and with nice en suite.Felt very safe and secure.Nice breakfast.Good value for money.Nice bar nearby on the beach (gecko)Received a friendly welcome from one staff member.Despite the bad I would still stay again as the good outweighs the bad.

Disliked: Air con outside room made a constant noise throughout the night (our ac was OFF).Only 1 staff member spoke English, and a second just the basics; would be just a minor inconvenience however the remaining staff members were all quite rude and unfriendly. Made no effort to smile or even acknowledge us.We were not told until our 3rd night that the room would only be cleaned if we returned the key to reception in the morning, and only then when we asked as our room was becoming quite dirty.Wifi connection was poor and communal kitchen very small and poorly stocked.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Located moments away from beach side bars. The atmosphere is relaxed and the staff are friendly and helpful.

Disliked: No real complaints.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The hostel is a good value for money stay that is in a good location.

Disliked: The floors were a little dirty, and check in was a little confused. Also, if staying in the Woodstock Room, the TV can be a little loud at night.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing

Liked: The location is perfect (in front of Praia do Pontal) and the staff very helpfull.

Disliked: -

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 100%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The breakfast was great, room spacious, very good value for the price, nice location right in front of the beach

Disliked: a little unpleasant reception staff at times (one lady - probably the owner) and the room as well as other hotel premises smelled strongly like pee

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 100%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good location on the main beach in Paraty, and only 5 mins walk to the old town with all the shops and restaurants. Good value for money - cheap en-suite double room, which was basic but nice.

Disliked: Staff were not friendly. We wanted to wash a few items of clothing but they were extremely rude about us doing this, refusing at first to give us a bucket, wouldn't let us hang it up outside even though their own clothes were hanging up to dry all over the place, and wouldn't speak to us again after we had asked. Breakfast was very average to poor, fruit looked as if it had been sitting there a few days. Hostel has very little atmosphere, and the kitchen is beyond crap. Don't even try and cook in there. Staff don't offer any advice about tours or trips you can do in and around Paraty. However, if you are looking for a cheap double en-suite room and don't care about service,facilities or atmosphere then it is a decent place to stay.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for you review My place will try to be better but i think you are a little angry and shower is not the place to wash clothes!

Check Availability