HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Paraty hostels

Reviews of Refron du Mar B&B Paraty

Hostel | Rua orlando Carpinelli 7, Paraty, Brazil 23970-000

88.3% Overall Rating

55 out of 59 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (06/06/2014)

Wessel Vincent thinks…

"A really nice and quiet place, which is also really clean and is owned by lovely people.."

Read all Refron du Mar B&B Paraty reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Paraty?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Paraty

Paraty Central Hostel
13.37 USD

Hostel 79.3% 23 reviews
HC Hostel - Historic Centre
15.60 USD

Hostel 78.5% 102 reviews
Hostel Recanto Azul
22.29 USD

Hostel 84.6% 53 reviews
Pousada do Careca
19.17 USD

Guesthouse 88.4% 23 reviews
Che Lagarto Hostel Paraty
14.22 USD

Hostel 81.1% 129 reviews
Adventure Hostel Paraty
8.92 USD

Hostel 86.9% 5 reviews
Pousada Acquarela
44.58 USD

Guesthouse 93.0% 43 reviews
Paraty Hostel - Casa do Rio
12.93 USD

Hostel 77.9% 38 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.3%

Overall Rating

55 out of 59 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Refron du Mar B&B Paraty'

Atmosphere
82.4%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
82.4%
Value
91.2%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 52 of 58 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway

02 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Localização

Disliked: Instalação

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Wessel Vincent

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 June 2014 Wessel would recommend this property

Liked: A really nice and quiet place, which is also really clean and is owned by lovely people..

Disliked: I didn't liked the coffee at the breakfast.. To sweet! Haha that was the only bad thing at this place!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

21 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, on the beach but still only 15 min walk to bus station. Nice big room, clean and with nice en suite. Felt very safe and secure. Nice breakfast. Good value for money. Nice bar nearby on the beach (gecko) Received a friendly welcome from one staff member. Despite the bad I would still stay again as the good outweighs the bad.

Disliked: Air con outside room made a constant noise throughout the night (our ac was OFF). Only 1 staff member spoke English, and a second just the basics; would be just a minor inconvenience however the remaining staff members were all quite rude and unfriendly. Made no effort to smile or even acknowledge us. We were not told until our 3rd night that the room would only be cleaned if we returned the key to reception in the morning, and only then when we asked as our room was becoming quite dirty. Wifi connection was poor and communal kitchen very small and poorly stocked.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Located moments away from beach side bars. The atmosphere is relaxed and the staff are friendly and helpful.

Disliked: No real complaints.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Colin Clark

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

08 February 2013 Colin would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is a good value for money stay that is in a good location.

Disliked: The floors were a little dirty, and check in was a little confused. Also, if staying in the Woodstock Room, the TV can be a little loud at night.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maria Laura Louzada

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing

26 December 2012 Maria Laura would recommend this property

Liked: The location is perfect (in front of Praia do Pontal) and the staff very helpfull.

Disliked: -

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Zuzana Kubu

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

29 October 2012 Zuzana would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast was great, room spacious, very good value for the price, nice location right in front of the beach

Disliked: a little unpleasant reception staff at times (one lady - probably the owner) and the room as well as other hotel premises smelled strongly like pee

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Tom Drummond

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 October 2012 Tom would recommend this property

Liked: Good location on the main beach in Paraty, and only 5 mins walk to the old town with all the shops and restaurants. Good value for money - cheap en-suite double room, which was basic but nice.

Disliked: Staff were not friendly. We wanted to wash a few items of clothing but they were extremely rude about us doing this, refusing at first to give us a bucket, wouldn't let us hang it up outside even though their own clothes were hanging up to dry all over the place, and wouldn't speak to us again after we had asked. Breakfast was very average to poor, fruit looked as if it had been sitting there a few days. Hostel has very little atmosphere, and the kitchen is beyond crap. Don't even try and cook in there. Staff don't offer any advice about tours or trips you can do in and around Paraty. However, if you are looking for a cheap double en-suite room and don't care about service,facilities or atmosphere then it is a decent place to stay.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jenny Dell

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 September 2012 Jenny would recommend this property

Liked: More like a hotel than a hostel, which all the rooms around a large central courtyard with a large dining area. Location was good for the beach, and a short walk from the old town, but not very far.

Disliked: Quite a way to the bus station and supermarket but still easily walkable.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Renee Miller

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2012 Renee would recommend this property

Liked: I loved this place! It was right across the street from the beach. The room and bathroom were INCREDIBLY clean. Great breakfast. Friendly and helpful staff - one of whom speaks English very well which was incredibly helpful. All in all, a fantastic value!

Disliked: Renee left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Courtney Fraser

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 May 2012 Courtney would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, hot showers, helpful staff & beautiful location/ view.

Disliked: Courtney left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thomas Hilliar

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2012 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: Loved this place. Good place for a couple. 15min walk from the bus station, might be worth the cab since the road is tricky walking with a massive backpack. Try a walk on the beach in the evening with lights on the beach and nice cocktails at the beach bar No commission on washing or the great boat tour they recommend. Loved the boat your too Only place in 2 months of south america that cleans the bin and makes the bed every day

Disliked: Nothing. Try it out, we loved it

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shaun freeman

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

24 March 2012 Shaun would recommend this property

Liked: This property was in a nice location, only a short walk from the main shopping/dining area. We loved our stay in Paraty and the hostel was a clean place to stay at. It´s family run which they all live at. My partner was particularly happy with this place simply because they had cable tv to show the english premier league football.

Disliked: The breakfast wasn´t the best variety. Bananas seem to be a few days old. Bread seems to be quite common in Brazil, but with ham and cheese every single day for breakfast wasn´t really dragging me out of bed in the mornings.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lorraine Bligh

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 March 2012 Lorraine would recommend this property

Liked: Victor is fantastic and speaks English very well. The other staff are also very friendly. It is a 30 second walk across to the beach. Breakfast is really great. The rooms are spacious and cool, but also have lots of character, and the bathroom is fantastic.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Luci thies

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 March 2012 Luci would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! Staff were very friendly and helpful but we still had our privacy, rooms were spacious, good aircon and cleaned every day, location is right across from the beach and just a short walk from the historical centre, basic kitchen if you want to cook, nice simple breakfast. Chris and Victor can help you organize what you want to do but they aren't trying to sell the tours like some places do. I saw a negative comment re mosquitoes which almost put me off as I usually get eaten alive by mosquitoes, but there weren't nearly as many as I expected - I only got bitten twice in 5 days! HIGHLY recommend!

Disliked: Nothing really! Although it could do with a place outside to hang sandy towels.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michelle hatcherMichelleHatcher

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

04 March 2012 Michelle would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were incredibly, they made this stay one of the best hostels I have ever stayed in.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Alan Baker

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Family Holiday

29 March 2011 Alan would recommend this property

Liked: Well located short walk to old town where to stay costs much more AND opposite the best beach/bay

Disliked: nothing wrong, really good value. close to Geko Hostel where you can grab dinner at low cost. Close to Paraty town, and across the road from best beach. So if you want a double room with private shower and prepared to spend that little extra its worth it.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice bathroom (more like a nice hotel bathroom than a hostel bathroom). Room was clean and nice. Located next door to all the other hostels, opposite the beach. We got a free welcome drink (caiprinha)!

Disliked: nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

12 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great, spacious double rooms. Lovely ensuite bathrooms!!! Staff were helpful and it is right on a beach, although you will want to get a bus to better beaches probably. Breakfast is really good. Cheap drinks available.

Disliked: The cleaners came in and left the huge windows open everyday which wasnt great safety wise. We didnt have any problems though.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rosa Wimbush

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 March 2011 Rosa would recommend this property

Liked: The Staff were extremely helpful, especially Victor, We had a double room and it was really spacious and clean and had working air-con

Disliked: The kitchen is tiny. Not great for cooking.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Bathrooms were amazing and breakfast was great!

Disliked: Dont expect to cook more than 2 min noodles in the kitchen.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 February 2011

Liked: Good location and friendly staff

Disliked: Deflinately not the place to stay if you are looking to meet people. More private rooms than dorms.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

26 January 2011

Liked: Nice location, just by the beach! Its a short walk both to the fort and to the historical center. The tall young man was very helpful and kind (and the only english-speaker). The bathrooms are large!

Disliked: The female owner was from the start very unfriendly and did not make us feel at home AT ALL. It started by some complication regarding our booking (We think she thought the hostelbookers price was too low). Throughout our stay she did not smile a single time.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

David blatt

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Romantic getaway

01 December 2010 David would recommend this property

Liked: If you want to wake up and have a view of the bay whilst having breakfast, this hostel can't be beat. The beach opposite has lovely sand and the water is so warm. Only problem, it;s a murkey browny green colour and not all that clean.The tall young man on reception was very friendly and helpful.Good breakfast but no tea.Wifi worked in our room, which we have found a rarity on our travels.

Disliked: Our room cornered the market for mosquitoes. They seemed to come from allover Brazil to welcome us in our room. Without a mosquito net you'll swell up and die. The woman owner finds it impossible to smile. Like a sour headmistress after a bad night.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was a great place to stay in Paraty - right on the main beach, and just a short walk into the old town. Great new, clean rooms with new bathrooms as well which was great. Really enjoyed our time there, and awesome value for money.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Paraty hostels