We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Paraty hostels

Reviews of Refron du Mar B&B Paraty

Hostel | Rua orlando Carpinelli 7, Paraty, Brazil 23970-000

88.9% Overall Rating

56 out of 60 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (06/06/2014)

Wessel Vincent thinks…

"A really nice and quiet place, which is also really clean and is owned by lovely people.."

Read all Refron du Mar B&B Paraty reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Paraty?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Paraty

Paraty Central Hostel
12.23 USD

Hostel 79.3% 23 reviews
HC Hostel - Historic Centre
14.27 USD

Hostel 78.5% 102 reviews
Hostel Recanto Azul
20.39 USD

Hostel 84.6% 53 reviews
Pousada do Careca
13.25 USD

Guesthouse 88.4% 23 reviews
Che Lagarto Hostel Paraty
9.60 USD

Hostel 81.1% 129 reviews
Adventure Hostel Paraty
8.16 USD

Hostel 80.8% 7 reviews
Pousada Acquarela
40.78 USD

Guesthouse 93.0% 43 reviews
Paraty Hostel - Casa do Rio
16.31 USD

Hostel 77.9% 38 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.9%

Overall Rating

56 out of 60 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Refron du Mar B&B Paraty'

Atmosphere
83.2%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
84.8%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
83.2%
Value
92.0%
Safety
95.2%
Refine your results Showing 52 of 59 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It has the cleanest and best showers in the world!!! Such good value for money and the staff were super friendly and helped us to book buses and told us about local area, places to visit and the best and cheapest local restaurants. Awesome breakfast too!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Comfy beds, excellent showers, good berakfast, just across from the beach.

Disliked: rooms lacked a little ventilation.... but not too bad though

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Beach / sunbathing

13 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I had an amazing time at Refron du Mar. Rooms were incredibly clean for this price category, I would say the cleanest place I have ever stayed whilst backpacking :-). At hostels were I stayed prior to arriving at Refron du Mar, me and my friends encountered unwashed & smelly bed sheets & duvet covers, dirty floors and bathrooms. We were delighted at this place because everything was kept really clean and the establishment is in a very good condition and new. The hostel is run by a Brasilian family the Ferrari's, very friendly and helpful. Victor..the guy at reception was amazing and made sure that everyone is having a good time. Breakfast was very nice too with fresh fruit, fruit juice, cake, baguete with ham, cheese..etc. 10 out of 10.Excellent atmosphere in the evenings when we were watching TV or having a drink at the hostels bar/common area. A lot of people came along to the recreation room for a drink and to have a chat. Good party and fun if you are up for it but if you want to have quietness, no worries...rooms are in a good distance to the party area, so you are not disturbed by noise. Also, the location is very good. Hostel is situated right at sea but close to the city centre too. You get picked up at the bus terminal with a minimum stay of 2 nights, which was a bonus too.I will definitely come back to this cosy place because I had the best time ever!!Many thanks

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

26 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Refron du Mar is a great hostel just outside the historical center... the bathrooms were the best I've seen in any hostel, and Victor makes a mean capirinha!! Definitely worth staying here.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

11 April 2010

Liked: The location was right near the beach and very close to the colonial centre. However, the hostel was really quiet and I think we were the only ones staying there! Our sheets smelt very musty and unclean, wouldn't really stay there again.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

08 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I LOVE VICTOR :-)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

31 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: if you´re planning to cook in this place: FORGET IT! the facilities are not up to standard. there was one VERY rusty knife in the communal kitchen. We were surprised that they have it there.booked private room with airconditioning (which did not work!)the 2 staff members (an american and a swedish) could not be more helpful, they were very nice and good at recommending activities. thanks girls!location: perfect! away from the centre, but only 5 minutes away to walk to. in front of a beach, which may not be the best but nice to have a morning run there.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

24 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms are off an excellent standard. The bathrooms appeared to be something like out of a classy hotel. Would recommend to anyone

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Ceri Evans

16 March 2010 Ceri would recommend this property

Liked: Right on the beach, friendly staff and close to the square and all amenities. Great place to stay.

Disliked: Ceri left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

03 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's really in front of a beach, and the staff allowed me to take my breakfast on the beach. It's close to the historic center, the main atraccion of Paraty. The staff was very friendly. They showed me more places to know as waterfalls, beaches, islands; that I could not have known without their help.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Karen Lowe

03 March 2010 Karen would recommend this property

Liked: really clean, place. simple and opposite the beach

Disliked: Karen left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Natalie Henshall

27 February 2010 Natalie would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were really friendly and helpful, good food and a great place to meet people. We had a great time. Thank you Victor!!!

Disliked: Natalie left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

13 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

15 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Victor was very helpful and friendly. This hostel is a work in progress, still has building works going on but has a lot of potential once the common areas get sorted. Next door to the 'lively' hostels - this one is a good quieter and cheaper option. Good breakfasts. Right on the beach but the sea isn't very clear.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Angela Kruning

09 January 2010 Angela would recommend this property

Liked: This place was really really great! The staff were extremely friendly and helpful! Even though I don't speak much portugese, we each communicated as best we could and they were always quick to help! When we were there, there was a lot of rainful and flooding in parts of the city so the shower wouldn't train. We knew that wasn't their fault but they want door to door at the hostel and told each of us what was happening and then at the end of our stay gave us a box of chocolates for the inconvenience. Wouldn't deffinitly recommend and when I go again, will deffinitly stay!

Disliked: Angela left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

21 December 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place, great guy, perfect place right o nthe beach. Value for money!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rachel van Meer

04 December 2009 Rachel would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent position opposite the beach, a very short walk away from the expensive historic centre. There are some great cheaper places to eat around where the hostel is situated. They are doing some renovations at the moment, I wish I could see it when it is finished as so far it looks petty good. The staff, Martin and Victor are really lovely!

Disliked: Rachel left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

01 December 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent hostel. Everything was fine. Definitely a place to be recommended. One more tip: avoid restaurant in the historical center!!! A good restaurant is TRAPICHE, just 3 minutes walk from the historical center (direction rodoviaria)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

28 November 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean accommodation and perfect location on the beach. The rooms only have fans (not air con) so it can get very warm!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Joseph Newcombe

26 November 2009 Joseph would recommend this property

Liked: Fun and friendly staff, nice location on a beach with lots of beach bars, however beach is not the nicest. Be sure to take the bus to Trinidade if you want to go to a great beach!

Disliked: Joseph left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

18 November 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Wery nice bathroom, location, friendly, helpfull staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Manuella Fonseca

28 September 2009 Manuella would recommend this property

Liked: This is such a good hostel with a great family atmosphere!! Its in front of the beach and near the historic centre, so you can walk anywhere you want to go!! The staff is very nice and always willing to help. Breakfast is very good, such as described. I'd definetly recomend this hostel!

Disliked: Manuella left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alberto Azevedo

05 September 2009 Alberto would recommend this property

Liked: It was a great stay, the staff is cool, the owner vitor is a great guy.... would certainly come back if in Paraty again!

Disliked: Alberto left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

fausta cagliari

28 August 2009 fausta would recommend this property

Liked: This was my first time in Paraty and I have to admit that for me is the best place in brasil, such an amazing nature mixed with history and culture and without all the danger you can find in places like Rio or Bahia.Probably I was lucky to end up in the best pausada of the city just in front or a beutiful and very quiet beach: I recommend both the city and the pausada very much.

Disliked: fausta left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

17 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is really spectacular: right in front of the beach makes you listen the ocean from your bedroom. The bedrooms are simple and comfortable just what I was looking for. The breakfast is also wonderful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Paraty hostels