HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Che Lagarto Hostel Paraty Paraty Hostel

Rua Benina Toledo do Prado, 22, Paraty, Brazil

Atmosphere 85%

Cleanliness 75%

Facilities 71%

Location 90%

Safety 88%

Staff 86%

Value 79%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bar
  • Common Room
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Linen Included
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Steam room
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Important Information

Any bookings with dates within New Years 2010 (mandatory 4 nights package - 28/12-01/01) & Carnaval 2010 (mandatory 6 night’s package 11/02/-17/02).
Full prepayment is needed in order to warranty the booking, after booking the Hostel will contact you for the prepayment details. Failure to prepay the booking will result
In the booking being cancelled.Not allowed under 18

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Paraty?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 85%

Cleanliness 75%

Facilities 71%

Location 90%

Safety 88%

Staff 86%

Value 79%

Showing 1-9 of 9 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It is located close to bus station, and also close to historical part of Paraty. It was very nice hostel, one of the best I had ever been to. The breakfast was great! Kamila, from the reception, was very kind, and remembers first names of almost all guests :D

Disliked: I did not find anythink I wouldn't like in there...

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing

Liked: Good location Good bar with good prices and lots of young travellersReally good breakfast

Disliked: Make sure you bring dollars. Instead of using the actual rate they make up a ridiculous one and then got annoyed and asked for reals when we paid in dollars even though the request on the booking was in dollars.Bathroom wasn't cleaned in the 4 nights we stayed, and 3 times in the first two days all water in the hostel stopped working.Would be a good hostel if they weren't trying to rip you off all the time. Don't book any tours with them they charge a huge mark up versus the Main Street.

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife

Liked: Good for young people.

Disliked: Sometimes there is no water, no shower, no flush on toilet.

Customer would recommend this property

31% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
31% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Location to bus station.

Disliked: Everything else. See my comments above.

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Most of the staff was great, the women especially! But the breakfast crew weren´t so friendly, they made me feel like I was a burden on them when I politely informed them there was no coffee/milk/whatever...

Disliked: The pathetically small kitchen. Brazil is expensive but Che Lagarto provides such a small kitchen it is difficult to cook for yourself. Also the kitchen is poorly supplied, only a few plates, there were no bowls or knives. There is a nice kitchen beside the guest kitchen but it is for the R$20 meal the hostel will provide for you. And the wifi is an embarassement. We spent got so we went to one of the many internet places.

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Location. Staff were friendly and laidback. Generally good vibe.

Disliked: The breakfast was poor. Booked a private room for security but came back one day to find cleaners had left door open. Kitchen was small, hot and poorly equipped.

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Nice hostel, helpful staff, good breakfast, would stay there again...

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Easy to walk to downtown and all sights. Wonderful atmosphere.

Disliked: Their kitchen was extremely small and lacked a lot of neccessary utensils.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: very freindly and a party feeling . staff good and helpful with everthing.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good location not far from the bus stop or the old town. Great atmosphere in the common areas with a bar.

Disliked: The rooms were basic but clean, and the lockers underneath the beds a little awkward to use.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability