We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Paraty hostels

Reviews of Che Lagarto Hostel Paraty

Hostel | Rua Benina Toledo do Prado 22, Paraty, Brazil 23 970 000

81.1% Overall Rating

114 out of 129 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/03/2014)

Sinead Mattock thinks…

"Good location Good bar with good prices and lots of young travellers Really good breakfast"

Read all Che Lagarto Hostel Paraty reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Any bookings with dates within New Years 2010 (mandatory 4 nights package - 28/12-01/01) & Carnaval 2010 (mandatory 6 night’s package 11/02/-17/02). Full prepayment is needed in order to warranty the booking, after booking the Hostel will contact you for the prepayment details. Failure to prepay the booking will result In the booking being cancelled.Not allowed under 18

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Paraty?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Paraty

Pousada Acquarela
40.78 USD

Guesthouse 93.0% 43 reviews
Paraty Hostel - Casa do Rio
16.31 USD

Hostel 77.9% 38 reviews
Adventure Hostel Paraty
6.93 USD

Hostel 80.8% 7 reviews
Hostel Recanto Azul
20.39 USD

Hostel 84.6% 53 reviews
Pousada do Careca
17.54 USD

Guesthouse 88.4% 23 reviews
Backpacker´s House
17.13 USD

Hostel 87.1% 57 reviews
HC Hostel - Historic Centre
14.27 USD

Hostel 78.5% 102 reviews
Refron du Mar B&B Paraty
20.39 USD

Hostel 88.9% 60 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.1%

Overall Rating

114 out of 129 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Che Lagarto Hostel Paraty'

Atmosphere
84.8%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
68.8%
Cleanliness
72.8%
Staff
84.8%
Value
79.2%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 105 of 126 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Sinead Mattock

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

10 March 2014

Liked: Good location Good bar with good prices and lots of young travellers Really good breakfast

Disliked: Make sure you bring dollars. Instead of using the actual rate they make up a ridiculous one and then got annoyed and asked for reals when we paid in dollars even though the request on the booking was in dollars. Bathroom wasn't cleaned in the 4 nights we stayed, and 3 times in the first two days all water in the hostel stopped working. Would be a good hostel if they weren't trying to rip you off all the time. Don't book any tours with them they charge a huge mark up versus the Main Street.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

09 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good for young people.

Disliked: Sometimes there is no water, no shower, no flush on toilet.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 March 2014

Liked: Location to bus station.

Disliked: Everything else. See my comments above.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Chad Moffat

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 February 2014

Liked: Most of the staff was great, the women especially! But the breakfast crew weren´t so friendly, they made me feel like I was a burden on them when I politely informed them there was no coffee/milk/whatever...

Disliked: The pathetically small kitchen. Brazil is expensive but Che Lagarto provides such a small kitchen it is difficult to cook for yourself. Also the kitchen is poorly supplied, only a few plates, there were no bowls or knives. There is a nice kitchen beside the guest kitchen but it is for the R$20 meal the hostel will provide for you. And the wifi is an embarassement. We spent got so we went to one of the many internet places.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Hannah Leadbeater

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 February 2014

Liked: Location. Staff were friendly and laidback. Generally good vibe.

Disliked: The breakfast was poor. Booked a private room for security but came back one day to find cleaners had left door open. Kitchen was small, hot and poorly equipped.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice hostel, helpful staff, good breakfast, would stay there again...

Disliked: nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Julie Serroul

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 October 2013 Julie would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to walk to downtown and all sights. Wonderful atmosphere.

Disliked: Their kitchen was extremely small and lacked a lot of neccessary utensils.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Hutley

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 September 2013 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: very freindly and a party feeling . staff good and helpful with everthing.

Disliked: Michael left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kathryn Mason

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 August 2013 Kathryn would recommend this property

Liked: Good bar, activities and trips are excellent

Disliked: Staff were a little rude at times, a bit over strict on the time for end of breakfast.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Matt Pascall

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 June 2013 Matt would recommend this property

Liked: Good location not far from the bus stop or the old town. Great atmosphere in the common areas with a bar.

Disliked: The rooms were basic but clean, and the lockers underneath the beds a little awkward to use.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michaela Gibbs

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 May 2013 Michaela would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel has a really lively atmosphere, an excellent communal / TV area and a killer free breakfast!!! The rooms were really clean and all the staff wore a smile on their face!! We were here for 5 nights and could have stayed longer!

Disliked: Kitchen was poor. One other big issue was that Hostelbookers stated that we owed 232 US dollars on arrival, which equates roughly to 468 Brazilian Reals (why we werent just quoted a Reals rate by the hostel, i dont know). But instead of using the current exchange rate, Che Lagarto use a ridiculous one to eek out more money from you! I would recommend it here, but pay in US dollars to avoid paying more than you should.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really good atmosphere and the staff were great at recommending what to do. The tours they offer are really good as well!

Disliked: The kitchen was tiny, hard to cook as one person let alone if there are any more! The rooms also were quite small.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Samuel Blagg

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 March 2013 Samuel would recommend this property

Liked: All the staff were very friendly and the communal areas were very good apart from the kitchen which was a bit small. It has a good atmosphere with people buzzing around all the time.

Disliked: The toilet and shower area was a bit dirty. The internet was a bit slow and not always working.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the staff were very friendly and helpful, it was in a good location and the hostel offered day trips and evening meals which were great. At first the hostel seemed very busy so thought it may be impersonal but it wasn´t and as long as you don´t mind a busy hostel you will love it. The rooms were also quiet which is a bonus when in a big hostel

Disliked: Kitchen small and dirty but their evening meals and breakfasts are nice. bathrooms were ensuite and not as clean as other hostels I have stayed in

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good reasonably priced meals every evening. Good breakfast.

Disliked: Quiet in the evening.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice private rooms with fridge. Cleaning service and laundry service available. Small but nice pool to chill out in Vagner's jeep tour was great and we highly recommend it.

Disliked: Breakfast requires specific taste - no water or orange juice, just guarana and caju juice. Wifi VERY slow as are computers. Wifi sometimes did not work and obly 1 of 3 computers did at one point. Tiny kitchen, especially given the size of the hostel and so poorly equipped. Unfriendly manager, although the rest of the staff were great!! They only told us its 20 reais more per person to pay on card when we were leaving. They didnt tell us beforehand so we could take cash out.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

27 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of the most decent Brasilian hostels I've stayed at.

Disliked: Not particularly social place.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Darren Cohen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 December 2012 Darren would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel - lovely staff who speak English, Spanish and Portuguese and are always willing to help you. They offer good trips, a fantastic breakfast and a great atmosphere. The dinner at night is delicious and great value for money. Clean and professional. Paraty is a cool, relaxed place to visit.

Disliked: Lockers were not in rooms which is a bit annoying and too small. Also, rooms were a little small but given the price and everything else, this isnt something worth complaining about!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -

Disliked: Breakfast could be really better, not many choices and you have to ask everything you would need

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

22 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really great place, friendly and helpful staff. lotsof activities organised by them and had themed dinners everynights. great location. we wanted to stay an extra night when we got there and they were more than happy to give this to us. highly recomended

Disliked: didnt give us full intructions on breakfast being included so miseed first days.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joanna Stawska

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 November 2012 Joanna would recommend this property

Liked: A great hostel with amazing and funny staff who can help you with anything (and I really mean it - apart from recommending places to go and see, they even let me and my friend use shower in their own rooms after check-out). Plus every evening (I guess) they offer delicious dinner with a cocktail included (prepared by a really skillful bartender! :)) Our room was spacious and clean with a private bathroom, great value for money! Plus - great location, close to both the bus station and the historic centre. One of the nicest places I've stayed in!

Disliked: Joanna left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Barry Jones

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 November 2012 Barry would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel with friendly staff, good food & bar offers, nice organised events. Rooms cleaned daily. Small swimming pool is a bonus.

Disliked: Found a bed bug in my bed :(

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Erik Oehmichen

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 November 2012 Erik would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly stuff. Good dinner. Table kicker. Party nights. Athmosphere. happy hour ;)

Disliked: Slow computers.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Hannah Clarke

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 November 2012 Hannah would recommend this property

Liked: The Hostel is is a great location - only a few minutes walk into town, but far enough out to be quiet. There was a small pool and the common areas were nice (and spacious). The staff were helpful, especially when I left something at the hostel and didn't realise until I had arrived at my next destination (Lily who works on reception was brilliant and arranged for it to be taken to the Che Largarto Hostel on Ilha Grande). They offer lots of tours and transfer services at reasonable prices - we went on a fantastic boat tour and also booked our onward transfers. We didn't eat at the hostel, but they have good dinner deals every night and the food looked good. All in all a good hostel, which is reasonably priced.

Disliked: Our room was a little small, but perfectly acceptable for the price. Breakfast was also a little basic, but nothing to complain about.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

29 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location, awesome huge breakfast, great staff, very social, lot of activities offered, cheap, free internet, we got free upgrade from 10 to 6 dorm and free breakfast!

Disliked: perhaps the kitchen could be equipped better (almost no plates/pots/etc) but thats just minor issue...


See all Paraty hostels