HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Paraty hostels

Reviews of Che Lagarto Hostel Paraty

Hostel | Rua Benina Toledo do Prado 22, Paraty, Brazil 23 970 000

81.1% Overall Rating

114 out of 129 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/03/2014)

Sinead Mattock thinks…

"Good location Good bar with good prices and lots of young travellers Really good breakfast"

Read all Che Lagarto Hostel Paraty reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Any bookings with dates within New Years 2010 (mandatory 4 nights package - 28/12-01/01) & Carnaval 2010 (mandatory 6 night’s package 11/02/-17/02). Full prepayment is needed in order to warranty the booking, after booking the Hostel will contact you for the prepayment details. Failure to prepay the booking will result In the booking being cancelled.Not allowed under 18

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Paraty?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Paraty

Pousada Acquarela
40.78 USD

Guesthouse 93.0% 43 reviews
Paraty Hostel - Casa do Rio
16.31 USD

Hostel 77.9% 38 reviews
Adventure Hostel Paraty
6.93 USD

Hostel 80.8% 7 reviews
Hostel Recanto Azul
20.39 USD

Hostel 84.6% 53 reviews
Pousada do Careca
17.54 USD

Guesthouse 88.4% 23 reviews
Backpacker´s House
17.13 USD

Hostel 87.1% 57 reviews
HC Hostel - Historic Centre
14.27 USD

Hostel 78.5% 102 reviews
Refron du Mar B&B Paraty
20.39 USD

Hostel 88.9% 60 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.1%

Overall Rating

114 out of 129 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Che Lagarto Hostel Paraty'

Atmosphere
84.8%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
68.8%
Cleanliness
72.8%
Staff
84.8%
Value
79.2%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 105 of 126 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

andreas wittwer

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 May 2011 andreas would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is the coolest i have ever met in a hostel. They make you feel at home from the very first moment and if you wish so, they make sure you will have some great partys as well. fantastic place to stay!

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

liam hall

Alone

Relaxation/spa

04 May 2011 liam would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are amazing.

Disliked: Some of the sheets are very dirty and need to be replaced.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

31 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We got a double room and it was great value for money: clean, big and ensuite. Much nicer than some hotels that had cost double the price. It helped that we were furthest away from the social areas.

Disliked: Nothing.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

24 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: When we arrived we got a map of the area and the staff were really helpful, recommending different things to do in the area. Reasonably priced bar. The private room had a small fridge and television.

Disliked: The bar closed early every night. The were only two public computers in the hostel and there were problems getting my wi-fi to work properly. The bedsheets smelt damp and the dorm was not very clean, The bathrooms were not clean and the was only one bathroom in a dorm with six people and the public toilets were quite far away and were not clean either. Our friend was asked to move rooms each night.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 March 2011

Liked: The range of activities on offer and the staff

Disliked: A very clique atmosphere - not a friendly hostel and they got our room wrong and placed us with more people than we wanted

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

David Wellstead

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 March 2011 David would recommend this property

Liked: Good music. Pool table. TV with dvd

Disliked: Close the bar to early

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Lisa Fievez

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 March 2011 Lisa would recommend this property

Liked: good breakfast, good wifi, staff were really friendly

Disliked: location and map is wrong. Don't let that put you off....just check the actual hostel website for directions

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good staff, good location.

Disliked: Nothing.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Felicity Kane

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 February 2011 Felicity would recommend this property

Liked: Great outside area. Really helpful staff. Brilliant location next to historic centre.

Disliked: One of the smallest and worse equipped guest kitchens ever.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: stayed for christmas, was quiet but they put on a great christmas dinner

Disliked: nothing

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

29 January 2011

Liked: OK location

Disliked: Hated this place - it's a big hostel and feels impersonal. We booked a 4-bed dorm but ended up in a cramped 8-bed. After going out that evening, we returned to find another mattress on the floor between the bunks for a 9th person (no-one had told us) and a cat scratching at the mattress. Apparently it was the hostel's cat - the staff denied this but it was always seen there. We left there and then as I have an allergy to cats. There are loads of nice pousadas in Paraty so I'd recommend searching for one or going for a different hostel.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Alison Cook

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 January 2011 Alison would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff who came and rescued us when we followed the incorrect directions given to us by Hostelbookers. CL's staff were exceptional! Breakfast was good, room was good enough (we stayed in a 6 bed female dorm without aircon - which was bearable, just). Great location just wandering distance from the old town and the beach. And they have a pool!

Disliked: Hostelbookers directions were incorrect, go to CL's web page for the correct address!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a really great place to spend a few days. Good vibes!

Disliked: I disliked nothing - no complaints here.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Andre Graham

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 December 2010 Andre would recommend this property

Liked: the staff were some of the best on our travels - they learned and remembered our names, and were friendly outside the hostel. impeccably clean, highly recommended.

Disliked: not the cheapest in paraty, but worth the extra money.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location, correct staff, nice terrace where chill out, and very clean.

Disliked: It was quite boring as they didn't organise any kind of activity and I stayed there 6 nights! With such a nice hostel, big and with a very nice common area, its a pity they didn't organise anything. It was quite empty too so maybe that was the reason...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

sarina ballauff

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 December 2010 sarina would recommend this property

Liked: English speaking staff, good breakfast and decent wifi. Social outdoor area and plunge pool was nice to hang out in.

Disliked: there were 2 instances of more than 12hrs where the hostel had no water, not great for a 3day stay. Watch out for the mosquitos in the courtyard a they will eat you alive.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was really great. Very close to the bus terminal as well as to the historical center and town beach. The front desk worker during the day was really helpful and suggested great places for us to go during the day.

Disliked: Only complaint was that the lockers were not in the room but downstairs. It was just a little annoying to have to go downstairs to get my stuff.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, spacious rooms, free internet, good location

Disliked: They charged over 20% more than their listed price, because they didnt update their prices here with the current exchange rate.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and very friendly staff. Definately reccomended

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Charli Beeton

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2010 Charli would recommend this property

Liked: Good arty atmosphereLots of other backpackers to meetFree internetGood range of tripsFree lockersFriendly staff

Disliked: Our room was right next to the bar so it was VERY noisy, people at the bar, the pool table and the TV down the other end of the hostel sounded like they were right next to the bed Bathroom STANK like s*** really bad smell coming from drains Breakfast wasn´t very good

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laura Bangs

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 September 2010 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: Really really freindly staff, told us exactly where 2 go! And a good breakfest

Disliked: Laura left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location in Parati. Double room ensuite was excellent standard.

Disliked: No bad points.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff and facilities

Disliked: Little noisy at night

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sunil Grewal

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 August 2010 Sunil would recommend this property

Liked: Had a bar, swimming pool etc.

Disliked: We actually got overcharged - they list their local currency as US dollars so you're not really sure how much you will pay in reals. I ended up paying about £1.50 too much per night but I didn't have time to argue it as I had a bus to catch.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly people and atmoshere

Disliked: nothing


See all Paraty hostels