We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Paraty hostels

Reviews of Che Lagarto Hostel Paraty

Hostel | Rua Benina Toledo do Prado 22, Paraty, Brazil 23 970 000

81.1% Overall Rating

114 out of 129 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/03/2014)

Sinead Mattock thinks…

"Good location Good bar with good prices and lots of young travellers Really good breakfast"

Read all Che Lagarto Hostel Paraty reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Any bookings with dates within New Years 2010 (mandatory 4 nights package - 28/12-01/01) & Carnaval 2010 (mandatory 6 night’s package 11/02/-17/02). Full prepayment is needed in order to warranty the booking, after booking the Hostel will contact you for the prepayment details. Failure to prepay the booking will result In the booking being cancelled.Not allowed under 18

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Paraty?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Paraty

Pousada Acquarela
40.78 USD

Guesthouse 93.0% 43 reviews
Paraty Hostel - Casa do Rio
16.31 USD

Hostel 77.9% 38 reviews
Adventure Hostel Paraty
8.16 USD

Hostel 80.8% 7 reviews
Hostel Recanto Azul
20.39 USD

Hostel 84.6% 53 reviews
Pousada do Careca
17.54 USD

Guesthouse 88.4% 23 reviews
Backpacker´s House
17.13 USD

Hostel 87.1% 57 reviews
HC Hostel - Historic Centre
14.27 USD

Hostel 78.5% 102 reviews
Refron du Mar B&B Paraty
20.39 USD

Hostel 88.9% 60 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.1%

Overall Rating

114 out of 129 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Che Lagarto Hostel Paraty'

Atmosphere
84.8%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
68.8%
Cleanliness
72.8%
Staff
84.8%
Value
79.2%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 105 of 126 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sandeep Madhav

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 February 2012 Sandeep would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff, clean, spacious, Good nightlife, Good location. I loved everything!!

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good staff and atmosphere. Excellent breakfast.

Disliked: Air conditioning wasnt good in our room and some of the sheets were dirty

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 January 2012

Liked: friendly bar staff, good offers on bar drinks

Disliked: dark and damp rooms, no fan in the dorm room so got very hot, people were trying to dry clothes in their so smelt awful and was generally not a nice environment to chill in the room.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Laura M Ismay

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 January 2012 Laura M would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were really friendly, very helpful. It was so well organised and the dinners each night were great- one of the best hostels I've stayed in in Brazil!

Disliked: The bathrooms in the rooms were a bit dirty and the showers were cold

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice social scene - met great people, friendly staff, clean space, good food, very welcoming

Disliked: one of the bartenders was very lazy and took a long time to make drinks, one of the very friendly staff members made some mistakes with bookings and it turned out to be too late to fix the problem - she was very nice, but a scatterbrain and i think the language barrier may have been partly to blame.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adam Popowicz

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 December 2011 Adam would recommend this property

Liked: honestly, it was such a great stay here. the moment we turned up the staff were so helpful, sorted our bus to iguassa falls over phone etc. there is always something going on in evenings, its so close to old town and bus station, our double private room was like a hotel, so clean and a hot shower which was a bonus!!the dinners are great and atmosphere great, defo the best hostel we have been to so far in brazil.would recommend it to everyone!!!

Disliked: towards the end of breakfast it gets a bit crazy and busy but you still get food so it really isnt a problem (just turn up earlier). nothing to dislike!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nathan Middlebrook

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 November 2011 Nathan would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel!! Staff were incredibly friendly, room was cleaned everyday, plenty of activities on offer, free tasty breakfast each morning, laid back atmosphere that still had a little buzz at the bar of a night time. Best hostel of our South American trip!!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendliness and helpfulness of the staff

Disliked: Nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 October 2011

Liked: Good location, friendly staff, good vibrations.

Disliked: Loud music all the time, if you want to relax, it`s better to stay in 2º floor, as we did and was ok. The hostel was not very organized. When we arrived there were no clean towels and we had to use bed sheets in the 1º day. After 2 days, we wanted to change towells and they did not have anything clean again! The water of the sink and the shower smelled really bad, was disgusting to brush our teeth.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ana Cristina Souza Riente de Almeida

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

25 September 2011 Ana Cristina would recommend this property

Liked: location, staff , all is good

Disliked: no thinks I dislike

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Samuel Webster

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 August 2011 Samuel would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the staff, gonna go back i think. Great atmoshere, Great people!!

Disliked: Need to sort out the people next door to be able to drink later

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel. Lots of fun and a great location. Staff are helpful.

Disliked: Two computers is not enough especially when one is not working. They offer transfers to Ilha Grande which is handy however if you organise it yourself it is less than half the price.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the BBQ! double room was really nice, easy to meet people, good tours and tranfers

Disliked: kitchen is small

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Toby Gilles

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2011 Toby would recommend this property

Liked: Put it this way, if you´re looking for a great atmosphere for a party, but might once in a while want to go to bed early(ish), then it´s the place in Paraty. People are respectful enough to ensure it´s quiet enough to allow those that want to to sleep, but you can stay out all night with these guys too if you like. I´ve had a great time and probably, in terms of meeting friendly and cool like-minded people, it´s been the best hostel I´ve stayed in during my 3 month tour of South America.

Disliked: The bathroom got quite dirty at times and there was nothing I could use to clean it up in terms of a mop. A simple towel on the floor by the shower would have solved this. The fact that at night it got cold but there were no blankets readily available. I had just a thin sheet and had to put a couple of layers of clothes on to get warm enough to sleep.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location and very friendly staff.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

21 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff good Breakfast clean

Disliked: Not a lot of security

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place with great staff, very central.

Disliked: Pool was poorly pictured on the Website - made to look a lot bigger than it was.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Bram Keirsebilck

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

17 July 2011 Bram would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic hostel ! Very close to the old town and a very nice atmosphere. The staff is very nice and we went out partying with them at night :) Nice place to meet other travellers too.

Disliked: Actually nothing. Price of hostelbookers wasn't entirely correct though, although it still was fairly cheap. Maybe one disadvantage : our room was close to the reception and at morning they sometimes play loud music. Not that nice if you have a hangover from the night before ;)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, clean and spacious room (double ensuite), very friendly and helpful stull, very nice atmosphere!

Disliked: They should just correct the directions given in the hostelbookers webpage, they are wrong, but a simple question on the street solves the problem..

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

11 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to the historic center!

Disliked: The cleanliness..The bathroom was quite dirty! A Limpeza foi um ponto fraco, se colocassem um tapete no banheiro já ajudaria bastante, no fim do dia o banheiro virara um lamaceiro! They don't give towels...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostel`s I´ve stayed in during my past 11 months travelling. Staff are amazing. Food is good. Trips they organize are awesome.

Disliked: Absolutely nothing.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 June 2011

Liked: good location, friendly staff and it wasnt so busy because of low season

Disliked: facilities could be better. for e.g the internet connection in rooms was non-existent due to poor wifi signal. the signal is good if you're sitting next to a wifi router but otherwise good luck.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sarah cusack

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 June 2011 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere and location

Disliked: poor wifi

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Zoe Rouch

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 May 2011 Zoe would recommend this property

Liked: Where to start?! Close to the historical centre, the room was large with lashings of hot water, the hosel has its own bar which was so fun people from other hostels kept turning up, staff were awesome and took us out to beach partys and some dodgy cachaca bars PLUS they do a meal for just R$12. Bargain!

Disliked: Absolutely nada.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Robert Branch

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

13 May 2011 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: Location and set up ok...reasonable breakfast.

Disliked: Twin rooms were bunk beds and Che Largarto charge a lot more than quoted as they have their own exchange rate!!! Be careful as rate per US$ is 1.6 and they charge 1.98. We stayed for 2 nights and were charged 25 Reals more!! Rip off!! Got electric shocks from showers.


See all Paraty hostels