We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Paraty hostels

Reviews of Geko Hostel & Pousada Paraty

Hostel | Rua Orlando Carpinelli, 5, Praia do Pontal (Pontal Beach), Paraty, Brazil 23970-000

86.9% Overall Rating

78 out of 90 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/08/2014)

"Breakfast on the beach is wicked, nice selection of foods also. Kitchen facilities are okay, could maybe do with a few more utensils, secure lockers and okay wi-fi. Decent location although town is small. Hosts are…"

Read all Geko Hostel & Pousada Paraty reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet café

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Terms and Conditions for group bookings: - We require a 50% deposit. - The group may have to be split-up with the Hostel Next Door depending on availability, group size and configuration of bedrooms. - 3 nights minimum stay. - Up to 15 persons max. - For group bookings (15 persons max) we require a 30 day notice to process cancellation. - Deposits will not be refundable for cancellations with less than 30 days notice.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Paraty?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Paraty

Chill Inn Paraty Hostel & Pousada
10.54 USD

Hostel 85.8% 84 reviews
Paraty Central Hostel
12.65 USD

Hostel 79.3% 23 reviews
Refron du Mar B&B Paraty
25.30 USD

Hostel 88.9% 60 reviews
HC Hostel - Historic Centre
14.76 USD

Hostel 78.5% 102 reviews
Pousada do Careca
13.71 USD

Guesthouse 88.4% 23 reviews
Hostel Recanto Azul
21.09 USD

Hostel 84.6% 53 reviews
Adventure Hostel Paraty
8.43 USD

Hostel 80.8% 7 reviews
Che Lagarto Hostel Paraty
14.22 USD

Hostel 81.1% 129 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.9%

Overall Rating

78 out of 90 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Geko Hostel & Pousada Paraty'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
83.2%
Cleanliness
82.4%
Staff
95.2%
Value
86.4%
Safety
78.4%
Refine your results Showing 79 of 90 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast on the beach is wicked, nice selection of foods also. Kitchen facilities are okay, could maybe do with a few more utensils, secure lockers and okay wi-fi. Decent location although town is small. Hosts are extremely friendly and helpful!

Disliked: 1 bathroom for 12 people in one dorm!! Was pretty unsocial hostel people kept themselves to themselves, usually on their phones! No wi-fi available in dorm either only common area.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rachel Akins

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 June 2014 Rachel would recommend this property

Liked: This is probably the best hostel I've ever stayed in! Great location, lovely staff, very clean rooms and bathroom, good kitchen area, and a beach bar where breakfast is served. Good big breakfast of fruit, cereal, toasties and cake. Great Caiprinhas too! Would definitely stay there again.

Disliked: Rachel left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

jurian zaat

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 May 2014

Liked: nice and relaxed atmosphere good breakfast friendly staff

Disliked: dirty bedlinnen dirty towels no wifi in room semi hot shower no locker in rooma (only in general area)

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Karen Ward

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

30 April 2014 Karen would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast on the beach

Disliked: Slow WiFi, the room I stayed in didn't have a lock on the door, and it was outside of the main building, which when it rained meant i got wet.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ekaterina Dracheva

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals

06 March 2014 Ekaterina would recommend this property

Liked: First of all am very surprised that Geko don~t have much reviews here, because it was always fully booked . I booked for 3 nights and stayed for 3 weeks! This is my family in Brazil now and I will recommend Geko to every my friend who will travel to Brazil. The best hostel in Paraty, just 1 step from beach. I love it here and people are incredible helpful with everything. Rooms were cleaned 2 times per day. Breakfast on the beach was amazing! Lots of fruits, several drinks, toasts, cakes - in hotel in Paris I had less! Live music during the nights and huge asado and of course, caiperinia! :) Also we had kitchen to cook own meal. Also they have lots of excursions for every taste and pocket. We had such a great time together and big fun during carnival! Muito obrigada! Muchas gracias por todo y por todos! Visitame en Tailandia, amigos!

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ella Roberts

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 October 2013 Ella would recommend this property

Liked: It was in an excellent location, right in front of the beach

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Vinicius Reis

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2013 Vinicius would recommend this property

Liked: Is the best hostel in Parati-RJ, the price is always good, have another hostel in the same street and a restaurant on the beach with a good breakfast.

Disliked: I think that in the room 7 must have a wardrobe or something like this with keys to put our things and be safe.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

13 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: beautiful place! the staff, especially jessica, was very helpful in every way! good location, good breakfast!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Paulo Oliveira de Souza

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

12 April 2013 Paulo would recommend this property

Liked: Good vibration, the break fast on the beach, in front of the beach, near historic center.

Disliked: Should be more organized.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

jenna kroon

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 February 2013 jenna would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was really helpfull and kind, the proximity to the beach is nice but the beach itself isn't the nicest. Good friendly atmosphere at the beach bar, always musicians playing, if you hate bob marley don't come here( but who hates bob marley?? Really??).

Disliked: Unfortunately we fell violently ill after the second night, we think it might of been due to the the plates for supper were not properly dried, the hostel staff told us they would make sure it wouldn't happen again but I would still be carefull.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Kate Ginns

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

02 December 2012 Kate would recommend this property

Liked: We were originally placed in a cramped dorm with no lockers and no where to put our bags. However when we asked the staff to move they took us to a much better spacious dorm with a lock and lockers. This was great though we were then told we had to move back to the cramped dorm as the hostel was full. The hostel then gave us a complimentary dinner and drink to apologise for this which i thought was extremely good of them. All the staff were great and more than happy to go beyond the call of duty to make sure we were happy.

Disliked: The cramped dorm as stated above...

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: really friendly staff, delicious barbecue at the beach, clean rooms

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast was indeed very good and the location amazing (beach)

Disliked: Could have been cleaner

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good breakfast on the beach :) made the mornings amazing and the staff are really lovely.

Disliked: I´d recommend common areas to hang out in...but then you have the beach on your doorstep! A few knives in the kitchen would be nice though (there was only one useful one to chop up your food)

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

antony bates

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 July 2012

Liked: great location on the beach with a great breakfast. the 2 argentine boys with long hair very good and helpful!

Disliked: my girlfriend and a friend got bedbugs. some staff let their friends stay in our dorm and then they hopped into bed with our room mate. the kitchen is very dirty and badly equipped, staff dont do their own dished so people staying start to leave theirs as well. some days the staff would occupy the couches and hammocks to have a nap leaving no space for customers. and finally the directions on the website were terrible need updating.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is perfect. Right on the beach and still very close to the historic center of Paraty. There's very nice breakfast on the beach, and at night, there's a very nice bar on the beach! I would definitely stay here again.

Disliked: there's renovations going on, so you can't use all of the hostel. Fortunately they don't make to much noise, so it doesn't really bother anyone and it just means that soon, the hostel is going to be even better.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Adrian Pasternak

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 June 2012 Adrian would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location, helpful staff, good price and nice location for breakfast, free internet access (maybe because it was an make-over durin our stay and they wanted to compensate it to the guests).

Disliked: Breakfast wasn't so good for me after I tried it in Bahia. I didn't like the situation when in the middle of the night one guy came to our room without any luggage and just jumped on the bunk bad anockced woke up our roommate. All of us were shocked because it looked like anybody rom the street can come in and take our stuff. At the reception they told that they knew him, without any explanation for us. We didn't feel safe because of that.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

lisandro hernan

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

02 June 2012 lisandro would recommend this property

Liked: sobre todo la amabilidad de todos los chicos que trabajan en el hostel y en el bar de la playa.Me lleve muchos amigos y sin dudas volveria a este hostel. La buena onda y simpatia de todos hace que el ambiente sea excelente y el precio yo pague un promedio de 29 reales la noche y con el buen desayuno que sirven ya vale la pena.algo para rescatar tambien es la presencia de sus dueños casi todo el dia en el lugar y sin que te des cuenta que son los dueños ya que te atienden con la misma buena onda que cualquiera de sus empleados.espero que les sirva mi comentario

Disliked: lisandro left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Keeley Hampton

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 May 2012 Keeley would recommend this property

Liked: The property could not be in a better location. Right on the beach. Having breakfast sat under the trees whilst looking at the ocean is pretty awesome. The hostel is currently under renovation, hence the reason for the lower score, however, the staff are really friendly and very helpful with tours etc.

Disliked: No lockers in the rooms. You have to pay extra to have a locker which is not in your room

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 May 2012

Liked: Really nice to have breakfast on the beach.

Disliked: There were renovations in order. We booked a twin room and got a dorm room. It was made private, but a dark room and the bathroom was smelly. Because of the renovations you could not stay in bed late or stay in the room during daytime. On top of that they charged extra for payment with credit card and demand direct payment at arrival, even though in very late in the evening after long travel...

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Stephanie Hafkamp

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 May 2012 Stephanie would recommend this property

Liked: nice location

Disliked: they were working verry hard on inproving the hostel and this interfeard whit the comford of the curend guests

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Nina Prantl

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2012 Nina would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast directly at the beach was amazing

Disliked: Nina left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Not emptying bins

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 April 2012

Liked: We liked the breakfast on the beach,good and cheap drinks and live music!

Disliked: Its not so cosy,there are not enough toilets and showers!The bed sheets are not clean.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was amazing to have your breakfast on the beach...a great way to wake up! the location is perfect, close to everything and only a 15min walk from the bus station.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Paraty hostels