HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Geko Hostel & Pousada Paraty Paraty

Hostel

Rua Orlando Carpinelli, 5, Paraty, Brazil

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 80%

Location 94%

Safety 77%

Staff 93%

Value 83%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Cafe
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free City Maps
  • Hot Showers
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire

Important Information

Property may require the card security code entered on the site. No amount will be charged, the information will be saved only to validate the policy of no-show. If we can't validate the Card within the following 3 days our system your reservation may be cancelled automatically


Terms and Conditions for group bookings:

- We require a 50% deposit.

- The group may have to be split-up with the Hostel Next Door

depending on availability, group size and configuration of

bedrooms.

- 3 nights minimum stay.

- Up to 15 persons max.

- For group bookings (15 persons max) we require a 30 day notice to

process cancellation.

- Deposits will not be refundable for cancellations with less than 30

days notice.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Paraty?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 80%

Location 94%

Safety 77%

Staff 93%

Value 83%

Showing 21-11 of 11 reviews

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 May 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Really nice to have breakfast on the beach.

Disliked: There were renovations in order. We booked a twin room and got a dorm room. It was made private, but a dark room and the bathroom was smelly. Because of the renovations you could not stay in bed late or stay in the room during daytime. On top of that they charged extra for payment with credit card and demand direct payment at arrival, even though in very late in the evening after long travel...


The property's response is

I’m sorry for the frustration you have experienced. Please accept my apology for your unpleasant stay. This is not the experience neither the hostel nor I want to deliver to our guests. We are very concerned and we want to assure you that we take these matters very seriously.
This missed opportunity to give you an enjoyable experience with us is something that we could never abide by.
We are taking the necessary steps to ensure that all guests remain 100% satisfied with the services provided.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing

Liked: sobre todo la amabilidad de todos los chicos que trabajan en el hostel y en el bar de la playa.Me lleve muchos amigos y sin dudas volveria a este hostel. La buena onda y simpatia de todos hace que el ambiente sea excelente y el precio yo pague un promedio de 29 reales la noche y con el buen desayuno que sirven ya vale la pena.algo para rescatar tambien es la presencia de sus dueños casi todo el dia en el lugar y sin que te des cuenta que son los dueños ya que te atienden con la misma buena onda que cualquiera de sus empleados.espero que les sirva mi comentario

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Location

Disliked: Not emptying bins

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: We liked the breakfast on the beach,good and cheap drinks and live music!

Disliked: Its not so cosy,there are not enough toilets and showers!The bed sheets are not clean.

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It was amazing to have your breakfast on the beach...a great way to wake up! the location is perfect, close to everything and only a 15min walk from the bus station.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The Breakfast at the Beach is awesome! Very nice Staff and a good atmosphere

Disliked: -

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: great location on the beach with a great breakfast. the 2 argentine boys with long hair very good and helpful!

Disliked: my girlfriend and a friend got bedbugs. some staff let their friends stay in our dorm and then they hopped into bed with our room mate. the kitchen is very dirty and badly equipped, staff dont do their own dished so people staying start to leave theirs as well. some days the staff would occupy the couches and hammocks to have a nap leaving no space for customers. and finally the directions on the website were terrible need updating.


The property's response is

We know that there were gaps and we have them identified. We are trying to develop new training methods for all employees, so that this problem is avoided to the maximum. We are also working on regulations and procedures for improvement in our services for Travelers. Please believe we are taking the necessary steps to ensure that all guests remain 100% satisfied with the services provided.
Once again, apologizing for what happened in the provision and continuing.
Camila, Geko's Manager.

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The breakfast directly at the beach was amazing

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing

Liked: Like the athomosphere here. Very nice and lovely people and staff here. Next to the beach.

Disliked: The cleanliss could be a bit better

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, City break

Liked: Nice beach bar! Which is also where they serve breakfast in the morning.

Disliked: Bicycle hire more expensive than other places in town.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability