HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Paraty hostels

Reviews of Geko Hostel & Pousada Paraty

Hostel | Rua Orlando Carpinelli, 5, Praia do Pontal (Pontal Beach), Paraty, Brazil 23970-000

86.9% Overall Rating

78 out of 90 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/08/2014)

"Breakfast on the beach is wicked, nice selection of foods also. Kitchen facilities are okay, could maybe do with a few more utensils, secure lockers and okay wi-fi. Decent location although town is small. Hosts are…"

Read all Geko Hostel & Pousada Paraty reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet café

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Terms and Conditions for group bookings: - We require a 50% deposit. - The group may have to be split-up with the Hostel Next Door depending on availability, group size and configuration of bedrooms. - 3 nights minimum stay. - Up to 15 persons max. - For group bookings (15 persons max) we require a 30 day notice to process cancellation. - Deposits will not be refundable for cancellations with less than 30 days notice.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Paraty?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Paraty

Chill Inn Paraty Hostel & Pousada
10.19 USD

Hostel 86.4% 85 reviews
Paraty Central Hostel
11.83 USD

Hostel 79.3% 23 reviews
Refron du Mar B&B Paraty
20.39 USD

Hostel 88.9% 60 reviews
HC Hostel - Historic Centre
14.27 USD

Hostel 78.5% 102 reviews
Pousada do Careca
17.54 USD

Guesthouse 88.4% 23 reviews
Hostel Recanto Azul
20.39 USD

Hostel 84.6% 53 reviews
Adventure Hostel Paraty
6.93 USD

Hostel 80.8% 7 reviews
Che Lagarto Hostel Paraty
9.06 USD

Hostel 81.1% 129 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.9%

Overall Rating

78 out of 90 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Geko Hostel & Pousada Paraty'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
83.2%
Cleanliness
82.4%
Staff
95.2%
Value
86.4%
Safety
78.4%
Refine your results Showing 79 of 90 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: easy and relaxed

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Charlotte Moody

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

19 October 2010 Charlotte would recommend this property

Liked: It was a great place to meet new people, lively and fun. Location was great. I really enjoyed the boat trip and also the Jeep Ride to the waterfalls. You should do this if you go there!! Highlight of my stay. Also this hostel is right next to the beach, cross a road and there is a beach. For better beaches its a small bus ride away.

Disliked: I didnt see the cleaners, cleaning the rooms properly, sand on the floor all the time and beds werent the cleanest.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 October 2010

Liked: The location was good.

Disliked: We really disliked this hostel. The room, the bathroom and the kitchen were really dirty. The atmosphere wasn't friendly at all.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

15 October 2010

Liked: Had a cool bar area, helpful staff and is right on the beach and just a short walk from the town

Disliked: Not very clean - mouldy pillow. Noisey at night, other travellers staying there were not sociable and they tried to charge us more than was quoted in hostel bookers confirmation.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Leanne Osborne

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 October 2010 Leanne would recommend this property

Liked: The staff, Mya & Alex were really friendly & helpful from the start and genuinely seemed to enjoy having us stay. We met a great group of people (travellers & locals) and the atmosphere was very chilled but fun.

Disliked: Not a problem for us - but if you don't like loud rock music it won't be for you!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 October 2010

Liked: Location, its right on the beach

Disliked: Too noisy after 30 hours on a bus. Rooms are close to the bar and the music was not turned off until early hours of the morning. Its great if you want to party but not what we were lookng for.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa

24 August 2010

Liked: breakfast was quite good, except ham and cheese left uncovered in heat and easily accessible to flies.

Disliked: Wifi never worked at all, not even once. we received numerous different security codes from different members of staff and none worked. we had to go to the hostel next door and use theirs! Showers were never warm. Our window didnt close properly and with a combination of forcing it closed and insect repellent we tried to avoid mozzy bites. Fridge was very good at keeping things cold but absolutely stank the room when ever it was opened, even if only briefly. it was also very dirty. So was the area beneath the bed. Security was another issue, you have to leave your room key hanging by the exit at the reception when leaving and on numerous occasions we returned to find nobody at reception and anybody could have removed any of the keys. We once even found our key lying on the table some distance from where we had left it hanging. Also the ensuite toilet and shower were like stepping back in time to the 60s or 70s, which itself isnt a bad thing but it was dirty and smelly. There was a TV in our room but it was useless, one station worked. We had a ceiling fan which worked and a wall fan which didnt.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Anna JR-Saunders

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 August 2010

Liked: Breakfast included. Free taxi transfer from bus station when you arrive saves you R$15.

Disliked: Ground floor room with no curtains and damp - pillows were black inside cases. Ensuite bathroom a bit dated in the 70's. Kitchen cramped and didn't seem clean.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Graeme McKenzie

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 August 2010 Graeme would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel with a good atmosphere. The location is perfect for the beach and also a short walk into the main town.

Disliked: Secure lockers come at a cost & mozzies were an issue with a small broken window in our dorm

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly and helpfull, even turned a bunk bed into a double bed for us.Breakfast was okay.

Disliked: The noise. The hostel has a bar in front of it and if you sleep in one of the rooms on the ground floor it can be very noisy (at least it was two nights we were staying there). If you're looking for more of a party hostel where you can meet other backpackers, this place is probably great.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

06 May 2010

Liked: Hostel was in a great location and staff were a 100%. Juan was very helpful and gave us great advise for our onwards trip. Thanks :) The only problem we had was with our room there was glass missing from the window which led to a lot of mosquito bites.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Amy Tompkins

15 April 2010 Amy would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely fun friendly hostel, right on the beach, the staff go out of their way to help with all your queries- we turned up at 4.30 am and they let us have our room 7 hours before midday check in! Was raining pretty much the whole time but the hostel made the stay fun and found loads of activities for us to do. Tom rules and is totally hot! (Waaayyy more than Alex!)

Disliked: Amy left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Clarence Thomas

12 April 2010 Clarence would recommend this property

Liked: I enjoyed my stay at Geko hostel. The place was clean and my things were safe. The showers were always hot and the wifi always worked. The staff was friendly and helpful. I noticed the staff really enjoyed what they did and their positive energy radiated to the guest. Every night they offered something to do which was a cool way interact with others. I'd stay there again if I was back Paraty.

Disliked: Clarence left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

henry dyson

01 March 2010 henry would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is in a superb location while the friendly and helpful staff have manged to create an atmosphere that is both fun and relaxed. The inclusive nature of the Geko staff meant that even though I was traveling alone I was quickly put at ease and encouraged to enjoy my stay. The local knowledge provided and the enthusiasm it was imparted with was infectious and excellent.I would throughly recommend this hostel to all, no matter your dispostion you will quickly find that the Geko is accommodating and will enable you to make the most of your stay in the wonderful Paraty.

Disliked: henry left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Rasmus Loj

23 February 2010 Rasmus would recommend this property

Liked: I like everything about this place.. The staff was soooo friendly and helpfull

Disliked: Rasmus left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

12 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: shame about the lack of common room. only outside, not the best during sand storm and heavy rain. 1 TV but outside near the bar, so no posibly to chill out in front of a movie on the night off alcohol.great place to meet people and have fun though.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

25 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome place. Cheap, gorgeous location, wicked staff and the best hammock in south america. George the barman does brilliant caipirihas. They also refund your cab money from the bus station!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

23 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Tom!!!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ben Wright

22 December 2009 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: Great place (good rooms, good bar to hang out in), great location (right on beach and walking distance to centre) and excellent staff (helpful, speak many languages and sociable). Could not recommend it more.

Disliked: Ben left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Isa Beland

26 November 2009 Isa would recommend this property

Liked: I had really good time at Geko Hostel, I met a lot of people from differents countries and the staff is very friendly. The location just in front of the beach is really cool and only few minutes from bars and restaurants. The room and bathroom are really clean too.

Disliked: Isa left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Stephan Poser

19 September 2009 Stephan would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed there for almost a week in March '09, just a day after they opened. There was still quite some construction going on but staff was super nice, there was a BBQ and Bar twice a week or so. They didn't have any lockers though. It's located right on the beach, so it's great for hanging out and partying, but the beach isn't the best for swimming.

Disliked: Stephan left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

09 September 2009

Liked: It was near the centre, the beach in front of the door

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alex Dewar Durie

15 August 2009 Alex would recommend this property

Liked: its amazing how the staff can really make a hostel . everyone who worked here was extremely welcoming, friendly and helpful. the actual hostel is fantastic. great breakfasts! thank you

Disliked: Alex left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

08 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic breakfast, decent kitchen, clean, good location next to beach and short walk into town. However the internet is not free and not cheap, and the door in our dorm room didn´t close or lock, and no lockers were offered. Friendly and helpful staff. A little noisy at night if you want to sleep.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

14 June 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I highly recommend this hostel, it's the ideal place for a backpacker looking to meet people, they provide all the services you need, the staff are great, and it's located at two steps from the historic centre and right in front of the Beach. Thanks guys for a great stay.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Paraty hostels