HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Geko Hostel & Pousada Paraty Paraty Hostel

Rua Orlando Carpinelli, 5, Paraty, Brazil

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 80%

Location 94%

Safety 77%

Staff 93%

Value 83%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Cafe
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free City Maps
  • Fridge Freezer"
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • WiFi

Important Information

Property may require the card security code entered on the site. No amount will be charged, the information will be saved only to validate the policy of no-show. If we can't validate the Card within the following 3 days our system your reservation may be cancelled automatically


Terms and Conditions for group bookings:

- We require a 50% deposit.

- The group may have to be split-up with the Hostel Next Door

depending on availability, group size and configuration of

bedrooms.

- 3 nights minimum stay.

- Up to 15 persons max.

- For group bookings (15 persons max) we require a 30 day notice to

process cancellation.

- Deposits will not be refundable for cancellations with less than 30

days notice.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Paraty?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 80%

Location 94%

Safety 77%

Staff 93%

Value 83%

Showing 11-9 of 9 reviews

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good vibration, the break fast on the beach, in front of the beach, near historic center.

Disliked: Should be more organized.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Romantic getaway, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The staff was really helpfull and kind, the proximity to the beach is nice but the beach itself isn't the nicest. Good friendly atmosphere at the beach bar, always musicians playing, if you hate bob marley don't come here( but who hates bob marley?? Really??).

Disliked: Unfortunately we fell violently ill after the second night, we think it might of been due to the the plates for supper were not properly dried, the hostel staff told us they would make sure it wouldn't happen again but I would still be carefull.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Visiting friends or family

Liked: We were originally placed in a cramped dorm with no lockers and no where to put our bags. However when we asked the staff to move they took us to a much better spacious dorm with a lock and lockers. This was great though we were then told we had to move back to the cramped dorm as the hostel was full. The hostel then gave us a complimentary dinner and drink to apologise for this which i thought was extremely good of them. All the staff were great and more than happy to go beyond the call of duty to make sure we were happy.

Disliked: The cramped dorm as stated above...

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Kate,

We are glad and grateful of receiving you evaluation. We treasure you contact because it’s a valuable source of data about the pros and cons of our work.
Our job it’s always headed to 100% customer satisfaction. In an environment of increasing competition and higher demands, we only want to improve ourselves to offer you better service.
Once again, thank you for helping us in our hard work of offering our customers a better service.

Sincerely, Florencia.
Manager – Geko

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Breakfast was indeed very good and the location amazing (beach)

Disliked: Could have been cleaner

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: really friendly staff, delicious barbecue at the beach, clean rooms

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Good breakfast on the beach :) made the mornings amazing and the staff are really lovely.

Disliked: I´d recommend common areas to hang out in...but then you have the beach on your doorstep! A few knives in the kitchen would be nice though (there was only one useful one to chop up your food)

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The location is perfect. Right on the beach and still very close to the historic center of Paraty. There's very nice breakfast on the beach, and at night, there's a very nice bar on the beach! I would definitely stay here again.

Disliked: there's renovations going on, so you can't use all of the hostel. Fortunately they don't make to much noise, so it doesn't really bother anyone and it just means that soon, the hostel is going to be even better.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 May 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very good location, helpful staff, good price and nice location for breakfast, free internet access (maybe because it was an make-over durin our stay and they wanted to compensate it to the guests).

Disliked: Breakfast wasn't so good for me after I tried it in Bahia. I didn't like the situation when in the middle of the night one guy came to our room without any luggage and just jumped on the bunk bad anockced woke up our roommate. All of us were shocked because it looked like anybody rom the street can come in and take our stuff. At the reception they told that they knew him, without any explanation for us. We didn't feel safe because of that.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

We know that there were gaps and we have them identified. We are trying to develop new training methods for all employees, so that this problem is avoided to the maximum. We are also working on regulations and procedures for improvement in our services for Travelers.
Please count on our cooperation and understanding, and please accept our sincere apologies. We are taking the necessary steps to ensure that all guests remain 100% satisfied with the services provided.
Camila, Manager Geko Hostel

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 May 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The property could not be in a better location. Right on the beach. Having breakfast sat under the trees whilst looking at the ocean is pretty awesome. The hostel is currently under renovation, hence the reason for the lower score, however, the staff are really friendly and very helpful with tours etc.

Disliked: No lockers in the rooms. You have to pay extra to have a locker which is not in your room

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 May 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: nice location

Disliked: they were working verry hard on inproving the hostel and this interfeard whit the comford of the curend guests

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability