We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Paraty hostels

Reviews of Backpacker´s House

Hostel | rua Aldmar Coelho N°20, corner with Manoel Torres, Paraty, Brazil 23970000

87.1% Overall Rating

50 out of 57 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/08/2014)

"Location near bus station very handy. Breakfast was fantastic- lots of fresh food and variety. Common areas comfortable, would defo stay again."

Read all Backpacker´s House reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 407.83
  • Luggage Room USD 4,078.30
  • Breakfast USD 4,078.30
  • Linen USD 4,078.30
  • Towel USD 407.83

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Paraty?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Paraty

Adventure Hostel Paraty
8.16 USD

Hostel 80.8% 7 reviews
Pousada do Careca
17.54 USD

Guesthouse 88.4% 23 reviews
Hostel Recanto Azul
20.39 USD

Hostel 84.6% 53 reviews
Bossa Nova Hostel Paraty
12.23 USD

Hostel 81.1% 8 reviews
Che Lagarto Hostel Paraty
9.60 USD

Hostel 81.1% 129 reviews
Pousada Acquarela
40.78 USD

Guesthouse 93.0% 43 reviews
Paraty Hostel - Casa do Rio
16.31 USD

Hostel 77.9% 38 reviews
HC Hostel - Historic Centre
14.27 USD

Hostel 78.5% 102 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.1%

Overall Rating

50 out of 57 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Backpacker´s House'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
84.8%
Cleanliness
80.0%
Staff
90.4%
Value
87.2%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 51 of 57 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

04 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was close to the busstation and the old town. The breakfast was very good.

Disliked: We arrived in the evening and we didn't felt welcome. It was a little bit weird. We had to look for the staff and then she just gave us a bed. The guy in the morning was friendly.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location near bus station very handy. Breakfast was fantastic- lots of fresh food and variety. Common areas comfortable, would defo stay again.

Disliked: NA

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Barbara Burkert

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 April 2014 Barbara would recommend this property

Liked: Tours and trips with the hostel owner were fun! He also cooked a wonderful christmas dinner and made great caipirinha!

Disliked: Barbara left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Lauren Adamo

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 April 2014 Lauren would recommend this property

Liked: Really good staff - they planned a fun outting to nearby waterfalls that wasn't what we had originally planned to do but a fun group from the hostel was going and it ended up being perfect. The staff member who came with us was really great. Like the other reviews say, breakfast was amazing and there are good, social outdoor and indoor areas to hang out in.

Disliked: The tripple stacked bunk beds were a little daunting at first, especially since we got there late and I ended up on the top bed, but it ended up being okay.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Meyrick Williams

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 March 2014 Meyrick would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel, really friendly and helpful staff. Close to bus station and supermarket so ideal for trips and walking around paraty. Amazing breakfast, good wifi and chill out area, well equipped kitchen. Decent price for the area.

Disliked: Maybe could do with more toilets, but that's all.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice staff, incredible breakfast, aircon in the rooms

Disliked: bit small in the rooms and the common area for the amount of people staying in there, some more bathrooms would be nice too

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MICHAEL BARNSLEY

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 January 2014 MICHAEL would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were brilliant, very friendly and helpful. Good area to relax, rooms are good and the bbq was perfect!

Disliked: MICHAEL left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

27 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was by far one of the best hostels I stayed in Brazil! First, they welcomed me with a full-on barbecue with caipirinhas and everything! The next morning, the breakfast was something out of this world!! so many fruits, jams, delicassies, juices, cereals, etc. The staff is simply AMAZING and they'll go a long way to make your stay extra special!! My regards to the whole team and Gringo, the king of Paraty Backpackers House! :-)

Disliked: Nothing at all.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 December 2013

Liked: location is good, close to supermarket and the bus station

Disliked: not friendly owner, only 1 fridge, the owner family shares the hostel too.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I had a lovely stay with Pablo and team - booked for 2 nights and stayed 5. Pablo puts a lot of effort into ensuring his guests are looked after - from his nearly daily tours of the waterfalls, amazing breakfast, organised dinners with drinks to get the guests together, and he went above and beyond helping me get my transport sorted out of Paraty. Room itself was great - and improvements since some of the other comments; bathroom cleaned daily, a locker in the room for your stuff and fans for when it gets hot. Nice garden area with hammocks too. Had a great time, recommended.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cosy hostel with friendly staff. Nice common area to meet people. Very good breakfast with lots of variety.

Disliked: Dorms were very cramped with not enough room to store luggage. The hostel is a bit run down - could do with a spruce up.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Most friendly staff you could find. Amazing breakfast. Good value for money. Great location right near a cheap supermarket. Its a nice change being allowed to bring your own alcohol and drink it inside the hostel, most hostels in brazil dont seem to allow this. Comfortable beds and clean rooms. I would recommend this place to everyone.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elizabeth Harrison

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 June 2013 Elizabeth would recommend this property

Liked: Could not have been made to feel more at home by Pablo and co. They were lovely and could not have given more advice or a better breakfast. loved it. He even came with a group of us on a boat trip - they mean it when they say it will be your home.

Disliked: I had to leave and I didnt want to!

The property's response is...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 April 2013

Liked: Great breakfast with lots of options. Helpful staff who can give information about the local attractions. Good place to meet people with a very communal atmosphere. The owner is a nice guy. Good location near to the bus stop and supermarket. Washing is a good price for Brazil!

Disliked: My friends and I were very disappointed with the 8 bed dorm downstairs. The room was smelly, unclean and the beds were all very damp. The hostel overall felt unclean and it seemed as though the bathrooms were only cleaned once in our 3 night stay. Our dorm was right by the communal area so it was noisy at breakfast and evening times. There is not enough room in that dorm for everyone's bags and there is hardly anywhere to put your things when changing/taking a shower. The mosquitos are quite bad there too. For the bed and room we had the cost of the room is way overpriced. Also, they confused peoples washing whilst we were there so my boyfriend lost an item of clothing and another girls underwear was in my clothes!

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

13 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best breakfast in town.

Disliked: -

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah Molle

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 March 2013 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: As all the reviews say the breakfast is absolutely amazing! We were only planning on staying in paraty for 3 nights and wound up there for 9. The staff is amazing, it is all family run and has a very homey feel to it. Pablo is very helpful and gives every new guest a run down of the town and which buses to take to get to certain areas. It is also very clean, and they changed our bed linens 3 times during out stay which was a nice touch!

Disliked: Sarah left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Louise Sper

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 February 2013 Louise would recommend this property

Liked: Pablo is awesome...his family/staff are so kind and helpful and make you feel like home. Location is super convenient, as it is next to the main bus station and supermarket for town, so it's easy to bring food back to make lunch/dinner and easy to arrive/leave Paraty. And the best breakfast I've ever had.

Disliked: Louise left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Simas Prusinskas

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 November 2012 Simas would recommend this property

Liked: Superb breakfast, nice and helpful owner.

Disliked: Some alkotourists sleeping on the couch next to breakfast table while everybody has breakfast (2 days in a row).

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere. Felt more like a home. Felt very safe, and was so close to everything. Lovely hostel run by kind and helpful staff. Room was spacious and everything clean

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Rebecca Bradshaw

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 May 2012 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast was the best we have had in 5 months of travelling! So much choice and delicious fruit and cakes and jams. What made it nice was all eating and sharing at the table together, it was a good way to get to know the other guests and we could have lingered all morning. Pablo was very friendly and helpful, and the atmosphere generally in the hostel was very friendly.

Disliked: Our room was quite small and smelled a little musty, the bathroom was tiny too and quite basic. But we spent most of the time at the beach or outside so it didn't matter that much!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lydia Sawyer

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 April 2012 Lydia would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the fact the hostel was right next to the bus station and the supermarket, meant you didn't have far to walk with your big bag and only about a 5 minute walk into the centre!

Disliked: Lydia left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 March 2012

Liked: great location as it is close to the bus station (rodoviaria) and still in good walking distance to the old town. good breakfast.

Disliked: not the cleanest hostel, seems like the hostel was once very nice but unfortunately the owners don't care much about it..

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Young Lee

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

25 March 2012 Young would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly employee, well equiped facility, even there is a pool. Near bus station, but no traffic noise.

Disliked: Young people partying, dierction to the hostel is detailed, but there is four side of the bus station. supermarket was a bit difficult to find.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

renaldo lakerveld

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 March 2012 renaldo would recommend this property

Liked: The center en busterminal are close. the owner helps you by taking good beaches. also vibe in the hostel is really great. the garden is perfect.

Disliked: Nothing. only the swimmingpool is dirty

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Sehr nettes kleines Hostel. Das Frühstück war besonder gut, es gab frisch gepresste Säfte, frische Brötchen uvm. Die Räumlichkeiten waren alle sauber und das Personal sehr freundlich und hilfsbereit!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Paraty hostels