HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Backpackers House Paraty Paraty Hostel

rua Aldemar Duarte Coelho 20, Paraty, Brazil

Atmosphere 91%

Cleanliness 84%

Facilities 87%

Location 90%

Safety 89%

Staff 94%

Value 87%

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Swimming Pool
  • PlayStation
  • Steam room
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 288.57USD
  • Breakfast 2,885.73USD
  • Linen 2,885.73USD
  • Luggage Room 2,885.73USD
  • Towel 288.57USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Not Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Paraty?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 91%

Cleanliness 84%

Facilities 87%

Location 90%

Safety 89%

Staff 94%

Value 87%

Showing 11-12 of 12 reviews

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Tours and trips with the hostel owner were fun! He also cooked a wonderful christmas dinner and made great caipirinha!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: This hostel was by far one of the best hostels I stayed in Brazil! First, they welcomed me with a full-on barbecue with caipirinhas and everything! The next morning, the breakfast was something out of this world!! so many fruits, jams, delicassies, juices, cereals, etc.The staff is simply AMAZING and they'll go a long way to make your stay extra special!! My regards to the whole team and Gringo, the king of Paraty Backpackers House! :-)

Disliked: Nothing at all.

Customer would recommend this property

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: location is good, close to supermarket and the bus station

Disliked: not friendly owner, only 1 fridge, the owner family shares the hostel too.


The property's response is

I´m not friendly???? That´s why you extend from 1 day to 3 days stay? I work with my family; and to be familiar hostel is my policy, so if you have problems with that, I suggest to you to go to a Che Lagarto hostel were everything is unpersonal, and cold.
And yes, one frigde and 1 freezer (I have only 20 beds). But I think I should buy other fridge next and you could sleep inside

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: I had a lovely stay with Pablo and team - booked for 2 nights and stayed 5. Pablo puts a lot of effort into ensuring his guests are looked after - from his nearly daily tours of the waterfalls, amazing breakfast, organised dinners with drinks to get the guests together, and he went above and beyond helping me get my transport sorted out of Paraty. Room itself was great - and improvements since some of the other comments; bathroom cleaned daily, a locker in the room for your stuff and fans for when it gets hot. Nice garden area with hammocks too. Had a great time, recommended.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Cosy hostel with friendly staff. Nice common area to meet people. Very good breakfast with lots of variety.

Disliked: Dorms were very cramped with not enough room to store luggage. The hostel is a bit run down - could do with a spruce up.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Most friendly staff you could find. Amazing breakfast. Good value for money. Great location right near a cheap supermarket. Its a nice change being allowed to bring your own alcohol and drink it inside the hostel, most hostels in brazil dont seem to allow this. Comfortable beds and clean rooms. I would recommend this place to everyone.

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Could not have been made to feel more at home by Pablo and co. They were lovely and could not have given more advice or a better breakfast. loved it. He even came with a group of us on a boat trip - they mean it when they say it will be your home.

Disliked: I had to leave and I didnt want to!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

better, now you can come back!!! thanks, I hope to see you again soon
Pablo

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great breakfast with lots of options. Helpful staff who can give information about the local attractions. Good place to meet people with a very communal atmosphere. The owner is a nice guy. Good location near to the bus stop and supermarket. Washing is a good price for Brazil!

Disliked: My friends and I were very disappointed with the 8 bed dorm downstairs. The room was smelly, unclean and the beds were all very damp. The hostel overall felt unclean and it seemed as though the bathrooms were only cleaned once in our 3 night stay. Our dorm was right by the communal area so it was noisy at breakfast and evening times. There is not enough room in that dorm for everyone's bags and there is hardly anywhere to put your things when changing/taking a shower. The mosquitos are quite bad there too. For the bed and room we had the cost of the room is way overpriced. Also, they confused peoples washing whilst we were there so my boyfriend lost an item of clothing and another girls underwear was in my clothes!


The property's response is

maybe for this was that you extend your stay....you first are lying about the place to save backpacks because there is individual lockers 45x45x80 cm each (probably you did not find this), and a long place to hang clothes. There is 2 doors between the room and the living room, so if you leave both open and people screem, is noisy. There is a mosquito net in each bed. We don´t confuse, anything. And if you don´t like the cost, simply don´t come, we don´t deserve to receive you...please atay away

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Best breakfast in town.

Disliked: -

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: As all the reviews say the breakfast is absolutely amazing! We were only planning on staying in paraty for 3 nights and wound up there for 9. The staff is amazing, it is all family run and has a very homey feel to it. Pablo is very helpful and gives every new guest a run down of the town and which buses to take to get to certain areas. It is also very clean, and they changed our bed linens 3 times during out stay which was a nice touch!

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability