HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Paraty hostels

Reviews of Chill Inn Paraty Hostel & Pousada

Hostel | Rua Orlando Carpinelli, 3, Praia do Pontal, Paraty, Brazil 23970-000

85.8% Overall Rating

73 out of 84 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/07/2014)

Helio Da Costa E Silva thinks…

"I have stayed there before a couple of years ago and as I liked it I just decide to stay there again, the staff very friendly unfortunately I can't remember all the names I just remember one name…"

Read all Chill Inn Paraty Hostel & Pousada reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

To confirm your booking we need to authenticate the Credit Card used for the reservation. We need to request you to please send us the 3 digit number in the back of the Card. Please notice that this terms are shown on the booking engine as part of the Terms and Conditions for all reservations. Our system will eliminate your Card details after your arrival to the Hostel. We are really sorry for this trouble. If we can't validate the Card within the next 5 days our system will give priority to other bookings and your reservation may be cancelled automatically. ** Booking Valid for 5 days until Credit Card is validated. Please send us an email with the three digit number in the back of your card. Currency Exchange Rate We require payment on arrival. Please note that the actual total will be calculated by the hostel in its local currency, based on the currency exchange rate (if applicable) in effect at the time charging occurs. Terms and Conditions for group bookings: - We require a 50% deposit. - The group may have to be split-up with the Hostel Next Door depending on availability, group size and configuration of bedrooms. - 3 nights minimum stay. - Up to 15 persons max. - For group bookings (15 persons max) we require a 30 day notice to process cancellation. - Deposits will not be refundable for cancellations with less than 30 days notice.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Paraty?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Paraty

Geko Hostel & Pousada Paraty
11.06 USD

Hostel 86.9% 90 reviews
Refron du Mar B&B Paraty
24.44 USD

Hostel 88.3% 59 reviews
Paraty Central Hostel
15.55 USD

Hostel 79.3% 23 reviews
HC Hostel - Historic Centre
15.55 USD

Hostel 78.5% 102 reviews
Hostel Recanto Azul
22.22 USD

Hostel 84.6% 53 reviews
Pousada do Careca
19.11 USD

Guesthouse 88.4% 23 reviews
Hostel Sereia do Mar
15.55 USD

Hostel 80.9% 65 reviews
Che Lagarto Hostel Paraty
14.22 USD

Hostel 81.1% 129 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.8%

Overall Rating

73 out of 84 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Chill Inn Paraty Hostel & Pousada'

Atmosphere
84.8%
Location
97.6%
Facilities
82.4%
Cleanliness
81.6%
Staff
88.8%
Value
82.4%
Safety
83.2%
Refine your results Showing 60 of 74 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

11 November 2011

Liked: Great location right on the beach.

Disliked: Having to pay for use of the internet! Lack of quietness during the night hours. This is a party hostel so for those who want to party all night sleep all day it is great - if you want to do things during the day this one is not for you. The downstairs dorms open up to the communal area so always noise as doors don't close and anyway it would be too warm and you can hear everything happening in the toilet both from the dorm and the communal area!! not nice. The room has only one key and the lockers inside the room do not have locks. the only place to leave stuff locked up is outside in some wooden lockers. While I was there someone had lost their key so a saw was produced and the door sawn off - what if it was NOT their locker what proof was asked for? The Geiko next door shares all the facilities with Mistichilli. The "chill out area" is spread over communal kitchen and the "internet cafe"/reception. Kitchen is not too well equipped but supermarket is 20 min walk away so maybe you won't bother.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Astor Aversa

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

03 November 2011 Astor would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are the best

Disliked: Nothing

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A lovely location. Breakfast on the beach and the free caipirihna were real highlights!

Disliked: The rooms were basic and bunks did not have steps to top bunks which made for interesting mounting!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The weekly BBQ is amazing !! Best meal so far. Thy will also pay for your taxi fromthe bus station. Which us great.

Disliked: 9 bed dorm was a nightmare in a room that should only fit 4. Bathroom was so small and grotty that no one had a shower for our 1 night stay - out if nine!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

27 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Misti Chill Paraty Hostel & Pousada have a very good location good sraff an servise.

Disliked: All was axcellently.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 May 2011

Liked: The hostel ist close to the beach and breakfast is good.

Disliked: The dormitories are tiny and dark rooms with 3 level bunk beds, some broken lockers and not very clean. The atmosphere was nothing special and staff was rather rude.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

26 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere for both relaxation and for a good party with fun like minded people, Decent breakfast and cleaners do a great job in the rooms and common areas, they were always on the go!

Disliked: Not much room for bags in rooms, pretty muggy in dorms due to lack of windows or ventilation but nothing that would stop me from going back

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to beach and just a short walk from the historic town centre. The dinner was good value but need to get in early as it runs out. I was told the caipirinhas were awesome, although did not sample them myself. Good atmosphere. The staff is friendly although not too enthusiastic. Great thing was that they offered many activities without being pushy and gave advise on how to get around the town. Breakfast was good and the hostel was nice and lively at night, a good place to meet new people. But just to put it straight, this is backpackers, not an oasis!

Disliked: -- There was no pick up and although we tried to call the hostel, the line was engaged for 45 min. We eventually found out from a friendly tourist information office close to bus station that we needed to get a taxi which will be then reimbursed by the hostel. Not a biggie but it would have been nice to know. Also, fellow travelers make sure only to agree on R$15 taxi rate. One one-armed taxi driver asked for R$20 but the hostel reimburses R$15 only. -- Both communal areas and dorms are a bit run down and felt dirty. The dorms with fan only can get very hot. The "chill out area" is spread over communal kitchen and the "internet cafe"/reception. Kitchen is not too well equipped and there is not too much room in the fridge for your own stuff (if you can bother making the 20 min walk to supermarket to get anything). -- The downstairs dorms open up to the communal area and although having fellow travelers drinking right outside your door at night was not a problem for me, it was off putting to have them constantly ask to use your toilet (as there is no public toilets) as you were trying to get ready for the bed. Some of these people were not even staying at the hostel.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

24 March 2011

Liked: Location is great. Rooms are a decent size and bathrooms pretty good.

Disliked: Having to pay for use of the internet!?!?! First time in over 20 hostel stays!!! Not only that it is painfully slow, and one of the PCs has its date set incorrectly so you cannot book hostels from it. Don´t use the laundry service provided. We had to wait two days for our washing to come back. Chased and chased....finally arrived the morning of our departure causing us to almost to miss our bus. To top it all of nothing had been washed!!!!!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Marco Stazi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 March 2011 Marco would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is always helpful, frendly and easygoing. Wonderful location just in front of the beache and few minutes walking from the historical center.

Disliked: The 9-beds shared room has not so much space

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Matthew Green

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 February 2011 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Nice, helpfull staff. Lots of info on what to do, where to go etc. The dinners were great, the general feel of the place is 'chill' with a wide range of guest all interesting and enjoying thier stay.

Disliked: The nine bed dorm room has an a/c poking through the wall that doesnt work, I'm certain there is an easy fix to it, but alas, the room turns into a fan forced oven during the least mild of nights... As the wireless network is, the computers could/should just be free... why charge for ever thing you can?

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: close to the beach, dinner offer, good location, helpful staff

Disliked: dorm was a little small for 9 beds, not really much space to put backpacks

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice social area. Really nice staff. Good location across from the beach. Offers to book tours for you. Good place to meet people.

Disliked: Triple bunk beds in the 9 bed dorm and the room was very dark and not much air.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 January 2011

Liked: It's proximity to the beach and the price and that is it!

Disliked: I wrote most of my comments above in the section on how the hostel differs from what it says on the website. Did not like: - Cramped, crowded rooms with no place to put luggage so people would trip over everything as they came in at night - Broken lockers - Dirty, disgusting mold-filled bathroom - Toilet did not flush properly - Shower-head barely put out enough water to wash the soap off your body, much less from your hair. It was literally just a drizzle. - Shower heated by electrical wires which were poking out in all directions, giving fear that I would be electrocuted while taking a shower - Provided ripped and torn sheets to put on the bed - Only 2 hammocks in "chill" area - Towels, which you have to pay for, are also old and disgusting

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 December 2010

Liked: Great Location

Disliked: The nine bed dorm is like sleeping in a sauna, there is no real common area, internet is very expensive. The place is filled with staff who are just drink together and are unhelpful and rude.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Helder Fernandes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 November 2010 Helder would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very friendly, they took us out on a pub crawl that was really great fun and showed me the best caipirinha in the world! Caipi-gabriela - not to be missed!!

Disliked: Helder left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Lennert Jongh

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 August 2010 Lennert would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel has a great atmosphere. Dorms, at least the 9p, is pretty crampy though :S.

Disliked: Lennert left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

22 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere, nice place to meet a lot of people, friendly staff that is very helpful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gina Naevdal

24 April 2010 Gina would recommend this property

Liked: the atmosphere is great. the live night show was awesome. the staff was beyond amazing and we will give a special thanks to the lovely Flor! You did a great job! Its also right next to the beach and just a short walk from the old town. Clean rooms and daily dinners are served for only 12 Real! water and beer sold at the hostel is cheap = awesome.

Disliked: Gina left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

16 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Right in front of beach, but can't swim there. Boat tour was great that the hostel organized. Kitchen very small and music cranking from 8am til 10pm everyday.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

27 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the beach - good links with Geko next door, basically 2 hostels in 1.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

01 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great vibe, nicely run and organised and helpfukll staff. Kitchen is severly lacking in utensils and is too small, but better than many in Brazil we have seen.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

26 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: If you need a place to lay your head and take a shower it's convienent!! It was a little too fraternity party for my liking but it did the job!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Cherie Wadsworth

15 December 2009 Cherie would recommend this property

Liked: good hostel, nice location - 5 mins to main centre, cross the road to a nice quiet beach... good breakfast! helpful staff... make sure you have plenty of bottle water because they sometimes run out... dinners on offer combined with hotel next door not always value for money.

Disliked: Cherie left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

25 November 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Misti Chill is a great little hostel just outside the old town, the staff are so helpfull and friendly especially Jason. He took great care of us during our stay and made sure we got to see the paraty nightlife and the beaitiful beaches. I would really reccomend this hostel , felt like home. Stay in the 9 bed dorm instead of the 6 if you get the option, it has AC and is cheaper!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Paraty hostels