HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Paraty hostels

Reviews of Pousada Acquarela

Guesthouse | Rua Joao do Prado, 12, Paraty, Brazil n/a

93.0% Overall Rating

41 out of 43 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/02/2014)

maria de la maza thinks…

"The location, the cleaness of the bathroom, the pool, the breakfast, the shower...and the owner, Emerson, is very kind and honest."

Read all Pousada Acquarela reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Paraty?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Paraty

Paraty Hostel - Casa do Rio
11.17 USD

Hostel 77.9% 38 reviews
Che Lagarto Hostel Paraty
12.00 USD

Hostel 81.5% 128 reviews
Adventure Hostel Paraty
8.94 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Backpacker´s House
18.77 USD

Hostel 89.4% 54 reviews
Hostel Recanto Azul
22.34 USD

Hostel 84.6% 53 reviews
Pousada do Careca
14.52 USD

Guesthouse 90.0% 20 reviews
Refron du Mar B&B Paraty
13.40 USD

Hostel 87.8% 55 reviews
Bossa Nova Hostel Paraty
31.28 USD

Hostel 81.1% 8 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.0%

Overall Rating

41 out of 43 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Pousada Acquarela'

Atmosphere
92.8%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
92.0%
Cleanliness
93.6%
Staff
97.6%
Value
88.8%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 32 of 35 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

maria de la maza

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa

18 February 2014 maria would recommend this property

Liked: The location, the cleaness of the bathroom, the pool, the breakfast, the shower...and the owner, Emerson, is very kind and honest.

Disliked: maria left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Raúl Gómez Acedo

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

31 March 2013 Raúl would recommend this property

Liked: The host was very friendly and helpful, always talking with the guests. The breakfast was good and the facilities are quite nice (swimming pool, nice rooms with bathroom)

Disliked: It was a little bit expensive, taking into account that we were not in a big city, but a small town. No wifi.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Louise McCulloch

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 February 2013 Louise would recommend this property

Liked: From when we arrived to when we left the owner was really helpful and friendly, really couldn't find fault at all. The room we were in was really clean, fresh towels, air con and ceiling fans and a small balcony. We only had 2 days in Paraty and he booked us on to a trip up to the waterfalls which was one of the highlights of our holiday and also pointed us to the beaches which were a must see. Didn't have any problems with bus times, they left on the hour and returned between half past and quarter to the hour. One of the bonuses for us was that the owner spoke really good English! Definitely the best place we stayed at during our time in Brasil.

Disliked: Louise left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

14 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a fantastic little hotel. The owner, a young Brazilian guy is so friendly and incredibly helpful. He was happy to chat to his guests for hours. He would draw maps, showing you the best beaches to go to and even helped us out with sorting out an issue we had with our next hostel in Rio. The rooms are very clean and comfortable and there is a lovely pool. Can't recommend this place highly enough. A top hotel.

Disliked: Nothing.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

11 February 2013

Liked: nothing

Disliked: the room was not as expected. a hole in the wall. the door to the room is also the only source of air and light. you need to choose between a stuffy room or mosquitoes. there are no mosquito nets available. the two dogs, who belong to the owner, pooped everywhere, all the time. so you better watch very closely where you walk, especially barefoot. we did leave early. the owner spoke perfect english, and he could not stop telling us that it was our own fault to have booked his place in the first place. and even he had another, nicer room , he refused to give it to us, well knowing, that a walk-up customer would never agree to rent the room we were in.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely helpful host who made sure your stay was comfortable...and thanks for the room upgrade. One tip tho, you are giving the wrong info on bus times to travellers..you might need to update your knowledge!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

25 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and friendly

Disliked: The owner gave wrong informations about bus times even when we told him we thought he was wrong

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Clayton Weir

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 February 2012 Clayton would recommend this property

Liked: The pool & owner are great!

Disliked: Clayton left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

16 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of our favorite places to stay so far in South America. The owner is super nice and chatty and helpful. Although the other staff speaks no English, his English is perfect. There is a great pool that all travelers gather around which beats a common room anyday. Breakfast was nice with fruit salad, fresh bread and variety. We had the twin which was small but comfy. Rooms were cleaned daily. Although it may seem pricey here it is worth it!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff

Disliked: The shower

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

27 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Emerson the owner is extremely kind and helpful. Tries extremely hard to make his guests comfortable including new beds, quality towels and bedlinen! Good suggestions of things to. Lovely pousada with excellent rooms in clean and well maintained. Ignore the fun factor rating, its a mellow place to chill out with a pool but we were out more than in so didn´t get to use it.

Disliked: Disliked nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pia Brosda

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 January 2011 Pia would recommend this property

Liked: We had a really great stay here! The owner Emerson was so friendly, hepled to book and print tickets and recommended, informed and reserved tours in Parati! Comfortable beds, nice pool, close to bus station and historical center. Best Caipi Passion Fruit in Town! We can only recommend.

Disliked: Nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

16 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Humming birds feeding by pool, location to old town. Manager was helpful and loves to tell tall tales if you have the time. Great Brazillian/Arabic pizza restaurant nearby called Camelo.

Disliked: Pool could be cleaned more often, our twin room could do with a thorough clean

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I was only here for one night but Emerson was great. I had to use skype and I could use his Iphone, so nice! And he made a nice cup of strong coffee :-)

Disliked: Nothing really.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

scott macgregor

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

08 January 2011 scott would recommend this property

Liked: The Gentleman that runs the Hostel is really nice and will bend over backwards to make sure you enjoy your time in Paraty. He will give you reccommendations of all the good places to go and make sure it is at the right price. The Hostel itself is very clean and really nice. It is about 200m from the old town so nice and peaceful but still really close to all the action.

Disliked: Nothing it was great.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This has been the best accommodation we have stayed in to date in our 2 months in South America. A charming and beautiful setting with a big pool and welcoming and friendly host and owner. The rooms are beautiful and clean and the breakfast was excellent. Thanks for a great stay and wish we coud have stayed longer. Andrew and Claudia Jennings

Disliked: We did not dislike anything besides the fact that "fun" is a rating category on hostelbookers when "fun" is a completely personal perception.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Kennard

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

01 January 2011

Liked: Nice, quiet location - close, but not too close to downtown; pleasant, helpful host; ceiling fans as well as air-condition, so one can chose; very nice breakfast.

Disliked: No problems with the hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ava arenas

17 March 2010 ava would recommend this property

Liked: apart from its charm and cleanliness, i liked the tasteful decor, and the different coloured rooms.breakfast was also wonderful, and it was served each day to your table so that you´re not having to deal with food that has been sitting in a buffet for hours.the biggest highlight however, would have to be the owner and his family (including the two little dogs). they were all an absolute delight, and it really felt like home without having any intrusions.i really enjoyed my stay, and to this day, recommend pousada aquarela to people.

Disliked: ava left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

12 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: love love loved it

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

allan little

24 February 2009 allan would recommend this property

Liked: A superb place to stay. Emerson is brilliant, his breakfasts are massive and delicious, and the pousada itself is absolutely beautiful. The nicest place we`ve stayed in 5 months of travelling.

Disliked: allan left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Leonard Hulley

20 February 2009 Leonard would recommend this property

Liked: The swimming pool is nice, the breakfast is superb and the owner is one of the nicest guys I have ever met.

Disliked: Leonard left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Titus Baptist

13 February 2009 Titus would recommend this property

Liked: relax place, excellent for couples, small rooms but clean

Disliked: Titus left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Giacomo Bonazzola

27 January 2009 Giacomo would recommend this property

Liked: The Breackfast, the shower, and the location

Disliked: Giacomo left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

12 January 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, atmosphere

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Helen Game

03 December 2008 Helen would recommend this property

Liked: The place was brilliant, great room, pool, food, staff and location. Emerson gave us great info about all the things to do around paraty and taught me how to play backgamon! thanks emerson!

Disliked: Helen left no negative feedback.


See all Paraty hostels