HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Paraty hostels

Reviews of HC Hostel - Historic Centre

Hostel | Rua Dona Geralda 211, Centro Historico, Paraty, Brazil 23970000

77.0% Overall Rating

88 out of 101 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/03/2013)

Silvia Gomez Fumado thinks…

"The staff was very kind and helpfull, especially the english guy who speaks spanish perfectly! The breakfast was good and it's situated in the center of the historic center, that's perfect."

Read all HC Hostel - Historic Centre reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Special Event Booking for: (Bourbon Festival 2014: from the 23rd to the 25th of May; Corpus Christi: from the 19th to the 22nd of June; FLIP 2014: from the 30th of July to the 3rd of August; XXXII Festival da Cachaça, Cultura e Sabores de Paraty: from the 21st to the 24th of August; Paraty Latino 2014: from the 19th to the 22nd of September; Mimo Paraty 2014: from the 10th to the 13th of October; Christmas and New Year 2014: from the 29th of December to the 2nd of January 2015) **Payment Method: (Wire transfer and cash). ** Payment policy for special event booking: (A 50% payment in advance is required. After your booking is confirmed by hostelworld.com, you will be contacted to proceed and arrange the payment method. Failure to complete the payment in 72 hours will result in cancellation of your booking.) **Cancellation Policy for special event booking: (A minimum of 5 days prior to check in date is required. Non Refundable). **Things to Note: (If your arrival time is different from the reception hours (8am-12pm), please contact the property to arrange accordingly your check in time.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Paraty?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Paraty

Pousada do Careca
14.56 USD

Guesthouse 88.4% 23 reviews
Paraty Central Hostel
15.68 USD

Hostel 79.3% 23 reviews
Hostel Recanto Azul
22.40 USD

Hostel 84.6% 53 reviews
Refron du Mar B&B Paraty
13.44 USD

Hostel 88.3% 59 reviews
Adventure Hostel Paraty
8.96 USD

Hostel 81.0% 3 reviews
Backpacker´s House
18.82 USD

Hostel 89.0% 55 reviews
Che Lagarto Hostel Paraty
14.22 USD

Hostel 81.5% 128 reviews
Pousada Acquarela
25.98 USD

Guesthouse 93.0% 43 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
77.0%

Overall Rating

88 out of 101 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'HC Hostel - Historic Centre'

Atmosphere
75.2%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
71.2%
Cleanliness
70.4%
Staff
76.0%
Value
72.0%
Safety
81.6%
Refine your results Showing 76 of 82 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

helena macgregor

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 February 2014 helena would recommend this property

Liked: Nice relaxed vibe, lovely courtyard, good breakfast

Disliked: Nothing

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Silvia Gomez Fumado

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 March 2013 Silvia would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very kind and helpfull, especially the english guy who speaks spanish perfectly! The breakfast was good and it's situated in the center of the historic center, that's perfect.

Disliked: I slept in the 9 bed room upstairs, the cheapest one I know but for this price in my opinion for sure it could be better. The room is old and the furniture, mattres and pillows the worst, each one diferent it seems that they take all the old forniture in the rubbish, pillows not dirty disgusting! The old sink that there is in the room smell pis, take one bed far from there... And if it's not enough there are a lot of mosquitos in the room and you can not do anything because the windows are broken. I couldn't sleep well any night. But is true that the common rooms downstais and the prive rooms are much better, my recomendation if you wanna stay there is pay a little bit more, then you will sleep better. The common area next to the reception is small but it will be fine if the owners will wash the poor dog that they have, he smells so bad and he is laying all the day around there, if they can not take care of the dog don't have a big dog in a hostel! The breakfast was ok, but they put everytime a small amount of bread, ham, cheese, if there are more than 3 people you have to wait that they put some more...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

11 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a very small and simple hostel. Definitely get what you pay for - a simple bed with sheets and in a great part of town. Not too much to rave about, but it's decent enough to stay for a day or two! Not a hostel to stay in if you're looking to socialize, just a clean bed to sleep in and good breakfast!

Disliked: I wish there were more options for socializing with other guests or tips on things to do at night. The owner seemed very out of things that were going on in the city. We were also lucky we were two of the few people in the room. There are only 2 fans for about 10 beds, and the room is on the top floor of a small building, making it super hot! We had to sleep right under the fans to sleep at night.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything best hostel yet staff were so friendly, and helpful. location was perfect, it was very clean. we couldnt get a coach ticket to sao paulo as they all had sold out, but the staff at the hostel were very caring and helpful and the owner drove us there, although more expensive than the coach would have been, at least we were not stranded!

Disliked: nothing except be careful of the dog, it can bite! so don't try to touch it

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Family Holiday

22 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, in the heart of Paraty Excellent breakfast The staff was very attentive

Disliked: the owner could improve the structure of rooms and buy new computers

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a pretty standard hostel, but it did have a bar with cheap drinks.

Disliked: They keep a mean dog on the property. He doesn't bite, but he will scare the guests. He walks up like he wants some attention, but if you pet him he freaks out and lunges at you. The staff wasn't incredibly helpful, there's room for improvement there. Simple things like providing maps of the town, etc.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is awesome.

Disliked: The room was extremely warm (and also had 7 beds though we booked into a 6). Bedding and mattresses had seen better days and could use replacing (most of the stuff was pretty worn). The staff was hard to deal with and not very helpful. Wifi was touch and go...overall not a great experience!

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 January 2013

Liked: nothing

Disliked: the bad and the shawers/toalet was tarable

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice staff, breakfast

Disliked: Breakfast every day the same

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Erika Terriani Murbache

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

10 August 2012 Erika would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff and breakfast!

Disliked: Erika left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Edouard Besserve

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2012 Edouard would recommend this property

Liked: We had a very good time in this hostel : nice room, cozy atmosphere, great location (very central and quiet at the same time), good breakfast. The staff was very friendly and helpful (even for Brazilian standards !)

Disliked: Edouard left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The friendliness of the staff, the good breakfast.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mariana Sa

Alone

Work / volunteering

18 June 2012 Mariana would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked staying at this hostel. Great location, close of Centro Historico and Bus Station. The staff was awesome, very friendly and ready to help you on what you need. Bathroom and dormitory very clean. A good atmosphere. I surelly recommend this place.

Disliked: Mariana left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kiran padda

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 June 2012 Kiran would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms all come off a courtyard and therefore as private as you like but also there are many places to mingle with other guests. The hosts are fantastic- two guys that look like Kenan and Kel and have an excellent sense of humour! They also had lots of local knowledge which ensured that we enjoyed what Paraty has to offer! There is an excellent Crepe cafe a stones throw from the hostel.

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jamie Carroll

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 April 2012 Jamie would recommend this property

Liked: good place to stay and has a lot of potential to be a great hostel when busier.

Disliked: dog is aggressive be careful. Lockers are very small

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Rafael Farias

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 February 2012 Rafael would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Nice and tranquil.

Disliked: Just a place to lay down at night.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 April 2011

Liked: It has a very good location in the old town and the bbq buffet was excellent

Disliked: Staff are abit odd. The dorm is also very hot and sweaty! The mosquitos enjoyed a good nibble on my legs whilst trying to sleep in the room.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Sim Williams

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

21 March 2011

Liked: Location

Disliked: The room was smelly and hot and I could not open the window. The wood frame around the window was roting and there was severe damp in the room. The single bed in the room had a big dip in the matteress and needs replacing. I would not sleep in the room if they paid me. We complained and left immediately. I refused to spend a night there. However, the staff was extremly nice and did suggest using their turbo fan in the reception, but no fan could make that room any better.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Verónica Gartich

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

03 January 2011 Verónica would recommend this property

Liked: The location, the staff, the facilities...

Disliked: Nothing

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Frederick Joyner

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break

02 January 2011

Liked: Things I liked are that it was, like the name implies, right in the middle of the Historic Centre. The bed was comfortable and the fans were constantly on. The breakfast was also pretty good.

Disliked: I had a pretty experience good experience at this hostel overall. Until the morning I checked out that is. That morning I woke up to find 100 reais missing from my locker. I wasn't even going to think much of it (possible that I had dropped it or something it like that) until 3 Swedish folks were talking about how exactly half of their money was missing from their locker as well. Their money had disappeared a few days before (when the room we were staying in had a different group of people in it), so we deduced that it was most likely a staff member. The sign says that the hostel is responsible for contents in the lockers they provide, but when you mention that they start to stall and studder and give the impression they don't understand what you are saying. Also, one bathroom/shower for 12 people makes for long lines in the morning. If it weren't for the missing reais, and their inability to handle or do anything about it, I would have given this place a pretty good rating (I overlook things like bathroom lines as long as the atmosphere is good).

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 December 2010

Liked: great location

Disliked: the sheets on the bed were filthy and had clearly not been washed (suspicious white stains) gross. they stank. so we pulled out our sleeping bags.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

22 November 2010

Liked: Breakfast was especially good, staff are nice, location is perfect, cheaply priced.

Disliked: One shabby and a bit dirty bathroom between 10 or more people just doesnt work, staff and owners make lots of noise in morning and evening when people trying to sleep, the all you can eat BBQ never ever happned even thougbh we were told it would, staff are disorganised and constantly over booking rooms and beds meaning people need to stay elsewhere for a night.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were brilliant and it has a really nice and chilled atmosphere.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Megan McConachy

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

26 October 2010 Megan would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome location, good kitchen

Disliked: Megan left no negative feedback.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

15 September 2010

Liked: Almost nothing except the breakfast and the infrastructure

Disliked: The staff is highly uncompetent and so unpleasant, helpless. they say "feel like home" of "be welcome" but they are not cooperative. One dirty bathroom is used by 12/14 people


See all Paraty hostels