We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Paraty hostels

Reviews of Paraty Hostel - Casa do Rio

Hostel | Rua Antonio Oliveira Vidal, Paraty, Brazil 23970000

77.9% Overall Rating

31 out of 38 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/08/2013)

"the location is a bit away from the old part of town but still close to things. It is located right on a canal. There is kitchen access and the possibility for cooking a bit on your own. Large supermarket 5 min walk…"

Read all Paraty Hostel - Casa do Rio reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • BBQ area
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Paraty?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Paraty

Pousada Acquarela
40.78 USD

Guesthouse 93.0% 43 reviews
Che Lagarto Hostel Paraty
9.06 USD

Hostel 81.1% 129 reviews
Adventure Hostel Paraty
10.20 USD

Hostel 80.8% 7 reviews
Hostel Recanto Azul
20.39 USD

Hostel 84.6% 53 reviews
Backpacker´s House
17.13 USD

Hostel 87.1% 57 reviews
Pousada do Careca
23.65 USD

Guesthouse 88.4% 23 reviews
HC Hostel - Historic Centre
14.27 USD

Hostel 78.5% 102 reviews
Refron du Mar B&B Paraty
20.39 USD

Hostel 88.9% 60 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
77.9%

Overall Rating

31 out of 38 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Paraty Hostel - Casa do Rio'

Atmosphere
80.0%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
73.6%
Cleanliness
70.4%
Staff
83.2%
Value
75.2%
Safety
78.4%
Refine your results Showing 23 of 27 reviews
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location is a bit away from the old part of town but still close to things. It is located right on a canal. There is kitchen access and the possibility for cooking a bit on your own. Large supermarket 5 min walk away. And also close to the bus station. People are very friendly and most of the time there is a staff member on duty who speaks some English.

Disliked: I stayed in a 5 bed dormatory and there is only one key for the room. It would have been better with a key for each person in the room as people are not neccesarily together.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice place

Disliked: Rooms a little small

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 November 2012

Liked: Friendly staff decent wifi breakfast ok

Disliked: damp, smelly room very small room and bathroom, no atmosphere, more family/friends than travellers present

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lucy Ison

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2012 Lucy would recommend this property

Liked: really liked the property is itself, beautiful building and right by the river good breakfast

Disliked: staff not that helpful, when i arrived they maintained they had never recieved the 10% i had paid to hostel bookers and therefore i had to pay it again. generally they were quite unhelpful and rude.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice hostel, friendly staff, good breakfast, decent location

Disliked: Very small rooms, tiny bathroom and toilets always smelt

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly and helpful. They recommended a great boat tour for us to do. The hostel is a lovely place to relax, there are hammocks everywhere and a deck right on the river. The location is great, just a walk to the bus stop and a walk into old Paraty. What a fabulous city.

Disliked: The cleanliness could have been better. One day they did not empty our bathroom garbage bin. And the room smelt a little like pee. The bedsheets did not fit the bed and came off whilst we slept, so you were basically sleeping in the mattress. I would still recommend this place though, and probably stay there again.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

caroline pattinson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

20 February 2012 caroline would recommend this property

Liked: Jonny the bar man is really friendly and helpful. The place has a really nice atmosphere and good communal areas. Great location as well, right by the river.

Disliked: My dorm had a useless ceiling fan and we couldn`t open the window as there was no mosquito net over it. It was stiflingly hot! When someone from the dorm complained about it they did put up a mosquito net, but it had quite a few holes. Other than that the dorm was lovely,

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 February 2012

Liked: Nada

Disliked: The rude and unhelpful lying staff.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sarah Boyle

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

21 January 2012 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Casa de Rio is a great family hostel with a quiet and relaxing vibe. It is in a great location and has a friendly staff. They really go out of their way to make sure you are comfortable... and have a great breakfast!

Disliked: Sarah left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

JohnPaul Bates

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year

26 November 2011

Liked: I liked the main house and the staff very nice and helpful, but I didn't stay in the main house.

Disliked: I did not like the annex, house 2. Downstairs smelt of damp and upstairs wasn't much better. The sheets don't fit the bed, it smells of piddle (urine) and at night you can hear the RATS scurrying around in the attic, not nice at all. I wasn't too fond of the toilet either but it was the cleanest part of the room.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great locations, a couple of mins walk from the bus station and close to the historic town. Great breakfast and probaby the best we have had so far.

Disliked: Whole place was a bit run down and our room was stale with mouldy pillows. The bed was the squeekiest bed ever too! We get the impression that the whole place needs new matresses and bedding.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Diane Chan

16 October 2009 Diane would recommend this property

Liked: great location by riverside! helpful staff.

Disliked: Diane left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

sophie davis

23 May 2009 sophie would recommend this property

Liked: We were lucky as when we stayed in the 4 bed dorm room there was only 2 of us as the rooms were TINY barely big enough for 2 people and all their bags ... room also had a double bed and bunks so i guess you may ahve to share with a stranger lol but nice clean hostel over all

Disliked: sophie left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

03 March 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice outdoor area. Boat trip.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

wendy curtis

02 March 2009 wendy would recommend this property

Liked: good choice to chill after carnaval

Disliked: wendy left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Zella and Charles Kosa

26 December 2008 Zella and Charles would recommend this property

Liked: everything. just a great place to stay.

Disliked: Zella and Charles left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

24 December 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and friendliness

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Alasdair Young

14 April 2008 Alasdair would recommend this property

Liked: Cosy, friendly atmosphere. Most social hostel we´ve stayed at.

Disliked: Alasdair left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Harry Snell

01 March 2008 Harry would recommend this property

Liked: Nice friendly staff and backs onto the river where they do their own boat trips from.

Disliked: Harry left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

18 February 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Boat trip offerd by the Hostel- it was a fabulous day out.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julie Stone

16 February 2008 Julie would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel has a beautiful setting. It´s on the river, and the small courtyard as tables, a hammock, and a tiny pool. Each dorm room is locked, but individual lockers would have been nice.

Disliked: Julie left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ben Headlam

01 February 2008 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent social/common area with great character and charm.

Disliked: Ben left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alicia Wong

16 January 2008 Alicia would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place with friendly and helpful staff. However, the receptionist never passed on a message even though my name was clearly written and she had seen my name in the register. Rooms were extremely cramped, although clean.

Disliked: Alicia left no negative feedback.


See all Paraty hostels