HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Paraty Hostel - Casa do Rio Paraty Hostel

R. Antonio Oliveira Vidal, 120, Paraty, Brazil

Atmosphere 83%

Cleanliness 67%

Facilities 70%

Location 81%

Safety 77%

Staff 81%

Value 74%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Meals available
  • Meeting Room
  • Outdoor Swimming Pool
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Not Accepted

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Paraty?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 83%

Cleanliness 67%

Facilities 70%

Location 81%

Safety 77%

Staff 81%

Value 74%

Showing 1-1 of 1 reviews

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: the location is a bit away from the old part of town but still close to things. It is located right on a canal. There is kitchen access and the possibility for cooking a bit on your own. Large supermarket 5 min walk away. And also close to the bus station.People are very friendly and most of the time there is a staff member on duty who speaks some English.

Disliked: I stayed in a 5 bed dormatory and there is only one key for the room. It would have been better with a key for each person in the room as people are not neccesarily together.

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Really nice place

Disliked: Rooms a little small

Customer would recommend this property

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Friendly staffdecent wifibreakfast ok

Disliked: damp, smelly roomvery small room and bathroom, no atmosphere, more family/friends than travellers present

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: really liked the property is itself, beautiful building and right by the river good breakfast

Disliked: staff not that helpful, when i arrived they maintained they had never recieved the 10% i had paid to hostel bookers and therefore i had to pay it again. generally they were quite unhelpful and rude.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Nice hostel, friendly staff, good breakfast, decent location

Disliked: Very small rooms, tiny bathroom and toilets always smelt

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The staff were very friendly and helpful. They recommended a great boat tour for us to do. The hostel is a lovely place to relax, there are hammocks everywhere and a deck right on the river. The location is great, just a walk to the bus stop and a walk into old Paraty. What a fabulous city.

Disliked: The cleanliness could have been better. One day they did not empty our bathroom garbage bin. And the room smelt a little like pee. The bedsheets did not fit the bed and came off whilst we slept, so you were basically sleeping in the mattress. I would still recommend this place though, and probably stay there again.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: Jonny the bar man is really friendly and helpful. The place has a really nice atmosphere and good communal areas. Great location as well, right by the river.

Disliked: My dorm had a useless ceiling fan and we couldn`t open the window as there was no mosquito net over it. It was stiflingly hot! When someone from the dorm complained about it they did put up a mosquito net, but it had quite a few holes. Other than that the dorm was lovely,

Customer would recommend this property

20% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
20% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Nada

Disliked: The rude and unhelpful lying staff.

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Casa de Rio is a great family hostel with a quiet and relaxing vibe. It is in a great location and has a friendly staff. They really go out of their way to make sure you are comfortable... and have a great breakfast!

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Nov 2011

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: I liked the main house and the staff very nice and helpful, but I didn't stay in the main house.

Disliked: I did not like the annex, house 2. Downstairs smelt of damp and upstairs wasn't much better. The sheets don't fit the bed, it smells of piddle (urine) and at night you can hear the RATS scurrying around in the attic, not nice at all. I wasn't too fond of the toilet either but it was the cleanest part of the room.

Check Availability