We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of O Sorriso do Lagarto Ouro Preto Hostel

Hostel | Conselheiro Quintiliano 271, Centro, Ouro Preto, Brazil 35400-000

74.9% Overall Rating

48 out of 59 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/07/2013)

"Washington and his amazing staff were very accommodating and made me feel welcome"

Read all O Sorriso do Lagarto Ouro Preto Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Ouro Preto?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
74.9%

Overall Rating

48 out of 59 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'O Sorriso do Lagarto Ouro Preto Hostel'

Atmosphere
64.0%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
58.4%
Cleanliness
68.0%
Staff
88.8%
Value
76.0%
Safety
79.2%
Refine your results Showing 44 of 51 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Isabel Cristiane da Silva

Alone

Business / conference

30 October 2013

Liked: Location and very friendly staff

Disliked: Very very dirty, not organized And not really secure

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

WILLIAM NELSON VIEIRA DA SILVA

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

03 September 2013 WILLIAM NELSON would recommend this property

Liked: the staff was very friendliness!

Disliked: i liked everything ;p

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Washington and his amazing staff were very accommodating and made me feel welcome

Disliked: too many stairs for my mobility problems

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

01 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was fantastic and the staff were helpful when we needed to add another person to our reservation. Breakfast was good.

Disliked: The staff was friendly but could not find records of our reservation upon arrival and could and did not know what to charge us when we left because they hadn't been keeping track of our water purchases and the agreed-upon cost of the room. The room was small, smelled funny, and the toilet in the room didn't work properly. There was no wi-fi. There were no lockers.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 July 2012

Liked: The location was not that bad, and there was a burger bar very close by.

Disliked: Pity the burger bar (attached to the hostel) appears to be the hostel owners number one priorty as it is certaintly not the upkeep of the hostel. The layout of the hostel seems to be hap hazard, the one working computer dates from the 1990´s and you have to get one of the resident children (who tend to occupy the sofa and tv all day long) to type in the password. The building itself is dark and gloomy and competely lacks any kind of atmosphere. We were unsure as to who the 4 men who we saw drinking from 12 in a local cafe on two days and then carrying on drinking in the reception area of the hostel, we were then further confused as to there reasoning behind entering our room the following morning and inspecting one of the beds! this some what detracted from the atmosphere of the hostel/freaked us out. The front door was left open most of the time with no one on reception. Ouro pretto we felt would have been a far nicer experience had we not stayed at this hostel.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Patrick Tiltmann

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 July 2012 Patrick would recommend this property

Liked: The location at the tp is very good. the rooms are easy but ok. the owner is nice too, nice to talk with him

Disliked: You have to pay for the internet, its difficult to find somebody for switch on. its need time. my room was very moudly. i see that at my lst day. i get some problems with my breathing. the bathroom is soooo wet. nothing is dringing in the room. are the windows open, is the same resultat

71.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Andre Frois

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 December 2011

Liked: It was near the town square and had pleasant staff.

Disliked: It was a little dirty and there were no other travellers around.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 November 2011

Liked: the staff is really friendly, the locations is good too, up the hill, easy access for everything

Disliked: the bed wans't that good, strange roons

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

26 October 2011

Liked: The location is very good, with a cheap price

Disliked: The rooms are not very comfortable, there is no wi-fi at the hostel and there are too few bathrooms.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Reasonable breakfast included

Disliked: Damp as hell, even dry clothes got wet. Staff quite illusive.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ronald Hillebrand

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

02 August 2011 Ronald would recommend this property

Liked: excellent breakfast, nice people

Disliked: noone spoke english

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Sindy Gilbert

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 July 2011 Sindy would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was great. I arrived at 6:30AM and the owner allowed me to sleep. The location was ok too.

Disliked: The rooms were really cramped. I stayed in a 6 bunk. It was really tight. I also saw a small roach near my bed.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 July 2011

Liked: Great staff and very good location.

Disliked: Didn't like the size, atmosphere, and comfort in the rooms and common area. A lot could be done to improve it. Not enough toilets in the hostel.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Well located at 300m from the center on a flat walk. Mattresses are correct, clean linens, some lockers available, TV in the room with cable (mostly Portuguese channels), hot water in the shower... The boss speaks English and Spanish but he is not here all the time.

Disliked: The commons areas are small (two sofas in front of one TV) and a bit darky. The guest kitchen lacks equipment (no casseroles, no stoves, 2 plates only, ...). They don't give you a real map (the tourist office don't have maps too). The breakfast is average (no tea, no jam). Not much atmosphere when we were there. The staff (except the boss) speaks only Portuguese (but tries to be helpfull). Try to avoid, if you can, the 10 beds dorms.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Harald Weber

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2011 Harald would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, however most of them do not speak English. Good location und breakfast.

Disliked: Room is quiet simple, for example no functional electricity socket.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good breakfast

Disliked: no utensils in the kitchen, not very clean

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Colin Bailey

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 March 2011 Colin would recommend this property

Liked: The owner was extremely helpful and it was very cheap with a good location

Disliked: The rooms were small and felt and smelt a bit damp

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Tjasa Nanut

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 February 2011 Tjasa would recommend this property

Liked: good location, helpful owner

Disliked: not very clean, quite old, kitchen poorly equiped

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: More or less close to the center, really friendly staff and very safe.

Disliked: The facilities (especially the toiletes) are a bit spare (think only 2 for the entire hostel), but very clean at least. And due to low saison mostly free if I needed them...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice hostel, very very clean, good location, very nice breakfast and such a nice staff in general. It was ver quite but I guess Ouro Preto itself is very quite so it's perfect to explore the city and relax, but not to meet people. But anyway, you wouldn't stay in wonderful Ouro Preto more than 3 days which is more than enough.

Disliked: The only thing I didn't like was the fact that the common room was always full of kids and people I think lived there so it was not possible to chill out in the sofa after a long walking day.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was perfect, central but still a bit aside. The staff were welcoming and atmosphere nice. We got good tips from the manager where to go and what to do.

Disliked: There wasn't too much spare room, a better living room would do good.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 November 2010

Liked: ok breakfast

Disliked: Dont go to Ouro preto it is a waste of a bus journey. place is really run down

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very kind and helpful English speaking staff. Tasty breakfast.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Allan Beard

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 November 2010

Liked: the wifi was good, and the hot water aswell

Disliked: the room we were given stunk of dampness and the bathroom was even worse. An awful smell, room 9. The staff were very inconsiderate of guests and walked through the corridor yelling to each other. there was no key for the front door and you continually had to buzz.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joan Todd

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2010 Joan would recommend this property

Liked: The manager Washington spoke excellent English and was very helpful.

Disliked: Joan left no negative feedback.