HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Manaus hostels

Reviews of GOL Backpackers Manaus

Hostel | Rua Barroso, 365, Centro, Manaus - Amazonas Manaus, Brazil 69010-050

78.4% Overall Rating

27 out of 32 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/03/2014)

Rita Edelhaeusser thinks…

"- very clean room - as the only woman, I got a room alone with key to lock and shower/toilet - A/C with remote in the room - kitchen in the cellar, pool - computer with internet for guests…"

Read all GOL Backpackers Manaus reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Swimming Pool
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 22.34

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

IMPORTANT: reservation made for the period of 01/06/2014 to 20/07/2014 will be charged completely and changes or cancellations wont be applied (no refunds). An invoice will be send by e-mail and the reservation will be confirmed just after complete payment.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Manaus?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Manaus

Amazon Geo Lodge
425.32 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Manaus Hostel Trip Tour
13.40 USD

Hostel 77.0% 29 reviews
Hostel Manaus
10.28 USD

Hostel 79.4% 144 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
78.4%

Overall Rating

27 out of 32 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'GOL Backpackers Manaus'

Atmosphere
73.6%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
67.2%
Cleanliness
72.8%
Staff
80.8%
Value
80.0%
Safety
83.2%
Refine your results Showing 21 of 31 reviews
Reset filter
68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Rita Edelhaeusser

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 March 2014 Rita would recommend this property

Liked: - very clean room - as the only woman, I got a room alone with key to lock and shower/toilet - A/C with remote in the room - kitchen in the cellar, pool - computer with internet for guests available - IN the city center, 2mins walk to restaurants, shops, bank, Teatro Amazonas - they offered an amazing Jungle Trip, I did not have to pay for the night booked that I spend in the Jungle

Disliked: - not allowed to bring food/drinks to the room they offered to store my stuff in the storage room - they opened my bag and removed my "food" (Cup Noodles!!!) - dark and unfriendly foyer - staff available only a few hours in the afternoon :( - could not sleep as the showers are all connected and all night people showered and were loud

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Matthew Bartle

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 March 2013

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Hostel had no electricity for 24 hours! We had paid extra for a on suite private dorm and when we arrived we greeted to a make shift sign on the normal toilets for us to use and the room was dingy and cold and smelt like rotting rubbish! The location was great but would not recommend this hostel

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Rajat Arora

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 March 2013 Rajat would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, helpful staff, easy to book amazon tours

Disliked: Toilets and bathrooms could have been a little cleaner.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location for Manaus - just by the Opera House and near restaurants so don't have to walk far to get where you need to be. I also thought it was great that there was a pc with free internet which was perfect as my phone had broke and i needed to check my emails. There is also a pool but we didn't get chance to test that out. The staff are great - they speak perfect english and go out of their way for you, especially Raul and Freddy - my friend needed to find a pharmacy and they spent some time researching which ones were open and then drove us there (giving us a mini tour on the way) all for free. It is really cheap for drinks and food at the hostel (cheapest we found in Brazil) - would defo recommend.

Disliked: The main area where the tv is, is a bit dark and the layout means it is difficult to relax - mainly an area for checking the net etc but it would be good if there were some sofas or beanbags so you could talk.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Robin Lee

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 February 2013 Robin would recommend this property

Liked: Place is simple, clean, and staff are helpful. It is located really close to the theater, which is the main attraction in Manaus. We stayed just one night before our Amazon tour. It was nice to have AC in the room, but note that the AC is only on from 20:00 to 9:00 in the morning. You can also book your Amazon tour through them and get free nights stay. We opted to book through another company that had smaller tour groups, but I am sure both companies are good.

Disliked: Breakfast is white bread (no toaster), processed meat, coffee, tea, butter, jam, and juice (aka sugar water). Nothing exceptional, but on pare with other hostels in Brazil. The lockers in the room are big, but the latches could be broken off with a simple blow. The AC works great in the rooms, but note that it only is on from 20:00 to 9:00 in the morning, and the rooms are pretty hot without the AC on.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Amanda Heistad

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 February 2013 Amanda would recommend this property

Liked: Location and stag friendliness

Disliked: air con only on staring 8pm

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Anton Karling

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 February 2013

Liked: Good location.

Disliked: 100 R$ ticket for putting your own alcohol in the fridge. Serious?

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: near to the city center, they offer jungle tours with Iguana Turismo, very good agency

Disliked: average cleanliness

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Hannah Clarke

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 November 2012 Hannah would recommend this property

Liked: The location was really good - only a few minutes from the central square. Our room was reasonably priced and the Hostel atmosphere was brilliant. We were only there for two nights (one before and one after our jungle tour), but we met some lovely people and had great fun (especially on our first night, when there was a party for someone's birthday). The staff were also friendly and were happy to offer advice when requested. The small pool was also a nice touch! We didn't end up eating breakfast on either morning, so can't comment on that.

Disliked: Our room (private twin) was pretty small and a bit worn out, but it was adequate for the price. It could also be a bit noisy if you wanted an early night, as it is right next to the pool area (although they did offer to turn the music off the first night we arrived, but we ended up joining in the party instead).

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is very good. And the staff is very friendly. There was a private bathroom/shower in our double room. They even allowed to leave the baggage for a few hours before we had to go to the airport although we stayed with them 3 days before.

Disliked: Rooms are too small.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The area.

Disliked: Private room is next to kitchen and pool so lots of 'traffic' and noise. Wall plugs don't allow for charging even with adapters. Other areas are small and dark.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 September 2012

Liked: location

Disliked: It has air conditioning but only one remote for the whole place. Breakfast was located outside in the 'kitchen' underneath dripping air conditioners and was terrible (nowhere to toast some bread). The shower in the room dripped all night. One of the worst places I have stayed at.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Kateryna Chaukina

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 September 2012 Kateryna would recommend this property

Liked: Location, A/C in the room

Disliked: Kateryna left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

supat faaroon

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 July 2012 supat would recommend this property

Liked: location, best value of money to pay included a/c room and breakfast and every night free of caipirinhas at the bar , free wifi

Disliked: N/A

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location; by the theatre in the centre. OK rooms, good service at daytime (non-english speaking in the evenings). Good atmosphere, great caipirinhas!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

chris matthews

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

09 May 2012 chris would recommend this property

Liked: Run by very nice people who know how to do things. Plunge pool just lovely in the heat. Very helpful for toll calls and further travel, went back there after returning from Tefe. Nice cool TV area, free capeirinha every night ! Excellent street, extremely central but nice and quiet too. Easy to find on arrival as right by the opera House

Disliked: Really small spaces, too small for breakfast nearly (they give you a chit for the cafe next door) One bunk collapsed (but they will strengthen them all) Kitchen is out the back by the pool, covered with an awning but the space is too small for cooking/eating when the rain comes - which is every day for much of the year. (Still all good, brand new stove.)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fabio Marques

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 April 2012 Fabio would recommend this property

Liked: friendly and helpful staff,located in the city centre , nice swimming pool !!!! VERY VERY NICE Place to stay !!!!! If you are going to Manaus this is the Place to stay!!!!!!!

Disliked: Nothing negative to say.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel staff was super friendly. Its located right of the main square, thus making it easy to find places to eat and traveling to and from the various jungle tours offered. It has a nice pool and an outdoor kitchen perfect for relazing after a few days in the jungle. Internet, three tvs in the common area, and a bar... what more could you ask for. Not to mention your first Caipirinha of the night is FREE! If you're going to Manaus to see the incredible jungle stay HERE before and after your sure to be incredbile experience in one of the most awe-inspiring places on the the planet.

Disliked: Nothing negative to say.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marco Antonio Battoni

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

16 February 2012 Marco Antonio would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is amazing, the location is perfect and the swimming pool helps to support the tropical climate. At breakfast you can try some brazilian/amazon food that is very different and good. The staff is very kind and helpful. I recommend this hostel!!

Disliked: Marco Antonio left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniela Gomes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 January 2012 Daniela would recommend this property

Liked: It´s a new hostel, but the athmosphere is amazing and the location perfect. The staff very kind and helpfull. Tks GOL !

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

22 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location! Excellent staff!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Manaus hostels