We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Aquario Hostel

Hostel | Praia da Julia, Abraa, Ilha Grande, Brazil .

72.7% Overall Rating

123 out of 146 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/04/2014)

Mark Brown thinks…

"At the time aquario was taken care of by the staff from Che Legarto who were really helpful and nice. The room was good, decent breakfast in the morning and location fantastic. There was always a…"

Read all Aquario Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • Restaurant
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Ilha Grande?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Ilha Grande

Che Lagarto Hostel Ilha Grande
19.80 USD

Hostel 73.6% 127 reviews
Che Lagarto Suites Ilha Grande
30.42 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
studio beach hostel
18.95 USD

Hostel 82.2% 26 reviews
Mango Tree Ilha Grande
18.95 USD

Hostel 89.1% 5 reviews
El Misti Hostel Ilha Grande
10.53 USD

Hostel 74.3% 37 reviews
Mata Virgem Hostel
10.53 USD

Hostel 65.6% 113 reviews
Pousada da Cachoeira
21.05 USD

Hotel 86.4% 71 reviews
Pousada Paloma
16.84 USD

Guesthouse 75.8% 23 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
72.7%

Overall Rating

123 out of 146 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Aquario Hostel'

Atmosphere
80.8%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
60.0%
Cleanliness
58.4%
Staff
80.0%
Value
70.4%
Safety
74.4%
Refine your results Showing 107 of 128 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Weston Ernst

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

22 June 2014

Liked: Chill location, hammocks, Good breakfast

Disliked: Most horrifying bathroom and I have ever had the misfortune to utilize. No hot water, no soap, damp wet floor that smelled like piss, dead fruit flies and Mosquitos stuck to every surface. This was upon our arrival to our new room. Urine seemed to be seeping up through the floor. We asked to have it cleaned and they just never did it. So so narly. That bathroom will haunt my dreams forever. My friend asked to store some medicine in their fridge to which they agreed. By the next morning, tbe medicine had been thrown away according to the front desk. Consequently, my friend felt ill for much of the rest of the trip. They were very indifferent about their egregious error.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Mark Brown

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 April 2014 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: At the time aquario was taken care of by the staff from Che Legarto who were really helpful and nice. The room was good, decent breakfast in the morning and location fantastic. There was always a dinner deal on at the hostel so a cheap meal was always available.

Disliked: Mark left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really great hostel. Staff are super friendly and make you feel really welcome. The location is fantastic. They have a great bar with great parties but is also far enough away from the rooms so it does not disrupt sleep. Really easy to meet people as a sole traveler. The breakfast is good, awesome smoothies/juices!! Cool hammocks to chill on. Have tour people visit the hostel to assist with sightseeing. Would definitely stay here again.

Disliked: The staff need to stop pinching the kithenware from the guest kitchen and not returning it or not cleaning it when returning it (please)!!!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Julie Serroul

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

21 October 2013 Julie would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel has its own dock, thus making the transfer very easy! It is situated right on the water and has an amazing view with tons of hammocks to enjoy the views with. It is right next to another hostel and they join up together and host events.

Disliked: It is a walk to get into town/restaurants/ grocery stores. BUT it's a walk along the beach which isn't so bad! Their kitchen is very small and lacks a lot necessary cooking utensils

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Horacio Figueiredo

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break

03 June 2013 Horacio would recommend this property

Liked: Nice atmosphere. Friendly staff.

Disliked: Horacio left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

10 April 2013

Liked: muy cerca del centro, a pocos minutos caminando por la playa o bien por las calles

Disliked: el breakfast MUY flojo casi pobre.. el staff del hostel no se preocupaba si no llegaba a tiempo los alimentos para el desayuno, y tampoco brindaban mucha informacion de la isla o del mismo hostel.. nunca nos mostraron las instalaciones del mismo (cocina, baños comunes, etc..) tuvimos que descubrirlas nosotros.. y tampoco respetaron el precio de reserva que aparecia en HostelBookers

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Scott Rowe

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 February 2013 Scott would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing views !!

Disliked: There is a list. I'll keep it to myself.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Louise McCulloch

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 February 2013 Louise would recommend this property

Liked: Loved this hostel pretty much on sight, sits right on the water and the bar looks out across the bay. We were staying in a mixed dorm of 6 and you couldn't tell we were staying with 3 boys as the rooms are cleaned every day, bonus! It's about a 10 minute walk to town along the beach and the town is lovely, lots of little eateries, shops and bars. We were there for the last night of Carnival and it was such a friendly atmosphere in the square.

Disliked: The lack of wifi was the only issue as we were waiting on a bus confirmation.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

28 January 2013

Liked: PEOPLE

Disliked: BAD SERVICE

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Sam Thompson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 December 2012

Liked: The private room was comfortable with good views over the bay. Warm shower, air con and fan.

Disliked: Staff not particularly helpful, bar closed 4 days of the week and wifi when working was terrible & only available in the bar/reception area. Security was non existent. You have to leave your key in reception to get your room cleaned but reception was rarely manned so keys were free to anybody. We came back to our room after a day out to find our room wide open with key in door...when asked what was going on, staff didn't care. Breakfast was very average and kitchen dirty and very ill equipped.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

james kuyper

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 December 2012 james would recommend this property

Liked: great hostel, they dont penny pinch and they look after you. perfect everything

Disliked: it was a little quite when we were there, but that is hardly there fault.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good breakfast and very helpful staff. Location is impossible to beat, stunning

Disliked: No hot water for two days in our room. Rooms are quite small and cramped

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location right on the water. Buildings & outdoor space had lots of character. Staff were very friendly & helpful, & went out of their way to make our visit as good as possible. Transfer available to Rio from private pier.

Disliked: Unstable WiFi kept cutting out. We weren't told that the water might be switched off completely at certain times.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 November 2012

Liked: hostel is nicely located right on the ocean with a nice pier, breakfast overlooking the water, evening parties, the best were the ones on Tuesdays with barbeque, a very kind girl who works at reception

Disliked: unfortunately the location of the hostel near the water caused the rooms were very humid, clothes do not dry out, the cleaning lady visited our room 1 time in 4 days, it was dirty, wet and nasty, a good breakfast but a very modest served on dirty tables, Internet not run for 4 days. Our friends had a cheaper hostel located in the city and much better conditions

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cecilia Taule

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

12 November 2012 Cecilia would recommend this property

Liked: la ubicación es perfecta

Disliked: nada

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Joanna Stawska

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 November 2012 Joanna would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice hostel with helpful staff, nice people all around, beautiful view on the port, cool events and parties organised at the hostel :)

Disliked: Joanna left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Anamarija Jelicic

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

19 October 2012 Anamarija would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful Island, great location. Perfect for relaxing, swimming, enjoying life.

Disliked: /

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: outstanding place to stay

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alys Samson Estape

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 September 2012 Alys would recommend this property

Liked: Like a dream waking up in this beautiful island...

Disliked: Alys left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Manolito Schubert

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 September 2012 Manolito would recommend this property

Liked: I like the location of the hostel. The staff is friendly and helpful and speak English. Wonderful hostel for party people.

Disliked: The hostel has a problem with hygiene. The decor of the room needs some repair.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Relaxed place

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

theresa hendrie

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 August 2012 theresa would recommend this property

Liked: Right on the most gorgeous beach, with mountains overlooking the beach, lovey people working here,very helpful and so friendly, its easy to walk along the beach to shops and beach bars and its sistered with hostel next door

Disliked: theresa left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

10 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Proximity to the beach and good breakfast

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

03 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was such a good time there! The staff was really friendly and helpful and we even got a free boat lift.... so really recommendable!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

29 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I booked online for a dorm room. When I arrived the dorm rooms were fully booked as thre had been a double booking. However I was given a private double room to myself for two nights at no extra cost! I had been travelling for a long time so it was nice to have some privacy!

Disliked: A bit far from the town centre to be walking alone in the dark