HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Aquario Pousada - Hostel Ilha Grande Hostel

Praia da Julia, Abraa, Ilha Grande, Brazil

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 62%

Facilities 63%

Location 86%

Safety 77%

Staff 82%

Value 72%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Meeting Room
  • Outdoor Swimming Pool
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Pool Table
  • Restaurant
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Towels for hire
  • Wii

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Ilha Grande?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 62%

Facilities 63%

Location 86%

Safety 77%

Staff 82%

Value 72%

Showing 1-5 of 5 reviews

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: Chill location, hammocks,Good breakfast

Disliked: Most horrifying bathroom and I have ever had the misfortune to utilize. No hot water, no soap, damp wet floor that smelled like piss, dead fruit flies and Mosquitos stuck to every surface. This was upon our arrival to our new room. Urine seemed to be seeping up through the floor. We asked to have it cleaned and they just never did it. So so narly. That bathroom will haunt my dreams forever. My friend asked to store some medicine in their fridge to which they agreed.By the next morning, tbe medicine had been thrown away according to the front desk. Consequently, my friend felt ill for much of the rest of the trip. They were very indifferent about their egregious error.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: At the time aquario was taken care of by the staff from Che Legarto who were really helpful and nice. The room was good, decent breakfast in the morning and location fantastic. There was always a dinner deal on at the hostel so a cheap meal was always available.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Really great hostel. Staff are super friendly and make you feel really welcome. The location is fantastic. They have a great bar with great parties but is also far enough away from the rooms so it does not disrupt sleep. Really easy to meet people as a sole traveler. The breakfast is good, awesome smoothies/juices!! Cool hammocks to chill on. Have tour people visit the hostel to assist with sightseeing. Would definitely stay here again.

Disliked: The staff need to stop pinching the kithenware from the guest kitchen and not returning it or not cleaning it when returning it (please)!!!

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing

Liked: This hostel has its own dock, thus making the transfer very easy! It is situated right on the water and has an amazing view with tons of hammocks to enjoy the views with. It is right next to another hostel and they join up together and host events.

Disliked: It is a walk to get into town/restaurants/ grocery stores. BUT it's a walk along the beach which isn't so bad! Their kitchen is very small and lacks a lot necessary cooking utensils

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

But you have to say that everione that want to come to the beach from town has to walk where we are!!!!We will improve our kitchen equip

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, City break

Liked: Nice atmosphere. Friendly staff.

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: muy cerca del centro, a pocos minutos caminando por la playa o bien por las calles

Disliked: el breakfast MUY flojo casi pobre.. el staff del hostel no se preocupaba si no llegaba a tiempo los alimentos para el desayuno, y tampoco brindaban mucha informacion de la isla o del mismo hostel.. nunca nos mostraron las instalaciones del mismo (cocina, baños comunes, etc..) tuvimos que descubrirlas nosotros.. y tampoco respetaron el precio de reserva que aparecia en HostelBookers

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Amazing views !!

Disliked: There is a list. I'll keep it to myself.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Loved this hostel pretty much on sight, sits right on the water and the bar looks out across the bay. We were staying in a mixed dorm of 6 and you couldn't tell we were staying with 3 boys as the rooms are cleaned every day, bonus! It's about a 10 minute walk to town along the beach and the town is lovely, lots of little eateries, shops and bars. We were there for the last night of Carnival and it was such a friendly atmosphere in the square.

Disliked: The lack of wifi was the only issue as we were waiting on a bus confirmation.

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: PEOPLE

Disliked: BAD SERVICE

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 60%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The private room was comfortable with good views over the bay. Warm shower, air con and fan.

Disliked: Staff not particularly helpful, bar closed 4 days of the week and wifi when working was terrible & only available in the bar/reception area. Security was non existent. You have to leave your key in reception to get your room cleaned but reception was rarely manned so keys were free to anybody. We came back to our room after a day out to find our room wide open with key in door...when asked what was going on, staff didn't care. Breakfast was very average and kitchen dirty and very ill equipped.

Check Availability