We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Pousada Paloma

Guesthouse | Rua Getulio Vargas 638 Abraao, Ilha Grande, Brazil -

75.8% Overall Rating

17 out of 23 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/07/2014)

Helio Da Costa E Silva thinks…

"Pousada Paloma is a nice place to stay if you visit Ilha Grande is just 2 mins walking from Lazaro beach, and about 5 mins walking from the harbour."

Read all Pousada Paloma reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Ilha Grande?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Ilha Grande

El Misti Hostel Ilha Grande
10.20 USD

Hostel 74.3% 37 reviews
studio beach hostel
18.35 USD

Hostel 82.2% 26 reviews
Mata Virgem Hostel
14.27 USD

Hostel 65.6% 113 reviews
Pousada da Cachoeira
20.39 USD

Hotel 86.4% 71 reviews
Mango Tree Ilha Grande
20.39 USD

Hostel 89.1% 5 reviews
Che Lagarto Suites Ilha Grande
22.69 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Aquario Hostel
15.50 USD

Hostel 72.7% 146 reviews
Che Lagarto Hostel Ilha Grande
19.80 USD

Hostel 73.6% 127 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
75.8%

Overall Rating

17 out of 23 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Pousada Paloma'

Atmosphere
71.3%
Location
82.6%
Facilities
62.6%
Cleanliness
78.3%
Staff
73.0%
Value
80.9%
Safety
81.7%
Refine your results Showing 16 of 22 reviews
Reset filter
68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Helio Da Costa E Silva

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year

18 July 2014 Helio would recommend this property

Liked: Pousada Paloma is a nice place to stay if you visit Ilha Grande is just 2 mins walking from Lazaro beach, and about 5 mins walking from the harbour.

Disliked: staff could be more friendly, they live in a such beautiful and they could enjoy more it!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good rooms

Disliked: Location, far from the beach

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Relaxation/spa
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

17 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Chilled out, friendly travellers.

Disliked: The hostel manager clearly didn't want to be working there, and it reflected in her service.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

paul menton

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 June 2013 paul would recommend this property

Liked: Was very happy with our decision to stay here. Private double room was clean, bed comfortable, bathroom clean, fridge in room, great deck with hammocks to hang out on, great internet, decent breakfast, close to a nice beach for drinking and eating and renting kayaks, Furthermore, the host was super-friendly, helpful and English speaking. Don't usually write reviews but thought this one was worth it!

Disliked: actually can't think of any right now.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: More like a hotel than a hostel. Very close to the beach. Great bathroom and shower. Very clean. Bed made everyday.

Disliked: No other backpackers (maybe it was the time of year) so there was no atmosphere. They advertise a "bar" but I couldn't find any bar.... you're not allowed in that common looking area upstairs, it's so wierd.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

ROGER PEEK

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 November 2011

Liked: Pousada Paloma is on the edge of Abrao, the main town on Ilha Grande. Its location in the town means it is quiet place, but perhaps a little harder to get to if you come with a lot of luggage. Suitable more for the backpacker / very cost-conscious traveler, rather than for a romantic getaway. The room we were in was a bit dark and the furniture very basic, though functional. There was a fan in the room and a small fridge. Also a private bathroom, with a shower that worked well - though same couldn't be said for the sink or toilet which had almost no water pressure. Overall, just good enough to stay overnight for a couple of days, if you're spending those days trekking around the island.

Disliked: Rather rude staff, they seemed to be more concerned with their Facebook accounts and preparing for a party with friends than with welcoming the guests. "Here is the key" was basically the extent of the welcome, even though we were apparently the only guests staying there upon our arrival. Breakfast was very very basic on the first day, though a bit better (bigger selection of fruits and some bread) on the second day when more guests checked in. There were some very unwelcome 'bathroom smells' in the breakfast room when people upstairs flushed their toilet. The room had a slightly 'mouldy' smell although this could be because of heavy rains on the previous few days. The aforementioned bathroom was very tiny and getting any water in the sink or getting the toilet to flush was a struggle.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa

20 August 2011

Liked: Fridge in the room. Fruit for breakfast. Kind owner.

Disliked: Cold shower. Poorly made beds. Damp rooms. Stale breakfast- cereal stale, OJ tasted off and no hit water for tea on 2 mornings

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anna JR-Saunders

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 August 2010 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: Really clean and comfortable room with large and clean ensuite. Very good value for money. Smiley owner who will help if asked. Breakfast of coffee, bread, cheese, ham and fruit included.

Disliked: Only Wifi available, no access to a PC.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sunil Grewal

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

18 August 2010 Sunil would recommend this property

Liked: Nice rooms, one of the best places I stayed in during my 6 month trip. Really nice bathrooms!

Disliked: The room sometimes smelt of damp, wasn't anything too bad though.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

30 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: felt safe, excellent locaTION AND NEAR THE BEACH. pretty & great value for money and nice and friendly staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julia Anne Wulf

02 November 2009 Julia Anne would recommend this property

Liked: afriendly staff-I was able to check in at 10 am even if normal check in time is at 12. that was very kind, because I was able to start my trip to Lopez Mendez just after I left my stuff at the hostel!

Disliked: Julia Anne left no negative feedback.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

MARK LYNAM

01 November 2009

Liked: Not a lot.....The hostel is a five minute walk from the main area, this makes it nice and quiet.Upon arrival we hunted down the bar/snack area to ge some food. We were promptly told that the bar area was the 'home' of the lady running it and not open (despite there being cards advertising food and the bar in our room and posters on the walls). We then asked if we could put some washing in the laundry.... we were told there is no laundry (despite being advertised on Hostel Bookers).That night we discovered that our pillows were covered in black mould. We asked for new ones. We were told that we could only have new ones when the cleaner came in the morning. When we did eventually get a new pillow it was placed in the same pillow case (which had mould inside from previous pillow!).The towels smelt horrid and mouldy before even being used, again we had to wait for the cleaner to change them (second ones no better). We also found cockroaches in our room.....It appeared as though everything we asked was a hastle for the lady running the hostel, she was more interested in sitting in the bar area (her home) with her friends than helping her paying guests. In 3 months of travelling this has been the most disappointing hostel we have stayed in. We chose this hostel based on the facilities offered on the internet and if they had existed it might have been ok (apart from the mould).

Disliked: MARK left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

10 October 2009

Liked: an ok place to stay but can probably do better - no internet, no reception, no real communal areas, breakfast only ok

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

17 August 2009

Liked: Breakfast was ok.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Iain Harris

16 August 2009 Iain would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly owner. Excellent location, very fair price.

Disliked: Iain left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

04 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Enjoyed my stay at this hostel. It was super clean (far cleaner than the vast majority of other hostels I have stayed at in S America) and the dorm room was quite nice. It is about 5 minutes walk from where the ferry drops you off, a little further than some of the other hostels but still a great location. The breakfast was good. The two downsides where the kitchen which only had a two ring cooker, so it was pretty difficult for more than one person to cook at once, and the fact that there was no tv. If you want a chilled out, relaxed time in a clean hostel I'd thoroughly reccommend this hostel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.