We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Che Lagarto Hostel Ilha Grande

Hostel | Canto da Praia S/N, Ilha Grande, Rio de Janeiro, Praia da Julia Ilha Grande, Brazil 23968000

73.6% Overall Rating

99 out of 127 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/09/2014)

"Very clean and secure. Liked the locking system for the rooms. The staff were very welcoming!"

Read all Che Lagarto Hostel Ilha Grande reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

PLEASE NOTE: Any bookings with dates within New Years 2010 (mandatory 4 nights package - 28/12-01/01) & Carnaval 2010 (mandatory 6 nights package 11/02/-17/02). Full prepayment is needed in order to warranty the booking, after booking the Hostel will contact you for the prepayment details. Failure to prepay the booking will result In the booking being cancelled.Not allowed under 18

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Ilha Grande?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Ilha Grande

Che Lagarto Suites Ilha Grande
22.69 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Aquario Hostel
15.50 USD

Hostel 72.7% 146 reviews
Mango Tree Ilha Grande
20.39 USD

Hostel 89.1% 5 reviews
studio beach hostel
18.35 USD

Hostel 82.2% 26 reviews
Pousada da Cachoeira
20.39 USD

Hotel 86.4% 71 reviews
Mata Virgem Hostel
10.20 USD

Hostel 65.6% 113 reviews
El Misti Hostel Ilha Grande
10.20 USD

Hostel 74.3% 37 reviews
Pousada Paloma
18.35 USD

Guesthouse 75.8% 23 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
73.6%

Overall Rating

99 out of 127 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Che Lagarto Hostel Ilha Grande'

Atmosphere
76.8%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
65.6%
Cleanliness
68.8%
Staff
68.8%
Value
70.4%
Safety
80.0%
Refine your results Showing 82 of 95 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and secure. Liked the locking system for the rooms. The staff were very welcoming!

Disliked: The breakfast was quite poor. The cereal was stale and they ran out of bread.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Victoria Ferrando

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

09 September 2014 Victoria would recommend this property

Liked: Very fun

Disliked: A little walk from downtown

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Mildred Huetter

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 September 2014 Mildred would recommend this property

Liked: Location, hammocks, breakfast, view

Disliked: Nothing much if you keep in mind you're staying at a hostel

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

21 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great views. Lovely being over the water. Breakfast was ok, not amazing. Fair price

Disliked: We booked 5 beds in a 6 bed dorm. From this I would assume we were all going to be in the same room. We infact had 2 people in one 4 bed dorm, and 3 people in another 4 bed dorm. Not a massive problem for us but definitely not what we booked. And when I pointed this out to the woman who was checking us in she did not offer any sort of apology. Had we known this was going to be the case we may have booked somewhere different. In general we found the staff not to be too attentive or polite

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Karen Ward

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa

24 April 2014 Karen would recommend this property

Liked: Its a nice hostel and the layout is such that it makes it easy to socialise with other guests.

Disliked: Karen left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The decking and quality of the hostel

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was amazing! Best accommodation on the island

Disliked: I found the staff very rude. They were un helpful, it felt like they went out of their way not to help me.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

20 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location superb, hostel modern and clean

Disliked: Staff friendly enough but largely incompetent, hostel pretty disorganised as a result.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Débora Lima

Alone

Relaxation/spa

02 January 2013 Débora would recommend this property

Liked: O deck proporcionava uma linda paisagem.

Disliked: A falta de aguá na Ilha sem uma alternativa para o Hóspede foi um descaso.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

02 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: la ubicacion, y el deck para desayunar, ademas de la buena onda de la gente

Disliked: el estado de las habitaciones, malas camas, malos colchones y humedad

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

14 July 2012

Liked: The terrace which overlooked the sea. The breakfast was pretty basic, served on the terrace which made it nicer.

Disliked: Room was damp, cramped and dirty. The lockers didn't all work, nails were sticking out, some wouldn't close. Others had to be forced to be opened and closed. We had a deal online and was disappointed with the place even at the discounted price so would be very disappointed if we had paid in full. Our booking hadn't gone through on their computer so we didn't get the room we had booked. The place just generally smelt bad and felt dirty. Definitely not worth paying the full amount

The property's response is...

25.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

21 May 2012

Liked: no good

Disliked: No water, no electricity, light. Dirty

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jonathan Trayers

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 April 2012 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing Location, Lovely Staff.

Disliked: There were flies on the food in the morning which could easily be avoided

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Is right in front of the beach and the views are great, thre staff nice and helpfull, and good atmosphere in the comon reception-bar.

Disliked: You have to pay more that says your booking because they have a different ( and much highier) rate exange with dollars, even if you book and pay in reals.why?? Also make you pay 5 reals extra for internet even if you don't want it ( not choice).

The property's response is...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Jeff Doughty

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 November 2011 Jeff would recommend this property

Liked: location.. my room had the same amazing view that the deck had.. soo nice

Disliked: unhelpful staff.. dirty bathrooms

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

21 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best location of any hostel I've stayed at - on the beach! Good parties, and brilliant breakfasts. Possibly the best in South America. Staff are brilliant, especially when my other half broke her foot (not at the hostel) - they couldn't have done more

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing location right on the sea - literally! Big hostel with lots of nice people and parties. It´s a little walk from the actual city, but the location and atmosphere makes it totally worth it. Definitely recommend it!

Disliked: They charge an obligatory ekstra 5 reals for internet that you can´t avoid paying no matter if u use the inet or not. I felt a bit tricked.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great Location with view on the bay, Breakfast (best we had during our trip trough South America), Room for 4 people was very nice, girl at the desk

Disliked: Prices of the special transfer to Rio and Paraty were a bit high and necessary if you don't want to take your luguage on the beach to reach the Hostel. Paying in USD is not very convenient if you are not American. Also the extra charge for internet was not announced and with only 1 computer working, it was not possible to get on the internet during our stay. But let's say that the Positive points compensate the negative one's.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

28 March 2011

Liked: The location is by the very sea and it´s the hostel with a bit of extra walking to the main centre of the island. It´s a party hostel so it´s good that you can´t hear noise while staying at other hostels. Whoever wants to have fun till late night will enjoy it.

Disliked: Cleanliness was bad. The bathroom was very dirty with lots of hair around everywhere. Not sure if my bedding was clean, the smell was not fresh at all. They serve breakfast till 10am.When I went downstairs at 9:30am there was nothing much to eat so I had to go to the kitchen several times to ask for food and coffee.Breakfast was very poor. Thee ketlary was dirty. Also,at the entrance everybody is throwing away rubbish outside the bin. Its not a nice smell around.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 March 2011

Liked: Location,

Disliked: rotting garbage outside the main door, and staff didn't know who was in what bed. A random group of guys wandered into the room in the middles of the night and woke people that they thought were sleeping in their beds, then they got the night manager, who didn't know who was where.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

CORINNE WINCH

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

17 March 2011 CORINNE would recommend this property

Liked: The electric was not working most of the time we were there. The rooms were hot and stuffy with no air-con. The room was damp in the morning but people had been drying clothes in there.

Disliked: Great staff, kitchen, good breakfast, easy place to meet people.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tim Peter Ravens

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 March 2011 Tim Peter would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly and helpful staff!

Disliked: Ev okay!

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

31 January 2011

Liked: close to beach

Disliked: Full of bedbugs and staff did nothing

34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 January 2011

Liked: The only positive was that it had a deck overlooking the bay.

Disliked: This hostel is FILTHY and was the absolute worst experience I have ever had in a hostel in the many Ive stayed in over the years. I booked the private room for the first 2 nights. The room was PUTRID - the floor covered in dirt and sand, the bed sheets and towels were covered in stains and there were hairs on the bed. The bathroom was also filthy, with pubic hairs everywhere. The bin had not been changed and because in brazil you cant put toilet paper down the loo, it was filled with paper covered in you-know-what. When we asked if the room could be cleaned - the guy at the front desk came to look and apologised profusely as it was obvious what a disgusting state it was in - however when he left and the cleaning lady came she abused my bf and asking what the problem was, snatching the key from his hand, and was actually yelling at us. When she cleaned it, it was still dirty. The room itself was SO damp and stinky you could hardly breath. The island itself has so many mosquitos and they had neither windows nor flyscreens nor air conditioning... so we we had to close the shutters or be eaten alive by mossies, but the smell was so bad & it was so hot it made the room unbearable. The front staff again apologied profusely and swore many times over that we would get moved - but when we returned after the day out were told we had to stay in the same one. The hostel is also deceiving people with its advertised price, its a total scam. Everyone brings brazilian reals to the island but they quote your stay in USD at a rate of one USD to 2.1 real. Total rubbish as the actual rate is around 1.66. They also offer to organise tours and have a bar but at silly inflated prices - you can literally step outside the hostel to the nearest supermarket and get a cold beer for 2 reals rather than 8 and as for the tours, they are the same thing but much cheaper if u book one in the town. They do have a great deck overlooking the bay where people hang out at night so in this respect it would be how it got its fun-ness rating. But then there is the music that gets played at full blast until 2 or 3 in the morning so dont stay here if you want to sleep before then. just a horrible experience - and we were not the only people we knew of leaving the hostel after the first night, its just too filthy for any human to consider !!! In the end we couldnt stay any more nights, and had to find another hostel. We found some beds in Biergarden which was fantastic, but as I didnt book it directly via hostelworld I will leave it up to the other to review it.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Paul Dempsey

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

08 January 2011 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: The location and the view from the top deck was absoloutly unreal across the bay. front dorm was decent.

Disliked: The argentinian guy was very nice but one member of staff was unbelievabley rude, ignorant and unhelpful. kitchen was only open at certain times and wasnt very clean. confusion on arrival with the allocation of beds. had to dress our own beds and remove previous guests sheets.